Kootenay National Park stamp unveiling
     January 13

Kootenay National Park now has a postage stamp!

Canada Post’s From Far And Wide stamp series highlights amazing Canadian places, and in 2020 this includes a striking view of Floe Lake on the park’s Rockwall trail. The stamp is based on a photo taken by Parks Canada employee Roger Hostin. It was unveiled in the village of Radium Hot Springs as part of the launch of Kootenay National Park’s centennial celebrations.

Postcards featuring the stamp image are also available for sale through Canada Post.

Canada’s Coolest School Trip
     Enter by February 28

Kootenay National Park is the grand prize for this year’s Canada’s Coolest School Trip – a contest offered jointly by Parks Canada and the Royal Canadian Geographical Society. The winning class of grade 6 – 9 students from somewhere in Canada will visit the park from June 8-12 and discover the best that Kootenay National Park has to offer.

Check out Canada's Coolest School Trip for details.

Interpretation Programs and Activities
     July and August

Throughout July and August, watch for park Interpreters at Redstreak Campground bringing you “A Park of Ice and Fire: Kootenay First, Now, Next.” Look for Interpreters in various locations around Kootenay as they bring the park’s past to life with games and activities for young and old alike.

2020 will see the installation of new interpretive signs in the Sinclair Canyon area that explain the formation of this spectacular spot, and what animals call it home. Also find new interactive interpretive displays along a short stretch of the Simpson River trail that will have you looking at this fire-changed landscape with fresh eyes.

The Big Splash Event
     September 20

Join us at the Radium Hot Springs pools for a full day of festivities.

Highlights include family activities, information booths, interpretation programs, pool demos, a visit from Parka – the Parks Canada mascot, and more. This event coincides with the Columbia Valley Classics Car Show in the Village of Radium Hot Springs.

Check back for more details soon.

“Midnight” Snowshoe
     Late December

As a final send-off to the Kootenay National Park centennial, park superintendent Rick Kubian will lead a special evening snowshoe in the park. Chat with Rick and other park staff on this easy outing. Bring your own mug for a hot chocolate salute to the next 100 years.

Check back for more details soon.

Dévoilement d’un timbre du parc national Kootenay
     13 janvier

Le parc national Kootenay a maintenant son propre timbre-poste!

La série de timbres Terre de nos aïeux met en vedette des lieux canadiens remarquables, et, en 2020, Postes Canada y ajoute une image saisissante du lac Floe, qui borde le sentier de la Paroi-Rocheuse, dans le parc. Le timbre arbore une photo prise par Roger Hostin, employé de Parcs Canada. Il a été dévoilé à Radium Hot Springs dans le cadre des cérémonies marquant le coup d’envoi des célébrations du centenaire du parc national Kootenay. Des cartes postales affichant l’image du timbre sont également en vente à Postes Canada.

Postcards featuring the stamp image are also available for sale through Canada Post.

La sortie scolaire la plus cool au Canada
     Inscrivez-vous au plus tard le 28 février

Le parc national Kootenay est le grand prix à remporter dans le cadre de La sortie scolaire la plus cool au Canada, un concours organisé conjointement par Parcs Canada et la Société géographique royale du Canada. La classe gagnante – des élèves de la sixième à la neuvième année d’une localité au Canada –aura le privilège de visiter le parc du 8 au 12 juin pour en découvrir les plus belles attractions. 

Consultez le site sortiescolairelapluscool.ca pour obtenir des détails.

Programmes et activités d’interprétation
     Juillet et  d’août

Tout au long des mois de juillet et d’août, les interprètes du parc seront au camping Redstreak pour animer l’activité « Terre de glace et de feu : Le parc Kootenay hier, aujourd’hui et demain ». Vous les trouverez aussi dans d’autres secteurs du parc, où ils donneront vie au passé par des activités et des jeux adaptés aux jeunes et aux moins jeunes.

L’année 2020 sera également marquée par l’installation, dans le secteur du canyon Sinclair, de nouveaux panneaux d’interprétation décrivant les origines de cette gorge spectaculaire et les espèces animales qui y ont élu domicile. En outre, il ne faut pas manquer la nouvelle exposition d’interprétation interactive qui jalonne un court tronçon du sentier de la Rivière-Simpson. Après votre visite, vous verrez d’un regard neuf ce paysage transformé par le feu.

Plaisirs d’eau-tomne
     20 septembre

Joignez-vous à nous aux sources thermales Radium pour une pleine journée de festivités.

Il y en aura pour tous les goûts : activités familiales, kiosques d’information, activités d’interprétation, démonstrations à la piscine, visite de Parka, la mascotte de Parcs Canada, et plus encore. Cet événement coïncide avec l’exposition de voitures d’époque de la vallée du Columbia, qui a lieu à Radium Hot Springs.

D’autres détails suivront prochainement.

Raquette à « minuit »
     Fin décembre

Pour clore en beauté les célébrations du centenaire, Rick Kubian, directeur du parc, dirigera une promenade en raquettes en soirée dans le parc. Venez bavarder avec Rick et d’autres membres du personnel pendant cette promenade facile. Apportez votre tasse pour savourer un chocolat chaud et porter un toast aux 100 prochaines années.

D’autres détails suivront prochainement.