Starting June 1, some Parks Canada places will begin to offer limited access and services while maintaining physical distancing measures. Information will be updated regularly.

Only places and activities where health and safety risks can be managed will be available for visitation. We are asking visitors to be cautious and conservative in their use of these places, to observe travel restrictions, respect closures, follow the guidance of public health experts, and to make every effort to keep one another safe.

Opening details will differ across the country. Please check the Parks Canada national information portal dedicated to COVID-19 for regular updates.

Parks Canada and COVID-19 (updated May 27, 2020)

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors and Parks Canada team members is our top priority.

Being outdoors and in nature brings a number of health and wellness benefits., It is important that people have access to natural spaces where they can go to get exercise and fresh air in settings that facilitate physical distancing.

On June 1, 2020, Parks Canada will begin a safe, gradual opening of some outdoor locations in national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.

This means:

  • Starting June 1, visitors will be permitted to access some trails, day use areas, and green spaces at some locations. Until then, all suspensions of visitor services and closures of facilities announced in March remain in place.
  • For their own safety, visitors should not try to access locations that are closed.
  • All camping facilities remain closed until at least June 21, 2020, while Parks Canada assesses whether and how these services might resume. Group activities and public events will be prohibited until further notice. All existing reservations set to take place prior to June 21, 2020, will be automatically cancelled and refunded in full.
  • Highways and roadways which pass through Parks Canada places will remain open.

The latest information about your visit to Kootenay National Park

To help Canadians gain access to the health and wellness benefits that come from being outdoors and in nature, a number of Parks Canada places will be gradually restoring visitor access and visitor services beginning June 1, 2020.

The health and safety of visitors, employees and all Canadians is of the utmost importance and Parks Canada will follow the advice and guidance of public health authorities in resuming visitor access and services. Only places and activities where health and safety risks can be mitigated will be available for visitation.

Visitors can safely and confidently visit the parks, however, it will be a different experience with COVID related safety measures in place. These measure currently range from additional signage, enhanced cleaning protocols in washrooms, to limiting parking and monitoring visitor numbers in high use locations.

What's open as of June 1, 2020

General

  • All day use areas that are accessible based on road and avalanche conditions will be opened.
  • Parking lots and trailheads will open though capacity may be restricted to help enable safe physical distancing measures.
  • Hiking and biking trails.
  • All washrooms that are accessible based on road and avalanche conditions will be opened.
Trails
  • Trails are open and trail conditions will be monitored and updated here: trail conditions
What's closed as of June 1, 2020

Parks Canada is resuming services in a phased approach where health and safety risks can be mitigated. Further details on the resumption of other visitor services will be made available as they are confirmed.

Visitor Centre and Gate
  • The Kootenay visitor centre and gate remain closed.
  • Please reach out to our Visitor Centre staff for trip planning questions and to find out more information regarding Parks Canada’s phased reopening over Facebook
  • Visitors are encouraged to plan ahead and use the Parks Canada website for current facility openings and trail conditions.
  • Parks passes can be purchased online through the Parks Canada website prior to your visit.
Radium Hot Springs pools
  • The Radium Hot Springs pools remain closed under direction of local health authorities.
Guided Hikes
  • All in-person interpretation programs and guided hikes are cancelled at this time.
Frontcountry Campgrounds
  • Campgrounds remain closed.
  • Visitors are strongly encouraged to check the Parks Canada website regularly for updates on campgrounds, trails, day use areas and facilities prior to their visit.
Backcountry Camping
  • Backcountry camping remains closed.
Your safety when visiting

Going outdoors is a great way to maintain health and wellness as long as you are following physical distancing practices. Visitors are asked to continue to follow the advice of public health experts on personal hygiene and physical distancing while enjoying the national parks. Visitors should be conservative in their choices and try to avoid injury or the need for emergency response.

As visitor facilities will still be limited, visitors should come prepared when visiting the national parks. Bring hand sanitizer, avoid touching high-use surfaces, and if you are unwell, stay home.

Parks Canada will continue to monitor the situation and put in place appropriate measures to help Canadians follow the advice of public health experts, however continuing to flatten the curve is all of our responsibility. If we all work together, we can keep our families, friends, neighbours and communities safe and healthy while enjoying our time outdoors.

Stay informed

Parks Canada is working with our partners to keep visitors and residents informed and safe.

For the most up to date information, visit:

À compter du 1er juin, certains endroits de Parcs Canada offriront un accès et des services limités tout en maintenant des mesures de distanciation physique.

Seuls les lieux et activités où les risques pour la santé et la sécurité peuvent être gérés seront disponibles pour les visites. Le gouvernement demande aux Canadiens d'être prudents et conservateurs dans leur utilisation de ces lieux, de respecter les restrictions de voyage, de respecter les conseils des experts en santé publique et de tout mettre en œuvre pour se protéger mutuellement.

Les détails d’ouverture varieront d'un bout à l'autre du pays. Veuillez consulter le portail national d'information de Parcs Canada dédié à COVID-19 pour des mises à jour régulières.

Parcs Canada et la COVID-19 (mise à jour du 27 mai 2020)

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence.

Le contact avec la nature apporte un certain nombre de bienfaits pour la santé et le bien-être. Il est important qu’ils aient accès à des endroits où ils peuvent profiter du grand air, faire de l’exercice et pratiquer la distanciation physique.

Le 1er juin 2020, Parcs Canada commencera une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs des parcs nationaux, lieux historiques nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation.

