For thousands of years, fires have occurred on the lands now known as Gulf Islands National Park Reserve. These fires are a product of the diverse natural and cultural history of this unique area. 

Today, fire is carefully managed within the National Park Reserve. In order to prevent damaging wildfires, campfires are permitted within designated campfire pits at select campgrounds. Campfires are prohibited in backcountry locations, including on beaches and below the high tide line. All wildfires are suppressed by Parks Canada employees. 

Fire is also used as a tool to help manage ecosystems. “Prescribed” fires are used to restore ecosystem health and to facilitate cultural burning by local First Nations.

 

Fire and Nature | Wildfire Response | Wildfire Prevention | Eco-Cultural Burning | Prescribed Fire

 

Fire and Nature

Smoke coming out of forest. Seen from above.

Fire is a natural process, and plays a critical role in shaping natural areas in the Southern Gulf Islands region.

  • Fire cycles nutrients: Fires allow important nutrients, such as carbon, nitrogen, and phosphorous, to be released from vegetation and flow through ecosystems to be used by other plants and animals. 
  • Fire “heals” the landscape: Fires remove unhealthy, diseased trees and plants, and can help limit the spread of forest pests and insects. Young forests that grow back after fires are preferred by some species, providing fresh green growth and new habitats.
  • Fire “cleans” the forest: If a forest has not burned or been changed in a long time, dead vegetation accumulates. When frequent small, low intensity fires burn regularly through an area, this dead fuel is removed. In turn, the risk of a dangerous wildfire occurring is minimized.  

Wildfire Response

Two firefighters are fighting a bush fire in the forest with a fire hose.

While fire can be beneficial to landscapes, out-of-control wildfires can threaten the environment, homes, property, and important cultural areas. Wildfires are dangerous, unplanned, and uncontrolled fires. When a wildfire is reported, a dedicated team responds immediately. 

Firefighting equipment is strategically placed throughout the National Park Reserve. Crews use water pumps, hoses, and hand tools to suppress wildfires. In some cases, aircrafts like helicopters and water bombers can also be used to limit fire spread. 

Parks Canada works with local partners, fire departments, and the British Columbia Wildfire Service to suppress wildfires. 

 

Wildfire Prevention

Two Parks Canada employees are assessing hazard trees in the forest

The summer season in the southern Gulf Islands is often hot and dry. In order to protect nearby homes, park visitors, and neighboring properties, Gulf Islands National Park Reserve works to prevent wildfires.

Fires are prohibited in the National Park Reserve, including on beaches and below the high tide mark, except in designated fire pits in drive-in campgrounds (SMONECTEN (McDonald) and Prior Centennial). These regulations prevent any unattended or abandoned campfires from becoming dangerous and unexpected wildfires. Click here to learn about campfire regulations.

Gulf Islands National Park Reserve may also implement campfire bans during periods of elevated fire danger. The National Park Reserve works with the province and local municipalities to align fire bans and burning regulations where possible.

Gulf Islands National Park Reserve is conducting projects to reduce wildfire risk, working with local communities and FireSmart®
 
Resources:
Help prevent wildfires when visiting Gulf Islands National Park Reserve.

Make your home and property more resistant to wildfires. 

Eco-Cultural Burning

Garry Oak meadow with Camas in full bloom. 

Eco-Cultural burning practices have been used by Coast Salish Nations in the Southern Gulf Islands for thousands of years. Indigenous fire stewardship built resiliency in ecosystems, keeping sites healthy and productive. The endangered Garry oak ecosystems in the Gulf Islands region were carefully maintained by centuries of eco-cultural burning. To learn more about the Garry oak ecosystem restoration in Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, visit here.

When settlers and newcomers arrived here, colonial policies prohibited First Nations from lighting these important fires, which dramatically altered ecosystems over time.  

Parks Canada is committed to working with local First Nations to re-establish eco-cultural burning practices in Gulf Islands National Park Reserve. 

