For a rugged, back-to-nature experience, we offer a wide variety of backcountry campsites throughout the Southern Gulf Islands.

  1. D’Arcy Island
  2. Isle-de-Lis
  3. Portland Island
  4. Pender Islands
  5. Cabbage Island
  6. Prevost Island
  7. Saturna Island

Campgrounds with reservations:

Saturna Island - Narvaez Bay Campground


GPS coordinates: 48.774203, -123.098736
A young biker couple take a break on a bike trail

Narvaez Bay is one of the most beautiful and undisturbed bays in the southern Gulf Islands. This area includes regenerating Douglas fir forest and Garry oak-arbutus ecosystems. This campground is easily accessed from land or water, and is a popular spot for paddlers and overnight anchorage.

Getting here

BC Ferries offers service to Saturna Island from Swartz Bay, Tsawwassen and other Southern Gulf Islands. For ferry schedule to & from Saturna Island, visit: bcferries.com/schedules/southern or contact 1-888-BC-FERRY.

To access from land: Head east on Narvaez Bay Rd. Park at the gate at the end of Narvaez Bay Road, and walk past the gate and down the road to the bay for 1.7km. Stay on the main path to avoid trampling sensitive vegetation.


Campground info:
  • Walk-In access: 1.7 km from trailhead to backcountry campsites
  • 7 reservable campsites
  • Bike racks at the campground
  • Pit toilets
  • No potable water
Reservations

Book your campsite online at reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca or by calling 1-877-RESERVE.

Campground map

Pender Islands

Two hikers marvel at the spectacular views afforded after walking the trail up to the viewing platform on Mount Norman

The Penders—North and South—were once one island connected by a narrow strip of land. A canal between the islands was dredged in 1903 to allow boats to make a speedier passage to the outer Gulf Islands. Rejoined again with the building of a one-lane bridge in 1957, the two islands are now home to a combined population of around 2,000 permanent residents, the majority of whom live on North Pender.

Getting here

BC Ferries offers service to Pender Island from Swartz Bay, Tsawwassen and other Southern Gulf Islands. For ferry schedule to and from Pender Island, visit: bcferries.com/schedules/southern or contact 1-888-BC-FERRY.


Beaumont Campground
GPS Coordinates:
48.754007, -123.241437
A couple enjoy a gentle walk, along the beach
Campground info
  • Accessible by water or hiking trail
  • 13 backcountry sites (10 reservable)
  • Pit toilets
  • No potable water
  • Nearby: Beaumont mooring buoys;
    Mt. Norman
Getting here

Hike from Canal Rd
(parking available here)

Difficulty: Advanced

Length: 2.13km, 2 hours

Hike up to Mount Norman, then continue down the path towards Ainslie Point and Beaumont Campground.


Hike from Ainslie Point Rd
(No parking)

Difficulty: Advanced

Length:1.6 km, 1-hour hike.

Follow signs to Beaumont Camping areas. Half a kilometer from the Ainslie Point trail access, the trail to Beaumont switches back steeply down through thick forest and boulder fields. It levels out about 30 metres above the shoreline to a fork in the trail; both forks lead to the camping area.

Reservations

Book your campsite online at reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca or by calling 1-877-RESERVE.

Campground map
Shingle Bay Campground
GPS Coordinates:
48.7841064747264, -123.31095284505
Two campers set-up their tent under the evening sun at Shingle Bay campground on Pender Island
Campground info
Getting here

The camping area is walk-in only.

From the parking area you will descend 0.24 km down a steep hill.

Overnight parking available for campers at the end of Shingle Bay Rd.

Getting here by car:

From the Otter Bay Ferry Terminal, head north towards MacKinnon Rd, after 350 m merge and make a slight right onto MacKinnon Rd. Follow for 600 m, then continue straight onto Otter Bay Rd. In 1.5 km, turn right onto S Otter Bay Rd. In 2.6 km, turn left onto Shingle Bay Rd. Follow for 500m and you will arrive in the parking area for the campground.

Reservations

Book your campsite online at reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca or by calling 1-877-RESERVE.

Campground map

First-come first-served campgrounds:

D’Arcy Island


GPS coordinates: 48.567484, -123.273656
 A couple strolls among the Arbutus trees on the shoreline of D'Arcy Island

With numerous coves, cobble beaches and a forest of arbutus and Douglas fir, D'Arcy Island's beauty belies its past history as a leper colony for Chinese immigrants in the late 1800s and early 1900s. To avoid damaging sensitive habitats or disturbing cultural features, please camp only in the designated campsites.


