Apples in a tree
King of Tompkins county apples, Mahoi Orchard, Russell Island
Photo: M. Spencer

The history of the settlement of the Gulf Islands and the orchards in the park reserve are deeply rooted together.

One of the first things that newcomers did after they cleared the land for settlement was to plant an orchard. Between the 1830s and 1960s, they planted the apple seeds and tiny grafted fruit trees of their favourite varieties which they brought with them to the southern Gulf Islands.

The orchards they planted stand today as jewels that connect us to the unique cultural heritage of the southern Gulf Islands. The hundreds of heritage fruit trees in the park reserve give us a glimpse into the lives of early European settlers to the region, pointing to where they came from and how their farming practices linked into the local economy. The orchards are living examples of horticultural practices from the Victorian era (1837 to 1901) and bring to life the Gulf Islands’ rich history as the once top apple-producing region in British Columbia.

Today, there are 17 heritage and non-heritage orchards in Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, spread across eight islands. Apples, pears, cherries, plums, quince, and nuts are most common.

Parks Canada has worked with the BC Fruit Testers Association to identify fruit varieties in several of the orchards. Most of the varieties found in the park reserve come from the eastern United States and Canada, but a few are from Russia and Eastern Europe.

The Red Delicious apple is a classic variety that you find on grocery store shelves today, although it is thought to be of inferior taste and texture compared to the original cultivar. The Red Delicious, developed by a farmer in Iowa, first appeared as the winner of an apple contest in 1880. In 1908, Robert and Margaret Roe traveled from Scotland and cleared land on North Pender Island. They planted grafts of Red Delicious that they purchased from a nursery in Victoria. The original Roe house is now The Pender Islands Museum and the orchard still produces healthy apples. With its deep red colour and mild, sweet flavour, it is no wonder that the Scottish newcomers planted this variety—one of the many delicious varieties that you can taste in the park reserve.

Members of the public are invited to collect fruits from the heritage and non-heritage orchards in the park reserve, subject to certain conditions.

Pommes dans un arbre
Pommes King of Tompkin’s County, verger Mahoi, île Russell
Photo: M. Spencer

L’histoire de la colonisation des îles Gulf et des vergers dans la réserve de parc est profondément interreliée.

L’un des premiers gestes que les nouveaux arrivants posaient après avoir défriché la terre pour s’y établir était de planter un verger. Entre les années 1830 et 1960, ils ont planté des pépins de pommes et de petits arbres fruitiers greffés de leurs variétés préférées, qu’ils ont apportés dans le sud des îles Gulf.

Les vergers qu’ils ont plantés sont reconnus aujourd’hui comme étant des trésors qui nous lient au patrimoine culturel unique du sud des îles Gulf. Les centaines d’arbres fruitiers traditionnels qui se trouvent dans la réserve de parc nous offrent un aperçu de la vie des premiers colons européens dans la région, de leur provenance et de la façon dont leurs pratiques agricoles étaient liées à l’économie locale. Ces vergers sont des exemples vivants des pratiques horticoles de l’époque victorienne (de 1837 à 1901) et de la riche histoire des îles Gulf, autrefois la plus importante région pomicultrice en Colombie-Britannique.

Il existe aujourd’hui 17 vergers patrimoniaux et non patrimoniaux dans la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf, répartis sur huit îles. Les pommes, les poires, les cerises, les prunes, les coings et les noix sont les plus courants.

Parcs Canada s’est associé à la BC Fruit Testers Association (en anglais seulement) pour identifier les variétés de fruits de plusieurs vergers. La plupart des variétés que l’on trouve dans la réserve de parc proviennent de l’Est des États-Unis et du Canada, mais certaines sont originaires de la Russie et de l’Europe de l’Est.

La pomme Red Delicious est aujourd’hui une variété classique dans nos épiceries, bien que l’on considère qu’elle aurait un goût et une texture inférieurs à ceux du cultivar original. La Red Delicious, conçue par un agriculteur d’Iowa, est apparue pour la première fois comme gagnante d’un concours de pommes en 1880. En 1908, Robert et Margaret Roe ont quitté l’Écosse pour défricher une terre sur l’île Pender Nord. Ils ont planté des greffes de la Red Delicious qu’ils s’étaient procurées dans une pépinière de Victoria. La maison originale des Roe abrite maintenant le musée de l’île Pender (en anglais seulement), et le verger produit encore des pommes saines. Il n’est pas surprenant que les nouveaux arrivants écossais aient planté cette variété au rouge foncé et au goût doux et sucré – l’une des nombreuses et délicieuses variétés que vous pouvez déguster dans la réserve de parc.

Les visiteurs sont invités à cueillir des fruits dans les vergers patrimoniaux et non patrimoniaux de la réserve de parc, sous réserve de certaines conditions.