The engagement process

Summary of engagement activities

To gather initial feedback in the national park management planning process, Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks reached out to Indigenous groups, local and regional communities and other interested Canadians. With each group, Parks Canada provided an overview of achievements since the 2010 management plan, presented the 2018 State of the Park Report, and shared vision elements, issues and opportunities identified through internal review, as starting points for discussions.

In Revelstoke, British Columbia, engagement activities included discussions with Indigenous groups, as well as a public open house, a stakeholder workshop, and outreach at the Revelstoke Mountain Resort and the Revelstoke Secondary School. In collaboration with Yoho and Kootenay national parks, Parks Canada hosted a stakeholder workshop in Golden, British Columbia, and set up a booth at the Golden Farmers Market. Other activities included outreach at Mountain Equipment Coop in Kelowna and the Vernon Farmers Market, as well as a webinar with Campus Club members at Vancouver Island University. In total, Parks Canada team members spoke directly with more than 520 people.

Who we heard from

To reach more Canadians in the region and across the country, Mount Revelstoke and Glacier partnered with the other mountain national parks (Banff, Yoho, Kootenay, Jasper and Waterton Lakes) to host the Let’s Talk Mountain Parks webpages. This online tool allowed people to review background information and comment on considerations for the new management plans. For Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks, Parks Canada invited Canadians to visit the website through targeted Facebook ads. Between January 30 and May 16, 2019, the website received over 4,000 visits, more than 400 people registered on the site, and the Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks received 226 online submissions. Ninety-five per cent of participants were from Western Canada, split almost evenly between British Columbia and Alberta.

 
Geographical distribution of website participants from Western Canada

What we heard

What we heard from Indigenous peoples

Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks are located within the traditional territories of the Secwepemc, Ktunaxa and Syilx First Nations. Discussions are ongoing with representatives of these Indigenous groups to ensure their perspectives are heard and included in the draft management plan.

What we heard from stakeholders and the general public

Both in person and online, Canadians shared a wide variety of ideas, issues and opportunities, ranging from broad landscape-level conservation to specific operational input. From this input, some clear themes emerged that will guide development of a draft management plan.

Vision

Both online and in the various workshops, we asked Canadians about their vision for Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks in 15 to 20 years. The top responses online were:

  • The natural wonders of the Columbia Mountains are valued and understood;
  • Ecological integrity within the parks is the priority and decision-making is guided by conservation science;
  • Shared protection and conservation goals for the Columbia Mountains’ ecosystems, landscapes and biodiversity are achieved in collaboration with governments and partners;
  • Visitors are inspired to be environmental stewards; and
  • Research in the parks contributes to an understanding of the impacts of climate change within and beyond park boundaries and guides collaboration with governments and partners.

These vision statements were echoed throughout the public engagement process as being important for the future of the parks.

Visitation

Across all themes, we heard concerns related to increasing visitor numbers. Parks Canada should:

  • Ensure that the needs of visitors are met, including adapting to new and changing markets (increasing international tourism, visitor profiles, aging demographics), and diversifying experiences (new signature experiences, more interpretive programs and virtual tourism opportunities);
  • Manage visitor impacts on Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks and maintain the quality of experience by limiting access, managing visitor expectations, and diverting use spatially or seasonally;
  • Connect visitors to these special places and inspire them to be park stewards; and
  • Manage use and activities to ensure the safety of visitors and wildlife.
Accessibility

We heard that Parks Canada should improve access to Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks for all users regardless of age or ability. Understanding that not all areas of the park can meet the needs of everyone, we heard interest in diversifying how people can experience the parks. For example:

  • Barrier-free or adaptive trails;
  • Visitor facilities that can be accessed, used independently, and understood by a wide range of visitors (universal design);
  • Restoring historic trail systems and/or creating new loop trails to disperse visitors and provide a variety of experiences; and
  • Assessing opportunities with consideration for aging demographics and different cultures.
Assets and infrastructure

We heard that Parks Canada should invest in the maintenance and improvement of existing assets. For new investments, many people want to see environmentally sustainable operations and infrastructure. Four key areas of interest were:

  • Trail maintenance and design that takes into account increasing visitation;
  • Basic amenities and more overnight opportunities in the Rogers Pass area;
  • More backcountry campsites or cabins for multi-day backcountry trips; and
  • Trans-Canada Highway safety improvements including bringing it up to four lanes through both Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks, and wildlife crossings.
Ecological integrity

