Significant highway and infrastructure improvement projects are currently underway in Rogers Pass National Historic Site in Glacier National Park.

Abatement and demolition of former lodge and service station buildings, as well as remediation of contaminated soils at the site was completed in 2018, with funding from the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan. Remediation work addressed soil contamination that resulted from operation of the two facilities as well as historic railway operations.

Parks Canada is planning for the future of the Rogers Pass area, in order to meet the needs of park visitors and through-travelers, improve motorist safety, and address environmental concerns. Consultations with Indigenous partners on the future of Rogers Pass are on-going. Thank you to everyone who shared their vision for this special place with us during the public comment period.

The area around Rogers Pass is an integral part of Canada’s national transportation corridor, and offers access to world class hiking, backcountry skiing and breathtaking scenery for any traveller. Glacier Park Lodge was a valuable part of these experiences for many years and Parks Canada is pleased to be able to now plan the long term future of this site.


Rogers Pass future

 
Future Rogers Pass washroom facility design 

Parks Canada manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world, and Rogers Pass is among these treasures. Parks Canada looks forward to sharing this iconic part of Canada with visitors as a place to experience the outdoors and learn about our history for generations to come.

Through Parks Canada’s unprecedented investments in infrastructure work in national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas, important upgrades in Rogers Pass are scheduled for 2019, including:

  • Construction of a new public washroom facility, day use area and parking lot on the former service station site. Construction is expected to begin in spring 2019.
  • Sewer and storm water system upgrades to support current and future facilities in Rogers Pass.
  • Improved safety and reliability of the TransCanada Highway through the parks including: intersection and access improvements, pavement repairs, rock scaling, and new avalanche mitigations.

Information on other infrastructure investments in Glacier and Mount Revelstoke national parks.


Glacier Park Lodge and service station

 
Glacier Park Lodge and service station demolition

The physical condition of the service station and Glacier Park Lodge facilities had deteriorated considerably since their closing in 2009 and 2012. Due to structural deficiencies, soil contamination and the advanced state of building deterioration, the hotel and gas station buildings were deemed unsafe and required demolition.

The integrity of both buildings was compromised for several winters. Snow, rain and wind had easy access to the interior of the buildings through the roofs and other openings. These elements accelerated the deterioration of the structures in recent years.

The soil contamination at the site is a result of the transportation history of the area. Beginning with the construction and operation of the railway through Rogers Pass, the area where the hotel is now located was used as an industrial area. There is significant hydrocarbon contamination at the site, some of which has been addressed in the past. Now that Parks Canada has access to the site for the first time since the building of the TransCanada Highway, the mitigation and remediation of that contamination has been brought up to current environmental standards.

Nous réalisons présentement d’importants projets d’amélioration aux routes et à l’infrastructure au lieu historique national du Col-Rogers, dans le parc national des Glaciers.

La réduction et la démolition des vieux bâtiments de la station- service et de l’hôtel, ainsi que la remise en état des sols contaminés dans ces deux sites, ont été effectués en  2018 grâce à un investissement du Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux. La contamination est le résultat de l’exploitation de ces installations et les opérations du chemin de fer historique.

Parcs Canada planifie l’avenir du secteur du col Rogers afin de répondre aux besoins des visiteurs du parc et des voyageurs en transit, d’améliorer la sécurité des automobilistes et d’aborder les préoccupations en matière d’environnement. Des consultations continuent avec nos partenaires autochtones sur l’avenir du col Rogers. Nous vous remercions tous de votre intérêt pour l’avenir du col Rogers et de votre rétroaction à cet effet.

Le secteur entourant le col Rogers fait partie intégrante du couloir de transport national du Canada, et il offre à tous les voyageurs un accès à des possibilités de randonnée et de ski de randonnée de renommée mondiale dans un décor spectaculaire. Parcs Canada est heureux de pouvoir planifier maintenant l’avenir à long terme de ce site.


À l’avenir

 
Investissements dans le col Rogers

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus grands et des plus beaux réseaux d’aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées au monde, et le col Rogers fait partie de ces trésors. L’Agence se réjouit à la perspective de faire découvrir aux visiteurs ce lieu emblématique, un coin du Canada où les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain pourront faire l’expérience des grands espaces et en apprendre davantage sur notre histoire.

Grâce aux investissements sans précédent de Parcs Canada dans les travaux d’infrastructure dans les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation, d’importantes améliorations dans le col Rogers sont prévu pour 2019 notamment ce qui suit :

  • La construction de nouvelles toilettes permanentes, d’une petite aire de pique-nique et d’un terrain de stationnement sur le site de l’ancienne station-service.
  • Remplacement de l’infrastructure vieillissante des réseaux d’égout et d’aqueduc du côté ouest du col Rogers, afin de mieux répondre aux besoins actuels et futurs de la région.
  • Améliorations apportées à la sécurité et à la fiabilité de la route Transcanadienne qui traverse les parcs, y compris l’amélioration des intersections et de l’accès, la réparation de la chaussée, le décapage des parois rocheuses, le pavage, la stabilisation des pentes et de nouvelles mesures d’atténuation des effets des avalanches.
Consultez le lien ci-dessous pour de l'information à jour sur les investissements dans les infrastructures.

Le Glacier Park Lodge et la station-service

 
Le Glacier Park Lodge et la station-service

L’état des installations du Glacier Park Lodge et de la station-service s’était considérablement détérioré depuis leur fermeture, en 2009 et en 2012. En raison de faiblesses structurales, de la contamination du sol et de l’état de détérioration avancé du site, les bâtiments de l’hôtel et de la station-service n'étaient pas sécuritaires et ont dû être démolis.

L’intégrité des deux bâtiments était compromise depuis plusieurs hivers. La neige, la pluie et le vent entraient facilement dans les bâtiments par les toits et d’autres ouvertures. Ces éléments ont accéléré la détérioration des structures au cours des dernières années.

La contamination du sol sur le site est le résultat de l’histoire relative au transport dans le secteur. Depuis la construction et l’exploitation de la voie ferrée par l’entremise du col Rogers, le secteur où se situe maintenant l’hôtel est utilisé comme zone industrielle. Nous savons que le site fait l’objet d’une contamination importante aux hydrocarbures, mais on s’est attaqué à une partie de cette contamination dans le passé. Comme Parcs Canada a accès au site pour la première fois depuis la construction de la Transcanadienne, une évaluation complète se déroule en ce moment. Nous déterminerons par la suite les prochaines étapes nécessaires pour le respect des normes modernes.

Les mesures d’atténuation et d’assainissement liées à cette contamination ont devenu la priorité et doivent être rehaussées pour respecter les normes environnementales actuelles.