The diversity of plants in the interior temperate rainforest, whether on a forested valley bottom trail or high in the alpine, truly capture the imagination. Whatever your age, interests or comfort level in the national parks, there are plenty of plants sure to fascinate the mind! This page captures a small sample of what you can find when you pause and look closely around you.


Berries bears love

Berries are an important food source for many birds and small animals, as well as a critical energy source for black and grizzly bears as they fatten up for their winter rest. Although many berries are safe for people to eat, it is illegal to pick berries in the national parks because so many animals depend on them for survival.

You might find the black huckleberry in open forests, recognizable by a deep blue/purple colour berry and pointy leaf that grows on a low shrub. It is often confused with a blueberry which has oval leaves and chalky blue berries that grow in a similar habitat. Black elderberry can be noticed growing on tall bushes overhead, their leaves have a distinct peanut butter or teriyaki smell when rubbed!  The Thimbleberry resembles a softer, squatter and seedier version of a raspberry, growing on waist high bushes with distinctly large, soft leaves. The leaves are known to be a good substitute for toilet paper in a pinch.

Black huckleberry (Vaccinium mebranaceum)
Bruno.karklis, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Black elderberry (Sambucus racemosa var. melanocarpa)
Edal Anton Lefterov, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Thimbleberry (Rubus parviflorus)
Thayne Tuason, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Only in a moist forest

In the moist rainforest environment, there is an abundance of fascinating lichen, moss and fungi. You might see Lungwort (also known as lung lichen) lying on the trail after it has blown down from branches above. Lungwort was used by early physicians to treat pneumonia because it resembles our lungs! It is an indicator of good air quality and does not survive where the air is polluted. Bracket fungus grows on dead standing and fallen trees. The fungus spreads within dead trees and helps with decomposition. There are too many mosses to name in the moist forest environment, but one distinct moss is fire moss with its distinct red stalks. It is worth taking the time to stop along the trail, crouch down and capture some close up photos of these alien-looking mosses.

Lung lichen (Lobaria pulmonaria)
Bernd Haynold, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Bracket fungus (Polypore or shelf fungi)
Fire moss (Ceratodon purpureus)

Plants with attitude

There are some plants that you do not want to touch due to their defensive nature. Devil’s club can be found towering in old forests with its sharp, strong spines along every surface including the underside of its mammoth leaves. Stinging nettle can grow from 1-3m tall and can look pretty harmless amongst other plants, but you’ll take notice of it if you accidentally brush past it in the forest. It leaves a burning sensation on the skin and produces small itchy bumps as the fine hairs from the plant break and release formic acid, the same acid released by ants. Sundews are a carnivorous plant, but thankfully it is so small that it only feeds on insects that are attracted by its sweet nectar. The glands release a sticky juice that captures insects and then an enzyme to digest the freshly caught meal. It grows in undisturbed bogs or fens on sphagnum moss.

Devil's club (Oplopanax horridus)
Stinging nettle (Urtica dioica)
Michel Langeveld, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Round-leaved sundew (Drosera rotundifolia)
Orchi, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

In a league of their own

Wild ginger is common in low elevation forests and has distinct heart shaped, dark green, leathery leaves that grow close to the ground. The entire plant has a distinct lemon-ginger smell and the roots have been used by Indigenous people for stomach ailments and colds. Cow parsnip can grow up to 2 meters in height, depending on its location. It is common from low to high elevation and it is a big food source for both grizzly and black bears. The spotted coralroot orchid is because it is not green like most other plants. It does not photosynthesize and instead gains its energy from a fungus in the ground. Its pretty little flowers are worth stopping for!

Wild ginger (Asarum caudatum)
Cow parsnip (Heracleum maximum)
Spotted coralroot orchid (Corallorhiza maculata ssp. maculata)

Plants of the wetland

Wetland plants are hydrophilic - this means they like growing in wet places.  Many are very unique looking plants as they’ve adapted to their watery habitats. Skunk cabbage is one of the first plants to bloom in the spring and plays a role in melting the snow around it. Skunk cabbage is named for its distinct pungent smell, which is much more pleasant than the animal that it is named after. Later in spring, giant leaves emerge that can reach up to a metre in height. There are also many kinds of horsetail plants, and they date back to the time of dinosaurs! Horsetail has also been used by people to scrub pots and to sand wood because it is high in silica. It can actually grow both in water and on dry slopes. Duckweed is another interesting water plant, it appears as a pin-sized bean floating on the water’s surface with its roots hanging below and usually grows in broad mats. Duckweed is aptly named as a favoured food of ducks and other water birds.

Skunk cabbage
Horsetail
Duckweed

La diversité des plantes de la forêt pluviale tempérée intérieure, que ce soit sur un sentier au fond d’une vallée boisée ou en haute altitude, éveille véritablement l’imaginaire. Peu importe votre âge, vos intérêts ou votre niveau de confort dans les parcs nationaux, vous trouverez de nombreuses plantes fascinantes! Cette page présente quelques exemples de ce que vous pouvez trouver si vous prenez le temps d’examiner ce qui vous entoure.


Des baies que les ours adorent

Les baies sont une source importante de nourriture pour de nombreux oiseaux et petits animaux, ainsi qu’une source d’énergie essentielle pour les ours noirs et grizzlis qui se préparent pour leur repos hivernal. Bien que de nombreux petits fruits soient comestibles pour l’être humain, il est illégal de cueillir des petits fruits dans les parcs nationaux en raison du nombre d’animaux qui en dépendent pour survivre.