Prescribed Burning

Firefighter starting a prescribed burn 

Parks Canada uses prescribed fires to manage ecosystem health, and to reduce wildfire risk. 

A “prescribed fire” is planned, intentionally ignited, and carefully managed. This is different than a wildfire, which is unplanned and often started unintentionally or by lightning, and can quickly get out of control. Prescribed fires are ignited by trained Parks Canada employees.

“Prescriptions” are the conditions and procedures needed to burn safely and effectively. Trained specialists decide when, where, and under what limits such fires will be permitted to burn. Factors such as weather, vegetation type, moisture levels, terrain, and expected fire behavior are taken into account when writing a prescription. Prescribed fires are conducted to meet ecological goals, such as:

  • Reduce dead vegetation and recycle nutrients to enrich the soil.
  • Reduce the hazardous, dead, flammable materials that could contribute to large, catastrophic wildfires.
  • Promote new growth to provide habitat and food for many species of plants and animals.

Careful planning and monitoring is used to determine when and where a prescribed fire will help improve or maintain the health of the National Park Reserve.

Depuis des milliers d’années, des incendies se produisent sur les terres qui constituent aujourd’hui la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf. Ces feux sont le produit de l’histoire naturelle et culturelle diversifiée de cette région exceptionnelle.

Aujourd’hui, les incendies sont gérés avec soin dans la réserve de parc national. Afin de prévenir les incendies de forêt dommageables, les feux de camp sont autorisés dans les cercles de feux de camp de certains terrains de camping. Les feux de camp sont interdits dans l’arrière-pays, y compris sur les plages et sous la ligne de marée haute. Tous les feux de forêt sont éteints par les employés de Parcs Canada. 

Le feu sert également d’outil pour aider à gérer les écosystèmes. Des feux « dirigés » sont utilisés pour restaurer la santé des écosystèmes et pour faciliter les brûlages culturels par les Premières Nations de la région.

 

Feu et Nature | Réponses aux feux de forêt | Prévention des feux de forêt | Brûlages culturels | Brûlages dirigés

 

Feu et Nature

Fumée sortant de la forêt. Vue d'en haut.

Le feu est un processus naturel et joue un rôle essentiel en façonnant les zones naturelles du secteur sud des îles Gulf.

  • Le feu fait circuler les nutriments : Les incendies permettent aux nutriments importants, comme le carbone, l’azote et le phosphore, d’être libérés de la végétation et de circuler dans les écosystèmes pour être utilisés par d’autres plantes et animaux.
  • Le feu « guérit » le paysage  : Les incendies éliminent les plantes et les arbres malsains et malades, et peuvent contribuer à limiter la propagation des insectes et des ravageurs forestiers.Les jeunes forêts qui repoussent après les incendies sont préférées par certaines espèces, fournissant de nouvelles pousses de plantes fraîches et de nouveaux habitats.
  • Le feu « nettoie » la forêt : Si une forêt n’a pas brûlé ou été modifiée depuis longtemps, les végétaux morts s’accumulent. Lorsque de petits feux de faible intensité brûlent régulièrement dans une zone, ce combustible mort est éliminé. Le risque de voir se produire un dangereux incendie de forêt est alors réduit.

Réponses aux feux de forêt

Deux pompiers combattent un feu de brousse dans la forêt avec une lance d'incendie.

Si le feu peut être avantageux pour les paysages, les feux de forêt hors de contrôle peuvent menacer l’environnement, les habitations, les biens et les zones culturelles importantes. Les feux de forêt sont des incendies dangereux, imprévus et incontrôlés. Lorsqu’un feu de forêt est signalé, une équipe spécialisée intervient immédiatement.

Du matériel de lutte contre les incendies est entreposé à des endroits stratégiques dans la réserve de parc national. Les équipes utilisent des pompes à eau, des tuyaux et des outils manuels pour éteindre les feux de forêt. Dans certains cas, des aéronefs comme des hélicoptères et des bombardiers d’eau peuvent également être utilisés pour limiter la propagation des feux.

