Described as “fifty Switzerlands in one”, Glacier National Park, in southeastern British Columbia, was established in 1886. At 1350 km², the park is known for its glaciers, mountain views, lush vegetation and deep snow. It also tells the stories of Swiss guides and early mountaineering in Canada, and transportation routes connecting the country from coast to coast. Glacier National Park is part of the Columbia Mountains Natural Region.

Rogers Pass National Historic Site is located in the centre of the park and commemorates Major A.B Rogers’ surveying trips to identify a route through the Columbia Mountains to complete the Canadian Pacific (CP) Rail line.

Cultural history

The lands where Glacier National Park is located were used by the Syilx, Sinixt, Ktunaxa, and Secwepemc peoples.

Located halfway between Calgary and Vancouver, the park was created following the completion of the transcontinental railway in 1885.CP recognized the tourism opportunities that mountain scenery provided and petitioned the federal government to set aside forest reserves in what are today Yoho and Glacier national parks.

Heavy snowfalls and unpredictable avalanches made the rail line over Rogers Pass dangerous and difficult to maintain. In March of 1910, an avalanche killed 58 rail workers and led to the decision to move the rail line underground. In 1916, the Connaught Tunnel opened.

In 1962, the transportation route over Rogers Pass re-opened, this time as part of the Trans-Canada Highway.

Today, both the Trans-Canada Highway and the CP rail line run through Glacier National Park. Since 1961, Parks Canada and the Canadian Forces have worked together to operate the world’s largest mobile avalanche control program, using live artillery, to keep the highway and rail line safe.

Geology and glaciology

The Columbia Mountains are older than the Rockies to the east, and include a complex mix of quartzite, slate and granite. The Columbias are made up of massive mountains with steep slopes and deep, narrow valleys carved over time by ice and water. The mountains are further divided into four ranges – the Purcells, the Selkirks, the Monashees and the Cariboos. The majority of Glacier National Park is located in the Selkirk range with the most eastern portion in the Purcells.

As per the name, Glacier National Park’s landscape includes significant glacial coverage. Monitoring of the park’s glaciers began in 1887 with the Vaux family. Over the years, steady glacial decline has been noted. In 2018, there are 129 glaciers in Glacier National Park, down from 337 in less than 40 years.

Climate

The Columbia Mountains are in the Interior Wetbelt region of British Columbia. The region is characterized by heavy annual precipitation, abundant snowfall and relatively moderate winter temperatures. On average 10 metres of snow falls in Rogers Pass each year. The surrounding mountain peaks can receive double that amount. In winter, the heavy snowfall and steep slopes result in complex avalanche terrain in many areas of the park. Mean temperature averages (average of daily high and low temperatures) are around -9°C in January and 13.5°C July.

Vegetation

Three distinct vegetation zones occur in the park.

  • Interior rainforest - extending from the valley bottom to about 1300 metres, this zone is characterized by western red cedar and western hemlock trees up to 1000 years old and measuring up to 4 metres in diameter.
  • Subalpine - Above 1300 metres the snow lingers longer than in the valley bottom. This zone features subalpine fir and Engelmann spruce trees as well as subalpine meadows with vibrant
    displays of wildflowers in the short summer months.
  • Alpine – Above 1900 metres the trees disappear altogether and patches of lichen, heather and sedges cling to the rock and thin soil near permanent ice and snow.

Wildlife

Glacier National Park is home to several large mammals, including black bears, grizzly bears, and mountain goats which can sometime be seen right along the road. Woodland caribou and wolverine are more elusive, sticking to backcountry areas. Other mammals include hoary marmots, pikas and Columbian ground squirrels, and several species of bats.

Some 235 species of birds use the area in summer, many, like hummingbirds and olive-sided flycatchers, travelling incredible distances from their wintering grounds. During the winter you might see Steller’s jays, ravens and four types of chickadees.

The mountain environment is not favourable for cold-blooded reptiles and amphibians, however, a few species can be found in Glacier such as the elusive Coeur d’Alene salamander, western toad and though uncommon, the northern alligator lizard.

Attractions and trails

Glacier National Park offers something for everyone. Ambitious adventurers can follow in the footsteps of the Swiss guides and early mountaineers; outdoor enthusiasts can unwind at one of three frontcountry campgrounds; and roadside explorers can take in views of a glacier-studded landscape you will not find anywhere else. In winter, experienced backcountry skiers and snowboarders can
enjoy world-class powder.

The Rogers Pass Discovery Centre is open seven days a week for visitors looking to discover more about the park’s rich history as both a national transportation corridor and the birthplace of Canadian mountaineering.

Le parc national des Glaciers, situé dans le sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique, a été créé en 1886. Avec sa superficie de 1350 km2, ce parc, dont on dit qu’il vaut «cinquante fois la Suisse», est connu pour ses glaciers, ses panoramas de montagne, sa végétation abondante et sa neige épaisse. Il commémore également l’histoire des guides suisses et des premiers alpinistes au Canada, et des voies de transport qui relient le pays d’un océan à l’autre. Le parc national des Glaciers représente la région naturelle de la chaîne Columbia.

Le lieu historique national du Col-Rogers est situé au centre du parc. Il rappelle les voyages effectués par le major A. B. Rogers pour arpenter la région et trouver un chemin traversant la chaîne Columbia afin de pouvoir terminer la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique.

Histoire culturelle

Le parc national Glaciers est situé sur des terres traditionnellement utilisées par les peuples Syilx, Sinixt Ktunaxa et Secwepemc.

