Untitled Document

Gwaii Haanas Gina ‘Waadluxan KilGuhlGa Land-Sea-People Management Plan 2018

Land, sea and people are all interconnected in Gwaii Haanas, so it is only natural that these connections guide how decisions are made. With this in mind, the Gwaii Haanas Archipelago Management Board (AMB) is taking a leadership role by creating the first land-sea-people management plan in Canada. This integrated plan is based on AMB direction and is informed by Haida Nation and Government of Canada priorities. The Gwaii Haanas Land-Sea-People Management Plan provides strategic direction on managing the natural and cultural resources of Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site from mountain top to sea floor, for the next ten years.

Engaging Haida citizens, the Gwaii Haanas Advisory Committee, and key groups including tour operators, fishermen and environmental organizations was an important part of our planning process.

To learn about the Gwaii Haanas Gina 'Waadluxan KilGulGa Land-Sea-People Management Plan and the planning process, click through the tabs below.

First of its kind

A Haida Gwaii Watchmen heads out to meet a group of visitors at Hlk’yah GaawGa Windy Bay, Gwaii Haanas

Parks Canada, Christine Pansino


The Gwaii Haanas Gina 'Waadluxan KilGulGa (Talking about Everything) Land-Sea-People plan is the first management plan of its kind in Canada, if not the world.

Gwaii Haanas is managed cooperatively by the Haida Nation and the Government of Canada (represented by Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada) through the Archipelago Management Board (AMB). The six-member team is made up of equal representation from both governments and is guided by the Interim Management Plan for Gwaii Haanas Marine (2010) and the Management Plan for the Terrestrial Area (2003).

The Gwaii Haanas Land-Sea-People Management Plan replaces these plans and includes a single integrated vision and principles to guide the AMB in how they manage this globally renowned protected area. These principles are based in Haida law and include, for example, yahguudang (respect), ‘laa guu ga kanhllns (responsibility), and giid tll’juus (balance). Giid tll’juus requires the AMB to maintain the cultural and ecological richness of Gwaii Haanas while continuing to provide opportunities for those who depend on the area for their livelihood.

What is a management plan?

Haida canoe “LooPlex” is anchored for the night

Parks Canada, Barbara Wojtaszek


A management plan is a guiding document that sets direction and informs decision-making. The objectives and targets in the Land-Sea-People Management Plan will inform Archipelago Management Board (AMB) decision-making and provide direction for Gwaii Haanas staff over the next 10 years.

The Haida Constitution describes the responsibility of Haida citizens to protect and preserve Haida Gwaii’s land, sea and air for future generations. In 1985, the Haida Nation, under Haida law, designated the Gwaii Haanas land and sea area as a Haida Heritage Site. Canada followed with National Park Reserve and National Marine Conservation Area Reserve designations, managed according to the Canada National Parks Act and the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act. The AMB is also guided by the Gwaii Haanas Agreement and the Gwaii Haanas Marine Agreement, which require management plans to be developed and reviewed regularly. When both the marine and terrestrial management plans were due for renewal, the AMB decided to integrate them into a single plan, consistent with the original Haida Heritage Site designation.

Key sections in the Land-Sea-People plan include:

  • A Vision for the future
  • Guiding Principles grounded in Haida law
  • Goals, objectives and measureable targets
  • A zoning plan driven by key ecological and cultural targets
What is zoning?

The Gwaii Haanas area extends from mountain top, to coast, to approximately 10km offshore

Parks Canada, Stephanie Fung


Zoning is the process of dividing an area of land or water and defining what activities may take place within each area.

The terrestrial area of Gwaii Haanas is managed according to the 2003 terrestrial plan but has not previously been zoned until now. The marine area of Gwaii Haanas was zoned in 2010 when the interim marine plan was signed. In the interim plan, 3% of the Gwaii Haanas marine area was zoned in strict protection, where commercial and recreational fishing and harvesting are prohibited. The AMB recognized that this zoning was modest in scope and committed to the development of a comprehensive zoning plan.