Echoing Parks Canada’s mandate, we heard that ecological integrity should be the priority in Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks. Within this theme, Parks Canada heard the following key issues (supported by 75% or more of online participants):

  • Reduce impacts of the transportation corridor on wildlife and ecosystem health by improving wildlife movement through the corridor in water and on land, and reducing the impact of spills and wildlife attractants along the highway and railway;
  • Protect intact ecosystems. We heard some reluctance to limiting access to the parks, but many comments supported managing visitation to protect sensitive environments through seasonal or area closures, quotas and education;
  • Consider visitor safety while protecting the parks through wildfire risk reduction, and assessing and mitigating visitor activities that could increase the risk of human-wildlife conflict issues (dogs off leash, winter recreational activities and the new Mount Revelstoke campground);
  • Prioritize ecosystem restoration and protection with decision-making guided by on-going research and monitoring programs in the parks. This includes taking action to prevent new threats and manage existing concerns from invasive species, insects and disease, and contributing to the long-term recovery of species at risk; and
  • Be a leader in climate change research. In Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks, this includes ongoing monitoring of glaciers, wildfire activity, weather patterns and invasive species. Link these local changes to larger trends and patterns, and share this information widely.
Communications and education

Parks Canada heard feedback on how we share the stories and information about Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks with park visitors and Canadians, in their homes and communities. Areas to improve include:

  • Communication on appropriate behaviour in national parks. This information should be available during trip planning, in the parks and in different languages;
  • Story telling related to Indigenous history and culture, mountaineering and railway history, and conservation, restoration and snow science work in the parks;
  • Youth programs, both in and out of the park;
  • Citizen science or volunteering opportunities;
  • Regular communication with communities and stakeholders to help them understand how park management decisions are made; and
  • Information needs to be easier to access and share, and provided in a variety of formats (focus on digital).

We heard two different perspectives on whether Parks Canada should promote the parks:

  • Promote the “escape to nature” experience, conservation, and the connections between nature and health (both physical and mental); and
  • Do not promote the parks in order to maintain quiet and wild experiences currently enjoyed in Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks.
Indigenous relations

Parks Canada heard from many people that they are unaware of Indigenous cultures, histories and traditional territories in the area. Comments identified the need to involve Indigenous peoples in protecting and sharing the area’s natural and cultural heritage, and in decision-making for the parks.

Partners and stakeholders

Collaboration with others is integral to achieve conservation goals, support local economies and tourism, and to foster the next generation of park stewards. We heard that Parks Canada should:

  • Think beyond boundaries and restore connectivity to maintain the integrity of the Columbia Mountains ecosystem for wide-ranging species like grizzly bears and caribou;
  • Strengthen relationships and work closely with Indigenous peoples, neighbouring land managers, local stakeholders and other governments to align goals that support wildlife diversity and healthy ecosystems across the Columbia Mountains;
  • Work with partners and stakeholders to address common issues such as wildlife attractants or invasive species;
  • Work with local communities on sustainable tourism opportunities, assess market demand and current opportunities, collaborate on regional promotions and product offers, and build on the history and sense of place of the region; and
  • Many people, including regional high school and university students, think we should get more youth into Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks and inspire future park stewards. This includes in the parks and at-school learning, research opportunities for post-secondary students, and youth programs that connect the mental and physical health benefits of getting out in nature.
Other areas of interest

We heard specific interest in three key areas of Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks:

  • In Rogers Pass, Parks Canada should provide additional amenities, and maintain or improve the Winter Permit System and access to the backcountry;
  • At the summit of Mount Revelstoke, Parks Canada needs to address overcrowding including maintaining or redesigning trails to accommodate increased numbers or visitors; reducing parking pressures by managing access and/or providing a shuttle service; and addressing human-wildlife conflict concerns; and
  • Parks Canada should invest in diverse opportunities in and around the Beaver Valley area of Glacier National Park such as family-friendly day use opportunities, mountain biking, and re-establishing multi-day backcountry opportunities (camping or cabins) in the Beaver Valley, Bald Hills and Copperstain areas.
Operations

Parks Canada also received many comments on current operations including opening/closing times, trail or facility conditions, and the Winter Permit System, to name a few. These comments are being compiled to share with operational staff in Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks.

