Impacted areas due to Kenow Wildfire

Areas of Waterton Lakes National Park remain closed due to safety hazards and infrastructure damage from the Kenow Wildfire. Visit our What's open in 2018 page for an up-to-date list of open areas.

Parks Canada is investing $3 billion over five years to rehabilitate infrastructure assets within national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting Waterton Lakes National Park, you may encounter one or more construction zones or reduced services while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience. Consult the following list of current infrastructure projects in Waterton Lakes National Park to see if any road or facility work might impact your trip.

A significant amount of Parks Canada’s existing highway infrastructure assets require action now, and the paving projects, rock and slope stabilisation, and rehabilitation of bridges planned as part of this historic investment will ensure safe and reliable roads while protecting the ecological and cultural integrity of our national treasures; and an improved driving experience for the almost five million visitors to the mountain national parks each year.

Infrastructure projects in Waterton Lakes National Park

Map

A map of construction areas in Waterton townsite

A map of construction projects in Waterton Townsite (fall 2018)

Projects resulting in a closure or major impact

Bertha Lane and Bertha Parking Lot

Closed with alternate trailhead access

Road work continues on Bertha Lane starting September 6. The Bertha Lake trailhead parking lot will be closed, along with access to the Bertha Lake trail. Alternative access to the Bertha Lake and Lakeshore trails is available via the Carthew-Alderson trailhead near Cameron Falls. Resident access to properties along Bertha Lane will be available via Evergreen Avenue.

Alley 2 (between Fountain and Clematis Ave)

Closed, no access via Windflower Ave

Sewer work will begin in this alley on September 10. There will be no parking access at any time. Residents and visitors will have parking access on Windflower and Clematis Avenues. Anticipated completion is early October.

Lupine Lane, Alley 4 and 5

Closed, limited resident access only

Utility work begins on Alleys 4 and 5 in early October following completion of Alley 2. Utility work on Lupine Lane will begin mid-October, following completion of Alleys 4 and 5. Access route information will be provided once it is known.

Townsite Campground - B and H Loop

Closed for the season

Loops B and H west of Cameron Creek will be closed for extensive utility upgrades and surface improvements for the remainder of the season. The trail adjacent to the campground along the west riverbank will be closed. See map.

Playground / Splash Park

Closed for relocation

Note: This work is being undertaken by the Waterton Park Community Association. Parks Canada is covering the costs.

Site preparation work at the new playground / splash park location next to the Waterton Community Centre begins September 4. The splash park will close September 6. The playground will be kept open as long as possible, but will close mid-September. Removal for relocation will be complete by October 31. Planned reopening of the new and improved park is July 1, 2019. Alternative playground facilities are available near the Community Centre on Fountain Avenue.

For further information on this project, read the Visitor Centre Frequently Asked Questions.

Playground / Community Kitchen Washroom

Closed for relocation

The Community Kitchen washroom will be closed for demolition the week of September 4. The Playground washroom closes the week of September 17, with relocation to the Community Kitchen planned for October 4. There may be minor traffic impacts along Waterton Avenue.

Projects resulting in a lesser impact

Peace Park Pavilion and Marina Parking Lot

Partial closures

Sections will be temporarily closed for finishing work this fall. Parts of the parking lot will remain open and access to the tour boats will not be affected.

Townsite Campground, East of Cameron Creek

Noise. Bridge open to foot traffic only.

Noise from construction on Loops B and H, west of Cameron Creek, may affect the open sections of the campground. The bridge across the creek will be closed to vehicle and pedestrian traffic, but will open for pedestrian use in the evening.

Temporary Visitor Centre

Parks Canada is operating a temporary Visitor Centre in the townsite at the Lion’s Hall on Fountain Avenue.

Please note: This is not an exhaustive list of infrastructure projects underway in Waterton Lakes National Park. Only projects that may impact visitors are listed above. For the complete list of projects planned, see Waterton Lakes National Park: infrastructure projects.

Other information:

Secteurs touchés par le feu de Kenow

Des secteurs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton demeurent fermés en raison des dangers et des dommages aux infrastructures résultant du feu de Kenow. Consultez la page « Ouvertures» pour une liste à jour des secteurs ouverts.

Parcs Canada investira 3 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans afin d’améliorer l’infrastructure de ses lieux historiques nationaux, parcs nationaux et aires marines nationales de conservation.

Cet investissement historique appuie la conservation tout en favorisant une expérience mémorable pour les visiteurs et en accroissant la sécurité et l’attrait de notre infrastructure.

Au cours de votre passage dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton, vous pourriez devoir traverser un ou plusieurs chantiers de construction ou zones de services réduits pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants. Veuillez planifier à l’avance pour éviter des désagréments.