The Gwaii Haanas Land-Sea-People Management Plan includes zoning of both the land and the sea. Zoning is driven by key ecological and cultural targets from the draft Land-Sea-People plan and informed by the best available information, including Haida traditional knowledge.

Engagement

The management planning process was led by the Archipelago Management Board (AMB) and supported by a team of technical staff from Council of the Haida Nation, Parks Canada, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The planning team works closely with the Gwaii Haanas Advisory Committee (GHAC).

The GHAC is a group of 13 people with a wide range of knowledge and experience who all share a common interest in Gwaii Haanas. The GHAC has provided advice on all aspects of the Land-Sea-People plan.

Haida citizens were updated and engaged in the planning process through quarterly sessions, the annual Haida Nation House of Assembly, and community meetings. Haida citizens also participated as members of the GHAC and key stakeholder groups, such as tourism and fishing.

Key stakeholders had the opportunity to provide advice at different points in the process. The planning team met with Haida Gwaii municipalities, tour operators, commercial and recreational fishing organizations, marine transportation groups, and environmental non-government organizations.

The full draft management plan was shared for comment at five public events on Haida Gwaii in spring 2018. The draft plan was also shared online and we heard from over 4000 people across Canada.

From coast to coast, we heard that protecting the natural and cultural heritage of Gwaii Haanas is the top priority. Across Haida Gwaii, we also heard how important it is for local people to have affordable ways to visit Gwaii Haanas. These priorities and others are reflected in the new management plan. 

Haawa to everyone who provided input to help shape the future of Gwaii Haanas.

Timeline 

2014

  • Initial goals, objectives and targets drafted
  • Gwaii Haanas Advisory Committee (GHAC) established

2015

  • GHAC provided advice on draft goals, objectives and targets
  • Key stakeholder groups provided advice on draft goals, objectives and targets
  • Review of goals, objectives and targets by Council of the Haida Nation, Parks Canada, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Draft goals, objectives and targets revised

2016

  • Introductory sections of the management plan drafted
  • Zoning methodology developed
  • Best available information for zoning collated
  • Draft terrestrial zoning proposal developed
  • GHAC provided advice on zoning methodology, terrestrial zoning proposal, and data for marine zoning
  • Review of introductory sections and revised goals, objectives and targets by Council of the Haida Nation, Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada

2017

  • Marine spatial data analyses conducted
  • Draft marine zoning proposal developed
  • Review of draft marine zoning by Council of the Haida Nation, Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • GHAC provided advice on marine zoning methodology, information and proposal
  • Key stakeholders provided advice on marine zoning methodology, information, and proposal

2018

  • Key stakeholders provided advice on marine zoning proposal
  • Review of full draft Gwaii Haanas Land-Sea-People Management Plan by Council of the Haida Nation, Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Public consultation
  • Revisions to draft plan
  • Final approval, signing and tabling in parliament
FAQs

Why is the Land-Sea-People Management Plan important?

The Land-Sea-People Management Plan is the first of its kind. It describes how the Haida Nation and Government of Canada will steward in Gwaii Haanas, a globally important protected area. It is a rare example of an integrated plan that encompasses a land-and-sea protected area. The Draft Land-Sea-People Management Plan satisfies requirements of the Gwaii Haanas Agreement, the Gwaii Haanas Marine Agreement, the Constitution of the Haida Nation, the National Parks Act, and the National Marine Conservation Areas Act.

Who wrote the Land-Sea-People plan?

The Land-Sea-People plan was developed by the Haida Nation and Government of Canada through the Archipelago Management Board (AMB). The plan incorporates advice from the Gwaii Haanas Advisory Committee, Band Councils, Hereditary Chiefs Council, municipalities, and groups including Haida fisherman, tour operators, commercial fishermen, and environmental organizations. The AMB is supported by a team of technical planners from the Council of the Haida Nation, Parks Canada, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

What is an integrated management plan?

