Table of contents

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2017

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français :
Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national Kootenae House, 2017

For more information about the management statement or about Kootenae House Pass National Historic Site of Canada:


Mailing address:
   Location: Kootenae House National Historic Site - Kootenay National Park
     P.O. Box 220
     Radium Hot Spring, BC V0A 1M0
     Canada




Introduction and overview

The Parks Canada agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Kootenae House National Historic Site.

Kootenae House National Historic Site was designated in 1934 to commemorate the site of the first fur trading post on the Columbia River, established by David Thompson in 1807. The post served as the Northwest Company base of explorations in the Columbia River basin and led to the development of relations between traders and local Indigenous Peoples. The site is near Invermere, British Columbia, on an elevated terrace above Toby Creek overlooking the Columbia River valley. The designated place encompasses less than one hectare within a five hectare parcel of land administered by Parks Canada. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada plaque is mounted on a stone cairn at the site. There are no other above-ground cultural resources remaining at the site. The sub-surface structural remains of the 1807 post, the remains of Indigenous campsites, and other archaeological resources have been confirmed on the site. There is an interpretive exhibit on the site, presented in English, French, and Ktunaxa languages, that describes its cultural significance, its relationship to other historic sites in the region, and the travels of David Thompson in the Columbia River basin. The small size of the site, the lack of visible historical remains, and its somewhat isolated location, results in limited visitation.


Management approach

Parks Canada will continue to manage Kootenae House National Historic Site as an un-staffed protected area that provides basic non-personal interpretation to a small number of visitors. Opportunities to reach a larger number of Canadians with key messages will be sought through linkages with related national historic sites such as Rocky Mountain House and Howse Pass, through the development of digital media products, and potentially through collaboration with local Indigenous groups and others.


Management objectives

Collaboration with others

The history and significance of Kootenae House are communicated effectively through the collaborative efforts of Parks Canada and other interested parties in the region.

Resource conservation

The cultural and natural resources on the site, including in-situ archaeological resources and habitat for species at risk, are protected and are not under threat.

Site maintenance

Periodic site visits conducted by Parks Canada staff ensure that the property is maintained in good condition to support the modest level of visitor use and the protection of in-situ resources.

Public understanding and appreciation

Key messages reflect accurately the cultural significance of the site and are delivered through on-site exhibits, through connections to other related sites, and through digital media.


Links

Historical information about Kootenae House National Historic Site

Introduction et aperçu

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Il a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces joyaux de notre patrimoine dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futures. Le présent énoncé de gestion expose l’approche et les objectifs de gestion qu’il a adoptés pour le lieu historique national Kootenae House.

Le lieu historique national Kootenae House, qui a été créé en 1934, commémore l’emplacement du premier poste de traite établi sur le bord du fleuve Columbia. Fondé en 1807 par David Thompson, ce poste servit de base à la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest pour ses expéditions d’exploration dans le bassin du Columbia, et il favorisa l’établissement de relations entre les commerçants de fourrures et les peuples autochtones de la région. Le lieu historique se trouve près d’Invermere, en Colombie-Britannique, sur une terrasse élevée au-dessus du ruisseau Toby, et il domine la vallée du Columbia. Le lieu désigné occupe une superficie de moins de 1 ha à l’intérieur d’une parcelle de 5 ha administrée par Parcs Canada. La plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada est encastrée dans un cairn en pierre érigé sur place. Le lieu historique ne renferme aucune autre ressource culturelle au-dessus du niveau du sol. La présence des ruines souterraines du poste de traite de 1807, de vestiges de campements autochtones et d’autres ressources archéologiques a cependant été confirmée. La parcelle occupée par le lieu historique abrite une exposition d’interprétation présentée en anglais, en français et dans les langues des Ktunaxas, laquelle décrit l’importance culturelle du poste de traite, ses liens avec d’autres lieux historiques de la région et les voyages d’exploration de David Thompson dans le bassin du Columbia. En raison de sa petite superficie, de son emplacement quelque peu isolé et de l’absence de vestiges historiques visibles, le lieu historique accueille peu de visiteurs.

Approche de gestion 

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer le lieu historique national Kootenae House en tant qu’aire protégée sans personnel qui offre des services d’interprétation de base à un faible nombre de visiteurs. Il cherchera des possibilités de diffuser des messages clés à un nombre accru de citoyens en tirant parti de liens établis avec des lieux historiques nationaux qui véhiculent des thèmes semblables, tels que le lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House et le lieu historique national du Col-Howse, en mettant au point des produits de communications destinés aux médias numériques et éventuellement en nouant des liens de collaboration avec des groupes autochtones locaux et d’autres intervenants. 

Objectifs de gestion

Collaboration : L’histoire et l’importance du poste Kootenae House sont efficacement communiquées grâce à des liens de collaboration avec d’autres groupes de la région qui s’intéressent au lieu historique. 

Conservation des ressources : Les ressources culturelles et naturelles du lieu historique, y compris les ressources archéologiques sur place et l’habitat des espèces en péril, sont protégées et à l’abri de toute menace. 

Entretien : Le personnel de Parcs Canada procède périodiquement à une inspection des lieux pour s’assurer que la propriété demeure en bon état, afin de répondre aux besoins du faible nombre de visiteurs et de protéger les ressources sur place. 

Compréhension et appréciation du public : Les messages clés reflètent bien l’importance culturelle du lieu historique, et ils sont diffusés par des expositions sur place, par les médias numériques et par des liens établis avec d’autres lieux historiques véhiculant des thèmes semblables. 

Informations historiques sur le lieu historique national de Kootenae House

Renseignements : 

Parc national Kootenay 
C.P. 220 
Radium Hot Springs (Colombie-Britannique)
V0A 1M0

 
Informations historiques sur le lieu historique national de Kootenae House
Informations historiques sur le lieu historique national de Kootenae House