Dans les forêts ouvertes, vous trouverez peut-être des bleuets membraneux reconnaissables par leur couleur bleu foncé/violet et des feuilles pointues qui poussent sur un arbuste bas. On les confond souvent avec les bleuets, qui poussent dans un habitat semblable, mais ces derniers présentent des feuilles ovales et des baies bleues et poudreuses. Le sureau noir pousse sur de gros buissons élevés; ses feuilles ont une odeur distincte de beurre d’arachide ou de teriyaki lorsqu’on les frotte! La ronce parviflore ressemble à une version plus douce, trapue et granuleuse d’une framboise, et pousse sur des arbustes à la hauteur de la taille avec de grandes feuilles douces caractéristiques. En cas de nécessité, ses feuilles remplacent bien le papier de toilette.

Bleuets membraneux (Vaccinium mebranaceum)
Bruno.karklis, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Sureau noir (Sambucus racemosa var. melanocarpa)
Edal Anton Lefterov, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Ronce parviflore (Rubus parviflorus)
Thayne Tuason, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Seulement dans une forêt humide

La forêt pluviale humide présente une abondance de lichens, de mousses et de champignons fascinants. Sur les sentiers, vous pourriez apercevoir du mertensia paniculé tombé des branches. Autrefois, les médecins utilisaient le mertensia paniculé pour traiter la pneumonie parce qu’il ressemble à nos poumons! Il est un indicateur de bonne qualité de l’air et ne survit pas là où l’air est pollué. Le polypore pousse sur les arbres morts, qu’ils soient tombés ou non. Le champignon se propage dans les arbres morts et contribue à leur décomposition. Les espèces de mousses présentent en milieu forestier humide sont trop nombreuses pour toutes les nommer, mais mentionnons tout de même le cératodon pourpre, avec ses tiges rouges distinctes. Il vaut la peine de prendre le temps de s’arrêter le long du sentier, de s’accroupir et de prendre des photos rapprochées de ces mousses d’allure extraterrestre.

Mertensia paniculé (Lobaria pulmonaria)
Bernd Haynold, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Polypore
Cératodon pourpre (Ceratodon purpureus)

Des plantes qui ont du piquant

Il vaut mieux éviter de toucher certaines plantes en raison de leur nature défensive. Le bois piquant pousse dans les vieilles forêts avec ses épines acérées et rigides le long de toutes les surfaces, y compris le dessous de ses feuilles gigantesques. La grande ortie peut atteindre 1 à 3 m de hauteur et paraître inoffensive parmi les autres plantes, mais fera sentir sa présence si vous l’effleurez accidentellement dans la forêt. Il laisse une sensation de brûlure sur la peau et produit des gouttelettes lorsque les poils fins de la plante se brisent et libèrent de l’acide formique, le même acide que produisent les fourmis. La drosère est une plante carnivore, mais heureusement elle est si petite qu’elle ne se nourrit que d’insectes attirés par son nectar sucré. Ses glandes libèrent un jus collant qui capture les insectes, puis une enzyme pour digérer le repas fraîchement piégé. Elle pousse dans des tourbières non perturbées ou s’étend au-dessus de la sphaigne.

Bois piquant (Oplopanax horridus)
Grande ortie (Urtica dioica)
Michel Langeveld, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Drosère (Drosera rotundifolia)
Orchi, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Dans une classe à part

Le gingembre sauvage est courant dans les forêts à faible altitude. Il présente des feuilles plissées vert foncé distinctes en forme de cœur qui poussent près du sol. Toute la plante dégage une odeur distincte de citron et de gingembre, et les Autochtones utilisaient la racine pour traiter les maux d’estomac et les rhumes. La berce laineuse peut atteindre deux mètres de hauteur, selon son emplacement. Elle est courante de faible à haute altitude et constitue une importante source de nourriture pour les grizzlis et les ours noirs. La corallorhiza maculata est unique parce qu’elle n’est pas verte comme la plupart des autres plantes. Il ne fait pas de photosynthèse et obtient plutôt son énergie d’un champignon dans le sol. Ses jolies petites fleurs valent le détour!

Gingembre sauvage (Asarum caudatum)
Berce laineuse (Heracleum maximum)
Corallorhiza maculata

Plantes des milieux humides

Les plantes des milieux humides sont hydrophiles, donc elles poussent dans des endroits humides. Bon nombre d’entre elles sont des plantes d’apparence unique adaptées à leur habitat aquatique. Le chou puant est l’une des premières plantes à fleurir au printemps et contribue à la fonte de la neige qui l’entoure. Le chou puant est ainsi nommé pour son odeur âcre distinctive, qui est beaucoup plus agréable que l’animal dont il porte le nom. Plus tard au printemps, il produit des feuilles géantes qui peuvent atteindre jusqu’à un mètre de hauteur. Il existe aussi de nombreuses espèces de prêles, et elles remontent à l’époque des dinosaures! Les gens ont aussi utilisé la prêle pour frotter les pots et poncer le bois parce qu’il est riche en silice. Elle peut aussi bien pousser dans l’eau que sur des pentes sèches. La lenticule mineure est une autre plante d’eau intéressante. Elle se présente sous la forme d’une lentille flottant sur la surface de l’eau et formant généralement de larges tapis. La lenticule mineure est appelée « duckweed » en anglais, car c’est un des aliments favoris des canards et autres oiseaux aquatiques.

Chou puant
Prêle
Lenticule mineure