Situé à mi-chemin entre Calgary et Vancouver, il a été créé après l’achèvement du chemin de fer transcontinental (1885). Le Canadien Pacifique a reconnu le potentiel touristique des paysages de montagne de la région et pressé le gouvernement fédéral de mettre de côté des réserves forestières là où se trouvent aujourd’hui les parcs nationaux Yoho et des Glaciers.

Les chutes de neige abondantes et les avalanches imprévisibles ont rendu l’entretien de la voie ferrée difficile et dangereux au col Rogers. En mars 1910, une avalanche a emporté 58 travailleurs ferroviaires. Cet accident mortel a convaincu le Canadien Pacifique de faire passer le chemin de fer sous la terre, et en 1916, le tunnel Connaught fut mis en service.

En 1962, le passage à travers le col Rogers a été rouvert, cette fois comme tronçon de la Transcanadienne.

Aujourd’hui, la route Transcanadienne et la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique traversent toutes deux le parc national des Glaciers. Depuis 1961, Parcs Canada et les Forces canadiennes mènent ensemble un vaste programme mobile de déclenchement préventif d’avalanches au moyen de tirs d’artillerie. Ce programme, le plus important du genre au monde, protège la route et la voie ferrée des avalanches.

Géologie et glaciologie

La chaîne Columbia est plus ancienne que les Rocheuses, situées plus à l’est, et renferme un mélange complexe de quartzite, d’ardoise et de granite. Formée d’une succession d’énormes montagnes aux parois escarpées entrecoupées de vallées étroites et profondes sculptées par l’eau et la glace sur une très longue période, elle comporte en fait quatre chaînes de montagnes : Purcell, Selkirk, Monashee et Cariboo. La plus grande partie du parc national des Glaciers se trouve dans la chaîne Selkirk, et son extrémité est, dans la chaîne Purcell.

Comme l’indique son nom, le parc national des Glaciers comprend une importante couverture glaciaire. La famille Vaux a commencé à surveiller les glaciers du parc dès 1887. Leur retrait progressif a été observé au fil du temps; en 2018, le parc comptait 129 glaciers, comparativement à 337 moins de 40 ans plus tôt.

Climat

La chaîne Columbia est située dans la zone humide de l’intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique, caractérisée par d’abondantes précipitations et chutes de neige annuelles ainsi que par des températures hivernales modérées. Il tombe en moyenne 10 m de neige chaque hiver au col Rogers, et les pics environnants peuvent en recevoir le double. Les chutes de neige abondantes, conjuguées au terrain escarpé, rendent plusieurs secteurs du parc très sujet aux avalanches. Les températures moyennes (moyenne des maximums et minimums de température quotidiens) atteignent -9 °C en janvier et 13,5 °C en juillet.

Végétation

Le parc compte trois zones de végétation distinctes.

  • Forêt pluviale intérieure : du fond de vallée jusqu’à une altitude d’environ 1300 m, la forêt est dominée par des thuyas géants et des pruches de l’Ouest presque millénaires qui peuvent atteindre 4 m de diamètre.
  • Zone subalpine : au-dessus de 1300 m, la neige persiste plus longtemps et la végétation est composée principalement de deux espèces d’arbres, le sapin subalpin et l’épinette d’Engelmann. Cette zone comprend aussi des prés subalpins qui sont tapissés de fleurs sauvages pendant le court été.
  • Zone alpine : au-dessus de 1900 m, les arbres disparaissent complètement pour céder la place à des touffes de lichen, de bruyère et de carex qui s’agrippent aux rochers et au sol mince, entourées de plaques de glace et de neige permanentes.

Faune

Le parc national des Glaciers sert d’habitat à plusieurs espèces de gros mammifères, y compris l’ours noir, le grizzli et la chèvre de montagne, qu’on peut parfois apercevoir de la route. Le caribou des bois et le carcajou sont plus élusifs et restent habituellement dans l’arrière-pays. D’autres mammifères vivent dans le parc, dont la marmotte des Rocheuses, le pica d’Amérique et le spermophile du Columbia, ainsi que plusieurs espèces de chauves-souris.

Quelque 235 espèces d’oiseaux fréquentent le parc en été, et bon nombre d’entre elles, comme le colibri et le moucherolle à côtés olive, parcourent de très grandes distances pour s’y rendre depuis leur aire d’hivernage. En hiver, on trouve toujours au parc des geais de Steller, de grands corbeaux et quatre types de mésanges.

Les montagnes sont un environnement hostile pour les reptiles à sang froid et les amphibiens, mais certaines espèces vivent dans le parc national des Glaciers, comme l’insaisissable salamandre de Cœur d’Alène, le crapaud de l’Ouest et le lézard alligator du Nord, peu commun.

Attractions et sentiers

Le parc national des Glaciers a de quoi plaire à tous. Les aventuriers ambitieux peuvent suivre les traces des guides suisses et des premiers alpinistes; les amateurs de plein air peuvent se détendre dans l’un des trois campings de l’avant-pays; les vacanciers peuvent s’arrêter le long de la route pour admirer des panoramas de glaciers comme il n’en existe nulle part ailleurs. En hiver, les skieurs et planchistes de l’arrière-pays chevronnés peuvent s’amuser dans une neige poudreuse exceptionnelle.

Le Centre de la découverte du Col-Rogers est ouvert sept jours sur sept aux visiteurs qui cherchent à en savoir davantage sur la riche histoire du parc comme couloir de transport national et comme berceau de l’alpinisme au Canada.