Parcs Canada collabore avec ses partenaires locaux, les services d’incendie et le British Columbia Wildfire Service pour éteindre les feux de forêt.

 

Prévention des feux de forêt

Deux employés de Parcs Canada évaluent les arbres dangereux dans la forêt 

Dans la partie sud des îles Gulf, la saison estivale est souvent chaude et sèche. Afin de protéger les maisons à proximité, les visiteurs du parc et les autres biens, la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf s’efforce de prévenir les feux de forêt.
Il est interdit de faire des feux dans la réserve de parc national, y compris sur les plages et sous la ligne de marée haute, sauf dans les foyers désignés dans les terrains de camping accessibles en voiture (SMONECTEN [McDonald] et Prior Centennial). Ces règlements visent à empêcher que des feux de camp non surveillés ou abandonnés se transforment en feux de forêt dangereux et inattendus.Cliquez ici pour vous renseigner sur les règlements qui régissent les feux de camp.

La réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf peut également imposer des interdictions de faire des feux à certains moments de l’année où les risques d’incendie sont élevés. Dans la mesure du possible, la réserve de parc national collabore avec les municipalités locales et la province de la Colombie-Britannique pour faire concorder les interdictions de faire des feux et les règlements sur les brûlages.

La réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf mène des projets pour réduire les risques d'incendie de forêt, en collaboration avec les communautés locales et FireSmart® (en anglais seulement). 

Ressources:
Aider à la Prévention des feux de forêt avant de visiter la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf

Rendez votre maison et vos propriétés plus résistantes aux feux de forêt (en anglais seulement)

Brûlages culturels

Fleurs de Camas dans un pré à chêne de Garry 

Les nations des Salishs de la côte pratiquent le brûlage culturel depuis des milliers d’années dans les îles-Gulf du sud. L’intendance autochtone par le feu a permis de renforcer la résilience des écosystèmes en maintenant des milieux sains et productifs. Pendant des siècles, les écosystèmes du chêne de Garry, aujourd’hui menacés de disparition dans la région des îles Gulf, ont été soigneusement entretenus par des brûlages culturels. Pour en savoir plus sur la restauration des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf, cliquez ici.

Lorsque les pionniers et les nouveaux arrivants sont venus ici, les politiques coloniales interdisaient aux Premières Nations d'allumer ces incendies importants, qui ont considérablement modifié les écosystèmes au fil du temps.

Parcs Canada est déterminé à travailler avec les Premières Nations locales pour rétablir la pratique des brûlages culturels dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf.

Brûlages dirigés

Pompier commençant un brûlage dirigé 

Parcs Canada utilise des brûlages dirigés pour gérer la santé des écosystèmes et pour réduire le risque des feux de forêt. 

Contrairement aux feux de forêt, qui sont imprévus et souvent allumés par accident ou par la foudre, et qui peuvent rapidement devenir incontrôlables,les « brûlages dirigés » sont planifiés, provoqués intentionnellement et soigneusement contrôlés . Les brûlages dirigés sont allumés par des employés qualifiés de Parcs Canada.

Les « prescriptions » sont les conditions et les procédures nécessaires pour réaliser un brûlage sûr et efficace. Des spécialistes formés décident quand, où et dans quelles limites ces feux pourront brûler. Des facteurs comme la météo, le type de végétation, les niveaux d’humidité, le relief et le comportement attendu du feu sont pris en compte lors de l’élaboration d’une prescription. Les brûlages dirigés sont réalisés pour atteindre des objectifs écologiques, par exemple :

  • réduire la quantité de végétation morte et recycler les nutriments pour enrichir le sol;
  • réduire la quantité de matière dangereuse, morte et inflammable qui pourrait contribuer à de vastes incendies catastrophiques;
  • favoriser une croissance renouvelée pour fournir un habitat et de la nourriture à de nombreuses espèces de plantes et d’animaux.

Une planification et une surveillance minutieuses sont utilisées pour déterminer quand et où un feu dirigé contribuera à améliorer ou à maintenir la santé de la réserve de parc national.