Weather

Weather changes quickly

Even on beautiful days remember that the weather can change quickly in Gwaii Haanas.

Be aware of both the marine weather forecast and your own observations of the conditions. You may be used to listening for small craft warnings, but the north coast is considered hazardous for small craft at all times so a small craft warning is always in effect and is not issued on the weather forecasts.

Be prepared for cold and wet conditions any time of year.

  • Hypothermia is a real threat. Learn to monitor and manage your body temperature, avoid extremes (hot/cold). Monitor yourself but also others in your group ensuring that everyone is in keeping with their own abilities.
  • Summer fog is common on the west coast and in Houston Stewart Channel. Always take a compass bearing of your destination. Avoid paddling and boating in the fog.

  • Plan alternate routes for each day in case the weather deteriorates. It is best to not be too focused on reaching a certain destination. If you have concerns about the conditions on the water stay ashore or in a protected anchorage.

The Wild West Coast

The west coast of Gwaii Haanas is frequently hit by storms that brew across the long stretch of open Pacific Ocean between here and Japan. It is one of the windiest and wettest areas in Canada.

The west coast is steep rocky shoreline and there are few sheltered places to anchor. There are sections of west coast that remain uncharted. The west coast is a destination for some people but unless you are very experienced in coastal navigation, avoid travel on the west coast.

Climate

The climate of the Islands is typical of British Columbia’s outer west coast—cool and wet virtually any time of the year. The driest months are usually from spring through summer but weather patterns vary from year to year. The rainy season can begin as early as August. The east side of the Islands is considerably drier than the west, which receives between 500 and 800 centimetres of rain a year.

Winds in the summer can blow strongly for lengthy periods. These winds funnel over the Islands and down inlets of the East Coast creating gusty conditions that can be hazardous, especially for kayaks. Storms associated with frontal systems occur frequently in winter, but are not uncommon in the summer months. Build enough time in your travel plans to include days of being “weathered in.”

Marine Hazards


Use charts and tide tables © Parks Canada / J. Bissett

 

The best way to avoid dangerous situations is to be aware of and be prepared for the conditions and hazards that you may encounter. Make sure you have the right charts and tide tables.

Big Tide Country

We have extreme tides in Gwaii Haanas - up to 24 feet (more than 7 meters) tidal variation. The big tides have significant implications for safety and navigation. When the tide rushes through narrow inlets and channels, the water speeds up and results in significant tidal currents. Houston Stewart Channel, for example, can have currents up to 5 knots.

The tides also make accessing certain areas difficult. Access to Windy Bay, for example, is very shallow. Kayakers are advised to arrive and leave on a higher tide. (The kayakers in the image had to walk their boats to the ocean’s edge shortly after this picture was taken because their kayaks were doing more scraping than floating).

Windy Bay, like many other bays and heads of inlets, is shallow and rocky. The rocks that you see clearly at low tide are not as visible at high tides, so pay attention to water depth when exploring. There are prevailing SE and SW winds at Windy Bay, so this place provides good refuge for kayaks only. Boats need to look for a more sheltered spot to overnight or wait out a storm.

Strong Currents

When there is a large height difference between high and low tides, strong currents can be expected especially near inlets or headlands. Even in open bodies of water, tidal currents can significantly affect one’s speed and heading.

Whenever the wind and currents are running in opposite direction, steep standing waves and rough water can occur. Use extra caution coming out of inlets and around headlands where rough water is common.

 


Waves in a storm © Parks Canada

 


Wind

Strong winds may occur at any time of year. During the summer months, be aware of daily weather patterns which may result in stronger winds in the afternoon period. While the east coast is often more sheltered than the west coast, it is common for winds to spill over top of the mountains creating sudden gusty conditions. Steep choppy waves will form when the wind blows from a direction opposite the current or swell. Before setting out, check local weather forecasts and sea conditions. Do no kayak when whitecaps are visible or winds are strong.

Slack Tide

Kayakers should avoid strong currents and areas where the chart depicts rapids or whirlpools. If you can't avoid such areas, try to determine the time of slack water for safe passage. Slack water is the brief period during the tidal cycle when little or no water movement occurs. Understand that the time of slack current may differ from the time of high or low tide.

In this area the published Sailing Directions, local knowledge and your own experience will be your best guides to help estimate the time of slack tide.

