On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure their ecological and commemorative integrity for present and future generations.

Canada National Parks Act

Parks Canada is reviewing the management plan for Banff, Jasper, Kootenay, Yoho, Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks. These six parks share many of the same challenges, opportunities, visitors and stakeholders. This fact sheet describes the plan review process, key principles and opportunities for Indigenous and public involvement.

What is a park management plan?

A management plan is a public document, prepared in consultation with Indigenous peoples and Canadians. It sets out a long-term vision for a national park, as well as strategic direction to guide decision-making about the park for a five to ten year period.

The management plan is the main public accountability document for a national park. It is the road map that guides Parks Canada’s work to protect natural and cultural resources while facilitating visitor experiences and learning opportunities. It also helps Parks Canada make sound decisions about where to invest financial and human resources. 

Plan review process

Diagram of management plan review process. 
Management planning cycle

Management plan review

  1. State of the Park assessment
  2. Scoping exercise *Indigenous and public engagement
  3. Management plan preparation *Indigenous and public engagement
  4. Management plan approval
  5. Management planning cycle

Management plan implementation

  1. Monitoring and evaluation occur throughout the cycle
  2. Annual implementation updates
  • Management planning and implementation is a continuous cycle of engagement, decision-making, evaluating and reporting.
  • State of the Park Assessments are prepared two years before a new plan is due to set the stage for the management plan review.
  • Parks Canada sets the scope of the plan review based on the State of the Park Assessment, an evaluation of the current management plan, public and Indigenous feedback, the Agency’s corporate priorities, and other factors.
  • Parks Canada will provide opportunities for Indigenous and public involvement at both the management plan scoping phase and as the draft plan is developed.
  • The final plans are approved by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change and tabled in Parliament.
  • Each park reports annually on progress in implementing its management plan through public meetings or written reports.

Indigenous involvement

As a member of the federal Crown, Parks Canada has a special relationship with Indigenous peoples. The management plan review is an opportunity to strengthen collaboration with Indigenous communities and organizations. We will offer opportunities for Indigenous communities and organizations to engage directly with us during the management plan review.   

Public involvement

Parks Canada welcomes the participation of Canadians in the management plan review. Public involvement ensures that park management plans reflect the perspectives of Canadians. Each park will offer a variety of ways to get involved—from workshops or public meetings to online forums.

Guiding principles

1. Moving forward, not starting anew

While the new plans will build on existing policy and plan direction, they will be rewritten and updated to better address emerging issues, new knowledge and the results of engagement processes. The new plans will provide more clarity; respond to government priorities and Parks Canada Agency strategic direction; and reaffirm ecological and commemorative integrity as the first priorities.  

2. A platform for relationship building

Parks Canada will use the plan review process to continue its work with the public, partners and Indigenous groups to help advance shared goals for conservation and enjoyment of the mountain national parks. Engagement on the development of the plans presents opportunities to incorporate principles and actions respecting the Government of Canada’s commitment to reconciliation.

3. Decision making that is guided by science and Indigenous traditional knowledge

Parks Canada will use the plan review to reaffirm ecological integrity as its first priority in the management of national parks. To ensure it can respond to the challenges of climate change, impacts to ecological integrity, and development and current visitation levels, Parks Canada will advance and make the best use of conservation science and Indigenous traditional knowledge. This framework will safeguard these parks as treasured places for generations to come. 

4. Openness and transparency

The management plan review process provides an opportunity for increased public and Indigenous involvement and for Parks Canada to demonstrate transparency in its decision making.  

Timelines

  • Parks Canada has completed a State of the Park Assessments for all six parks.
  • We are inviting input on key considerations for the plan review process from early 2019.
  • Draft plans will be ready for review in 2020.
  • Final plans will be tabled in Parliament in 2020.
Diagram of management plan review timeline.

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. 

Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada 

Parcs Canada a entrepris l’examen des plans directeurs des parcs nationaux Banff, Jasper, Kootenay et Yoho ainsi que des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Ces six parcs ont en commun un grand nombre de défis et de possibilités; de plus, les visiteurs et les intervenants sont en grande partie les mêmes. La présente fiche d’information décrit le processus d’examen des plans directeurs, les principes clés qui le sous-tendent ainsi que les possibilités de participation des Autochtones et du public. 

Qu’est-ce qu’un plan directeur? 

Le plan directeur est un document public rédigé avec le concours des peuples autochtones et de la population canadienne. Il expose la vision à long terme adoptée pour un parc national donné, de même que l’orientation stratégique qui régira la prise de décisions au sujet de ce parc pendant une période de cinq à dix ans.

Le plan directeur est le principal outil de reddition de comptes d’un parc national. Il s’agit de la feuille de route qui oriente le travail accompli par Parcs Canada pour protéger les ressources naturelles et culturelles tout en facilitant la création d’expériences et de possibilités d’apprentissage mémorables. Le plan directeur aide également Parcs Canada à prendre des décisions judicieuses sur la manière d’investir ses ressources financières et humaines. 

