1. Saturna Island
  2. Sidney, BC
  3. Sidney Island

Information on all park programs and events:

  • Cost: Free, unless indicated
  • Ages: All ages; unless otherwise indicated
  • Registration: Not required, unless indicated otherwise
  • What to bring: Water, hat, jacket, sunscreen and appropriate walking gear
  • Where to meet: At the park reserve kiosk/info sign at the location listed, unless otherwise noted
  • Getting here: Travel to Sidney Island by Alpine Ferry; travel to Saturna or Pender islands by BC Ferries
  • To reserve an activity in French: Please contact the park office at 1-866-944-1744

Saturna Island

Sunset Wildlife Watch


East Point
Two visitors next to the historic museum building at East Point on Saturna Island. They gaze out across the water hoping to spot whales

Fridays in July and August
8:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Discover the wildlife of the Salish Sea and relax into the peacefulness of an East Point sunset. Dress warmly and bring blankets, chairs and flashlights. Enjoy the talents of island musicians and storytellers. Meet out at the point (5 min. walk).


Whale Trail Walk


East Point
A family walks along the path at East Point, Saturna Island

Saturdays in July and August
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm

Learn skills to make you a better whale watcher. Get inside stories about local whales from the park interpreter. Exercise on a short walk and unwind at stops with gorgeous views. Wear shoes suitable for trail walking.


Drop-in Family Sundays


Winter Cove
A father and son hold up salmon props used for interpretation at Winter cove, Saturna Island

Sundays in July and August
10:00 am to 1:00 pm

Can you solve the mystery? Challenge the whole family! Find the clues along the trail and examine the evidence. Learn about the animals of the park reserve. Drop-in any time, but allow an hour to solve the mystery. Make a nature craft. Don’t forget a picnic lunch!


Sidney, BC (Vancouver Island)

Science Secret Agents


Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea
A Parks Canada interpreter presents the jellyfish display to guests at the 'Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea', in Sidney

Saturdays in July and August
2:00 pm

Something has gone missing in or around the Salish Sea and we only have so much time to find it before it’s too late! Use special secret agent clues to solve the mystery! Note: Entry fees to the Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea apply. More information: salishseacentre.org/ 


Coast Salish Campfire


 McDonald Campground

Saturdays from July 6 to August 31 
7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Join a Coast Salish knowledge holder and a Parks Canada Interpreter as they share traditions, stories, songs and s’mores. Bring a flashlight. Ideal for families with children 12 and under. Note: We gather around a propane fire during fire ban season.

*Please park at the adjacent Blue Heron Park and follow the signs through the forest to the campground. Meet at the group campfire ring.


Sidney Island

Sidney Spit Snappy Chats


Sidney Spit
A Parks Canada employee, accompanied by some volunteers, searches for clams buried beneath the sand

Sundays from July 7 to August 25 
10:30 am to 1:00 pm

What is a Dama dama and why the heck is it here? What’s the difference between a transient orca and a resident orca? Find out the answer to these and other questions from our roving Parks Canada interpreters on Sidney Island!


Self-guided adventures

Geocaching

Try one of our geocaching programs and embark on a self-guided adventure to experience the park reserve’s cultural and natural hotspots. Choose from two routes: a family-friendly treasure hunt or a more strenuous quest to see the Top Ten Places in the park reserve.

Learn more


Trail guide app

Check out our trail app – available for free on the App Store and Google play. Discover the park reserve in a whole new way with insider info, historic photos and mini quizzes! Routes available for: Sidney Spit, Russell Island, Georgina Point (Mayne Island), Roesland (Pender Island), Winter Cove and Lyall Creek (Saturna Island), McDonald Campground (Sidney) and Portland Island.

Learn more


Xplorers 

Are you ages 6-11? Do you like to hike, draw a picture, or use your GPS to find a mystery location? Then the Xplorers program is just the right adventure for you! Kids and their family can discover cool facts about the park reserve by completing activities in the Xplorers booklet. Pick up your copy from the Pender Island Museum, the Saturna Fog Alarm Building, the Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea or the Park Office in Sidney.

Learn more

1. Île Saturna
  2. Sidney, C.-B.
  3. Île Sidney

Renseignements supplémentaires sur tous les programmes et toutes les activités :

  • Coût : Gratuit, sauf indication contraire
  • Public cible : Visiteurs de tout âge, sauf indication contraire
  • Inscription : Non requise, sauf indication contraire
  • Matériel requis : Eau, chapeau, blouson, écran solaire et chaussures de marche appropriées
  • Point de rassemblement : Kiosque ou panneau d’information du parc à l’endroit indiqué, sauf indication contraire
  • Accès : L’île Sidney est desservie par le traversier de la société Alpine (en anglais seulement) et l’île Saturna et l’île Pender, par le traversier de la société BC Ferries (en anglais seulement).
  • Pour réserver une activité en français : Communiquez avec le bureau du parc au 1-866-644-1744.

Île Saturna

Observation de la faune au coucher du soleil


La pointe East
Ces visiteurs du musée historique de la pointe East de l’île Saturna scrutent l’horizon dans l’espoir d’apercevoir des baleines. C’est l’un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour voir des baleines depuis la terre ferme.

