Some areas in Waterton Lakes National Park are now open to the public. Please see our updated list of open and accessible areas. All other front-country and back-country areas (including trails) are closed and are being assessed for safety hazards due to the on-going Kenow Fire. At this time, camping is not permitted anywhere in Waterton Lakes National Park. All other roads in the park are closed to the public as we assess and action hazards that are a result of the Kenow Fire. Contact the Information Line (403-859-5109) for more information.

Each year thousands of visitors enjoy the lakes and rivers of Waterton Lakes National Park. From canoeing, kayaking and paddleboarding to swimming, scuba diving and fishing, there is a huge variety of ways to spend your day at the lake, but safety always comes first. Make sure you know before you go out on the water.

Ensuring that you have the proper safety equipment and are familiar with your chosen activity is the best way to stay safe on the water.

  • Wear an approved personal flotation device and use caution while on the water.
  • Be prepared: Carry the required safety equipment and ensure vessel preparedness. It could save your life on the water.
  • Be aware of cold water risks: The immediate effects of cold water immersion can be life-threatening. Waterton's lakes and streams present two dangers, drowning and hypothermia in the extremely cold waters. Take precautions when crossing streams, or walking along the edge of streams and lakes.
  • Weather conditions change rapidly. Check the weather forecast before heading out on the water.
Swimming

Keep in mind that the lakes in Waterton Lakes National Park are very cold, drop off quickly and are subject to strong winds. Emerald Bay (in the community) is a popular spot for swimming. When swimming in this area, please stay clear of the marina and the white markers. 

Drinking water

Though park waters are generally clean, there is always a chance that harmful bacteria or parasites may exist in untreated surface water. Boil and filter untreated water before using, or carry water from a treated water source.

Links

Des secteurs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton demeurent fermés en raison des dangers et des dommages aux infrastructures résultant du feu de Kenow. Consultez la page « Ouvertures en 2018 » pour une liste à jour des secteurs ouverts.

Chaque année, des milliers de visiteurs profitent des lacs et des rivières du parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Que ce soit le canotage, la planche à rame, la plongée, la pêche ou la planche nautique, il y a une large variété de manières de passer votre journée au lac. S’assurer d’avoir l’équipement de sécurité approprié et d’être familiarisé avec l’activité choisie est la meilleure façon de demeurer en sécurité sur l’eau.

  • Portez toujours un vêtement de flottaison individuel approuvé et faites attention sur l’eau.
  • Soyez prêt: Portez l’équipement de sécurité requis et assurer navire préparation. Il pourrait sauver votre vie sur l’eau.
  • Soyez conscient des risques d’eau froide: Les effets immédiats de l’immersion en eau froide peut être la vie en danger. Les eaux très froides des lacs et des cours d'eau du parc posent deux dangers : la noyade et l'hypothermie. Prenez toutes les précautions nécessaires avant de traverser des cours d'eau à gué ou de marcher près de ruisseaux ou de lacs.
  • Les conditions climatiques changent rapidement. Vérifiez les prévisions météorologiques avant de vous lancer sur l’eau.
Baignade

N’oubliez pas que l’eau des lacs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton est très froide, que sa température peut baisser rapidement et que les vents peuvent y être violents. La baie Emerald (dans notre région) est un lieu de natation populaire. Dans l’eau, tenez-vous loin de la marina et des marqueurs blancs.

Eau potable

Même si les eaux de surface du parc sont généralement propres, il peut parfois s'y trouver des bactéries ou parasites nuisibles. Buvez de l'eau traitée ou faites bouillir l'eau non traitée et filtrez-la.

Liens