To help us conserve the natural balance of Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks, we gather data to assess the health of plants, animals, and the environment. This information is used to develop conservation and recovery strategies which are then implemented through the park management plan.

How do we monitor wildlife?

To conserve and protect wildlife, we first need to understand how animals use their environment. Parks Canada’s Resource Conservation team uses a variety of techniques to monitor wildlife. These include reports from the public, images from remote cameras, and identification of wildlife tracks in the snow.

Installing a wildlife camera
Observing wildlife tracks

Remote cameras can observe and record wildlife year round. When an animal passes by, a sensor is triggered to capture a photo or video. Our remote cameras can even capture night shots with infrared light to avoid disturbing wildlife during monitoring. We now have over 135 cameras installed throughout Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks!

Have you seen signs of wildlife? Please send photos and location information (including UTM coordinates if possible) to mrg.wildlife@pc.gc.ca.

Featured project: Interactive wildlife camera photo map

 

Are you curious about how animals use the forests, valleys and slopes of Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks? Take an interactive tour of images caught by motion-triggered remote cameras. These images develop our understanding of wildlife behaviour within the parks. They also provide some great candid moments of the animals from day to day!

Launch the wildlife camera map

Other projects

Pour être en mesure de préserver l’équilibre naturel des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers, nous recueillons des données pour évaluer la santé des plantes, des animaux et de l’environnement. Cette information est utilisée pour élaborer des stratégies de conservation et de rétablissement qui sont ensuite mises en œuvre dans le cadre du plan de gestion des parcs.

Comment surveillons-nous la faune?

Pour conserver et protéger la faune, nous devons d’abord comprendre comment les animaux utilisent leur environnement. Pour surveiller la faune, les responsables de la conservation des ressources ont recours à diverses techniques. Celles-ci comprennent les observations du public, les images prises par des appareils photo actionnés par le mouvement et l’identification des traces d’animaux sauvages dans la neige.

Installer une caméra pour surveiller la faune
Observer les traces de la faune

Les caméras à distance observent et enregistrent la faune toute l'année dans les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Lorsqu'un animal passe, l’appareil capture une photo ou une vidéo. Nos caméras à distance capturent des prises de nuit avec une lumière infrarouge pour éviter de déranger la faune lors de la surveillance ! Nous avons maintenant installé plus de 135 appareils photo dans les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers!

Avez-vous vu des signes de faune? Envoyez vos photos et les renseignements sur l’emplacement (y compris les coordonnées UTM si possible) à mrg.faune@pc.gc.ca.

Projet présenté : Carte photo interactive des appareils photo de télésurveillance de la faune

 

Êtes-vous curieux de savoir comment les animaux utilisent les forêts, les vallées et les pentes des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers? Faites une visite interactive des images prises par des appareils photo de télésurveillance avec détecteur de mouvement. Ces images nous permettent de mieux comprendre le comportement des animaux dans les parcs et d’admirer leur candeur au jour le jour!

Lancer la carte des appareils photo de télésurveillance de la faune

Autres projets