Les vendredis de juillet et d’août
20 h à 21 h

Découvrez la faune de la mer des Salish et détendez-vous en toute quiétude à la lueur d’un coucher de soleil à la pointe East. Habillez-vous chaudement et apportez une couverture, une chaise et une lampe de poche. Écoutez des musiciens et des conteurs locaux talentueux. Point de rassemblement : pointe East (5 minutes de marche).


Promenade sur le sentier des Baleines


La pointe East
Une famille marche sur le sentier d’East Point sur l’île Saturna

Les samedis de juillet et d’août
15 h à 16 h

Apprenez des techniques qui feront de vous un meilleur observateur de baleines. Écoutez les anecdotes de notre interprète de parc sur les baleines locales. Dégourdissez-vous les jambes pendant une courte promenade assortie de haltes offrant des vues splendides. N’oubliez pas d’apporter des chaussures adaptées à la marche sur un sentier. 


Petits dimanches en famille! (aucune inscription requise)


L’anse Winter
Un père et son fils tiennent des accessoires sur le saumon servant à l’interprétation à l’anse Winter, sur l’île Saturna

Les dimanches de juillet et d’août
10 h à 13 h

Pourrez-vous élucider le mystère? Mettez votre famille au défi! Trouvez les indices le long du sentier et examinez les pièces à conviction. Familiarisez-vous avec les animaux que l’on trouve dans la réserve de parc. Relevez le défi à tout moment, mais prévoyez une heure pour résoudre le mystère. Faites un bricolage sur le thème de la nature. N’oubliez-pas votre pique-nique!


Sidney, C.-B.

Agents secrets scientifiques


Centre Shaw de la mer des Salish
Une interprète de Parcs Canada présente aux visiteurs le bassin aux méduses au centre « Shaw Centre for the Salish Sea » de Sidney

Les samedis de juillet et d’août
14 h  

Quelque chose a disparu de la mer des Salish ou des environs. Chaque seconde compte! Il faut le retrouver avant qu’il ne soit trop tard! Utilisez les indices spéciaux des agents secrets pour résoudre le mystère!

Coût : droit d’entrée au Centre Shaw de la mer des Salish. www.salishseacentre.org (en anglais seulement)


Feu de camp des Salish de la côte


Terrain de camping McDonald

Les samedis de 6 juillet à 31 août
19 h à 20 h

En compagnie d‘un détenteur du savoir des Salish de la côte, et d’un interprète de Parcs Canada, laissez-vous envoûter par les traditions, les histoires, les chansons et… les s’mores.

Apportez une lampe de poche. Cette activité est idéale pour les familles comptant des enfants de 12 ans et moins. Nota : Nous nous réunirons autour d’un feu alimenté au propane en cas d’interdiction de faire des feux.

*Garez-vous au parc Blue Heron, juste à côté, et suivez les indications dans la forêt pour vous rendre au terrain de camping. Point de rassemblement : emplacement du feu de camp de groupe.


Île Sidney

Échanges captivants à la flèche Sidney


Île Sidney
Une employée de Parcs Canada accompagnée de bénévoles à la recherche de palourdes enfouies dans le sable

Les dimanches de 7 juillet à 25 août
10 h 30 à 13 h 

Qu’est-ce qu’un Dama dama et qu’est-ce que ça peut bien faire là? Quelle est la différence entre un épaulard migrateur et un épaulard résident?
Trouvez la réponse à ces questions et à bien d’autres en bavardant avec les interprètes de Parcs Canada qui se promènent sur l’île Sidney!


Aventures autoguidées

Géocachette

Prenez part à l’un de nos programmes de géocachette et partez à l’aventure pour découvrir par vous-mêmes les trésors culturels et naturels de la réserve de parc. Deux circuits s’offrent à vous : une chasse au trésor pour toute la famille ou un parcours plus exigeant qui vous fera découvrir les dix principaux endroits de la réserve de parc.

Plus d'information


Application d’exploration de sentiers

Téléchargez notre application gratuite d’exploration de sentiers à partir de l’App Store ou de Google Play. Découvrez la réserve de parc d’un tout autre œil grâce à des renseignements privilégiés, à des photos historiques et à des mini jeux-questionnaires! Des parcours ont été créés pour la flèche Sidney, l’île Russel, la pointe Georgina (île Mayne), Roesland (île Pender), l’anse Winter et le ruisseau Lyall (île Saturna), le terrain de camping McDonald (Sidney) et l’île Portland.

Plus d'information


Xplorateurs 

Tu as entre 6 et 11 ans? Tu aimes te promener, dessiner ou utiliser un appareil GPS pour découvrir des endroits mystères? Viens vivre l’aventure grâce au programme des Xplorateurs! Avec ta famille, découvre des renseignements fascinants sur la réserve de parc grâce aux activités du livret des Xplorateurs. Il est possible de se procurer un livret au musée de l’île Pender, au bâtiment de l’avertisseur de brume de l’île Saturna, au Centre Shaw de la mer des Salish ou au bureau de Parcs Canada à Sidney.

Plus d'information