An integrated management plan sets direction and informs decision-making for multiple areas or activities that are typically managed separately. Currently, direction for Gwaii Haanas is set out in two different management plans, one for the land and one for the sea. When both management plans were due for renewal, the Archipelago Management Board decided to integrate them into a single plan.

Why is Gwaii Haanas significant?

In 1988, Canada and B.C. signed the South Moresby Agreement, which committed the federal government to create a protected area on the land and sea. The Archipelago Management Board is guided by the 1993 Gwaii Haanas Agreement and the 2010 Gwaii Haanas Marine Agreement. These agreements describe how the Haida Nation and the Government of Canada will manage Gwaii Haanas together. The terrestrial area is a designated National Park Reserve and the marine area was designated a National Marine Conservation Area Reserve in 2010.

Gwaii Haanas is an ecological and cultural treasure. Home to over 700 documented archaeological sites, including tidal and subtidal sites, the record of human occupation dates back over 13,000 years. Ancient Haida villages including SGaang Gwaay, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, showcase world-renowned examples of Haida art and architecture.

Almost 6800 marine and terrestrial species have been documented in Gwaii Haanas, including 42 species at risk. Coastal temperate rainforests and underwater kelp forests support some of the most abundant ecosystems in the world.

Gwaii Haanas is cooperatively managed by the Haida Nation and the Government of Canada through the Archipelago Management Board (AMB). The AMB is made up of three Haida Nation representatives and three Government of Canada representatives (two Parks Canada, one Fisheries and Oceans Canada) and makes decisions via consensus.

Are Haida allowed to harvest on the land and in the strict protection marine zones?

Yes, Haida have the right to continue traditional use throughout Gwaii Haanas consistent with the Constitution of the Haida Nation.

 

The plan Gwaii Haanas Gina 'Waadluxan KilGulGa Land-Sea-People Management Plan 2018

Gina ‘Waadluxan KilGuhlG Plan directeur de Gwaii Haanas : Terre, mer et gens 2018

Puisque la terre, la mer et les gens sont tous interreliés, il est tout à fait normal que ces liens déterminent la façon dont les décisions sont prises. C'est dans cet esprit que le Conseil de gestion de l'archipel (CGA) Gwaii Hannas assume un rôle de chef de file en créant le premier plan directeur pour la terre, la mer et les gens au Canada. Ce plan intégré est fondé sur l'orientation du CGA et tient compte des priorités de la Nation haïda et du gouvernement du Canada. Le plan directeur de Gwaii Haanas : Terre, mer et gens fournit des orientations stratégiques pour la gestion des ressources naturelles et culturelles de réserve de parc national, réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas, du sommet des montagnes au fond de l'océan, pour les dix prochaines années.

L'implication des citoyens haïdas, du Comité consultatif de Gwaii Haanas et des groupes clés, y compris les voyagistes, les pêcheurs et les organismes environnementaux, a constitué une partie importante de notre processus de planification.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’ébauche Gina 'Waadluxan KilGuhlGa plan directeur de Gwaii Haanas Terre, mer et gens et le processus de planification, cliquez sur les onglets ci-dessous.

Premier en son genre

Un gardien de Haida Gwaii se rend à un groupe de visiteurs à Hlk'yah GaawGa Windy Bay, Gwaii Haanas

Parcs Canada, Christine Pansino


Le plan directeur de Gwaii Haanas Gina 'Waadluxan KilGuhlGa Terre, mer et gens est le premier en son genre au Canada, sinon dans le monde.

Gwaii Haanas est cogéré par la Nation haïda et le gouvernement du Canada (représenté par Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada) par l'entremise du Conseil de gestion de l'archipel (CGA). Cette équipe de six personnes, composée d’un nombre égal de représentants du gouvernement du Conseil de la Nation haïda et du gouvernement du Canada, suit l'orientation du Plan directeur provisoire pour l'aire marine Gwaii Haanas (2010) et du Plan directeur pour la Zone terrestre (2003).

