Due to COVID-19, the Art in the Park 2020 Artist Residency in Glacier National Park has been postponed until 2021.

Since 2008, the Art in the Park program based in Revelstoke B.C. has provided visual artists with special access to explore one of Canada’s national parks and share their experience through art. Artwork is created to inspire an emotional connection and deeper understanding of Canada’s national parks. Parks Canada has proudly collaborated with the Revelstoke Visual Arts Society to present the Art in the Park program. This program is currently based in Glacier National Park and runs every two years.


Galleries of artwork

Artists are chosen through a selection process designed to encourage a balance of artistic mediums and experience. Participants work to create unique pieces of art that reflect their vision of the park. The finished artwork is then shared with the public at various venues in the province and on-line.

View galleries of artwork created during the program


The artist experience

Artists travel to the A.O. Wheeler Hut in the heart of Glacier National Park, where they spend four nights in rustic, dormitory accommodation at the base of the Illecillewaet and Asulkan valleys. Days are spent creating art, hiking in the alpine, and exploring the nearby ruins of the historic Glacier House.

Learn more about the artist experience


Apply for Art in the Park

By creating work from their experiences in the park, artists can foster a sense of connection to this special place. Through artists' participation, Parks Canada hopes to expand the way the park is seen by visitors and audiences beyond park boundaries.

Apply to participate in the program as an artist

En raison de la COVID-19, L’art dans le parc 2020, le programme d’artistes en résidence du parc national des Glaciers, a été reporté jusqu’en 2021.

Depuis 2008, le programme « L’art dans le parc », exécuté depuis Revelstoke, en Colombie Britannique, offre aux artistes visuels un moyen privilégié d’explorer un parc national du Canada et de faire connaître leur expérience par l’art. Ces artistes créent des œuvres qui font naître un sentiment d’attachement et qui aident la population à mieux comprendre toute la valeur des parcs nationaux du pays. Parcs Canada est fier d’avoir collaboré avec la Revelstoke Visual Arts Society pour présenter le programme « L’art dans le parc ». Le programme se trouve actuellement dans le parc national des Glaciers et il est offert tous les deux ans.


Galeries d’art

Les artistes sont sélectionnés dans le cadre d’un processus visant l’équilibre entre peintres intermédiaires et expérimentés. Ils s’efforcent de créer des œuvres originales témoignant de leur vision du parc. Les produits finis sont ensuite mis en exposition à divers endroits de la province et en ligne.

Voir les galeries d’art créées pendant le programme


L’expérience des artistes

Les artistes se rendent au refuge A.O. Wheeler au cœur du parc national des Glaciers, où ils passent quatre nuits dans un dortoir rustique à la base des vallées de l’Illecillewaet et de l’Asulkan. Pendant la journée, ils créent une œuvre d’art, font des randonnées en milieu alpin, et explorent les ruines de l’hôtel Glacier House, bâtiment historique situé non loin de là.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’expérience des artistes


S’inscrire au programme « L’art dans le parc »

En créant des œuvres inspirées par les expériences qu’ils ont vécues dans le parc, les artistes peuvent favoriser un sentiment de rapprochement avec cet endroit spécial. Grâce à la participation des artistes, Parcs Canada espère amener les visiteurs et les auditoires éloignés à voir le parc sous de nouveaux angles.

Présenter une demande pour participer au programme en tant qu’artiste