Tide Rips

A tide rip develops when the smooth flow of a strong current is altered by an irregular bottom or a sudden change in depth. Tide rips are found near headlands or points of land, offshore over shoals or reefs, in narrow passages where water flows over an irregular bottom, and where opposing currents meet. The result is chaotic surface water. Try to avoid such areas.

Surge Channels

Long channels cut into rock shorelines are called surge channels. Wind and waves can easily push kayakers into the channels. Use caution when exploring these areas - the slightest swell will be exaggerated as it moves up the channel.

Submerged Rocks

As the tide level and swell height change, waves may break over the rock without warning, swamping an unsuspecting kayaker or worse, destroying a kayak. Sometimes the waves only break every 10 to 20 minutes. Look ahead and if waves are breaking in the distance, avoid the area. On the east coast, most submerged rocks are charted.

Visitor Safety Information

Tempête à l’île Ellen © Parcs Canada

Conditions météorologiques

Le temps change rapidement

Même les jours où il fait beau, n’oubliez pas que les conditions peuvent changer en un rien de temps à Gwaii Haanas.

Prenez connaissance des prévisions météorologiques maritimes et faites vos propres observations. Si vous avez l’habitude d’écouter les avertissements pour petites embarcations, sachez que la côte Nord est considérée comme dangereuse en tout temps pour les petits bateaux et que l’avertissement est en vigueur de façon permanente, sans toutefois être signalé dans les bulletins météorologiques.

Soyez prêt à affronter du temps froid et humide en toute saison.

  • L’hypothermie est une menace bien réelle. Il est important de ne pas dépasser vos limites physiques en kayak. Restez à l’écoute de votre corps et surveillez les autres membres de votre groupe pour détecter tout signe de détresse.

  • Le brouillard est un phénomène courant en été sur la côte ouest de l’archipel et dans le chenal Houston Stewart. Prenez toujours un relèvement de boussole de votre destination. Évitez de pagayer ou de naviguer dans le brouillard.

  • Prévoyez des parcours de rechange pour chaque journée, pour le cas où le temps se gâterait. Il est sage de ne pas s’entêter à atteindre une destination à tout prix. Si vous avez des craintes au sujet de l’état de la mer, restez à terre ou dans un mouillage protégé.

La côte ouest sauvage

La côte ouest de Gwaii Haanas est souvent balayée par des tempêtes qui se préparent dans la vaste étendue d’eau libre de l’océan Pacifique, entre le Canada et le Japon. Cette côte est l’une des plus venteuses et des plus humides du pays. Le littoral est rocheux et escarpé, et il existe peu d’endroits abrités où les bateaux peuvent jeter l’ancre.

Certains secteurs de la côte ouest n’ont jamais été cartographiés. La côte ouest est une destination pour certaines personnes, mais, à moins d’avoir une longue expérience de la navigation côtière, évitez de vous y aventurer.

Climat

Le climat de l’archipel est typique de la côte Ouest extérieure de la Colombie-Britannique – frais et humide presque en tout temps de l’année. Les mois les plus secs sont généralement ceux du printemps et de l’été, mais les régimes climatiques varient d’une année à l’autre. La saison des pluies peut débuter dès le mois d’août. Le côté est des îles est nettement plus sec que le côté ouest, qui reçoit de 500 à 800 cm de pluie par année.

En été, les vents peuvent souffler fort pendant des périodes prolongées. Ils forment des entonnoirs au dessus de l’archipel et dans les bras de mer de la côte est, créant des rafales qui peuvent être dangereuses, surtout pour les kayakistes. Les tempêtes associées à des systèmes frontaux sont un phénomène courant en hiver, mais elles peuvent aussi survenir pendant les mois d’été. Prévoyez suffisamment de temps dans votre itinéraire pour tenir compte des jours où vous êtes « cloué à terre » à cause du mauvais temps.

Dangers en mer


Consultez les cartes marines et les tables des marées
© Parcs Canada / J. Bissett

Le meilleur moyen d’éviter les situations dangereuses consiste à être bien sensibilisé et bien préparé pour affronter les conditions et les dangers possibles. Procurez-vous les bonnes cartes et tables des marées.