Le plan directeur de Gwaii Haanas : Terre, mer et gens tremplace ces plans et comporte une seule vision intégrée et des principes qui serviront à orienter le CGA sur le mode de gestion de cette aire protégée de renommée mondiale. Ces principes reposent sur le droit haïda, notamment yahguudang (le respect), ‘laa guu ga kanhllns (la responsabilité) et giid tll’juus (l’équilibre), entre autres. Le giid tll’juus exige du CGA qu'il conserve la richesse culturelle et écologique de Gwaii Haanas tout en continuant à offrir des possibilités à ceux qui dépendent de ce territoire pour leur subsistance.

Qu'est-ce qu’un plan directeur?

Le canoë haïda "LooPlex" est ancrée pour la nuit

Parcs Canada, Barbara Wojtaszek


Le plan directeur est un document stratégique qui oriente et éclaire la prise de décisions. Les buts et objectifs du plan directeur Terre, mer et gens éclaireront le processus décisionnel du Conseil de gestion de l'archipel (CGA) et fourniront une orientation au personnel de Gwaii Haanas au cours des dix prochaines années.

La Constitution haïda définit la responsabilité du citoyen haïda de protéger les terres, la mer et l'air de l'archipel Haida Gwaii pour les générations futures. En 1985, en vertu de la législation haïda, la Nation haïda désigna site du patrimoine haïda les terres et les eaux de Gwaii Haanas. Le Canada emboita le pas avec les désignations de réserve de parc national et de réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation. Ces désignations fédérales sont administrées conformément à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et à la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada. Le CGA est également guidé par l'Accord de Gwaii Haanas et l'Accord maritime de Gwaii Haanas, qui prévoient tous deux l'élaboration ou la révision de plans directeurs régulièrement. Lorsque les plans directeurs des zones maritimes et terrestres devaient être renouvelés, le CGA a décidé d'intégrer ces exigences et de créer un plan directeur unique qui soit conforme à la désignation initiale de site du patrimoine haïda.

Au nombre des articles clés du Plan terre, mer et gens :

  • Une vision pour l'avenir
  • Principes directeurs fondés sur le droit haïda
  • Buts, objectifs et cibles mesurables
  • Un plan de zonage axé sur des cibles écologiques et culturelles
Qu’est-ce que le zonage?

La région de Gwaii Haanas s'étend du sommet de la montagne jusqu'à la côte, à environ 10 km au large

Parcs Canada, Stephanie Fung


Le zonage consiste à délimiter un territoire ou un plan d'eau en zones et à définir quelles activités peuvent avoir lieu dans chacune de ces zones.

La zone ou aire terrestre de Gwaii Haanas est gérée selon le plan directeur des zones terrestres de 2003, mais n'a pas encore fait l'objet d'un zonage jusqu’à maintenant. L'aire marine de Gwaii Haanas a été zonée en 2010, lors de la signature du plan directeur provisoire pour l'aire marine. Selon ce plan, 3% de l'aire marine de Gwaii Haanas ont été désignés zone de protection intégrale, zone dans laquelle la pêche et la récolte récréatives et commerciales sont interdites. Reconnaissant que la portée de ce zonage était modeste, le CGA s'est engagé à élaborer un plan de zonage exhaustif.

Le plan directeur de Gwaii Haanas : Terre, mer et gens comporte à la fois un zonage des terres et de la mer. Les différentes zones sont définies en fonction de cibles écologiques et culturelles contenues dans le projet de plan directeur et ce zonage sera éclairé par les meilleures informations disponibles, y compris le savoir traditionnel haïda.