Campground info:

  • Accessible by water only
  • 7 primitive campsites
  • Pit toilets
  • No potable water

Isle-de-Lis / Rum Island


GPS coordinates: 48.662781, -123.280474

This small island features a Douglas fir/arbutus forest and coastal bluffs, as well as vegetation that reflects the warm Mediterranean-like climate of the southern Gulf Islands.

The island is popular with kayakers who stop overnight on multi-day paddling trips, but plan to arrive early in the day as there are a limited number of campsites (three sites). Marine access only, pit toilets and no drinking water.

Rum Island is connected to neighbouring Gooch Island by a gravel beach that is the best place to put a kayak ashore. Gooch Island is private property: please do not trespass.


Campground info:
  • Accessible by water only
  • 3 primitive campsites
  • Pit toilets
  • No potable water

Princess Margaret (Portland) Island


GPS coordinates: 48.721860, -123.384235
A couple enjoy a gentle walk, along the beach

Portland Island features three backcountry campgrounds linked by hiking trails. During the summer months, the Royal Victoria Yacht Club provides information to boaters at a float in Princess Bay, through the park's Marine Host program.

Portland Island features cliffs, protected coves and sand beaches. The island was once the site of a First Nations village, but now the shell midden beaches encircling the island are the most visible reminder of their presence. Please do not disturb midden sites.

Settled by Kanaka (Hawaiian) immigrants in the 1880s, Portland Island's recent history is primarily agricultural. The island was presented as a gift to Princess Margaret in 1958 to commemorate her visit to the province. In turn, she returned the island to British Columbia as a provincial park in 1967.


Campground info (all sites):
  • Accessible by water only
  • Food cache
  • Pit toilets
  • No potable water
Shell Beach Campground:
6 primitive campsites

GPS coordinates: 48.721860, -123.384235

Princess Bay Campground:
12 primitive campsites

GPS coordinates: 48.7209160705094, -123.369624890751

Arbutus Point Campground:
6 primitive campsites

GPS coordinates: 48.734518, -123.367186


Cabbage Island Campground


GPS coordinates: 48.797806, -123.087791
Cabbage Island as seen from an approaching boat, offers a white sand beach and appealing shade from its tall trees

The marshes and stands of Garry oak, arbutus and coastal Douglas fir on Cabbage and nearby Tumbo and Saturna Islands are some of the most intact wetland and vegetation communities remaining on the Gulf Islands. Cabbage Island is an important nesting site for Black Oystercatchers and Bald Eagles. Oystercatchers are particularly sensitive to disturbance by dogs and people walking along the shoreline: use an alternate route or landing area if you spot Oystercatchers on the beach.


Campground info:

Prevost Island - James Bay Campground


GPS coordinates: 48.8396793863411, -123.397182148045
A couple relaxes near their tent

James Bay Campground on Prevost Island is only accessible by water, and is popular with kayakers. There are no tent pads in this open field style camping area.

National park reserve lands are located on both the north and south shores of Prevost Island. The majority of the island, however, remains privately owned by the descendants of Digby de Burgh—the man who bought the island in the 1920s. They continue to farm and raise sheep on the island. The island is largely unchanged from what would have existed a century ago, and contains large cedar and arbutus groves.


Campground info:
  • Accessible by water only
  • 10 primitive campsites (no picnic tables or tent pads)
  • Pit toilets
  • No potable water

Si vous souhaitez vivre une expérience rustique de communion avec la nature, découvrez les divers emplacements de camping de l’arrière-pays situés un peu partout dans la région sud des îles Gulf.

  1. Île D’Arcy
  2. Isle-de-Lis
  3. Île Portland
  4. Îles Pender
  5. Île Cabbage
  6. Île Prevost
  7. Île Saturna

Réservations pour l'arrière-pays :

Île Saturna : camping de la baie Narvaez


Coordonnées GPS : 48.774203, -123.098736
Un jeune couple de cycliste en pause sur un sentier de vélo

Un nombre grandissant de nos visiteurs nous demandaient de leur offrir de meilleurs outils pour planifier leurs excursions, et nous avons donc créé un système de réservation d’emplacements de camping dans l’arrière-pays. Ce nouveau service permettra aux visiteurs de réserver un emplacement de camping avant de partir en voyage. La baie Narvaez est une des baies les plus belles et inchangées de la région sud des îles Gulf. On trouve dans le secteur une forêt de douglas de Menzies en régénération et des écosystèmes de chêne de Garry et d’arbousiers. Le camping est facilement accessible par bateau et véhicule, et il est très prisé des kayakistes ainsi que des plaisanciers souhaitant s’ancrer pour la nuit.

Pour s’y rendre

La société de traversiers BC Ferries dessert l’île Saturna depuis Swartz Bay, Tsawwassen et les autres îles de la région sud des îles Gulf. Pour connaître l’horaire des traversiers à l’île Saturna, consultez le bcferries.com/schedules/southern (en anglais seulement) ou composez le 1-888-BC-FERRY.

