This year Canada and the Haida Nation are celebrating the 10th anniversary of the establishment of the Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area Reserve. Our celebratory tagline is Gwaii Haanas: The Ocean Provides.

A decade ago the Haida Nation, Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada signed an agreement that was thousands of years in the making: the 2010 Gwaii Haanas Marine Agreement protects a place where the ocean, land and Haida have been intertwined for over 12,000 years.

Gwaii Haanas’ marine protection story, however, began much earlier than 2010. In 1985, the Haida Nation designated the southern one third of Haida Gwaii as a Haida Heritage Site. Since 1993, Gwaii Haanas has been cooperatively managed by the Haida Nation and Parks Canada via the Archipelago Management Board. In 2010, with the signing of the Gwaii Haanas Marine Agreement, Gwaii Haanas was also designated as a National Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site. Since then, the Haida Nation, Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada have worked together as the Archipelago Management Board making decisions about the land-and-sea protected area.

We’ve worked to restore salmon streams on Lyell Island, to conserve culturally important seabirds and to restore kelp forests and species at risk such as Northern Pacific Abalone. We’ve also celebrated the 20th anniversary of Gwaii Haanas cooperative management by raising a monumental pole at Windy Bay that depicts stories of cooperation, culture and creatures of the land and sea.

Then, in 2018, Canada and the Haida Nation launched the country’s first integrated land-and-sea management plan with the release of the Gwaii Haanas Gina ‘Waadluxan KilGuhlGa Land-Sea-People Management Plan.

The 10th anniversary of the Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area Reserve reminds us of how far we’ve come, but also how truly young we are. We celebrate a decade since the marine conservation area was created, while also understanding that it takes ongoing commitment to protect fragile marine ecosystems, honour Haida knowledge, and further understand how the land and sea and people connect.

Gwaii Haanas: The Ocean Provides

In Gwaii Haanas our cooperative partners – the Haida Nation, Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada – work to protect the cultural and natural heritage of the 3500 square kilometres of ocean for many reasons.

The ocean calms.
The ocean teaches.
The oceans inspires.
The ocean provides.

The marine area of Gwaii Haanas provides food, important habitat for plants, fish and invertebrates. Culturally the ocean provides, livelihoods, transportation routes and connections to living Haida culture. A common Haida saying is “when the tide is out, the table is set.” Today the ocean provides a way for Haida people to continue practicing fishing and harvesting as their ancestors have for thousands of years and a way for visitors to learn about the rich ocean culture evident in Gwaii Haanas.

Be part of the celebration!

Be sure to check out the different pages below to dive into the special marine world of Gwaii Haanas.

World Oceans Day

On June 8, 2020 – World Oceans Day - Gwaii Haanas team members celebrated the 10th anniversary of the NMCAR by sharing their ocean love. Check out the Facebook video here.

DIY Activities

Download these informative and made-on-Haida-Gwaii colouring pages. Thanks to Gwaii Haanas team members Crystal Young and Mary Hart for illustrating these awesome colouring pages so you can learn at home about the land, sea and people of Gwaii Haanas.

Gallery

The oceans that surround Haida Gwaii influence and inspire the food we eat, the way we live, and the work we do. Check out some snapshots that show the many facets of the Gwaii Haanas waters.


Connect with us

Join the conversation! Tell us how the ocean provides for you and/or your family. Connect with us via the Gwaii Haanas Facebook page or send an email to: pc.gwaiihaanas.pc@canada.ca

Cette année, le Canada et la Nation Haïda célèbrent le 10e anniversaire de la création de la réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas. Notre slogan anniversaire est : L’océan nous nourrit.

Il y a dix ans, la Nation Haïda, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada signaient une entente fondée sur une réalité plusieurs fois millénaire : l’Entente sur l’aire marine Gwaii Haanas de 2010 protège un lieu où l’océan, la terre et les Haïdas sont interreliés depuis plus de 12 000 ans.

