What you need to know

As of January, 2019

Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site is cooperatively managed by the Archipelago Management Board (AMB), which is made up of equal representation from the Government of Canada and the Council of the Haida Nation. The AMB operates by consensus and makes all decisions regarding planning, management and operations of Gwaii Haanas, including media and film permitting.

The AMB recognizes that most media coverage of Gwaii Haanas is beneficial to public awareness of the area and welcomes applicants. During the application process, the potential for environmental and cultural impacts from filming, photographing and story researching is carefully considered.

Gwaii Haanas Media Services

The AMB welcomes professional photographers, journalists, videographers, filmmakers and other media to Gwaii Haanas.

Our media-permitting program offers the following services:

  • A media kit with Gwaii Haanas Trip Planner, and Gwaii Haanas and Haida Gwaii facts
  • Location consultation
  • Assistance with coordinating interviews with Gwaii Haanas staff 
  • An email introduction to the Council of the Haida Nation communications department, to enable possible interviews or fact checking with CHN representatives.
  • Liaison with the Haida Gwaii Watchmen program
  • Fact checking
  • On site staff for location advice, interviews, and helping to ensure permit compliance.
  • Gwaii Haanas Staff Media Guide to travel with media crew may be requested by either the Archipelago Management Board and/or the media applicant. This is a fee based service.

Note: All applicants will submit an application processing fee ($147.20 Canadian) with submission of each application for a media and/or film permit. This fee is non-refundable.  

At the discretion of the media permitting coordinator, media may be required to provide proof of their assignment with a verifiable media outlet. With no verifiable assignment, media will also be required to pay regular visitor fees. To make the most of your Gwaii Haanas experience, please contact the Gwaii Haanas Media Permitting Coordinator well ahead of your proposed travel dates.

Archipelago Management Board Requirements

  1. All media require an approved Gwaii Haanas Media and/or Film permit to undertake their project in Gwaii Haanas. Media is defined as (but not limited to) journalists, videographers, filmmakers, photographers, photojournalists etc)
  2. All permit application forms must be submitted fully completed and contain sufficient detail to give an accurate picture of your planned media activities. The decision on your application will be based on the information provided.
  3. All applicants will submit an application processing fee (see Fee Chart) with submission of each application for a media and/or film permit.
  4. All media must attend a Gwaii Haanas visitor orientation – delivered by Gwaii Haanas staff
  5. All media will comply with the same requirements as visitors (see here for details) 
  6. Location fees will be charged for any media requests that require exclusive use of any location within Gwaii Haanas – including K’uuna Llnagaay (Skedans) and T’aanuu Llnagaay (Tanu). An assessment for location fees will be made by the Media Permitting Coordinator. The location fee is applied to each research and/or production day and will not be pro-rated. Location fees vary with crew size and length of visit, and may be discounted according to factors, such as how closely the content of the film reflects Gwaii Haanas priority messages. Maximum time allotted for exclusive use is six hours per day.
  7. All media/film crew leaders must have a copy of the signed permit available for inspection by Gwaii Haanas staff or Haida Gwaii Watchmen at all times.
  8. All media permit application packages be reviewed by the Council of the Haida Nation communications team to ensure they are aware of media work being done in Gwaii Haanas. 

 


Additional requirement specifically for film companies:

  • Film companies must provide proof of insurance coverage (minimum $2,000,000 comprehensive general liability insurance naming Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada as represented by Parks Canada Agency as an additional insured) to be carried for the duration of the production in Gwaii Haanas.
  • Crews most often travel in Gwaii Haanas with a tour operator licensed by Parks Canada. In some circumstances, crews may travel independently, or they may be able to travel with Gwaii Haanas, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, or Council of the Haida Nation staff. Unlicensed tour operators are not permitted.

The Permit Process

Step 1:

Contact: Media Permitting Coordinator
Gwaii Haanas reception: 250-559-8818
Email: gwaii.haanas@pc.gc.ca
Fax: 250-559-8366
Street: 60 Second Beach Road, Skidegate
Mail: PO Box 37, Queen Charlotte, BC, V0T 1S0

Step 2:
Complete the Gwaii Haanas Media and/or Film Permit Application form.

Step 3:
Return the completed form with the application processing fee (see Fees below) to the Media Permitting Coordinator. Fees are payable by Visa, MasterCard, cheque (made out to the Receiver General of Canada) or money order.