Engagement

Le processus de planification de la gestion était piloté par le Conseil de gestion de l'archipel (CGA) et soutenu par une équipe de membres du personnel technique du Conseil de la Nation haïda, de Parcs Canada et de Pêches et Océans Canada. L'équipe de planification travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Comité consultatif de Gwaii Haanas (CCGH).

Le CCGH est formé de 13 personnes possédant une vaste expérience et des connaissances variées et ayant un intérêt commun pour Gwaii Haanas. Le CCGH a prodigué des conseils sur tous les aspects du plan directeur Terre, mer et gens.

Les citoyens haïda étaient mis au courant du plan et impliqués dans le processus de planification au moyen de séances trimestrielles, de la Chambre d'assemblée annuelle de la Nation haïda, et de rencontres communautaires. Les citoyens haïdas ont participé en outre en tant que membres du CCGH ainsi que des groupes d'intervenants clés, dont ceux des secteurs du tourisme et de la pêche.

Les parties prenantes clés ont eu l'occasion de prodiguer des conseils à différentes étapes du processus. L'équipe de la planification a rencontré les municipalités, les voyagistes, les organismes de pêche commerciale et récréative, les groupes de transport maritime et les organisations environnementales non gouvernementales de Haida Gwaii.

ont L’intégralité du plan directeur provisoire a été distribuée à des fins de commentaires à toutes les personnes présentes lors de cinq événements publics ayant eu lieu dans l’archipel Haida Gwaii au printemps 2018. Le plan a également été publié en ligne et nous avons recueilli les commentaires de plus de 4000 personnes des quatre coins du Canada.

D’après les commentaires recueillis d’un océan à l’autre, nous avons appris que la protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel de Gwaii Haanas constituait la principale priorité. Selon les commentaires recueillis dans l’archipel Haida Gwaii, nous avons également appris à quel point il est important pour les résidents locaux de disposer de moyens rentables pour visiter Gwaii Haanas. Le nouveau plan directeur tient compte de ces priorités  ainsi que d’autres éléments. 

Haawa à tous ceux qui ont fourni suggestions et commentaires et ainsi contribué à définir l’avenir de Gwaii Haanas.

 
Calendrier 

2014

  • Rédaction des buts, objectifs et cibles.
  • Création du comité consultatif de Gwaii Haanas (CCGH)

2015

  • Le CCGH fournit des conseils sur les buts, objectifs et cibles préliminaires
  • Des groupes d'intervenants clés fournissent des conseils sur les buts, objectifs et cibles préliminaires
  • Révision des buts, objectifs et cibles par le Conseil de la Nation haïda, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Révision des buts, objectifs et cibles préliminaires

2016

  • Rédaction de sections introductives du plan directeur
  • Élaboration de la méthodologie du zonage
  • Meilleures informations disponibles sur le zonage recueillies
  • Un projet de proposition sur le zonage des terres est élaboré
  • Le CCGH fournit des conseils sur la méthodologie du zonage, la proposition de zonage des terres et sur les données relatives au zonage des aires marines
  • Révision des sections introductives et des buts, objectifs et cibles revus par le Conseil de la Nation haïda, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada

2017

  • Analyses des données spatiales marines effectuées
  • Projet de proposition sur le zonage marin élaboré
  • Révision du projet de zonage marin par le Conseil de la Nation haïda, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Le CCGH fournit des avis sur la méthodologie, les informations et la proposition relatives au zonage marin
  • Des intervenants clés fournissent des conseils sur la méthodologie, l'information et la proposition relatives au zonage marin

2018

  • Des intervenants clés fournissent des conseils relatifs à la proposition de zonage
  • Révision du plan directeur Terre, mer et gens pour Gwaii Haanas par le Conseil de la Nation haïda, Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Consultation publique
  • Révisions du projet de plan
  • Approbation finale, signature et dépôt au parlement
FAQ 

Quelle est l’importance du plan directeur provisoire Terre, mer et gens?

