What We Heard: Mountain National Parks (PDF)   |    What We Heard: Kootenay National Park (PDF) 

The Engagement Process

Summary of engagement activities 

The first phase of engagement and consultation for scoping the Kootenay National park management plan included a range of opportunities designed to gather input from Indigenous communities, youth, local stakeholders and other Canadians. Stakeholder workshops were held in Radium, British Columbia. An online platform called Let’s Talk Mountain Parks was created with the other mountain parks, enabling interested Canadians to be part of the discussion. One university campus club was engaged using an online presentation and conference call. Newspaper advertisements, postcards and social media posts were used to create awareness of the engagement program. The first phase of engagement and consultation ran from January 30 to May 10, 2019.

Who we heard from 

During the three-month engagement period, there were a total of 507 visits to the Kootenay National Park online site. Of this total, 60 people filled out online surveys or posted ideas. An additional 233 people viewed website content and downloaded documents. 

A total of 35 people attended two workshops. Stakeholders included the municipal government, destination marketing organizations, outdoor recreation groups, and local business operators. Parks Canada staff also met separately with representatives of several Indigenous communities. Written submissions were received from three organizations.

MAP – Geographical distribution of website participants from Canada

What We Heard

What we heard from indigenous peoples 

Kootenay National Park is located within the traditional territories of the Ktunaxa and Secwepemc First Nations. Discussions are ongoing with representatives of these Indigenous groups to ensure their perspectives are heard and included in the draft management plan.
Indigenous communities who have provided initial responses express a strong desire to feel at home in the park, and to contribute their knowledge and practices to the stewardship of the park.

What we heard from the stakeholders and the general public 

The following section outlines some of the main themes that emerged during the engagement period, in the categories of park vision, key issues, and planning principles.

Park Vision

Workshop attendees and people who completed online surveys were asked to describe their vision of Kootenay National Park at its future best. An analysis of the comments showed that the most common theme identified by participants was a desire to see the park protected and its ecological integrity restored. The words undeveloped, wild, intact, rugged, pristine, and wildlife were frequently mentioned. For many respondents, this theme included low levels of commercial use and infrastructure, where people can experience unspoiled wilderness. Fire as an ecological process was recognized as an important part of that vision for its role in restoring healthy forest ecosystems. 

While the protection of healthy ecosystems was viewed as paramount, participants also expressed a strong desire to ensure that these natural landscapes remain accessible. Providing more or improved opportunities for people to experience and enjoy the park was a common suggestion, although others indicated that the relative lack of developed infrastructure and crowds was central to their vision of the park at its best. Those recommending greater accessibility used the term broadly, describing elements of individual ability, demographics, socio-economic status, and technological connectivity. Many respondents felt that there are more opportunities to engage travelers on Highway 93 South by providing improved or additional places to access the park safely. High quality and accessible roadside day-use areas that incorporate learning opportunities are key to this vision.

Another theme was education and the opportunity that mountain parks provide for visitors to learn about nature and culture. Some of the educational themes that were mentioned include Indigenous history, cultural heritage, fire ecology, wildlife, and climate change. 

Key Issues

The first phase of engagement provided opportunities for Parks Canada to hear from interested Canadians about key issues that should be considered in the development of the next national park management plan. The main themes that emerged are discussed below.

Resource Protection/Ecological Integrity

Participants indicated that elements of the natural ecosystem are key features that make the park unique. When describing changes or challenges over the next ten years, 59% of online survey respondents cited ecological protection and habitat restoration as priorities.  This was also a common theme expressed by workshop participants. The role of fire on the landscape was the dominant ecological concern. Respondents mentioned the historical lack of fire and the need for more prescribed fires to restore ecosystems and prevent large-scale wildfires. Others suggested that with a warming climate, more wildfires are inevitable. Other specific areas of concern related to ecological integrity include aquatic ecosystem restoration, invasive species, increasing visitation and demand for additional facilities, potential for increased wildlife disturbance and human-wildlife conflict. 