Cela signifie que :

  • À compter du 1er juin, les visiteurs seront autorisés à accéder à certains sentiers, aires de fréquentation diurne et espaces verts à certains endroits. D'ici là, toutes les suspensions des services aux visiteurs et les fermetures d'installations annoncées en mars restent en vigueur.
  • Pour leur propre sécurité, les visiteurs ne doivent pas essayer d'accéder à des lieux fermés.
  • Toutes les installations de camping restent fermées au moins jusqu'au 21 juin 2020, tandis que Parcs Canada évalue si et comment ces services pourraient reprendre. Les activités de groupe et les événements publics seront interdits jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Toutes les réservations existantes qui doivent avoir lieu avant le 21 juin 2020 seront automatiquement annulées et remboursées en totalité.
  • Les autoroutes et les routes qui traversent les sites de Parcs Canada resteront ouvertes.

Informations importantes sur votre visite au parc national Kootenay

Pour aider la population à profiter des avantages du plein air et de la nature pour la santé et le bien-être, Parcs Canada reprendra peu à peu ses services et rétablira l’accès à un certain nombre de ses lieux patrimoniaux à compter du 1er juin 2020.

Parcs Canada accorde une importance primordiale à la santé et à la sécurité des visiteurs, de ses employés et de la population canadienne. Il suivra les conseils et les directives des autorités de santé publique pour le rétablissement des services et de l’accès. Seuls les lieux et les activités où les risques pour la santé et la sécurité peuvent être atténués seront accessibles au public.

Les visiteurs peuvent explorer les parcs sans danger et avec confiance. Cependant, l’expérience offerte sera différente en raison des mesures liées à la COVID. Ces mesures vont actuellement de l’ajout de panneaux de signalisation au renforcement des protocoles de nettoyage pour les toilettes, en passant par la limitation du nombre de places de stationnement et la surveillance de l’affluence dans les secteurs les plus fréquentés.

Ce qui est ouvert (au 1er juin 2020)

Généralités

  • Les aires de fréquentation diurne seront ouvertes dans la mesure où l’état des routes et les conditions d’avalanche le permettent.
  • Les terrains de stationnement et le point de départ des sentiers seront ouverts, mais il se pourrait que la capacité soit restreinte afin de faciliter l’application des mesures d’éloignement physique.
  • Les pistes cyclables et les sentiers de randonnée seront rouverts.
  • Les toilettes seront rouvertes dans la mesure où l’état des routes et les conditions d’avalanche le permettent.
Sentiers
  • Les sentiers sont ouverts. Ils seront soumis à une surveillance, et des renseignements à jour sur leur état seront publiés ici : état des sentiers
Ce qui est fermé (au 1er juin 2020)

Parcs Canada adopte une approche par étapes pour la reprise de ses services là où les risques pour la santé et la sécurité peuvent être atténués. Des détails sur la reprise des autres services aux visiteurs seront communiqués dès que l’information sera confirmée.

Centre d’accueil et poste d’entrée
  • Le Centre d’accueil et le poste d’entrée restent fermés.
  • Veuillez vous adresser au personnel du Centre d’accueil sur les réseaux sociaux ou par courrier électronique afin d’obtenir des conseils pour planifier votre séjour et des renseignements supplémentaires sur la réouverture graduelle : Facebook ou pc.kootenayinfo-infokootenay.pc@canada.ca
  • Les visiteurs sont invités à se montrer prévoyants et à consulter le site Web de Parcs Canada pour obtenir de l’information à jour sur les installations ouvertes et l’état des sentiers.
  • Vous pouvez acheter des laissez-passer de parc en ligne par le site Web de Parcs Canada avant votre arrivée.
Sources thermales Radium
  • Les piscines des sources thermales Radium restent fermées conformément aux directives des autorités sanitaires locales.
Randonnées guidées
  • Toutes les activités d’interprétation avec personnel et les randonnées guidées sont annulées pour l’instant.
Campings de l’avant-pays
  • Les campings restent fermés.
  • Parcs Canada encourage fortement les visiteurs à consulter régulièrement son site Web pour obtenir des mises à jour sur les campings, les sentiers, les aires de fréquentation diurne et les autres installations avant leur arrivée.
Camping dans l’arrière-pays
  • Les campings de l’arrière-pays restent fermés.
Votre sécurité lors de votre visite

Les sorties en plein air sont un excellent moyen de rester en santé, à condition de suivre les consignes d’éloignement physique. Nous prions les visiteurs de continuer à suivre les conseils des experts en santé publique en matière d’hygiène personnelle et d’éloignement physique tout en profitant des parcs nationaux. Les visiteurs devraient faire des choix prudents et s’efforcer d’éviter les blessures ou les situations nécessitant une intervention d’urgence.

Comme le nombre d’installations ouvertes demeure limité, les visiteurs auraient avantage à bien se préparer pour leur séjour dans les parcs nationaux. Apportez du désinfectant pour les mains, évitez tout contact avec les surfaces fréquemment touchées, et, si vous ne vous sentez pas bien, restez à la maison.

Parcs Canada continuera de surveiller la situation et de mettre en place des mesures appropriées pour aider la population à suivre les conseils des experts en santé publique. Cependant, nous avons tous un rôle à jouer dans l’aplatissement de la courbe. En travaillant ensemble, nous pouvons assurer la santé et la sécurité de nos proches, de nos amis, de nos voisins et de nos collectivités tout en profitant pleinement du grand air.

Restez informé

Parcs Canada travaille avec nos partenaires pour tenir les visiteurs et les résidents informés et en sécurité.

Pour les informations les plus récentes, visitez