Step 4:
Gwaii Haanas staff will review and process the application. Notification of assessed location fees will be provided following approval. The AMB may negotiate additional terms. Location fee payment must be received before beginning any filming activities.

Step 5: 
The package will also be shared with and reviewed by the Haida Nation communications team. The AMB may negotiate additional terms. Location fee payment must be received before beginning any filming activities.

Step 6:
All crew members must attend a one and a half hour orientation in Skidegate, BC delivered by Gwaii Haanas staff, before entering Gwaii Haanas. This will be arranged by the Media Permitting Coordinator.

Step 7:
The approved media and/or film permit will be provided during the orientation. The senior media/film representative must sign the permit and keep it available for inspection by Gwaii Haanas staff or Haida Gwaii Watchmen at all times.

Step 8:
A Parks Canada representative may accompany the crew into Gwaii Haanas, if required by the AMB or requested by the production company.

Note: Begin the application process as early as possible. Gwaii Haanas accepts applications year round. Last-minute applications still have to go through the same process and run the risk of not being approved prior to the planned trip.

Contact: Media Permitting Coordinator:
Reception: 250-559-8818
Email: gwaii.haanas@pc.gc.ca
Fax: 250-559-8366
Street: 60 Second Beach Road, Skidegate
Mail: Box 37, Queen Charlotte, BC, V0T 1S0

For questions or information about Haida history and culture please contact: 
Karen Fladmark, Council of the Haida Nation Communications, 250-559-4468 or Karen.Fladmark@haidanation.com

It is recommended that you plan your trip to Gwaii Haanas by booking with a licensed operator well in advance. If travelling independently, contact the Gwaii Haanas office to make a reservation. For useful trip planning information, including a list of licensed operators, visit here.

Parks Canada Fees

Application and Location Fees

An application processing fee payment is required with every media permit application. The application fee is non-refundable.

Location fees are charged for requests that require exclusive use of any location within Gwaii Haanas—including K’uuna Llnagaay (Skedans) and T’aanuu Llnagaay. The location fee is applied to each production day and will not be pro-rated.

Film makers, videographers and staged photo shoots that require exclusive use of a site or area in Gwaii Haanas will be assessed for location fees.  Please contact the Permitting Coordinator for more information.

Production Crew Size Application Fee
(per project)
Location Fee
(per day)
1-6 $147.20 $490.60
7-12* $368.00 $981.30

*Group size max: 12 people including guide(s)

Gwaii Haanas Staff Media Guide Fees

Staff guide fees of $49.50/ hour may be charged when Gwaii Haanas staff travel with the media crew, whether as required by the Archipelago Management Board or as requested by the crew.

These rates are set by Parliament. They are designed to cover the full range of staff salaries and to compensate for any overtime that might be incurred.

Ce que vous devez savoir

Au janvier 2019

La réserve de parc national, réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas est administrée conjointement par le Conseil de gestion de l’archipel (CGA), lequel est composé d’un nombre égal de membres représentant le gouvernement du Canada et le Conseil de la Nation haïda. Le CGA procède par consensus et prend toutes les décisions concernant la planification, la gestion et l’exploitation de Gwaii Haanas, y compris l’octroi de permis pour les médias et de permis de tournage.

Le CGA reconnaît que, pour la plupart, les films et émissions tournés à Gwaii Haanas permettent au public de mieux connaître la région et accueille favorablement les demandes qui lui sont présentées. Au cours du processus de demande de permis, les répercussions que peuvent entraîner les activités de tournage sur l’environnement et les ressources culturelles sont étudiées de près.

Services aux médias de Gwaii Haanas

Le CGA est heureux d’accueillir photographes, journalistes, vidéographes, cinéastes professionnels et autres membres des médias à Gwaii Haanas.

Dans le cadre de notre programme d’octroi de permis pour les médias, les services suivants sont offerts :

  • Dossier de presse comprenant le planificateur de voyage pour Gwaii Haanas et les faits concernant Gwaii Haanas et Haida Gwaii;
  • Des conseils sur les lieux;
  • Aide à la coordination des entrevues avec le personnel de Gwaii Haanas;
  • Une liaison avec le programme des gardiens de Haida Gwaii;
  • Une vérification des faits;
  • Des employés sur place pour donner des conseils sur les lieux de tournage, des entrevues et pour fournir une assistance en vue d’assurer le respect des conditions du permis;
  • Courriel d’introduction à l’intention du service des communications du Conseil de la Nation haïda (CNH) pour faciliter d’éventuelles entrevues ou des vérifications de faits avec des représentants du CNH.

