Bats | Eelgrass meadows | Migratory shorebirds | Wild About Wolves research project

Overview

Parks Canada monitors the health of key ecosystems within Pacific Rim National Park Reserve on an annual basis. The results of this monitoring work can alert Parks Canada to stressors on sensitive habitats and prompt further steps to protect these areas.

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve also collaborates with a wide range of universities, researchers, and non-governmental organizations to conduct research and undertake management actions.

Monitoring and actively protecting the natural heritage of this protected place helps Parks Canada ensure that Pacific Rim National Park Reserve’s ecological integrity is maintained for generations to come.


Bats

(Photo: Brock Fenton)

Among small mammals, bats are unique in their long lifespans, low reproductive rates and dependency on specific habitats and features — all factors which make them an ideal species to monitor and understand ecosystem change.

Learn more

Eelgrass meadows

(Photo: Luba Reshitnyk/Hakai Institute)

Eelgrass is a green, ribbon-like sea plant that grows in patches of mud or sand near the shore’s low tide line. This plant is at the foundation of Vancouver Island’s coastal food webs. The region’s economy and fishing industry is connected to the health of this delicate plant.In lush eelgrass meadows, a microscopic algae grows, feeding snails, shrimp and other small invertebrates. These small creatures become food sources for larger species, including juvenile Pacific Herring, Coho Salmon and English Sole. Above the water, a diversity of bird and mammal species forage among the eelgrass in the security of sheltered harbours and estuaries.

Learn more

Migratory shorebirds


(Photo: S. Tyne/Parks Canada)

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve is located on the Pacific Flyway—a super highway for migratory birds connecting the tundra of Alaska and the Canadian north with the tropics and subtropics of Central and South America. Thousands of shorebirds stop on the sandy beaches of the west coast to rest and feed before continuing their journey. For resident birds and some migrants, the beaches are also where they look for mates and raise their young.

Learn more

Wild About Wolves research project


(Photo: Remote wildlife camera)

When you visit Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, you are in wolf territory. Parks Canada is increasing its understanding of local wolf populations and the factors that contribute to potential conflict with people. Wild About Wolves is a five-year research project that looks to further improve coexistence between people and wolves by raising visitor awareness of the species and the importance of sharing space.

Learn more

Chauves-souris | Herbiers de zostère | Oiseaux de rivage migrateurs | Projet de recherche « Tout pour le loup »

Vue d’ensemble

Chaque année, Parcs Canada surveille la santé des écosystèmes clés dans la réserve de parc national (RPN) Pacific Rim. Les résultats de ces travaux de surveillance permettent à Parcs Canada de détecter les facteurs de stress qui influent sur les habitats vulnérables et de prendre rapidement des mesures pour protéger ces zones.

La RPN Pacific Rim collabore également avec un large éventail d’universités, de chercheurs et d’organisations non gouvernementales pour mener des recherches et adopter des mesures de gestion.

La surveillance et la protection active du patrimoine naturel de cet endroit protégé aident Parcs Canada à faire en sorte que l’intégrité écologique de la réserve de parc national soit préservée pour les générations à venir.


Chauves-souris

(Photo: Brock Fenton)

 

Parmi les petits mammifères, les chauves-souris sont uniques en raison de leur longévité, de leur faible taux de reproduction et de leur dépendance à l’égard de caractéristiques et d’habitats particuliers — tous ces facteurs font des chauves-souris des espèces idéales pour surveiller et mieux comprendre les changements dans les écosystèmes.

Pour en savoir plus

Herbiers de zostère

(Photo: Luba Reshitnyk/Hakai Institute)

La zostère est une plante marine verte en forme de ruban qui croît dans les étendues de vase ou de sable au bord du rivage, près de la laisse de basse mer. Cette plante est le fondement des réseaux trophiques côtiers de l’île de Vancouver. L’économie et l’industrie de la pêche de la région sont étroitement liées à la santé de cette plante délicate. Dans les herbiers de zostère luxuriants, des algues microscopiques se développent et nourrissent les escargots, les crevettes et d’autres petits invertébrés. Ces petites créatures deviennent à leur tour une source alimentaire pour des espèces de plus grande taille, dont des juvéniles de hareng du Pacifique, de saumon coho et de carlottin anglais. Au dessus de l’eau, toute une gamme d’espèces d’oiseaux et de mammifères se nourrissent de ce qui vit dans les herbiers de zostère, dans la sécurité des havres et des estuaires abrités.

Pour en savoir plus

Oiseaux de rivage migrateurs


(Photo: S.Tyne/Parcs Canada)

La réserve de parc national Pacific Rim est située sur la voie migratoire du Pacifique – une véritable autoroute pour les oiseaux migrateurs reliant la toundra de l’Alaska et du Nord canadien aux régions tropicales et subtropicales de l’Amérique centrale et de l’Amérique du Sud. Des milliers d’oiseaux de rivage font halte sur les plages sablonneuses de la côte Ouest pour se reposer et s’alimenter avant de poursuivre leur périple. Pour les oiseaux résidents et certains oiseaux migrateurs, les plages sont également le lieu par excellence pour s’accoupler et élever leurs petits.

Pour en savoir plus

Projet de recherche « Tout pour le loup »


(Photo: Caméra de la faune à distance)

Lorsque vous visitez la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, vous vous trouvez au pays des loups. Parcs Canada cherche activement à mieux comprendre les populations de loups ainsi que les facteurs qui contribuent à de potentiels conflits avec les humains. Le projet de recherche quinquennal « Tout pour le loup » a pour objectif d’améliorer davantage la coexistence entre les humains et les loups en sensibilisant les visiteurs à la situation de cette espèce et à l’importance de respecter son espace vital.  

Pour en savoir plus