Processus de mobilisation

Résumé des activités de mobilisation

Le personnel des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers a communiqué avec les peuples autochtones, les collectivités locales et régionales et d’autres Canadiens pour recueillir des commentaires préliminaires sur les processus d’élaboration des plans directeurs des parcs. Pour lancer la discussion avec chacun de ces groupes, Parcs Canada a offert un aperçu des exploits réalisés depuis le plan directeur de 2010, a présenté le rapport Évaluation de l’état des parcs 2018 et a diffusé la vision, les questions et les possibilités relevées grâce aux évaluations internes.

Les activités de mobilisations menées à Revelstoke, en Colombie Britannique, comptent des discussions avec les peuples autochtones, une séance portes ouvertes, un atelier pour les intervenants et une activité de sensibilisation au centre de villégiature Revelstoke Mountain Resort et à l’école secondaire de Revelstoke. Parcs Canada a également organisé, en collaboration avec l’équipe des parcs nationaux Yoho et Kootenay, un atelier pour les intervenants à Golden, en Colombie Britannique, en plus de tenir un kiosque au marché de producteurs fermiers de Golden. Il y a également eu des activités de sensibilisation à la boutique Mountain Equipment Coop de Kelowna et au marché de producteurs fermiers de Vernon ainsi qu’un webinaire avec des membres du club de campus de l’Université de l’île de Vancouver. Au total, les membres de l’équipe de Parcs Canada ont discuté directement avec plus de 520 personnes.

Ceux que nous avons entendus

Pour joindre davantage de Canadiens de la région et de tout le pays, les équipes des parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers ont collaboré avec celles des autres parcs nationaux des montagnes (parcs nationaux Banff, Yoho, Kootenay et Jasper, et parc national des Lacs Waterton) pour créer le site Web Parlons parcs des montagnes. Cet outil en ligne a permis aux gens de consulter des renseignements généraux et de participer aux discussions sur les nouveaux plans directeurs. Parcs Canada a diffusé des publicités ciblées sur Facebook pour inviter les Canadiens à visiter les pages Web des parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Entre le 30 janvier et le 16 mai 2019, le site Web a reçu plus de 4 000 visites, plus de 400 personnes s’y sont inscrites, et les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers ont reçu 226 soumissions en ligne. Parmi les participants, 95 % provenaient de l’Ouest canadien, répartis presque moitié-moitié entre la Colombie Britannique et l’Alberta.

 
Distribution géographique des résidents de l’Ouest canadien ayant visité le site Web

Ce que nous avons entendu

Ce que nous ont dit les peuples autochtones

Les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers se trouvent dans les territoires traditionnels des Premières Nations Secwepemc, Ktunaxa et Syilx. Des discussions sont en cours avec des représentants de ces peuples autochtones afin de veiller à ce que leurs points de vue soient entendus et pris en compte dans l’ébauche du plan directeur.

Ce que nous ont dit les intervenants et le grand public

Les Canadiens ont soulevé, en personne et en ligne, un large éventail d’idées, de questions et de possibilités sur des sujets allant de la conservation générale à l’échelle du paysage aux activités techniques. Certains thèmes clés sont ressortis de ces commentaires, qui aideront à élaborer l’ébauche du plan directeur.

Vision

Parcs Canada a demandé aux Canadiens, en ligne et dans le cadre d’ateliers, de faire connaître leur vision pour les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers pour les 15 à 20 prochaines années. Voici les réponses en ligne les plus fréquemment obtenues :

  • l’importance des merveilles naturelles de la chaîne Columbia est reconnue et comprise;
  • l’intégrité écologique des parcs est une priorité, et les décisions sont prises en fonction de la science de la conservation;
  • des objectifs communs en matière de protection et de conservation des écosystèmes, des paysages et de la diversité de la chaîne Columbia sont atteints en collaboration avec les gouvernements et les partenaires;
  • les visiteurs sont encouragés à devenir des intendants de l’environnement;
  • les recherches menées dans les parcs aident à mieux comprendre l’incidence des changements climatiques au sein des parcs et hors de leur limite, et à orienter la collaboration avec les gouvernements et les partenaires.

Ces visions d’avenir ont reflètent les éléments essentiels pour l’avenir de nos parcs mentionnés lors du processus de mobilisation du public.

