View as PDF


Each national park requires a management plan that describes its vision and broad direction. The management planning process takes place every 10 years and involves: assessing the current state of park resources; determining key trends, pressures and opportunities; setting priorities; and seeking input from all Canadians.

Because national parks are dynamic and change over time in response to many factors, a state of the park assessment is the first step in the management planning process. It provides a ‘report card’ on the condition of natural and cultural resources and aspects of Parks Canada’s work in a national park and describes whether the condition shows an improving, declining or stable trend. Condition ratings are determined through on-going monitoring, surveys and other forms of feedback, gathered since the previous Park Management Plan was approved in 2010.

Key indicators are grouped into six main themes–ecological integrity, cultural resources, external relations, Indigenous relations, visitor experience and built assets. Using established thresholds, indicators are rated as: Good, Fair, or Poor

The State of the Park Assessment uses data from a variety of sources, such as ecological monitoring results, visitor surveys, attendance counts, and built asset inspections. A standardized approach allows Parks Canada to compare parks and sites across the Parks Canada network. The following are the results for Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks.


Ecological Integrity

Five measures were evaluated for each of three important ecosystems in both Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks to rate their overall condition.

Forest ecosystems Fair

Monitoring and removal of invasive plants, the restoration of natural processes like fire, and actions to decrease wildlife mortality have all contributed to improving conditions. The forest ecosystems in MRG are rated fair.

Freshwater ecosystems Good

Monitoring of frog, toad and salamander populations, and assessments of water quality have shown positive results. Work has also been done to restore the natural flow of streams and rivers. The freshwater ecosystems in MRG are rated in good condition.

Tundra (or alpine) ecosystems Poor

Most conditions being monitored are impacted by broad issues like climate change that cannot be addressed solely at the park level, like shrinking glaciers and declining woodland caribou
populations. The Tundra ecosystems in MRG are rated poor.


Cultural Resources Good Fair

MRG protects sites and resources related to railway construction, mountaineering, ski jumping, logging and mining. Work on vegetation removal and restoration is key to addressing the steep terrain, thick vegetation, and harsh weather conditions that threaten these sites. Resources include 202 archaeological sites, four heritage buildings and other historic structures like the Loop Brook railway pillars. Cultural resources are rated good to fair.

  • Archaeological sites Fair
  • Buildings Good
  • Objects Fair

External Relations Good Fair

Bringing the parks to Canadians and engaging the public in meaningful ways helps create personal connections to the parks and foster support for park management. Social media, events, and urban outreach initiatives are helping promote the parks. Strategic partnering and volunteer opportunities help broaden public support. External relations is rated good to fair.

  • Promotion Good
  • Public support Fair

Visitor Experience Good

In 2017-18, 789,975 Canadian and international visitors spent time in Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks, up from 637,489 in 2011-12. Based on Visitor Information Program surveys completed in 2011 and in 2016, enjoyment, learning and satisfaction with visitors’ experiences are all good. Visitation continues to increase.


Indigenous Relations

The lands where Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks are located have traditionally been used by the Syilx, Ktunaxa, and Secwepemc peoples. Relationship building with our Indigenous partners is a priority. Collaborative agreements with all three nation groups are pending and will help move forward in the spirit of reconciliation.


Built Assets Good Fair

Significant investments through the Federal Infrastructure Investment program have resulted in improvements to highways, roads, bridges and visitor facilities in both parks. Built assets were rated from good to fair.

Mount Revelstoke

  • Buildings Fair
  • Highways Good
  • Roads Good
  • Vehicular bridges Good
  • Visitor facilities Good

Glacier

  • Buildings Fair
  • Highways Good
  • Roads Good
  • Vehicular bridges Fair
  • Visitor facilities Fair

Key considerations - identified from the State of the Park Assessment

Parks Canada identified the following as key considerations in planning for the future of Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks, and Rogers Pass National Historic Site.

Climate change Shrinking glaciers are a key indicator to help understand the long-term effects of climate change on Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks’ ecosystems, including changes to the rate of flow of fresh water into lakes, rivers and wetlands.
Wildlife protection and conservation Increasing road and railway traffic continue to have negative impacts on wildlife in the parks. Research in Glacier National Park has identified key mitigations to help reduce highway mortality such as wildlife overpasses and/or underpasses, and wildlife detection signs. Woodland caribou populations continue to decline due to cumulative landscape changes within and beyond park boundaries. Similarly, suspected causes of terrestrial bird condition are due to habitat change within other areas of the migratory range, exacerbated by climate change. To contribute to broader population recovery actions, Parks Canada collaborates with partners and neighbouring land managers.
Invasive species, insects and disease Invasive species and non-native plants are currently threatening native species and ecosystems in Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks. Other potential threats include white-nose syndrome in bats and whirling disease in fish. Climate change is further exacerbating the spread of invasive species, insects and disease and the impacts are expected to worsen in coming years.
Wildfire Wildfire is crucial to a well-functioning ecosystem, and improves habitat quality for many species including species at risk like whitebark pine and olive-sided flycatcher. Fire can, however, place visitors, communities, and assets at risk.
Indigenous relations Mount Revelstoke and Glacier National Parks have traditionally been used by the Syilx, Ktunaxa, and Secwepemc peoples. Parks Canada recognises the rich history of local Indigenous peoples on the landscape and is committed to strengthening relationships and deepening Indigenous involvement in the management of Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks. Collaborative agreements with all three nation groups are pending and will help move forward in the spirit of reconciliation.
Increasing visitation Visitation increased by 24% from 2011/12 to 2017/18. While visitor satisfaction has remained high, increased visitation at peak times of the summer visitor season are putting pressure on some park facilities and sensitive environments. For many years, our innovation and efforts, have helped mitigate most impacts.
Asset investment It is essential to balance the need to maintain and upgrade existing infrastructure with investments in new assets. Safety remains a top priority but visitor satisfaction is also of utmost importance.

