Overview | Garry Oak IsletClam gardenSalmon stream | Coastal sands | Volunteer

Restoration work

Everyone’s done a jigsaw puzzle. If you work at it long enough, all the pieces fit.

Restoring unhealthy natural areas in the park reserve is more complicated than putting a puzzle back together. Nature changes constantly, so the picture doesn’t stay the same. Humans have also altered things. Imagine puzzle pieces missing (cougars) and extra pieces (European fallow deer).

The complexity of restoration work requires science and aboriginal traditional knowledge. It also takes the hard work of many volunteers, stakeholders, and partners. Restoring and protecting these special places is one of Parks Canada’s top priorities.


Garry Oak Islet

Garry Oak Islet

Less than 5% of the Garry oak ecosystem in Canada remains in a near-natural state. In the few areas left, introduced plants and animals crowd out native species. A few precious pockets of Garry oak maritime meadows remain on tiny islets in the park reserve.
» Eagle Islet restoration

Clam garden

Clam garden

What can traditional practices of the past tell us about managing resources and restoring ecosystems today? Over the next few years, Parks Canada, in collaboration with local First Nations and stakeholders, including Royal Roads University, will restore two ancient clam gardens.
» Clam garden restoration

salmon stream

Salmon stream

When the park reserve was first established, a culvert blocked chum salmon from spawning in Lyall Creek. Park staff, along with community volunteers, restored this salmon stream, one of the only protected watersheds in the Southern Gulf Islands.
» The Lyall Creek story

Volunteers and park staff raise their arms while sitting on a pile of invasive plants that they have removed from Sidney Island.

Coastal sand

Coastal sand ecosystems are rare in British Columbia and support many species at risk. A volunteer-powered restoration project on Sidney Island in the park reserve resulted in a big recovery for a tiny plant. .
» Coastal sand restoration

Vue d’ensemble | Îlots à chêne de Garry | Parcs à myes | Rivières à saumon | Sables côtiers | Bénévole

travaux de restauration

Tout le monde a déjà fait un casse-tête. Si vous travaillez assez longtemps, toutes les pièces finiront par s’assembler.

La restauration de secteurs naturels dégradés dans la réserve de parc national est plus compliquée que la réussite d’un casse-tête. La nature change constamment; le décor change donc. L’humain a aussi modifié certains éléments. Imaginez un casse-tête dont des pièces sont manquantes (couguars) et des pièces sont en trop (daims européens).

La complexité des travaux de restauration exige des connaissances scientifiques ainsi que des connaissances autochtones traditionnelles. Ces travaux nécessitent également les efforts de nombreux bénévoles, intervenants et partenaires. La restauration et la protection de ces endroits spéciaux constituent l’une des priorités absolues de Parcs Canada.


îlot à chêne de Garry

Îlots à chêne de Garry

Moins de 5 % des écosystèmes à chêne de Garry au Canada sont toujours dans leur état naturel. Dans les quelques secteurs restants, les plantes et les animaux introduits ont envahi les espèces indigènes. Quelques précieux secteurs de prés marins à chêne de Garry existent toujours sur de minuscules îlots de la réserve de parc national.
» Restauration de l’îlot Eagle

parc à myes

Parcs à myes

Comment les pratiques traditionnelles peuvent-elles nous aider à gérer des ressources et à restaurer des écosystèmes dans le présent? Au cours des prochaines années, Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec des Premières Nations locales et des intervenants, dont l’Université Royal Roads, restaurera deux anciens parcs à myes.
» Restauration de parcs à myes

Cours d’eau salmonicole

Lorsque la réserve de parc national a été établie, un ponceau empêchait les saumons kétas de frayer dans le ruisseau Lyall. Le personnel du parc, avec l’aide de bénévoles de la collectivité, a restauré ce cours d’eau salmonicole, l’un des seuls bassins hydrographiques protégés dans le sud des îles Gulf.
» Histoire du ruisseau Lyall

Des bénévoles et des employés du parc lèvent les bras, assis sur un tas de plantes envahissantes qu’ils ont arrachées sur l’île Sidney.

l’écosystème des sables côtiers

Les écosystèmes des sables côtiers sont rares en Colombie-Britannique et abritent de nombreuses espèces en péril. Un projet de restauration basé sur la participation de bénévoles sur l’île Sidney, dans la réserve de parc, a donné lieu à un rétablissement majeur pour une plante minuscule.
» Restauration de l’écosystème des sables côtiers