Visitor Facilities and Activities

The state and availability of park facilities was an important issue for many participants. When asked about barriers to connecting to the park, 45% of online respondents cited lack of facilities or activities, or the poor and outdated nature of facilities. In particular, people referenced a need for more low elevation hiking trails, more backcountry trails, better trail maintenance, more accessible facilities, more camping opportunities including river use sites, and more roadside pullouts/day-use areas. Others felt that there is already enough, or too much infrastructure, and too many people in places such as Stanley Glacier, resulting in a lack of opportunity to connect with nature. 

Traffic on Highway 93 South is viewed as an issue for some. In particular, summer traffic volumes and excessive driving speeds are a concern. Commercial truck traffic was identified as a barrier to enjoyment of an otherwise peaceful natural setting. Reducing the impact of ore trucks on the highway and visitor experience was also referenced.
Changing visitor demographics and patterns of use were also identified as important considerations. Participants referenced an increase in international tourists, spill-over visitation from the Bow Valley, an aging and more culturally diverse population, increasing winter use (ski touring, snowshoeing, Nordic skiing), changing transportation options, and evolving recreational and communications technologies as important considerations for park management over the coming decade.

Increasing Visitation/ Demand Management 

Many participants value the relatively limited infrastructure and lower numbers of visitors in Kootenay National Park compared to neighbouring parks. Some respondents suggested the need to impose limits on development and visitor numbers in order to maintain this experience, while others emphasized the importance of addressing the needs of wildlife and park ecosystems over the demands of park visitors. Increasing human-use pressure originating from land adjacent to the park was also identified as an important threat. Motorized recreation, including helicopter-supported activities, mountain biking, and hunting were identified as concerns.

Indigenous Reconciliation and Heritage

Many people recognized the importance of supporting Indigenous peoples in reconnecting to their traditional territories in the park. Participants shared a desire to have more Indigenous stories told within the park. Some participants felt that there is a need to incorporate Indigenous Knowledge into park management. 

Technological Changes and Impacts

Changing technology was identified as an issue that can provide both opportunities and challenges for Parks Canada. Types of changing technology identified include electric and self-driving cars, E-bikes, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs or drones), artificial intelligence, virtual reality, and various types of communications and electronic technologies. Social media was identified as both an important influence on visitor use patterns (“selfie culture”), and as a useful tool to connect with visitors travelling through the park on Highway 93 South. The lack of cell service on 93 South was identified as a constraint. Parks Canada was encouraged to consider evolving technology when developing visitor activities and educational programming, and when encouraging appropriate park behaviour. 

Climate Change

Understanding and adapting to the effects of climate change was identified as a key issue. Specific concerns included the increasing risk of wildfires and associated smoke which in turn could affect visitation; impacts on wildlife and park ecosystems; impacts on park assets; decreasing winter snowpack; and drought. Studying the effects of climate change in the park is seen as a way to develop adaptation strategies, and to support climate change education for park visitors. 

Principles

The scoping phase of engagement included discussions about the key principles that should inform the national park management plan and help guide future decision making. Key themes that emerged from these discussions are outlined below.

Transparency

Parks Canada should ensure that management decisions are open and accountable. Decisions should be based on open two-way communication with Indigenous communities, local residents, stakeholders, and other Canadians. Relevant information should be shared prior to any decisions.

Evidence-Based Decisions 

Future management decisions should be rooted in scientific information and understanding. All relevant sources of information should be considered objectively. Continued application of this principle over time will support adaptive management.

Integrity and Leadership 

Parks Canada should always demonstrate integrity and leadership in conservation when delivering its mandate.  Parks Canada should remain focused on the legislated mandate to maintain or restore ecological integrity. The Parks Canada Guiding Principles and Operational Policies (1994) continue to provide good direction and the advice of Parks Canada professional staff should be trusted. There should be a recognition that the park cannot satisfy all expectations and still adhere to its mandate.

Sustainability

Future decision making should support the sustainability of Kootenay National Park. This applies both to ecological and fiscal sustainability related to the maintenance of park assets. Increasing the amount of park infrastructure may not be sustainable in the long-term.