We want to hear from you!

Are there other considerations that should be included? Visit Let's Talk Mountain Parks to find out more and have your say. Contact:pc.mrg-opinion.pc@canada.ca or 250-837-7500.

Afficher en PDF


Tous les parcs nationaux doivent avoir un plan directeur décrivant la vision et l’orientation générale du parc. Le processus d’élaboration de ce plan est enclenché tous les dix ans et il comprend les étapes suivantes : évaluer l’état des ressources actuelles du parc; déterminer les grandes tendances, les points névralgiques et les possibilités; établir les priorités; et consulter les Canadiens.

Comme les parcs nationaux évoluent au fil du temps en raison de nombreux facteurs, la première étape du processus d’élaboration d’un plan directeur est l’évaluation de l’état du parc. Cette évaluation permet d’obtenir un rapport sur l’état des ressources naturelles et culturelles et de différents aspects de travaux menés par l’Agence Parcs Canada dans les parcs nationaux afin de savoir s’il y a amélioration ou détérioration des ressources ou si elles sont dans un état stable. Une cote d’état est établie en analysant les données obtenues depuis que le plan directeur précédent a été approuvé, en 2010.

Les principaux indicateurs sont regroupés en six grandes catégories : intégrité écologique, ressources culturelles, relations externes, relations avec les Autochtones, expérience du visiteur et biens bâtis. En fonction de seuils établis, une des cotes ci-dessous est attribuée à chaque indicateur: Bon, Passable, ou Mauvais

L’évaluation de l’état du parc se fait à partir de données de différentes sources comme les résultats de la surveillance écologiques, les sondages auprès des visiteurs, le dénombrement des visiteurs et les inspections des biens bâtis. Grâce à une approche normalisée, l’Agence Parcs Canada peut comparer les données des parcs et des lieux de tout son réseau. Les résultats ci-dessous sont associés aux parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers.


Intégrité écologique

Cinq mesures ont été évaluées pour déterminer l’état général de trois importants écosystèmes dans les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers.

Écosystèmes forestiers Passable

L’état des écosystèmes forestiers a été amélioré par la surveillance et l’enlèvement des espèces envahissantes, le rétablissement de processus naturels comme les feux et la prise de mesures pour diminuer la mortalité faunique. L’état des écosystèmes forestiers des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers est « Passable ».

Écosystèmes d’eau douce Bon

La surveillance des populations de grenouilles, de crapauds et de salamandres et l’évaluation de la qualité de l’eau ont donné des résultats positifs. Des travaux ont aussi été réalisés pour restaurer le débit naturel de ruisseaux et de rivières. L’état des écosystèmes d’eau douce des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers est « Bon ».

Écosystèmes de la toundra (ou alpin) Mauvais

La plupart des ressources surveillées sont touchées par de grands enjeux, comme les changements climatiques, le recul des glaciers et le déclin des populations de caribous des bois, qui ne peuvent être réglés exclusivement par les parcs nationaux. L’état des écosystèmes de la toundra des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers est « Mauvais ».


Ressources culturelles Bon Passable

Les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers protègent des lieux et des ressources liés à la construction du chemin de fer, à l’alpinisme, au saut à ski ainsi qu’à l’exploitation forestière et minière. L’enlèvement de la végétation et des travaux de restauration sont essentiels comme des terrains escarpés, une épaisse végétation et des conditions climatiques difficiles menacent ces lieux. Les ressources culturelles comprennent 202 sites archéologiques, quatre édifices du patrimoine et des structures historiques comme les piliers-chevalets de la voie ferrée au ruisseau Loop. L’état des ressources culturelles est de « Bon » à « Passable ».

  • Sites archéologiques Passable
  • Édifices Bon
  • Objets Passable

Relations externes Bon Passable

Les activités visant à faire connaître les parcs à la population et à mobiliser le public à l’aide de riches expériences renforcent les liens personnels avec les parcs et appuient la gestion des lieux. De plus, les médias sociaux, les activités et les initiatives de diffusion externe font la promotion des parcs tandis que les partenariats stratégiques et les occasions de bénévolat favorisent le soutien du public. L’état des relations externes est de « Bon » à « Passable ».