Remarque : Pour chaque demande de permis pour médias et/ou de permis de tournage, tout demandeur devra payer des droits de traitement de 147,20 $ CAN. Ce montant est non remboursable. 

À la discrétion du coordonnateur des permis pour les médias, les responsables de médias pourront être tenus de fournir une preuve vérifiable de leur affectation à un média. En l’absence d’une preuve d’affectation vérifiable, les responsables des médias seront également tenus de payer des droits d’entrée ordinaires.

Pour profiter au maximum de votre expérience à Gwaii Haanas, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur des permis pour les médias de Gwaii Haanas.

Exigences du Conseil de gestion de l’archipel

  1. Tous les médias sont tenus de détenir un permis pour les médias et/ou un permis de tournage avant de pouvoir mettre leur projet à exécution à Gwaii Haanas. S’entendent par « médias » les journalistes, vidéographes, cinéastes, photographes, photojournalistes (entre autres).
  2. Tous les formulaires de demande de permis doivent être présentés dûment remplis et doivent contenir des informations suffisamment détaillées pour donner une idée précise des activités de tournage que vous entendez mener. L’approbation de votre demande dépendra des renseignements fournis. .
  3. Pour chaque demande de permis pour médias ou de permis de tournage présentée, tout demandeur devra payer des droits exigibles pour le traitement d’une demande (voir le tableau des droits).
  4. Tous les médias devront observer les mêmes exigences que les visiteurs (voir ici pour plus de détails)
  5. Tous les médias devront observer les mêmes exigences que les visiteurs
  6. Des droits d’utilisation des lieux seront exigibles pour toute demande pour l’utilisation exclusive d’un secteur de Gwaii Haanas, y compris K’uuna Llnagaay (Skedans) et T’aanuu Llnagaay (Tanu). L’évaluation des droits d’utilisation des lieux à payer sera effectuée par le coordonnateur des permis aux médias. Les droits d’utilisation des lieux s’appliquent à chaque journée de recherche/production et ne seront pas calculés au prorata. Les droits d’utilisation des lieux varient en fonction de la taille des équipes et de la durée de la visite et peuvent être réduits en fonction de facteurs divers, notamment la mesure dans laquelle le contenu du film reflète les messages prioritaires de Gwaii Haanas. La durée maximale d’utilisation exclusive d’un lieu est de six heures par jour.
  7. Tout responsable d’une équipe de médias/de tournage doit en tout temps être en mesure de présenter une copie du permis signé sur demande d’un membre du personnel de Gwaii Haanas ou d’un gardien de Haida Gwaii.
  8. Tous les dossiers de demande de permis pour médias doivent être examinés par l’équipe chargée des communications du Conseil de la Nation haïda afin de s’assurer que cette dernière est bien au courant du travail médiatique effectué à Gwaii Haanas. 

Parmi les exigences supplémentaires auxquelles sont spécifiquement soumises les sociétés cinématographiques :

  • Obligation de présenter une attestation d’assurance responsabilité civile générale (d’un minimum de 2,000,000 $ nommant, à titre d’assurée additionnelle, Sa Majesté la Reine du Canada représentée par Parcs Canada) qui doit demeurer en vigueur pour toute la durée de la production à Gwaii Haanas.
  • Les équipes de tournage retiennent généralement les services d’un voyagiste agréé par Parcs Canada pour leurs déplacements à Gwaii Haanas. Dans certaines circonstances, les équipes pourront se déplacer de façon autonome, ou pourront se déplacer avec du personnel de Gwaii Haanas, de Pêches et Océans Canada ou du Conseil de la Nation haïda. Les voyagistes non autorisés ne sont pas admissibles.

 

Processus d’octroi de permis

Étape 1 :

Personne-ressource : Coordonnateur des permis pour les médias
Réception de Gwaii Haanas : 250-559-8818
Adresse courriel : gwaii.haanas@pc.gc.ca
Télécopieur : 250-559-8366
Adresse : C.P. 37, Queen Charlotte (C.-B.) V0T1S0

Étape 2 :
Remplir le formulaire de demande de permis pour les médias/permis de tournage de Gwaii Haannas.

Étape 3 :
Renvoyer le formulaire dûment rempli, auquel doivent être annexés les droits de traitement (voir les droits exigibles ci-dessous) au coordonnateur des permis pour les médias. Les droits sont payables par Visa, MasterCard, chèque (libellé au nom du Receveur général du Canada) ou mandat.