Ce que nous avons entendu : parcs nationaux des montagnes (PDF) | Ce que nous avons entendu : Parc national Kootenay (PDF)

Processus de mobilisation

Résumé des activités de mobilisation 

La première étape de la mobilisation et de la consultation en vue de l’établissement de la portée du plan directeur du parc national Kootenay comportait un éventail de possibilités conçues pour recueillir des commentaires auprès des collectivités autochtones, des jeunes, des intervenants locaux et d’autres Canadiens. Des ateliers avec les intervenants ont eu lieu à Radium, en Colombie-Britannique. Une plateforme en ligne appelée Parlons parcs de montagne a été créée conjointement avec les autres parcs des montagnes; elle permet aux Canadiens intéressés de prendre part aux discussions. Un club de campus universitaire a participé par l’entremise d’une soumission en ligne et d’une conférence téléphonique. On a eu recours à des annonces dans les journaux, à des cartes postales et à des messages dans les médias sociaux pour faire connaître le programme de mobilisation. La première étape des activités de mobilisation et de consultation s’est déroulée du 30 janvier au 10 mai 2019.

Ceux que nous avons entendus 

Au cours de la période de consultation de trois mois, un total de 507 visites ont été effectuées sur le site Web du parc national Kootenay. De ce total, 60 personnes ont répondu à des sondages en ligne ou ont publié des idées. Par ailleurs, 233 autres ont pris connaissance du contenu du site Web et ont téléchargé des documents.

Un total de 35 personnes ont participé à deux ateliers. Parmi les participants, mentionnons des membres de l’administration municipale, d’organisations de marketing de destination et de groupes d’amateurs de plein air, et des exploitants d’entreprises locaux. Des membres du personnel de Parcs Canada ont également rencontré séparément des représentants de plusieurs collectivités autochtones. Des observations écrites de trois organisations ont été reçues.

CARTE – Répartition géographique des participants canadiens du site Web.

Ce que nous avons entendu

Ce que nouse avons entendu des peuples autochtones

Le parc national Kootenay est situé dans les limites des territoires traditionnels des Premières Nations Ktunaxa et Secwepemc. Des discussions sont en cours avec des représentants de ces peuples autochtones afin de veiller à ce que leurs points de vue soient entendus et pris en compte dans l’ébauche du plan directeur.
Les collectivités autochtones qui ont fait part de leurs réactions initiales ont exprimé un vif désir de se sentir chez eux dans le parc et de diffuser leurs connaissances et leurs pratiques pour contribuer à l’intendance du parc.

Ce que nous avons entendu des intervenants et du grand public

La section qui suit présente certains des principaux thèmes qui se sont dégagés au cours de la période de consultation et se retrouvant dans les catégories suivantes : vision du parc, enjeux clés et principes de planification.

Vision du parc

On a demandé aux participants aux ateliers et aux personnes qui ont répondu au sondage en ligne de décrire leur vision du parc national Kootenay pour en assurer le meilleur avenir possible. Une analyse des commentaires a révélé que le thème le plus souvent mentionné par les participants était la volonté de voir le parc protégé et son intégrité écologique, rétablie. Les mots non aménagé, nature sauvage, intact, accidenté, vierge et faune ont fréquemment été mentionnés. Pour de nombreux répondants, cela passe par de faibles niveaux d’utilisation commerciale et d’infrastructures, afin de permettre aux visiteurs de faire l’expérience d’une nature sauvage encore intacte. Le feu comme processus écologique a été mentionné parmi les éléments importants de cette vision vu son rôle dans la restauration d’écosystèmes forestiers sains. 

Bien que la protection d’écosystèmes sains soit considérée comme primordiale, les participants ont aussi exprimé fermement le souhait que l’on garde accessibles ces paysages naturels. Beaucoup ont suggéré que l’on offre de nouvelles occasions ou de meilleures occasions pour les visiteurs de découvrir et d’apprécier le parc, même si d’autres ont indiqué que l’absence relative d’infrastructures aménagées et de foules était un élément central de leur vision optimale du parc. Ceux qui ont recommandé une plus grande accessibilité ont utilisé le terme au sens large, en décrivant des éléments liés à la capacité individuelle, aux données démographiques, à la situation socioéconomique et à la connectivité technologique. De nombreux répondants ont estimé qu’il existe d’autres façons d’intéresser les voyageurs à emprunter la route 93 Sud en offrant de nouveaux endroits par où accéder au parc en toute sécurité. Des aires de fréquentation diurne de grande qualité, offrant des occasions d’apprentissage et accessibles, en bordure de la route, sont des éléments clés de cette vision. 