Des kayakistes dans un chenal étroit à la baie Windy
© Parcs Canada

Au pays des grandes marées

Le régime des marées est extrême à Gwaii Haanas – l’amplitude peut atteindre plus de 7 m. Ces grandes marées ont des incidences considérables sur la sécurité et la navigation. Lorsque la marée avance dans les bras de mer et les chenaux étroits, le débit de l’eau s’accélère et crée d’importants courants de marée. Le chenal Houston Stewart, par exemple, peut être balayé par des courants allant jusqu’à cinq nœuds.

Les marées peuvent également compliquer l’accès à certains secteurs. Par exemple, compte tenu de la très faible profondeur de la baie Windy, les kayakistes auraient avantage à y accoster et à reprendre la mer à marée haute. (Les kayakistes de la photo ont dû transporter leur embarcation jusqu’à la plage, parce que leur kayak raclait le fond plutôt que de flotter.) La baie Windy, comme un grand nombre d’autres baies et entrées de bras de mer, est peu profonde et rocheuse. Les rochers que vous voyez clairement à marée basse ne sont pas aussi visibles à marée haute. Il faut donc faire attention à la profondeur de l’eau lorsque vous explorez. De plus, la baie Windy se trouve sous l’emprise de vents dominants du sud-est et du sud-ouest, de sorte qu’elle procure un bon refuge uniquement aux kayakistes. Les conducteurs de bateau doivent trouver un coin plus abrité pour passer la nuit ou attendre la fin d’une tempête.

Courants forts

Lorsque la différence d’amplitude entre les marées hautes et basses est très prononcée, on peut s’attendre à de forts courants, surtout à proximité d’anses ou de promontoires. Même dans des plans d’eau libres, les courants de marée peuvent substantiellement entraver la vitesse d’une embarcation et altérer la précision du cap. 

Lorsque le vent et les courants vont dans des directions opposées, le choc des deux forces peut créer de grosses ondes stationnaires et agiter la mer. Soyez extrêmement prudent en sortant des bras de mer ou en contournant des caps où les eaux ont l’habitude d’être agitées.


Vagues de tempête © Parcs Canada

Vent

De forts vents peuvent souffler à n’importe quel moment de l’année. Durant les mois d’été, ayez conscience des conditions météorologiques quotidiennes pouvant engendrer des vents plus forts en après-midi. Bien que la côte est soit souvent plus abritée que la côte ouest, il n’est pas rare que des vents passent par-dessus le sommet des montagnes et soufflent par rafales. Des vagues hautes et tempétueuses se formeront lorsque le vent souffle face au courant ou à la houle. Avant de prendre le large, renseignez-vous sur les prévisions météorologiques et l’état de la mer.

Étale

Les kayakistes auraient tout intérêt à éviter les courants forts et les secteurs où les cartes indiquent des rapides ou des tourbillons. Si vous ne pouvez pas les éviter, tâchez de déterminer le moment de l’étale pour pouvoir les franchir en sécurité. Dans le cycle des marées, l’étale correspond à la courte période où le mouvement de l’eau est presque nul.

Dans ces secteurs, les instructions nautiques, les connaissances locales et votre propre expérience constituent vos meilleurs guides pour vous aider à estimer le moment où survient l’étale.

Remous de marée

Il se forme des remous de marée aux endroits où le débit d’un courant fort est altéré par un fond irrégulier ou par une dénivellation abrupte. Les remous de marée peuvent être présents à divers endroits : près des caps ou des pointes de terre, par-dessus les hauts-fonds ou les récifs, dans les passages étroits où l’eau coule sur un fond irrégulier ou au point de rencontre de courants opposés. Des eaux qui coulent de façon chaotique en surface cachent souvent des remous de marée. Tâchez de vous en tenir loin.

Chenaux de refoulement

Les longs chenaux découpés dans les côtes rocheuses sont appelés chenaux de refoulement. Le vent et les vagues y poussent facilement les kayakistes. Faites preuve de prudence lorsque vous explorez ces secteurs, où la moindre houle est amplifiée.

Rochers submergés

Lorsque le niveau des marées et la hauteur de la houle changent, les vagues peuvent s’écraser sur les rochers sans prévenir et inonder un kayakiste qui ne se doute de rien ou, pire encore, détruire un kayak. Il arrive que les vagues ne déferlent que toutes les 10 à 20 minutes. Regardez devant vous, et, si vous voyez des vagues déferler au loin, évitez le secteur. Sur la côte est, la plupart des rochers submergés sont cartographiés.

Sécurité des visiteurs