Étape 4 :
Le personnel de Gwaii Haanas examinera et traitera la demande. Le CGA pourrait négocier des conditions supplémentaires. Suite à l’approbation de la demande, un avis vous informant des droits d’utilisation des lieux exigés vous est envoyé. Le CGA pourrait négocier des conditions supplémentaires. Le paiement des droits d’utilisation des lieux doit avoir été reçu avant le début des activités de tournage.

Étape 5 : 
Les dossiers seront également remis à l’équipe des communications de la Nation haïda à des fins d’examen. Le CGA pourra négocier des modalités supplémentaires. Le paiement des droits d’utilisation des lieux doit avoir été reçu avant le début des activités de tournage.

Étape 6 :
Avant d’être admis à Gwaii Haanas, tous les membres d’une équipe de tournage sont tenus d’assister à une séance d’information d’une heure et demie offerte par le personnel de Gwaii Haanas, à Skidegate, en C.-B. Le coordonnateur des permis pour les médias prendra les dispositions nécessaires à cet effet. 

Étape 7 :
Le permis pour les médias/permis de tournage vous sera remis lors de la séance d’orientation. Le représentant principal du média/de la production doit signer le permis et doit en tout temps être en mesure de le présenter sur demande du personnel de Gwaii Haanas ou des gardiens de Haida Gwaii.

Étape 8 :
Un représentant de Parcs Canada peut accompagner l’équipe à Gwaii Haanas si le CGA l’exige ou si la société cinématographique le demande.

Remarque : Entamez le processus de demande de permis dès que possible. Gwaii Haanas accepte les demandes à longueur d’année. Les demandes de dernière minute doivent être soumises au même processus d’approbation et risquent de ne pas être approuvées avant la visite prévue.

Personne-ressource : Coordonnateur des permis pour les médias
Réception 250-559-8818
Adresse courriel : gwaii.haanas@pc.gc.ca
Télécopieur : 250-559-8366
Adresse : 60 Second Beach Road, Skidegate
Adresse postale : case postale 37, Queen Charlotte, BC V0T 1S0

Pour toute question ou tout renseignement au sujet de l’histoire ou de la culture haïda, veuillez communiquer avec : 
Karen Fladmark, communications du Conseil de la Nation haïda, 250-559-4468 ou Karen.Fladmark@haidanation.com

Nous vous recommandons de planifier votre voyage à Gwaii Haanas en effectuant votre réservation à l’avance auprès d’un voyagiste autorisé. Si vous voyagez de façon indépendante, communiquez avec le bureau de Gwaii Haanas pour votre réservation. Pour des renseignements utiles à la planification de votre voyage, dont une liste de voyagistes autorisés, consultez le site www.pc.gc.ca/gwaiihaanas

Droits de Parcs Canada

Droits de demande et d’utilisation des lieux

Des droits exigibles pour le traitement de votre demande doivent être annexés à toute demande de permis pour les médias. Les droits exigibles pour le traitement d’une demande sont non remboursables.

 

Les cinéastes, vidéographes ainsi que les séances photo en plusieurs temps exigeant l’utilisation exclusive d’un site ou d’une zone feront l’objet d’une évaluation pour déterminer les droits de location. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur des permis.

Les droits d’utilisation des lieux sont perçus pour toute demande d’utilisation exclusive d’un secteur situé dans les limites de Gwaii Haanas, y compris K’uuna Llnagaay (Skedans) and T’aanuu Llnagaay. Les droits d’utilisation des lieux sont exigibles pour chaque journée de production et ne seront pas calculés au prorata.

Taille de l’équipe de production Droits de demande
(par projet)
Droits d’utilisation des lieux
a (par jour)
1 à 6 147,20 $ 490,60 $
7 à 12* 368,00 $ 981,30 $

*Taille maximale des groupes : 12 personnes incluant les guides

Droits pour les services d’un guide pour les médias employé de Gwaii Haanas

Des droits de 49,50 $/h pour les services d’un guide employé de Gwaii Hannas pourraient être perçus lorsqu’un employé de Gwaii Haanas accompagne une équipe de production sur le terrain, qu’il s’agisse d’une exigence du Conseil de gestion de l’archipel ou d’une demande de l’équipe de production.

Ces droits sont établis par le Parlement. Ils servent à couvrir l’ensemble des frais salariaux du personnel de même que la rémunération d’éventuelles heures de travail supplémentaires.