Fréquentation

Peu importe le thème abordé, plusieurs personnes ont dit s’inquiéter du nombre croissant de visiteurs dans les parcs. Selon eux, Parcs Canada devrait :

  • veiller à ce que les besoins des visiteurs soient comblés, ce qui comprendrait l’adaptation aux nouveaux marchés en évolution (augmentation du tourisme international, profils des visiteurs, population vieillissante) et la diversification des expériences (nouvelles expériences emblématiques, plus de programmes d’interprétation et d’occasions de tourisme virtuel);
  • gérer les répercussions qu’ont les visiteurs sur les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers, et conserver la qualité de l’expérience en limitant l’accès, en gérant les attentes des visiteurs et en redistribuant ces derniers selon l’espace ou la saison;
  • resserrer le lien entre les visiteurs et ces endroits particuliers, et inspirer les gens à devenir des gardiens du parc;
  • gérer l’utilisation qui est faite du parc et les activités qui y ont lieu pour assurer la sécurité des visiteurs et de la faune.
Accessibilité

On nous a dit que Parcs Canada devrait améliorer l’accès aux parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers pour tous les utilisateurs, peu importe leur âge ou leurs habiletés. Les participants étaient conscients que ce ne sont pas tous les secteurs du parc qui peuvent répondre aux besoins de tous, mais ils ont exprimé un intérêt envers la diversification de la façon dont les gens peuvent découvrir les parcs, notamment :

  • sentiers sans obstacle ou adaptés;
  • installations pour les visiteurs accessibles, utilisables de façon indépendante et compréhensibles pour un large éventail de visiteurs (conception universelle);
  • remise en état des réseaux de sentiers historiques ou création de nouveaux sentiers en boucle pour disperser les visiteurs et offrir une variété d’expériences;
  • évaluation des possibilités en tenant compte de la population vieillissante et des différentes cultures.
Ressources et infrastructures

On nous a dit que Parcs Canada devrait investir dans l’entretien et l’amélioration des ressources actuelles. Pour ce qui est des nouveaux investissements, plusieurs personnes désirent voir des activités et des infrastructures durables sur le plan environnemental :

  • entretien et conception de sentiers tenant compte de la hausse de la fréquentation;
  • commodités de base et nombre accru d’activités nocturnes dans le secteur du col Rogers;
  • hausse du nombre de refuges ou d’emplacements de camping en arrière-pays pour les séjours avec nuitées;
  • amélioration de la sécurité sur l’autoroute Transcanadienne, notamment élargissement à quatre voies à travers les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers, et aménagement de passages pour la faune.
Intégrité écologique

On nous a dit que l’intégrité écologique devrait être la priorité des parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers, conformément au mandat de Parcs Canada. À ce sujet, les participants ont mentionné à l’Agence les enjeux clés suivants (appuyés par 75 % ou plus des participants en ligne) :

  • Réduire les répercussions des couloirs de transport sur la santé de la faune et de l’écosystème en améliorant les déplacements de la faune dans ce corridor, dans l’eau comme sur terre, et réduire les répercussions des déversements et des articles attrayants pour les animaux tout le long de l’autoroute et de la voie ferrée.
  • Protéger les écosystèmes intacts; nous avons noté une certaine réticence quant à la restriction de l’accès aux parcs, mais plusieurs commentaires appuyaient la gestion de la fréquentation afin de protéger les milieux sensibles, que ce soit par l’entremise de fermetures saisonnières, d’interdiction d’accès à certains secteurs, de quotas de visiteurs ou d’activités d’éducation.
  • Tenir compte de la sécurité des visiteurs tout en protégeant les parcs par la réduction des risques de feux de forêt; évaluer et atténuer les activités des visiteurs qui pourraient augmenter le risque de conflits entre les humains et la faune (chiens en liberté, activités récréatives hivernales et nouveau terrain de camping du Mont Revelstoke).
  • Privilégier la restauration et la protection de l’écosystème par la prise de décisions éclairées par des programmes continus de recherche et de surveillance dans les parcs (notamment à l’aide de mesures pour prévenir les nouvelles menaces et gérer les préoccupations actuelles concernant les espèces envahissantes, les insectes et les maladies, et pour contribuer au rétablissement à long terme des espèces en péril).
  • Être un chef de file en matière de recherche sur les changements climatiques. Dans le cas des parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers, cela signifie assurer une surveillance continue des glaciers, des activités des feux de forêt, des tendances météorologiques et des espèces envahissantes. Il faudrait ensuite associer ces changements locaux aux tendances et aux modèles mondiaux, et diffuser largement cette information.
Communication et information

Parcs Canada a obtenu des commentaires sur la façon dont sont diffusés les articles et les renseignements concernant les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers auprès des visiteurs des parcs et des Canadiens, chez eux comme dans leurs communautés. Voici certains des domaines à améliorer :

