History | Reservations | Resources | Videos

Are you prepared?

The West Coast Trail (WCT) is an iconic backcountry, multi-day backpacking trail that is a bucket list challenge for many hikers. It is an experience that can bring even the most experienced hikers to their knees. Those who are well prepared physically, mentally, and equipment-wise, come away with tales of grit.

Hikers climb more than 100 ladders with a heavy pack, trudge through deep mud, wade through mountain-fed rivers in fast-flowing hip-deep waters, and push through whatever weather the wild West Coast delivers — often driving wind and rain.


Is this hike for you?

Before you decide to make a West Coast Trail reservation for yourself, learn what you are signing up for and make sure this hike is for you:

WCT Hiker Preparation Guide (PDF, 6.53 MB)

History

The 75-kilometre (47-mile) West Coast Trail is part of the ancient paths and paddling routes used for trade and travel by first nations. Huuay-aht, Ditidaht, and Pacheedaht villages and camps were well established before the foreign sailing ships started to arrive off this coast over 200 years ago. As the years passed and the number of ships sailing the Juan de Fuca Strait increased, so too did the number of shipwrecks and drownings along the coast. In time, the coastline became known as “the Graveyard of the Pacific.”

More history


In 1906, when the steamship Valencia went down with the horrific loss of more than 125 lives, the public outcry prompted the Canadian government into further action: Pachena Lighthouse was constructed in 1907; lifesaving stations were established at Cloo-ose and Bamfield; the telegraph route was upgraded to become the Dominion Life Saving Trail, complete with six shelters stocked with provisions for both shipwreck victims and their rescuers. As navigation technology improved, many of these measures became obsolete and were abandoned.

In 1970, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve was established and in 1973, the lifesaving trail was included in the national park reserve as a recreational hiking trail, beginning a new chapter in its history. Today, over 7,500 backpackers hike the West Coast Trail every year. They come to see the beauty, experience the challenges, and walk the path of those that came before them.

Reservations

The West Coast Trail is OPEN May 1 to September 30.

Beginning 8:00 am (PST) on January 7, 2019, reservations for the West Coast Trail can be made for any date between May 1 and September 30. Spaces fill quickly, so consider setting up an account prior to January 7, 2019.

West Coast Trail Reservations


Nitinaht Trailhead: 3-5 day adventures

The West Coast Trail can be intimidating, even to the most seasoned adventure-seeker. A mid-point entrance at Nitinaht Narrows (only accessible by water taxi from Nitinaht Village), allows hikers to tackle a shorter portion.


Resources

More videos

Histoire | Réservations | Ressources | Vidéos

Êtes-vous prêt?

Le sentier de la Côte-Ouest (SCO) est un sentier emblématique de plusieurs jours dans l’arrière-pays et figure sur la liste du cœur de nombreux randonneurs. C’est une expérience qui peut s’avérer très difficile, même pour les randonneurs les plus expérimentés. Ceux qui sont bien préparés physiquement et mentalement et du point de vue de l’équipement reviennent avec des histoires de courage. Les randonneurs grimpent à plus de 100 échelles avec un sac à dos lourd, avancent péniblement dans la boue profonde, traversent à gué des rivières froides et rapides à hauteur des hanches, et bravent le temps souvent venteux et pluvieux de la côte Ouest.


Est-ce que cette randonnée est pour vous?

Avant de décider de réserver une place, sachez à quoi vous vous engagez et assurez-vous que cette randonnée est pour vous : 

SCO : Guide de préparation du randonneur (PDF, 6,38 Mo)

Histoire

Le sentier de la Côte-Ouest est un parcours de 75 km qui fait partie d’anciens sentiers et parcours qu’empruntaient les premières nations pour faire des échanges et se déplacer. Les villages et les campements des Huu-ay-aht, Ditidaht, et Pacheedaht étaient établis bien avant que les voiliers de l’étranger atteignent les côtes de cette région, il y a de cela plus de 200 ans. Au fil des ans et au fur et à mesure que le nombre de vaisseaux traversant le détroit Juan De Fuca s’accroît, le nombre de naufrages et de noyades augmente également le long de la côte, qui prend alors le nom de « cimetière du Pacifique ».

Plus d'histoire


Le terrible naufrage du bateau à vapeur Valencia en 1906, qui entraîne la perte de 125 vies, suscite l’indignation du public et incite le gouvernement à prendre d’autres mesures : il construit le phare Pachena en 1907, crée des postes de sauvetage à Cloo-ose et à Bamfield, et améliore la ligne télégraphique qui devient le Dominion Life Saving Trail offrant six abris contenant des provisions pour assurer le salut des naufragés et de leurs sauveteurs.

La Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim est établie en 1970 et le sentier y est intégré en 1973 en tant que sentier de randonnée, ouvrant un nouveau chapitre de son histoire. Aujourd’hui, plus de 7 500 randonneurs parcourent le sentier de la Côte-Ouest chaque année. Ils viennent admirer la beauté de la région, relever les défis du sentier et marcher dans les pas de ceux qui les ont précédés.

Réservations

Le sentier de la Côte-Ouest est ouvert du 1er mai au 30 septembre.

Sera lancé le 7 janvier 2019 à 8 h (HNP), les réservations pour le sentier de la Côte-Ouest seront prises pour toutes les journées entre le 1 mai et le 30 septembre. Les places partent rapidement; ouvrez un compte avant le 7 janvier 2019.

Sentier de la Côte-Ouest : Réservations


Début de sentier Nitinaht : aventures de 3 à 5 jours

Le sentier de la Côte-Ouest est une aventure emblématique pour le randonneur passionné, même pour les plus chevronnés. Une entrée à mi-chemin au passage Nitinaht (accessible uniquement par bateau-taxi du village de Nitinaht), permet aux randonneurs de s’attaquer à une partie plus courte.


Ressources

Plus de vidéos