  • Promotion Bon
  • Soutien du public Passable

Expérience du visiteur Bon

En 2017-2018, 789 975 Canadiens et visiteurs étrangers sont venus dans les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers, soit une augmentation comparativement à 2011-2012 où ce nombre était 637 489. D’après les sondages effectués en 2011 et en 2016 par le Programme d’information sur les visiteurs, tout va bien en ce qui a trait à l’appréciation du lieu, à l’apprentissage et à la satisfaction du visiteur. La fréquentation continue d’augmenter.


Relations avec les Autochtones

Les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers sont situés sur des terres traditionnellement utilisées par les peuples Syilx, Ktunaxa et Secwepemc. L’établissement de relations avec nos partenaires autochtones est une priorité. Des ententes de collaboration avec les trois groupes de Premières Nations sont en cours d’établissement et ces accords nous aideront à aller de l’avant dans un esprit de réconciliation.


Biens bâtis Bon Passable

D’importants investissements dans le cadre du Programme d’investissement pour les infrastructures fédérales ont permis d’améliorer les autoroutes, les routes, les ponts et les installations des visiteurs dans les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers. L’état des biens bâtis est de
« Bon » à « Passable ».

Mont-Revelstoke

  • Édifices Passable
  • Autoroutes Bon
  • Routes Bon
  • Ponts destinés aux véhicules Bon
  • Installations pour visiteurs Bon

Glaciers

  • Édifices Passable
  • Autoroutes Bon
  • Routes Bon
  • Ponts destinés aux véhicules Passable
  • Installations pour visiteurs Passable

Principales considérations tirées de l’évaluation de l’état du parc

Voici les principales considérations de l’Agence Parcs Canada pour la planification future liée aux parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers et au lieu historique national du Col-Rogers.

Changement climatique Le recul des glaciers est un indicateur clé pour bien comprendre les effets à long terme du changement climatique sur les écosystèmes des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Ces effets comprennent la modification du débit de l’eau douce dans les lacs, les rivières et les milieux humides.
Protection et conservation des espèces sauvages L’augmentation de la circulation routière et ferroviaire continue d’avoir des retombées négatives sur la faune des parcs. Des recherches effectuées dans le parc national des Glaciers ont ciblé d’importantes mesures d’atténuation pour réduire la mortalité faunique sur les routes, notamment des passages supérieurs ou inférieurs pour animaux et des façons de détecter la présence d’animaux sauvages. Les populations de caribous des bois sont toujours en déclin en raison de la transformation du paysage dans le parc et au-delà de ses limites. De la même façon, il est soupçonné que l’état des populations d’oiseaux terrestres est attribuable à une modification de leur habitat ailleurs dans l’aire de migration, modifications exacerbées par les changements climatiques. Pour aider le rétablissement des populations, l’Agence doit collaborer avec des partenaires et avec les gestionnaires fonciers voisins.
Espèces envahissantes, insectes et maladies Les espèces envahissantes et les plantes non indigènes menacent les espèces indigènes et les écosystèmes des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Parmi les autres menaces, il y a le syndrome du museau blanc présent chez les chauves-souris et le tournis que l’on voit chez les poissons. Les changements climatiques favorisent la prolifération des espèces envahissantes, des insectes et des maladies, et les répercussions connexes devraient empirer dans les prochaines années.
Feu irréprimé Les feux irréprimés sont essentiels au bon fonctionnement des écosystèmes et ils améliorent la qualité de l’habitat de bon nombre d’espèces dont des espèces en péril comme le pin à écorce blanche et le moucherolle à côtés olive. Toutefois, les feux peuvent poser un risque pour les visiteurs, les collectivités et les biens.
Relations avec les Autochtones Les terres des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers étaient traditionnellement utilisées par les peuples Syilx, Ktunaxa et Secwepemc. L’Agence reconnaît la riche histoire des populations autochtones locales à ces endroits et elle s’est engagée à renforcer les liens et à accroître la participation des Autochtones dans la gestion des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Des ententes de collaboration avec les trois groupes de Premières Nations sont en cours d’établissement et ces accords nous aideront à aller de l’avant dans un esprit de réconciliation.
Hausse de la fréquentation Le nombre de visiteurs a augmenté de 24 % de 2011-2012 à 2017-2018. Bien que le niveau de satisfaction des visiteurs reste élevé, la fréquentation accrue en période de pointe pendant la saison estivale exerce une pression sur les installations et les milieux vulnérables du parc. Les mesures novatrices et les efforts que nous avons déployés ont aidé à atténuer la plupart des répercussions pendant de nombreuses années.
Investissement dans les biens Il est essentiel d’équilibrer l’entretien et l’amélioration de l’infrastructure existante en investissant dans de nouveaux biens. La sécurité demeure la principale priorité, mais la satisfaction des visiteurs est aussi très importante.

Nous voulons connaître votre opinion!

Y a-t-il d’autres considérations que nous devrions inclure? Visitez Parlons parcs des montagnes pour en savoir plus et pour nous faire part de vos commentaires. Personnes-ressources : pc.mrg-opinion.pc@canada.ca ou 250-837-7500.