Cependant, l’histoire de la protection de l’aire marine Gwaii Haanas a commencé bien avant 2010. En 1985, la nation Haïda a désigné le tiers sud de Haida Gwaii comme site du patrimoine haïda. Depuis 1993, Gwaii Haanas est géré conjointement par la Nation Haïda et Parcs Canada, par l’intermédiaire du Conseil de gestion de l’archipel. En 2010, avec la signature de l’Entente sur l’aire marine Gwaii Haanas, Gwaii Haanas a également été désigné comme réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda. Depuis, la Nation Haïda, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada travaillent de concert au sein du Conseil de gestion de l’archipel pour administrer cette aire terrestre et marine protégée.

Au cours des dernières années, nous avons travaillé à la restauration de rivières à saumons sur l’île Lyell, à la conservation d’oiseaux marins d’importance culturelle et à la restauration de forêts de varech et d’espèces en péril comme l’ormeau du Pacifique Nord. Nous avons aussi fêté le 20e anniversaire de la gestion coopérative de Gwaii Haanas en érigeant un mât héraldique commémoratif à la baie Windy; ce mât dépeint des scènes de coopération et à caractère culturel, ainsi que des créatures terrestres et marines.

En 2018, le Canada et la Nation Haïda ont inauguré le premier plan de gestion intégré pour la terre et la mer avec le dévoilement du plan directeur Gina ‘Waadluxan KilGuhlGa Terre, mer et gens.

Le 10e anniversaire de la réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas nous rappelle tout le chemin parcouru, mais également combien tout cela est encore nouveau. Nous célébrons une décennie depuis la création de l’aire marine de conservation, tout en étant conscients que la protection d’écosystèmes marins fragiles, la mise en valeur du savoir des Haïdas et une meilleure compréhension des relations entre la terre, la mer et les gens exigent un engagement à long terme.

Gwaii Haanas : l’océan nous nourrit

À Gwaii Haanas, les partenaires coopératifs – la Nation Haïda, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada – travaillent à la protection du patrimoine culturel et naturel de 3 500 kilomètres carrés d’océan pour différentes raisons.

L’océan apaise.
L’océan enseigne.
L’océan inspire.
L’océan nourrit.

L’aire marine Gwaii Haanas fournit de la nourriture et un habitat important aux plantes, poissons et invertébrés, des moyens de subsistance, des voies de transport et de communication avec la culture vivante des Haïdas. Selon un dicton haïda courant, « quand la marée est basse, la table est mise ». Aujourd’hui, l’océan permet aux Haïdas de continuer à pratiquer la pêche et la récolte, comme leurs ancêtres l’ont fait pendant des milliers d’années, et aux visiteurs de découvrir la riche culture océanique manifeste à Gwaii Haanas.

Soyez de la fête!

Consultez les pages ci-dessous pour vous immerger dans l’univers marin très particulier de Gwaii Haanas.

Journée mondiale des océans

Le 8 juin 2020, Journée mondiale des océans, les membres de l’équipe Gwaii Haanas ont fêté le 10e anniversaire de la RAMNC en partageant leur amour de l’océan. Regardez la vidéo Facebook ici.

Activités créatives

Téléchargez ces pages à colorier éducatives conçues par les habitants de Haida Gwaii. Merci à Crystal Young et Mary Hart, membres de l’équipe Gwaii Haanas, d’avoir illustré ces magnifiques pages à colorier pour vous permettre de vous familiariser avec la terre, la mer et les gens de Gwaii Haanas.

Galerie de photos de la RAMNC

Les océans qui entourent Haida Gwaii ont des effets et une influence sur la nourriture que nous mangeons, notre façon de vivre et le travail que nous faisons. Allez voir quelques photos  qui illustrent les nombreuses facettes des eaux de Gwaii Haanas.


Nous joindre

Participez à la conversation! Dites-nous ce que l’océan vous apporte, à vous ou votre famille. Communiquez avec nous sur la page Facebook de Gwaii Haanas ou écrivez-nous à : pc.gwaiihaanas.pc@canada.ca