  • Information concernant les comportements appropriés à adopter dans les parcs nationaux : cette information devrait être offerte en plusieurs langues dans les outils de planification des visites et dans les parcs.
  • Récits concernant l’histoire et la culture autochtones, l’histoire de l’alpinisme et du chemin de fer, ainsi que la conservation, la restauration et le travail scientifique dans les parcs.
  • Programmes jeunesse, à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des parcs.
  • Possibilités de bénévolat ou de science citoyenne.
  • Communications avec les communautés et les intervenants afin de les aider à comprendre comment les décisions de gestion sont prises.
  • Information plus facile à obtenir et à diffuser, fournie dans différents formats (principalement en formant numérique).

Nous avons entendu deux points de vue différents sur la promotion des parcs :

  • Promouvoir l’expérience « d’évasion en pleine nature », la conservation et les liens entre la nature et la santé (physique et mentale).
  • Ne pas promouvoir les parcs de façon à conserver la quiétude et l’expérience sauvage qu’offrent actuellement les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers.
Relations avec les Autochtones

Plusieurs personnes ont admis ne pas connaître l’histoire, les cultures et les territoires traditionnels des Autochtones de la région. Dans leurs commentaires, les gens ont souligné l’importance de faire participer les peuples autochtones à la protection et à la communication du patrimoine culturel et naturel de la région de même qu’à la prise de décisions concernant les parcs.

Partenaires et intervenants

La collaboration est essentielle à l’atteinte des objectifs de conservation, au soutien de l’économie et du tourisme locaux, et à la formation de la prochaine génération d’intendants des parcs. On nous a dit que Parcs Canada devrait :

  • penser plus grand afin de rétablir les liens au-delà des limites des parcs et de maintenir l’intégrité de l’écosystème de la chaîne Columbia, qui abrite un vaste éventail d’espèces comme les grizzlys et les caribous;
  • renforcer les relations et travailler en étroite collaboration avec les peuples autochtones, les gestionnaires des terres voisines, les intervenants locaux et les autres administrations pour s’entendre sur des objectifs qui favorisent la diversité de la faune et la santé des écosystèmes dans l’ensemble de la chaîne Columbia;
  • travailler de concert avec les partenaires et les intervenants afin de s’attaquer aux enjeux communs, tels que les articles attrayants pour la faune ou les espèces envahissantes;
  • collaborer avec les communautés locales sur les possibilités de tourisme durable, évaluer les demandes et les possibilités actuelles du marché, collaborer aux offres de produits et aux activités de promotion régionales, et miser sur l’histoire et le sentiment d’appartenance à la région;
  • faire venir plus de jeunes dans les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers, et inspirer des vocations d’intendants des parcs. Cette suggestion a été faite par de nombreuses personnes, dont des étudiants d’universités et des élèves d’écoles secondaires de la région. On pourrait offrir des possibilités d’apprentissage dans les parcs et à l’école, des occasions de participer aux travaux de recherche pour les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire et des programmes pour jeunes misant sur les retombées positives de la nature sur la santé mentale et physique.
Autres points d’intérêt

On souligné trois secteurs d’intérêt clés dans les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers :

  • Au col Rogers, Parcs Canada devrait offrir des services supplémentaires et maintenir ou améliorer l’accès à l’arrière-pays ainsi que le système de délivrance de permis d’accès hivernal.
  • Au sommet du mont Revelstoke, Parcs Canada devrait régler le problème d’affluence, notamment en entretenant et en redessinant les sentiers pour accommoder le nombre croissant de visiteurs, en réduisant les problèmes de stationnement en gérant l’accès ou en offrant un service de navette, et en réglant les problèmes de cohabitation entre les humains et la faune.
  • Parcs Canada devrait investir dans différents projets dans le secteur de la vallée de la Beaver du parc national du Canada des Glaciers et aux alentours : possibilités d’excursions familiales d’une journée, vélo de montagne et excursions de plusieurs jours dans l’arrière-pays (emplacements de camping ou refuges) dans les sentiers de la vallée de la Beaver, des collines Bald et Copperstain.
Activités

Parcs Canada a également reçu de nombreux commentaires sur ses activités actuelles, y compris ses heures d’ouverture, l’état des sentiers et des installations, et le système de délivrance de permis d’accès hivernal, entre autres. Ces commentaires ont été compilés dans le but de les diffuser auprès du personnel responsable des opérations des parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers.