Korean War

Between 1950 and 1953 more than 26,000 Canadians served in the Korean War. These Canadians stepped forward to protect the values and freedoms we hold dearest. All those who served, including the 516 Canadians who never came home, will not be forgotten.

Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

Members of the 2nd Battalion of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry (2 PPCLI) were the first Canadian soldiers to set sail across the Pacific in November of 1950. They joined the action in mid-February of 1951 under the command of the 27th British Commonwealth Infantry Brigade.

Battle of Kapyong

Some of the heaviest fighting our soldiers experienced in the war took place during the Battle of Kapyong in April 1951. The battle was a turning point in the Korean War and the soldiers of the 2nd Battalion of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry helped prevent a potentially costly defeat for the South Korean and United Nations forces.

The nighttime battle required unimaginable bravery. It cost 10 Canadians their lives and left another 23 wounded. The heroic efforts of these soldiers and the Battalion as a whole did not go unnoticed. The 2nd Battalion of Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry was awarded the United States Presidential Unit Citation – a very rare honour for a Canadian unit.

(from Korea Veterans Association)

The Battle of Kapyong (22–25 April 1951), also known as the Battle of Jiaping was fought during the Korean War between United Nations (UN) forces—primarily Australian, Canadian and New Zealand—and the Chinese Communist People’s Volunteer Army. The fighting occurred during the Chinese Spring Offensive and saw the 27th British Commonwealth Brigade establish blocking positions in the Kapyong Valley, on a key route south to the capital, Seoul. The two forward battalions—3rd Battalion, Royal Australian Regiment (3 RAR) and 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry (2 PPCLI)—supported by a New Zealand artillery battery, occupied positions astride the valley and hastily developed defenses. As thousands of South Korean soldiers began to withdraw through the valley, the Chinese infiltrated the brigade position under the cover of darkness and assaulted the Australians on Hill 504 during the evening and into the following day. Although heavily outnumbered, the 27th Brigade held their positions into the afternoon before the Australians were finally withdrawn to positions in the rear of the brigade, with both sides having suffered heavy casualties. The Chinese then turned their attention to the Canadians on Hill 677, but during a fierce night battle they were unable to dislodge them. The fighting helped blunt the Chinese offensive and the actions of the Australians and Canadians at Kapyong were important in assisting to prevent a breakthrough on the United Nations Command central front, and ultimately the capture of Seoul. The two battalions bore the brunt of the assault and stopped an entire Chinese division during the hard fought defensive battle. The next day the Chinese withdrew back up the valley, in order to regroup. Today, the battle is regarded as one of the most famous actions fought by the Australian and Canadian armies in Korea.

Radar Hill

In 1998, in recognition of the efforts and sacrifices made by the veterans and their families, a cairn was placed on Radar Hill in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve and the traditional territory of the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations, dedicated to the battle of Kapyong and its importance as a turning point in the Korean War. At the same time, to reinforce our enduring bond with South Korea, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve was proudly twinned with Hallyo Haesang Sea National Park in Korea.

Canada Remembers

Every year in April, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve is honoured to host the Korea Veterans Association’s ceremony to commemorate the anniversary of the Battle of Kapyong. When this ceremony was first held in 1998, it carried deep significance as it was the first time that the Canadian Korea Veterans were able to wear on Canadian soil the medals awarded during the Korean War. This ceremony continues to carry great significance – reminding each of us of the bravery, strength and sacrifices made by the young men and women who risked so much to serve their country.

Lest We Forget

Guerre de Corée

De 1950 à 1953, plus de 26 000 Canadiens ont servi au cours de la guerre de Corée. Ces Canadiens sont intervenus pour protéger les valeurs et les libertés qui nous sont chères. Nous n’oublierons jamais tous ceux qui ont servi, y compris les 516 Canadiens qui ne sont jamais revenus au pays. 

Régiment Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

En novembre 1950, les membres du 2e Bataillon du régiment Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry sont les premiers soldats canadiens à traverser le Pacifique. À la mi-février 1951, ils contribuent aux efforts de guerre sous le commandement de la 27e Brigade d’infanterie du Commonwealth britannique. 

Bataille de Kapyong

Livrée en avril 1951, la bataille de Kapyong représente l’un des plus rudes combats vécus par nos soldats pendant la guerre de Corée. Elle devient un moment tournant de cette guerre alors que la participation du 2e Bataillon du régiment Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry permet d’éviter une défaite qui aurait pu être coûteuse pour les forces de la Corée du Sud et des Nations Unies.

Les soldats font preuve d’une bravoure inimaginable lors de ce combat de nuit. Durant la bataille, 10 Canadiens perdent la vie et 23 autres sont blessés. L’ensemble des efforts héroïques déployés par les soldats et le bataillon ne passent pas inaperçus. En effet, le 2e Bataillon du régiment Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry reçoit la mention élogieuse du président des États-Unis, un honneur que très peu d’unités canadiennes se sont vues accorder

(de l’Association canadienne des vétérans de la Corée)

La bataille de Kapyong (du 22 au 25 avril 1951), aussi appelée la bataille de Jiaping, a été menée au cours de la guerre de Corée entre les forces des Nations Unies (ONU), principalement australiennes, canadiennes et néo-zélandaises, et l’Armée populaire de libération chinoise communiste. Le combat est livré pendant l’offensive chinoise printanière, et la 27e Brigade du Commonwealth britannique établit des positions de blocage dans la vallée de Kapyong sur une voie essentielle au sud de Séoul, la capitale. Appuyés par une batterie d’artillerie néo-zélandaise les deux bataillons avancés—le 3e Bataillon du Royal Australian Regiment et le 2e Bataillon du régiment Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry —, qui occupent des positions de chaque côté de la vallée, s’empressent d’établir des défenses. Alors que des milliers de soldats sud-coréens battent en retraite dans la vallée, les Chinois infiltrent la position de la brigade à la faveur de l’obscurité et attaquent les Australiens sur la colline 504 en soirée; le combat se poursuit jusqu’au jour suivant. Les membres de la 27e Brigade, qui étaient nettement inférieurs en nombre, tiennent leur position jusqu’en après-midi et les Australiens battent finalement en retraite vers l’arrière de la brigade; les deux bataillons subissent de lourdes pertes. Les Chinois tournent alors leur attention vers la colline 677, où se tiennent les Canadiens, mais au cours d’un combat acharné pendant la nuit, ils ne sont pas en mesure de les déloger de leur position. Ce combat aide à freiner l’offensive chinoise, et les actions menées par les Australiens et les Canadiens à Kapyong contribuent grandement à prévenir une infiltration dans le front central du Commandement des Nations Unies, et ultimement, à éviter la prise de Séoul. Les deux bataillons portent le poids de l’assaut et stoppent une division chinoise entière pendant cette lutte défensive acharnée. Le lendemain, les Chinois battent en retraite et se regroupent en haut de la vallée. Aujourd’hui, la bataille de Kapyong est considérée comme l’un des plus célèbres combats livrés en Corée par les armées de l’Australie et du Canada.

Colline Radar

En reconnaissance des efforts et des sacrifices consentis par les anciens combattants et leurs familles, un monument est érigé en 1988 sur la colline Radar, là où se trouve la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim et le territoire traditionnel des Premières Nations des Tla-o-qui-aht. Dédié à la bataille de Kapyong, le monument reconnaît l’importance de ce combat comme tournant dans la guerre de Corée. À la même époque, l’Agence Parcs Canada est fière de voir jumeler la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim et le parc national de la Corée Hallyo Haesang Sea dans le but de renforcer notre lien durable avec la Corée du Sud.

Le Canada se souvient

Chaque année en avril, la réserve de parc national Pacific Rim a l’honneur d’accueillir la cérémonie de l’Association canadienne des vétérans de la Corée afin de célébrer l’anniversaire de la bataille de Kapyong. La cérémonie est tenue pour la première fois en 1998. Elle revêt alors une signification profonde, car pour la première fois, les vétérans canadiens de la Corée peuvent porter sur le sol canadien des médailles décernées pendant la guerre de Corée. Aujourd’hui, cette cérémonie présente toujours une grande importance du fait qu’elle rappelle à chacun de nous la bravoure, la force et les sacrifices des jeunes hommes et femmes qui ont tant risqué pour servir leur pays.

N’oublions jamais