Consultez la liste suivante de projets d’infrastructure en cours dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton pour vérifier si des travaux d’amélioration des routes ou des installations pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre voyage.

Parcs Canada doit prendre des mesures dès maintenant pour améliorer une bonne partie de son infrastructure routière. Les projets d'asphaltage, de réfection des ponts et de stabilisation des perrés et des talus rocheux qui seront réalisés grâce à cet investissement historique permettront aux visiteurs de bénéficier de routes plus sécuritaires et plus fiables, tout en assurant l'intégrité écologique et culturelle de nos trésors nationaux, et une meilleure expérience de conduite pour les quelque cinq millions de visiteurs qui traversent chaque année les parcs nationaux des montagnes.

Projets d'infrastructure dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton

Carte

Une carte des projets de construction dans le Village de Waterton

Une carte des projets de construction dans le Village de Waterton (l’automne 2018)

Projets entraînant une fermeture ou des répercussions majeures

Allée et stationnement Bertha

Fermé – autre accès au sentier

Les travaux se poursuivront sur l’allée Bertha à compter du 6 septembre. Le stationnement du début du sentier du lac Bertha sera également fermé. On pourra accéder au sentier du lac Bertha et au sentier Lakeshore par le début du sentier Carthew-Alderson, près des chutes Cameron. Les résidents pourront accéder aux propriétés situées de long de l’allée Bertha par l’avenue Evergreen.

Allée 2 (entre les avenues Fountain et Clematis)

Fermé – aucun accès à l’avenue Windflower

Les travaux d’égout débuteront dans cette allée le 10 septembre. Il sera impossible de s’y stationner. Les résidents et les visiteurs pourront se garer le long des avenues Windflower et Clematis. Les travaux devraient être terminés au début du mois d’octobre.

Allée Lupine et allées 4 et 5

Fermé – accès limité et réservé aux résidents

Les travaux de services publics commenceront début octobre dans les allées 4 et 5 après ceux de l’allée 2. Des travaux semblables se dérouleront dans l’allée Lupine à partir de la mi-octobre, après ceux des allées 4 et 5. La route d’accès sera communiquée dès que possible.

Terrain de camping Townsite – boucles B et H

Fermé pour la saison

Les boucles B et H à l’ouest du ruisseau Cameron seront fermées pour le reste de la saison en raison d’améliorations majeures des services publics et de la surface. Le sentier adjacent au camping le long de la rive ouest du ruisseau sera fermé. Voir la carte jointe.

Terrain de jeu/ aire de jeux d’eau

Fermés pour relocalisation

Remarque: Ces travaux sont entrepris par l’Association communautaire de Waterton. Parcs Canada en assume les coûts.

Les travaux de préparation du site des nouveaux terrain de jeu et aire de jeux d’eau adjacent au centre communautaire de Waterton commencent le 4 septembre. L’aire de jeux d’eau fermera le 6 septembre. Le terrain de jeu restera ouvert aussi longtemps que possible, mais sera fermé vers la mi-septembre. Les travaux de relocalisation seront achevés d’ici le 31 octobre. Les nouveaux terrain de jeu et aire de jeux d’eau améliorés devraient ouvrir le 1er juillet 2019. Un autre terrain de jeu est disponible près du centre communautaire, avenue Fountain.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur ce projet, lisez la Foire aux questions.

Toilettes du terrain de jeu et de la cuisine communautaire

Fermé pour relocalisation

La toilette de la cuisine communautaire sera fermée pour démolition la semaine du 4 septembre. Celle du terrain de jeu fermera la semaine du 17 septembre et devrait être déplacée à la cuisine communautaire d’ici le 4 octobre. Il pourrait y avoir des effets mineurs sur la circulation sur l’avenue Waterton.

Projets entraînant des répercussions moindres

Stationnement du pavillon du parc international de la paix et de la marina

Fermetures partielles

Des sections seront temporairement fermées pour terminer les travaux cet automne. D’autres resteront ouvertes et l’accès aux excursions en bateau ne sera pas touché.

Terrain de camping Townsite à l’est du ruisseau Cameron

Bruit. Pont ouvert uniquement aux piétons.

Le bruit des travaux de construction dans les boucles B et H, à l’ouest du ruisseau Cameron, peut toucher les sections du camping qui restent ouvertes. Le pont qui enjambe le ruisseau restera fermé aux véhicules et aux piétons durant la journée, mais sera ouvert aux piétons le soir.

Centre d’accueil temporaire

Parcs Canada exploite un centre d’accueil temporaire dans le village, au Lion’s Hall, sur Fountain Avenue.

Prière de noter : que la liste de projets d'infrastructure en cours dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton n'est pas exhaustive. Seuls les projets qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les visiteurs y figurent. Pour connaître la liste complète des projets prévus, veuillez consulter projets d’infrastructures dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton.

Autres renseignements :