Pour s’y rendre en voiture : Dirigez-vous vers l’est sur Narvaez Bay Rd. Stationnez-vous près de la barrière, au bout de la route, et suivez le sentier à pied jusqu’à la baie, envers 1,7 km. Ne quittez pas le sentier principal pour éviter de piétiner des végétaux fragiles.


Renseignements sur le terrain de camping :
  • Accès à pied : sentier de 1,7 km entre le stationnement et les emplacements de camping dans l’arrière-pays
  • 7 emplacements de camping sauvage à réservation
  • Supports à vélos au campground
  • Toilettes sèches
  • Pas d’eau potable
Réservations

Pour réserver, visitez le site Web à reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 1-877-RÉSERVE

Carte du terrain de camping

Îles Pender

Après avoir suivi le sentier de randonnée jusqu’à la terrasse d’observation du mont Norman, sur l’île Pender, on peut admirer le panorama spectaculaire

Les îles Pender (Nord et Sud) étaient autrefois reliées par une mince bande de terre. En 1903, un canal y a été creusé pour permettre aux bateaux de gagner plus rapidement les îles Gulf extérieures. Un pont à une voie a raccordé les deux îles en 1957, et celles-ci abritent aujourd’hui quelque 2 000 résidents permanents, établis pour la plupart sur l’île Nord.

Pour s’y render

La société de traversiers BC Ferries dessert l’île Pender depuis Swartz Bay, Tsawwassen et les autres îles de la région sud des îles Gulf. Pour consulter l’horaire des traversiers à l’île Pender, visitez le bcferries.com/schedules/southern (en anglais seulement) ou composez le 1-888-BC-FERRY.


Camping Beaumont
Coordonnées GPS :
48.754007, -123.241437
Une promenade en toute quiétude sur la plage
Renseignements sur le terrain de camping
  • Accessible par bateau ou par le sentier de randonnée Beaumont
  • 13 emplacements de camping
    (10 peut être réservés)
  • Toilettes sèches
  • Pas d’eau potable
  • À proximité : Bouées d’amarrage Beaumont; Mont Norman
Pour s’y render

Randonnée depuis Canal Rd
(stationnement disponible)

Difficulté: Difficile

Distance: 2, 13 km (2h)

Suivez le sentier qui gravit le mont Norman, puis descendez vers la pointe Ainslie et le camping Beaumont.


Randonnée depuis Ainslie Point Rd
(aucun stationnement) 

Difficulté: Difficile

Distance: 1, 6 km (1h)

Suivez les indications vers le secteur du camping Beaumont. À 0,5 km du point de départ, le sentier vers Beaumont fait une descente abrupte en lacets à travers une forêt dense et des champs de rochers. Il s’aplanit à environ 30 m au-dessus du rivage et mène à une fourche dont les deux branches aboutissent au camping.

 

Réservations

Pour réserver, visitez le site Web à reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 1-877-RÉSERVE

Carte du terrain de camping
Camping de la baie Shingle
Coordonnées GPS :
48.7841064747264, -123.31095284505
Deux campeurs montent leur tente au soleil couchant au camping de la baie Shingle sur l'Île Pender
Renseignements sur le terrain de camping
Pour s’y render

Les emplacements sont accessibles à pied uniquement.

Depuis l’aire de stationnement, vous devrez faire 0,24 km sur un sentier qui descend à pic .

Les campeurs peuvent laisser un véhicule pour la nuit à l’extrémité de la rue Shingle Bay.

Pour s’y rendre en voiture :

Depuis la gare maritime d’Otter Bay, Dirigez-vous vers le nord sur 350 m; poursuivez votre chemin vers la droite sur MacKinnon Rd. Après 600 m, la route devient Otter Bay Rd. Environ 1,5 km plus loin, tournez à droite sur S Otter Bay Rd. Suivez cette route sur 2,6 km, puis tournez à gauche sur Shingle Bay Rd. Parcourez 500 m, et vous arriverez à l’aire de stationnement du camping.

