There are 29 species of small mammals in Kootenay. They range in size from the pygmy shrew, which weighs only a few grams, to the beaver, which can weigh up to 20 kilograms. Except for shrews, bats and rabbits, these animals are all rodents.

Columbian ground squirrel | Golden-mantled ground squirrel | Chipmunk | Hoary marmot | Porcupine | Beaver | Little brown bat | Snowshoe hare | Pika


Columbian ground squirrel

columbian ground squirrel sitting upright

Columbian ground squirrels are the most regularly spotted animal in the park during the summer. They enjoy their sleep and hibernate for up to seven months. When they are awake, they are important prey for grizzly bears, coyotes, wolves and golden eagles.

Golden-mantled ground squirrel

golden mantled ground squirrel

Golden mantled ground squirrels have a tawny to reddish "mantle" across their shoulders and a black-bordered white stripe down each side of their backs. They are omnivores, feeding on almost anything they can get a hold of, from seeds to fungi, herbs and shrubs, insects and even eggs or carrion. You can see them darting in and out of their burrows throughout the park.

Chipmunk

chipmunk sitting on a tree branch

Chipmunks get their name from the genus “Tamias” which is Greek for "steward". They play a big role as stewards in our National Parks by collecting and dispersing seeds! They are small and striped.

Hoary marmot

marmot sunning on a rock

Hoary marmots are colonial animals that live near or above treeline. One of the largest rodents in the park, marmots can weigh up to 12 kilograms. Marmots can be seen on a number of day hikes in the park, including our guided hikes to the Burgess Shale.

Porcupine

porcupine sitting in a spruce tree

Porcupines are common in subalpine forests throughout the park. Like other rodents, porcupines chew bones and antlers to gain minerals. Keep an eye on your backpacks and boots when camping in the backcountry - porcupines love the salty residue on things that humans have touched and are known to nibble!

Beaver

beaver in the water gnawing on a stick

The beaver is the largest rodent in the park and usually hard at work in valley-bottom streams and ponds building lodges and practically indestructible dams out of sticks, stones, and mud. These wide-tailed toothy fellows eat the rich, pulpy cambium layer of tree bark. Their favourite flavour? Aspen.

Little Brown Bat

two little brown bats huddled together

The Little Brown Bat is one of seven bats found in Yoho National Park. It can eat half its weight in insects per night, including mosquitos, midges and mayflies. Like other bats, it helps keep forest insect populations in check!

Snowshoe Hare

snowshoe hare with winter coat on snow in the willows

Snowshoe hares get their name from their feet which act as snowshoes, preventing them from sinking into the snow when they hop and walk. They are well camouflaged and can be hard to spot because their fur turns white in winter and brown in summer. Their distinctive track patterns are easy to spot and follow in winter.

Pika

pika sitting on a rock with vegetation in its mouth

Pika or "rock rabbits" are the smallest member of the rabbit family. Pikas live in alpine talus slopes. Although well camouflaged and sometimes hard to see, their distinctive and high pitched call can often be heard - “peeeeeek”!

Le parc national Kootenay protège 29 espèces de petits mammifères de tailles diverses, depuis la musaraigne pygmée, qui ne pèse que quelques grammes, jusqu’au castor, qui peut atteindre un poids de 20 kg. À l’exception des musaraignes, des chauves-souris et des lièvres, tous ces animaux sont des rongeurs.

Spermophile du Columbia | Spermophile à mante dorée | Tamia | Marmotte des Rocheuses | Porc-épic | Castor | Petite chauve-souris brune | Lièvre d’Amérique | Pica d’Amérique


Spermophile du Columbia

Spermophile du Columbia

Le spermophile du Columbia est l’animal le plus souvent aperçu dans le parc en été. Il aime dormir et hiberne pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu’à sept mois. Pendant les périodes où il est actif, le spermophile représente une source de nourriture importante pour le grizzli, le coyote, le loup et l’aigle royal. 

Spermophile à mante dorée

Spermophile à mante dorée

Le spermophile à mante dorée porte une « mante » de couleur fauve-rougeâtre sur les épaules et une rayure blanche flanquée de bordures noires sur chaque côté. Ce petit omnivore se nourrit d’à peu près tout ce dont il réussit à s’emparer, depuis des graines jusqu’à des champignons, en passant par de l’herbe et des arbrisseaux, des insectes et même des œufs ou de la charogne. Il est présent dans tous les secteurs du parc, et les visiteurs peuvent souvent le voir entrer dans son terrier ou en sortir à toute vitesse. 

Tamia

Tamia

Le tamia tient son nom du genre Tamias, mot grec signifiant « économe » ou « intendant ». Ce petit mammifère rayé joue en effet un rôle d’intendant dans nos parcs nationaux, en recueillant et en dispersant des graines!

Marmotte des Rocheuses

marmotte

Animal colonial, la marmotte des Rocheuses vit à proximité ou au-dessus de la limite forestière. Elle peut atteindre un poids de 12 kg, ce qui en fait l’un des plus gros rongeurs du parc. Ce petit mammifère peut être observé le long de plusieurs sentiers de randonnée d’une journée dans le parc, notamment les sentiers de randonnée guidée qui mènent aux fossiles des schistes argileux de Burgess.

Porc-épic

Porc-épic

Le porc-épic est un animal commun des forêts subalpines du parc. Comme les autres rongeurs, il mâche des os et des bois de cervidés pour en tirer des minéraux. Tenez vos sacs à dos et vos bottes à l’œil lorsque vous faites du camping dans l’arrière-pays : les porcs-épics adorent les résidus de sel qui se trouvent sur les objets touchés par les humains, et ils aiment bien grignoter!

Castor

Castor dans l'eau

Le castor est le plus gros rongeur du parc. On le voit généralement affairé à construire, avec des brindilles, des cailloux et de la boue, des huttes et des digues pratiquement indestructibles dans les ruisseaux et les étangs du fond des vallées. Cette bête aux longues dents et à la queue large se nourrit de cambium, une couche riche et pulpeuse de l’écorce des arbres. Son essence préférée? Le tremble.

Petite chauve-souris brune

Petite chauve-souris brune

La petite chauve-souris brune, qui fait partie des sept espèces de chauves-souris présentes dans le parc national Yoho, peut ingérer chaque nuit la moitié de son poids en insectes, tels que des moustiques, des moucherons et des éphémères. Comme les autres espèces de chauves-souris, elle contribue à réguler les populations d’insectes forestiers! 

Lièvre d’Amérique

Lièvre d’Amérique

Le lièvre d’Amérique est pourvu de grosses pattes qui, telles des raquettes, lui permettent de sauter et de marcher dans la neige sans s’enfoncer. Il peut être difficile à repérer en raison de sa tenue de camouflage : son pelage devient blanc en hiver et brun en été. Le motif distinctif créé par ses empreintes est facile à distinguer et à suivre en hiver.

Pica d’Amérique

Pica d’Amérique

Communément appelé lapin des rochers, le pica est le plus petit des léporidés (famille du lièvre) du parc. Il vit dans les talus d’éboulis alpins. Bien que son pelage lui permette de bien se camoufler et qu’il soit parfois difficile à voir, son cri aigu distinctif trahit souvent sa présence : « piiiiiiiik! »