Processus d’examen du plan directeur 

Diagramme du processus d’examen du plan directeur 
Cycle de l’elaboration du plan directeur

Examen du plan directeur

  1. Évaluation de l’état du parc
  2. Exercice de détermination de la portée *Mobilisation des Autochtones et du public
  3. Management plan preperation *Mobilisation des Autochtones et du public
  4. Élaboration du plan directeur
  5. Approbation du plan directeur

Mise en oeuvre du plan directeur

  1. Surveillance et évaluation tout au long du cycle
  2. Mises à jour annuelles surla mise en oeuvre
      • L’élaboration et la mise en œuvre du plan directeur font partie d’un cycle continu de mobilisation, de prise de décisions, d’évaluation et de reddition de comptes. 
      • L’évaluation de l’état du parc pourrait s’assimiler à un bulletin de notes partiel sur l’état d’un parc. Elle est entreprise deux ans avant l’élaboration d’un nouveau plan directeur, de manière à préparer le terrain pour l’examen du plan.
      • Parcs Canada établit la portée de l’examen en fonction de l’évaluation de l’état du parc, de l’évaluation du plan directeur actuel, de la rétroaction du public, des points de vue exprimés par les Autochtones, de ses propres priorités stratégiques et d’autres facteurs. 
      • Parcs Canada ébauche le contenu du nouveau plan directeur et le soumet à l’examen des peuples autochtones et du public. 
      • La version définitive du plan est approuvée par le ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, puis déposée au Parlement.
      • Chaque parc rend compte annuellement des progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre de son plan directeur en organisant des réunions publiques ou en produisant des rapports écrits. 
         

      Participation des Autochtones 

      En tant que représentant de l’État fédéral, Parcs Canada entretient une relation spéciale avec les peuples autochtones. L’examen des plans directeurs représente pour lui une occasion de renforcer sa collaboration avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones. Parcs Canada leur offrira des possibilités de faire connaître directement leur point de vue pendant l’examen des plans.      

      Participation du public 

      Parcs Canada tient à ce que le public participe à l’examen des plans directeurs. C’est ce qui lui permet de veiller à ce que les plans reflètent les perspectives du peuple canadien. Chaque parc offrira au public différents moyens de s’impliquer, qu’il s’agisse d’ateliers, de réunions publiques ou de tribunes en ligne.

      Principes directeurs 

      1. Aller de l’avant, sans réinventer la roue 

      Les nouveaux plans s’appuieront sur les politiques et les orientations existantes. Ils seront réécrits et actualisés de façon à mieux traiter des questions émergentes, à tenir compte de nouveaux renseignements et à intégrer les résultats des processus de mobilisation. Les nouveaux plans directeurs seront plus clairs, ils s’harmoniseront avec les priorités gouvernementales et l’orientation stratégique de Parcs Canada, et ils réitéreront le caractère hautement prioritaire de l’intégrité écologique et commémorative.   

      2. Établissement de relations 

      Parcs Canada se servira du processus d’examen des plans directeurs pour poursuivre le travail déjà amorcé avec le public, ses partenaires et les groupes autochtones afin d’atteindre des objectifs communs dans les domaines de la conservation et de l’expérience du visiteur dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes. En outre, le travail de mobilisation entourant l’élaboration des plans directeurs lui offre la possibilité d’intégrer des principes et des mesures conformes à l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada à l’égard de la réconciliation. 

      3. Décisions reposant sur la science et le savoir traditionnel des Autochtones

      Parcs Canada profitera de l’examen des plans directeurs pour réaffirmer que l’intégrité écologique représente sa priorité absolue dans la gestion des parcs nationaux. Pour pouvoir relever les défis associés au changement climatique, aux impacts sur l’intégrité écologique et aux pressions créées par l’aménagement et l’activité commerciale, Parcs Canada fera un usage optimal des données scientifiques sur la conservation et du savoir traditionnel des Autochtones. Ce cadre assurera la sauvegarde des trésors que représentent ces parcs pour les générations à venir.  

      4. Ouverture et transparence 

      Le processus d’examen des plans directeurs offre au public et aux Autochtones la possibilité de s’impliquer davantage. Pour Parcs Canada, c’est une occasion de faire preuve de transparence dans ses décisions.   

      Calendriers

      • Parcs Canada a terminé l’évaluation de l’état des six parcs. 
      • Nous sollicitons des commentaires sur les principales questions cernées à l’automne 2018 pour l’examen des plans. 
      • Les ébauches des plans seront soumises à un examen en 2019. 
      • Les versions définitives des plans seront déposées au Parlement en 2020.
         

      Calendrier des activitiés de planification