Réservations

Pour réserver, visitez le site Web à reservation.parkscanada.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 1-877-RÉSERVE

Carte du terrain de camping

Les emplacements premier arrivé, premier servi :

Île D’Arcy


Coordonnées GPS : 48.567484, -123.273656
Un couple se promène parmi les arbousiers le long de la côte de l'Île D'Arcy

Avec ses nombreuses anses, ses plages de galets et une forêt d’arbousiers et de douglas de Menzies, l’île D’Arcy possède une beauté difficilement réconciliable avec son passé de léproserie pour immigrants chinois, à la fin du XIXe et au début du XXe siècles. Afin d’éviter d’endommager des habitats fragiles ou de perturber des caractéristiques culturelles, campez uniquement aux emplacements désignés. p>


Renseignements sur le terrain de camping :
  • 7 emplacements de camping sauvage
  • Toilettes sèches
  • Pas d’eau potable
  • Accessible par bateau seulement

Isle-de-Lis (île Rum)


Coordonnées GPS : 48.662781, -123.280474

Cette petite île abrite une forêt de douglas de Menzies et d’arbousiers, des falaises côtières et une végétation représentative du doux climat méditerranéen de la région sud des îles Gulf.

Elle est très prisée des kayakistes, et beaucoup d’entre eux viennent y passer la nuit lors d’excursions de plusieurs jours. Arrivez tôt : on n’y trouve que trois emplacements de camping. Accès par bateau seulement, toilettes sèches, pas d’eau potable.

L’île Rum est reliée à l’île Gooch, voisine, par une plage de gravier, l’endroit idéal où accoster en kayak. L’île Gooch est une propriété privée : n’y allez pas.


Renseignements sur le terrain de camping :

  • 3 emplacements de camping sauvage
  • Toilettes sèches
  • Pas d’eau potable     
  • Accessible par bateau seulement

Princess Margaret (île Portland)


Coordonnées GPS : 48.721860, -123.384235
Une promenade en toute quiétude sur la plage

On trouve à l’île Portland trois emplacements de camping dans l’arrière-pays reliés par des sentiers de randonnée. En été, dans le cadre du programme des hôtes marins, des membres du Royal Victoria Yacht Club donnent de l’information aux plaisanciers à la baie Princess.

L’île Portland abrite des falaises, des anses protégées et des plages de sable. Un village autochtone s’y élevait autrefois, mais aujourd’hui, seuls les amas de coquillages des plages qui l’entourent témoignent de cette présence d’antan. Ne perturbez pas ces artéfacts.

L’île Portland a été colonisée par des immigrants kanakas (hawaïens) dans les années 1880, et son histoire récente a été marquée par l’agriculture. Remise en cadeau à la princesse Margaret en 1958 lors de la visite royale dans la province, elle a été rendue à la Colombie-Britannique à titre de parc provincial en 1967.


Renseignements sur le terrain de camping (tous les emplacements) :
  • Accessible par bateau seulement
  • Cache pour nourriture
  • Toilettes sèches
  • Pas d’eau potable
Camping de la plage Shell :
6 emplacements de camping sauvage

Coordonnées GPS : 48.721860, -123.384235

Camping de la baie Princess :
12 emplacements de camping sauvage

Coordonnées GPS : 48.7209160705094, -123.369624890751

Camping de la pointe Arbutus :
6 emplacements de camping sauvage

Coordonnées GPS : 48.734518, -123.367186


Île Cabbage : camping de l’île Cabbage


Coordonnées GPS : 48.797806, -123.087791
L’île Cabbage vue d’un bateau; on y trouve une plage de sable blanc et de grands arbres donnant un ombrage rafraîchissant

Les marais et les peuplements de chênes de Garry, d’arbousiers et de douglas de Menzies de l’île Cabbage et des îles Tumbo et Saturna, non loin de là, abritent certaines des terres humides et des communautés végétales les plus intactes des îles Gulf. L’île Cabbage est un lieu de nidification important pour l’huîtrier de Bachman et le pygargue à tête blanche. Les huîtriers sont particulièrement sensibles aux perturbations par les chiens et les gens qui se promènent sur le rivage. Si vous en voyez sur la plage, passez votre chemin ou accostez ailleurs.


Renseignements sur le terrain de camping :

Île Prevost : camping de la baie James


Coordonnées GPS : 48.8396793863411, -123.397182148045
Un couple se détendant près de leur tente

Le camping de la baie James, sur l’île Prevost, est accessible uniquement par bateau et est très prisé des kayakistes. On n’y trouve aucun tablier de tente : le camping se fait dans un pré dégagé.p>

La réserve de parc national inclut des terres situées aux extrémités nord et sud de l’île Prevost. La plus grande partie de l’île, cependant, demeure la propriété privée des descendants de Digby de Burgh, qui a acheté l’île dans les années 1920. Ils y pratiquent encore l’agriculture et l’élevage des moutons. L’île a très peu changé depuis un siècle, et on y trouve de vastes peuplements de thuyas et d’arbousiers.


Renseignements sur le terrain de camping :
  • Accessible par bateau seulement
  • 10 emplacements de camping sauvage (aucune table de pique-nique ni tablier de tente)
  • Toilettes sèches
  • Pas d’eau potable