Le plan directeur Terre, mer et gens est le premier en son genre. Il précise les moyens qu’entendent employer la Nation haïda et le gouvernement du Canada vont gérer Gwaii Haanas, une aire protégée d’importance mondiale. Il constitue un rare exemple de plan intégré comprenant une aire protégée à la fois terrestre et marine. Le plan directeur Terre, mer et gens satisfait aux exigences de l’Entente sur Gwaii Haanas, l’Entente sur l’aire marine Gwaii Haanas, la Constitution de la Nation Haida, la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada ainsi que la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Qui a élaboré le plan provisoire Terre, mer et gens?

Le plan directeur Terre, mer et gens a été élaboré par la Nation haïda et le gouvernement du Canada, par l’entremise du Conseil de gestion de l’archipel (CGA). Le plan tient compte des conseils et avis du Comité consultatif de Gwaii Haanas, de conseils de bande, du Conseil des chefs héréditaires, de municipalités et de divers groupes, notamment de pêcheurs haïdas, voyagistes, pêcheurs commerciaux et organismes environnementaux. Le CGA est secondé par une équipe de gestionnaires techniques du Conseil de la Nation haïda, de Parcs Canada ainsi que de Pêches et Océans Canada.

En quoi consiste un plan directeur intégré?

Un plan directeur intégré établit des orientations et éclaire les processus décisionnels dans plusieurs domaines d’activité qui, d’ordinaire, sont gérés séparément. Les orientations pour Gwaii Haanas sont actuellement établies dans deux plans directeurs distincts, l’un pour l’aire terrestre et l’autre pour l’aire marine. Au moment de renouveler les deux plans directeurs, le Conseil de gestion de l’archipel a décidé de les fusionner pour en faire un plan unique.

Quelle est l’importance de Gwaii Haanas?

En 1988, le Canada et la C.-B. ont signé l’Entente Moresby-Sud, en vertu de laquelle le gouvernement fédéral s’engageait à créer une aire protégée à la fois marine et terrestre. Le conseil de gestion de l’archipel est orienté par l’Entente sur Gwaii Haanas de 1993 et l’Entente sur l’aire marine Gwaii Haanas de 2010. Ces ententes exposent les moyens qu’entendent employer la Nation haïda et le gouvernement du Canada pour gérer Gwaii Haanas conjointement. L’aire terrestre est désignée réserve de parc national et l’aire marine a été désignée aire marine nationale de conservation en 2010.

Gwaii Haanas constitue un joyau écologique et culturel. Gwaii Haanas abrite plus de 700 sites archéologiques documentés, dont des sites maréaux et infratidaux et le début de l’occupation de cette région par l’Homme remonte à plus de 13 000 ans. Des exemples bien connus à travers le monde de l’art et de l’architecture haïda sont mis en valeur dans les villages haïdas ancestraux, dont celui de SGaang Gwaay, site du patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco.

Près de 6800 espèces marines et terrestres ont été recensées à Gwaii Haanas, dont 42 espèces en péril. Les forêts pluviales tempérées ainsi que les forêts de laminaires géantes du littoral subviennent à certains écosystèmes parmi les plus productifs au monde.

Gwaii Haanas est cogérée par la Nation haïda et le gouvernement du Canada par l’entremise du Conseil de gestion de l’archipel (CGA). Le CGA est composé de trois représentants de la Nation haïda et de trois représentants du gouvernement du Canada (deux de Parcs Canada, un de Pêches et Océans Canada) dont les décisions sont rendues par voie de consensus.

Les Haidas sont-ils en droit de mener des activités de récolte de subsistance dans les aires terrestres et dans les zones marines de protection intégrale?

Oui, en vertu de la Constitution de la Nation haïda, les Haïdas sont en droit de poursuivre leur utilisation traditionnelle dans l’ensemble du territoire de Gwaii Haanas

Lire le plan Plan directeur de Gwaii Haanas Gina 'Waadluxan KilGuhlGa Terre, mer et gens 2018