Stressors | Monitoring | Findings

Overview

Bats are an important component of a healthy ecosystem. At Pacific Rim National Park Reserve bats play a vital role as voracious insect eaters, and can consume more than their body weight in insects each night.

As insectivores, bats require productive freshwater areas as foraging habitat. Research shows that bat activity increases with proximity to freshwater because wetlands and streams are breeding grounds for many insects. By monitoring predators, such as bats that eat these insects, we are gaining insight into the health of our freshwater ecosystems.

Among small mammals, bats are unique in their long lifespans, low reproductive rates and dependency on specific habitats and features - all factors which make them an ideal species to monitor and understand ecosystem change. We have detected eight bat species over the past two years of summer surveys. This represents higher diversity than any other group of mammals in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve.


Stressors

White-nose syndrome
The most common bat species in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve is the Little Brown Myotis (Myotis lucifugus), a species listed as endangered under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). This species is endangered because of an imminent threat from a fungal pathogen, commonly known as white-nose syndrome. Unfortunately this disease has been devastating bat populations across North America. The fungus grows on bats while they hibernate and once established, can cause over 90% mortality in a population. White-nose-syndrome causes bats to awaken more frequently and earlier than they should, which leads to depletion of their winter fat stores and also prompts them to leave their hibernation sites early. In the last decade, white-nose syndrome has killed millions of bats across North America.

white-nose syndrome

White-nose syndrome (photo: Hugh Broders)


How is Parks Canada monitoring bat populations?

Bats are notoriously difficult to study and many species in the region are also migratory. They are active at night, and roost in cryptic dark locations during the day. At Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, we have implemented an innovative bat monitoring project utilizing ultrasonic sound detectors that record bats as they fly by at night.


Ultrasonic sound detectors
instruments in a grassy field

Ultrasonic refers to sounds in the range higher than normal human hearing (above ~20kHz). Each species of bat has a unique pattern of clicks. Later we use auto-identification software to identify each bat species that has passed the detector. Over the past two summers we have recorded over 30,000 bat passes at 33 different freshwater sites throughout the national park reserve. The recordings tell us which bat species are present, as well as the time and conditions in which they are most active. This gives us baseline information so we are able to monitor future changes.

Collaborators

At Pacific Rim National Park Reserve we are sharing our research protocols and data with other Parks Canada sites as well as with the North American Bat Monitoring Program.


Findings

To date, white-nose syndrome has not yet been found on Vancouver Island, so our bat populations are still considered healthy. Our monitoring comes at a critical time, in 2017 and 2018 white-nose syndrome was detected in Washington State, within flying distance of Pacific Rim National Park Reserve.

Facteurs de stress | Surveillance | Constatations

Vue d’ensemble

Les chauves-souris sont un élément important d’un écosystème sain. Dans la réserve de parc national (RPN) Pacific Rim, les chauves-souris jouent un rôle essentiel en tant que mangeurs d’insectes voraces, et peuvent en consommer une quantité supérieure au poids de leur corps chaque nuit.

Insectivores, les chauves-souris ont besoin d’aires d’eau douce productives comme habitat d’alimentation. La recherche montre que l’activité des chauves-souris augmente en fonction de la proximité des écosystèmes d’eau douce parce que les milieux humides et les ruisseaux servent à la reproduction de nombreux insectes. En surveillant leurs prédateurs, par exemple les chauves-souris qui se nourrissent de ces insectes, nous obtenons un meilleur aperçu de la santé de nos écosystèmes d’eau douce.

Parmi les petits mammifères, les chauves-souris sont uniques en raison de leur longévité, de leur faible taux de reproduction et de leur dépendance à l’égard de caractéristiques et d’habitats précis – tous ces facteurs faisant des chauves-souris des espèces idéales pour surveiller et mieux comprendre les changements dans les écosystèmes. Durant les relevés estivaux des deux dernières années, nous avons détecté huit espèces de chauves-souris. Cela représente une diversité supérieure à tout autre groupe de mammifères dans la RPN Pacific Rim.


Facteurs de stress

Syndrome du museau blanc
L’espèce de chauve-souris la plus répandue dans la RPN Pacific Rim est la petite chauve-souris brune (Myotis lucifugus), une espèce inscrite en annexe de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce en voie de disparition. Cette espèce est en péril en raison d’une menace imminente causée par un pathogène fongique, couramment appelé le syndrome du museau blanc. Malheureusement, cette maladie est en train de dévaster les populations de chauves-souris partout en Amérique du Nord. Le champignon se développe sur les chauves-souris durant leur hibernation et, une fois établi, il peut causer plus de 90 % de mortalité dans une population. Le syndrome du museau blanc provoque un éveil plus fréquent et plus hâtif que la normale chez les chauves-souris, ce qui entraîne une réduction de leurs réserves de graisse hivernale et les fait sortir de leur site d’hibernation plus tôt que prévu. Au cours de la dernière décennie, le syndrome du museau blanc a décimé des millions de chauves-souris dans l’ensemble de l’Amérique du Nord.

white-nose syndrome

Syndrome du museau blanc (photo : Hugh Broders)


Comment Parcs Canada surveille-t-il les populations de chauves souris?

Il est reconnu que les chauves-souris sont difficiles à étudier et beaucoup d’espèces de la région sont également migratrices. Elles sont actives la nuit et se reposent dans des endroits sombres et bien dissimulés durant le jour. Dans la RPN Pacific Rim, nous avons mis en place un programme novateur de surveillance des chauves-souris faisant appel à des détecteurs à ultrasons qui enregistrent les chauves-souris pendant qu’elles volent la nuit.


Détecteurs à ultrasons
instruments sur un terrain herbeux

Les ultrasons renvoient à des sons faisant partie d’une gamme de fréquences supérieures à celles que peut entendre l’oreille humaine normale, soit au dessus d’à peu près 20 kHz. Chaque espèce de chauve-souris a une séquence de clics qui lui est propre. Par la suite, nous utilisons un logiciel d’autoidentification pour déterminer quelle espèce de chauve-souris est passée près du détecteur. Au cours des deux derniers étés, nous avons enregistré plus de 30 000 passages de chauves-souris à 33 sites d’eau douce différents un peu partout dans la réserve de parc national. Les enregistrements nous indiquent quelles espèces de chauves-souris sont présentes ainsi que le moment où elles sont le plus actives et les conditions dans lesquelles elles le sont. Cela nous fournit de l’information de base qui nous permet de surveiller les changements futurs.

Collaborateurs

À la RPN Pacific Rim, nous diffusons nos protocoles et nos données de recherche à d’autres lieux de Parcs Canada ainsi qu’au programme nord américain de surveillance des chauves-souris (North American Bat Monitoring Program).


Constatations

À ce jour, le syndrome du museau blanc n’a pas encore été détecté sur l’île de Vancouver, et nos populations de chauves-souris sont encore jugées saines. Nos activités de surveillance arrivent à un moment crucial, car en 2017 et en 2018, le syndrome du museau blanc a été détecté dans l’État de Washington, à distance de vol de la RPN Pacific Rim.