Un autre thème abordé a été l’éducation et la possibilité pour les parcs des montagnes d’offrir aux visiteurs l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur la nature et la culture. Au nombre des thèmes liés à l’éducation mentionnés, citons l’histoire des peuples autochtones, le patrimoine culturel, l’écologie du feu, la faune et les changements climatiques. 

Enjeux clés

La première étape de la mobilisation a donné l’occasion à Parcs Canada d’entendre les points de vue des Canadiens intéressés sur les enjeux clés dont il faudra tenir compte dans le cadre de l’élaboration du prochain plan directeur du parc national. Les principaux thèmes qui sont ressortis sont résumés ci-dessous.

Protection des ressources et intégrité écologique

De nombreux participants ont indiqué que les éléments de l’écosystème naturel sont des caractéristiques essentielles qui rendent le parc unique. Au sujet des changements auxquels pourrait faire face Parcs Canada au cours des dix prochaines années, 59 % des répondants au sondage en ligne ont cité la protection écologique et la restauration des habitats parmi leurs priorités. Il s’agit d’un thème commun qui a également été abordé par les participants aux ateliers. Le rôle du feu dans le paysage a été la préoccupation écologique dominante. Les répondants ont mentionné l’absence historique du feu et la nécessité de recourir à un nombre accru de brûlages dirigés pour restaurer les écosystèmes et prévenir les incendies à grande échelle. D’autres ont laissé entendre qu’en raison du réchauffement climatique, l’augmentation du nombre d’incendies est inévitable. Parmi les autres sujets de préoccupation particuliers liés à l’intégrité écologique, mentionnons la restauration des écosystèmes aquatiques, les espèces envahissantes, la fréquentation accrue et la demande d’installations supplémentaires ainsi que la possibilité d’une augmentation des perturbations causées aux espèces faunique et des conflits entre les humaines et les animaux sauvages. 


Installations et activités destinées aux visiteurs

L’état et la disponibilité des installations du parc constituent un enjeu important pour de nombreux participants. Quand on leur a demandé quels obstacles nuisaient à l’établissement de liens avec le parc, 45 % des répondants en ligne ont cité le manque d’installations ou d’activités, et le mauvais état et la désuétude des installations. En particulier, les participants ont mentionné la nécessité de disposer d’un plus grand nombre de sentiers pédestres de faible élévation, de sentiers de l’arrière-pays, de sentiers mieux entretenus, d’installations plus accessibles, de nouvelles possibilités de camping (y compris un plus grand nombre d’emplacements donnant accès aux rivières), d’aires de stationnement le long de la route et d’aires de fréquentation diurnes. D’autres étaient d’avis qu’il y a déjà assez ou trop d’infrastructures et un trop grand nombre de visiteurs à des endroits comme le glacier Stanley, ce qui empêche de se rapprocher de la nature. 

La circulation sur la route 93 Sud est considérée comme un problème pour certains. Plus particulièrement, on se préoccupe du volume de la circulation en été et de la vitesse excessive. La circulation des camions commerciaux est jugée comme un obstacle à la jouissance d’un cadre naturel habituellement paisible. La réduction de l’impact sur la route et sur l’expérience des visiteurs des camions transportant du minerai a également été mentionnée.

Les changements dans la démographie et dans les habitudes d’utilisation des visiteurs ont également été soulignés comme des facteurs importants. Les participants ont fait référence à l’augmentation du nombre de touristes étrangers, aux visiteurs provenant de la vallée de la Bow, à la population vieillissante et diversifiée sur le plan culturel, à l’utilisation croissante du parc en hiver (ski de randonnée, raquette, ski de fond), à la transformation des modes de transport et à l’évolution constante des technologies de loisirs et de communication parmi les critères importants à prendre en compte pour la gestion du parc au cours de la prochaine décennie.

