Backcountry camping | Random camping

Backcountry camping

There are two designated backcountry campgrounds in the park, primarily serving as basecamps for mountaineering objectives. While the trails to these sites may appear short, they are both extremely steep and grueling ascents, especially with a backpack full of gear!

Backcountry campgrounds in Glacier National Park
Hermit Meadows Sir Donald (backcountry)
2021 operating dates Mid July to late September (snow dependent) Late July to mid September (snow dependent)
2021 reservation dates July 30 - September 30 Not applicable
Fees See prices
Number of sites 8 4

Each campground is equipped with:

  • Outhouses
  • Bear-proof food storage lockers or poles

Campfires are not permitted. Gas stove use only.

Backcountry campers require a backcountry camping permit (wilderness pass) and a national park pass. For Sir Donald, camping permits are acquired at the Illecillewaet Campground kiosk. For Hermit Meadows, camping permits are acquired at the Rogers Pass Discovery Centre. Any advance reservations for Hermit Meadows must be made online at reservation.pc.gc.ca or by telephone at 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783). All other sites are first come first served. Visit our fees page for current rates.


Random camping

Random camping is permitted in designated areas only. A backcountry camping permit (wilderness pass) is required for random camping and can only be obtained in person at Parks Canada visitor centres in Revelstoke or Rogers Pass. For information call 250-837-7500. Special rules and conditions apply.


See also:

Camping dans l'arrière-pays | Camping sauvage

Camping dans l'arrière-pays

Le parc offre deux terrains de camping désignés dans l’arrière‑pays, qui servent principalement de camp de base pour des objectifs d’alpinisme. Bien que les sentiers menant à ces sites puissent paraître courts, il s’agit de montées extrêmement raides et exténuantes, surtout avec un sac à dos rempli d'équipement!

Campings dans l'arrière-pays du Parc national du Canada des Glaciers
Prés Hermit Sir Donald (arrière‑pays)
Saison d’opération 2021 Mi-juillet à la fin septembre (en fonction de la neige) Fin juillet à la mi-septembre (en fonction de la neige)
Période de réservation 2021 Du 30 juillet au 30 septembre Sans objet
Tarification Voir les prix
Nombre d’emplacements 8 4

Chaque camping est équipé :

  • de tabliers de tente;
  • de toilettes sèches;
  • de perches ou de casiers à provisions à l’épreuve des ours.

Les feux de camp y sont interdits. Utilisez uniquement des réchauds à gaz.

Les visiteurs doivent se procurer un permis de camping dans l’arrière-pays (permis d’accès à l’arrière-pays) et un laissez-passer de parc national pour passer la nuit dans l’arrière-pays. Les deux sont en vente au Centre de la découverte du Col-Rogers et au bureau de Parcs Canada de Revelstoke. Vous pouvez réserver un emplacement dans le camping des Prés-Hermit en ligne : reservation.pc.gc.ca; ou par téléphone : 1-877-RESERVE (1-877-737-3783). Tous les autres emplacements sont attribués selon l’ordre d’arrivée des campeurs. Consultez la page Tarification pour connaître les droits d’entrée actuels.


Camping sauvage

Le camping sauvage n’est autorisé que dans les secteurs désignés. Vous devrez obtenir un permis de camping dans l’arrière-pays (permis d’accès à l’arrière-pays). Vous pouvez l’obtenir en vous présentant en personne à un centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada à Revelstoke ou au Col Rogers. Pour information appelez le 250-837-7500. Le camping sauvage est assujetti à des règles et à des conditions spéciales.


Voir aussi :