Augmentation de la fréquentation et gestion de la demande

De nombreux participants apprécient les infrastructures et les faibles nombres de visiteurs du parc national Kootenay par rapport aux parcs voisins. Certains répondants ont fait état de la nécessité d’imposer des limites à l’aménagement et au nombre de visiteurs pour assurer le maintien de l’expérience, alors que d’autres ont souligné l’importance de répondre aux besoins de la faune et des écosystèmes du parc avant ceux des visiteurs du parc. Les pressions grandissantes exercées par l’utilisation humaine des terres adjacentes au parc sont également considérées comme une menace importante. Les loisirs motorisés, notamment les activités par hélicoptère, ainsi que le vélo de montagne et la chasse, sont considérés comme préoccupants.

Patrimoine autochtone et réconciliation avec les Autochtones

De nombreuses personnes ont reconnu l’importance d’aider les peuples autochtones à renouer avec leurs territoires traditionnels dans le parc. Les participants ont en commun le désir de se faire raconter des récits autochtones dans le parc. Certains estiment nécessaire d’intégrer le savoir autochtone dans la gestion du parc. 

Changements technologiques et impacts

Les changements technologiques ont été soulignés comme un enjeu qui peut offrir des possibilités et présenter des défis pour Parcs Canada. Les types de changements technologiques relevés incluent les voitures électriques et autonomes, les vélos électriques, les véhicules aériens sans pilote (drones), l’intelligence artificielle, la réalité virtuelle et les différents types de communications et de technologies électroniques. Les médias sociaux ont été désignés comme étant à la fois une influence importante sur les habitudes d’utilisation des visiteurs (« culture de l’égoportrait ») et un outil utile pour communiquer avec les visiteurs qui traversent le parc en empruntant la route 93 Sud. L’absence de couverture cellulaire sur cette route est considérée comme un obstacle. On a invité Parcs Canada à tenir compte des nouvelles technologies lors de l’élaboration des activités et des programmes éducatifs offerts aux visiteurs afin de favoriser les comportements appropriés dans le parc.

Changements climatiques

Il est très important de comprendre les effets des changements climatiques et de s’y adapter. Parmi les préoccupations particulières soulevées, mentionnons le risque accru de feux et la fumée connexe, qui pourraient nuire à la fréquentation, les impacts sur la faune et les écosystèmes du parc, les impacts sur les biens du parc, la baisse du manteau neigeux hivernal et la sécheresse. Étudier les changements climatiques dans le parc permettrait, selon les participants, d’élaborer des stratégies d’adaptation et de favoriser la sensibilisation des visiteurs du parc aux changements climatiques. 

Principes de planification

L’étape de l’établissement de la portée de la mobilisation a donné lieu à des discussions au sujet des principes clés qui devraient orienter l’élaboration du plan directeur du parc national et aider à éclairer la prise de décisions futures. Les thèmes clés qui sont ressortis de ces discussions sont présentés ci-après.

Transparence

Parcs Canada devrait s’assurer que les décisions de gestion sont prises de façon transparente et donnent lieu à une reddition de comptes. Les décisions devraient être fondées sur une communication ouverte et bilatérale avec les collectivités autochtones, les résidents locaux, les intervenants et d’autres Canadiens. Les renseignements pertinents devraient être diffusés avant que toute décision soit prise.

Décisions fondées sur des données probantes 

Les futures décisions de gestion doivent être fondées sur la compréhension et les données scientifiques. La validité de toutes les sources de renseignements doit être prise en considération. L’application continue de ce principe au fil du temps favorisera une gestion adaptative.

Intégrité et leadership 

Parcs Canada devrait faire preuve en tout temps d’intégrité et de leadership en matière de conservation dans l’exécution de son mandat, et devrait continuer de mettre l’accent sur son mandat officiel pour préserver ou rétablir l’intégrité écologique. Le document Principes directeurs et politiques de gestion de Parcs Canada (1994) continue de donner de bonnes orientations, et il faudrait faire confiance aux conseils des membres du personnel professionnel de Parcs Canada. Il faudrait aussi reconnaître que le parc ne peut pas satisfaire à toutes les attentes et continuer de se conformer à son mandat. 

Viabilité

La prise de décisions futures devrait soutenir la viabilité du parc national Kootenay, tant sur le plan écologique que financier (entretien des biens du parc). L’augmentation du nombre des infrastructures du parc pourrait ne pas être viable à long terme.