Invasive mussel prevention timeline

2017: Parks Canada implemented a prohibition on the use of motorized and trailer-launched watercraft, following the discovery of invasive mussels in Montana, to ensure the ongoing ecological integrity of Waterton Lakes National Park. At that time it was the most effective method to safeguard the ecological health of park’s waters from the devastating and permanent ecological and economic impacts of invasive mussels.

2018: Improvement District #4 council’s Clean Lake Initiative proposes a 90-day quarantine seal for motorized watercraft – a length of time sufficient to prevent the introduction of invasive mussels to park waters. Their proposed solution meets Parks Canada’s standards, and sealing will begin in fall 2018.

2019: Motorized and trailered watercraft will be permitted to operate in Upper and Middle Waterton Lake for the 2019 boating season once they have completed a 90-day sealed quarantine.

How invasive mussels spread

Invasive mussels are originally from Europe and were first introduced into North America in the 1980s. The fingernail-sized freshwater mollusk can produce millions of eggs and easily attach itself to objects such as boats. Their numbers can reach tens of thousands per square metre.

Invasive mussel-encrusted boat
Photo: U.S. National Park Service

As prodigious filter feeders, they strip nutrients from the water leaving little or no food for native species. This affects the entire food web, impacting plant and animal life in the region, and altering water chemistry and clarity. They cause extensive economic and visitor experience impacts by clogging water intake structures, dams, water treatment facilities, hydro power facilities, docks, breakwaters, buoys, boats and beaches.

Infestations are permanent and irreversible. No method, technology or natural predator exists to remove invasive mussels once established in a water body.

The biggest risk of invasive mussel infestation is transmission downstream from infected waters and transfer from infested areas in motorized and trailer-launched watercraft. Prevention is key to minimize the risk. The best available evidence shows a 90-day quarantine is sufficient to prevent invasive mussels from being introduced to Waterton Lake.

Mussels and other aquatic invasive species can inadvertently be moved to a new location attached to boats, equipment, and trailers. Standing or trapped water in boats is a concern because invasive mussels have a microscopic larval stage, allowing them to be present without being visible. Boaters are reminded to Clean, Drain, Dry their watercraft as well, as this is a critical preventative measure.

Invasive mussels are found in Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, and 34 U.S. states, including Montana.

The threat of invasive mussels to Waterton Lakes National Park

Invasive mussels pose a significant and irreversible threat to the integrity of park waters. An infestation would severely impact the park’s ecology and recreation experiences.

The Waterton Lakes have a unique ecology. In addition to serving as habitat for bull trout (a threatened species), they are the only known lakes to contain the assemblage of lake trout, pygmy whitefish, and rare glacial relic species such as opposum shrimp and deepwater sculpin. The pygmy whitefish found in these lakes are considered a unique population and designated Special Concern by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Upper Waterton Lake is the only known location of deep water sculpin in Alberta.

In addition, with the headwaters of the South Saskatchewan River Basin located in Waterton Lakes National Park, an invasive mussel infestation in the park could threaten irrigation networks for southern Alberta’s agricultural industry, water infrastructure for numerous jurisdictions including the cities of Lethbridge and Medicine Hat, and other recreational areas.

Parks Canada will continue to manage the aquatic integrity in Waterton Lakes National Park through monitoring, public education, and inspection and permit programs for motorized and non-motorized watercraft alike. In addition, staff, outside researchers and contractors must follow best practices and a strict decontamination protocol for gear and equipment when working in park waters.

Chronologie de la prévention des moules envahissantes

2017: Parcs Canada a officiellement empêché l’utilisation d’embarcations motorisées et d’embarcations sur remorque après que des moules envahissantes ont été découvertes au Montana. Ces mesures avaient pour but d’assurer l’intégrité écologique continue du parc national des Lacs-Waterton. À ce moment-là, il s’agissait de la méthode la plus efficace pour protéger la santé écologique des eaux du parc des incidences écologiques et économiques dévastatrices et permanentes des moules envahissantes.

2018: Le comité de l’initiative des lacs propres de l’Improvement District #4 a proposé un programme de quarantaine de 90 jours pour les embarcations motorisées, soit une période suffisante pour empêcher les moules envahissantes de pénétrer dans les eaux du parc. La solution proposée respecte les normes de Parcs Canada, si bien que les scellés commenceront à l’automne de 2018.

2019: Les embarcations motorisées et les embarcations sur remorque seront permises sur le lac Waterton Supérieur et le lac Waterton du Milieu pendant la saison de navigation de plaisance de 2019.

Comment s’étendent les moules envahissantes

Les moules envahissantes sont originaires d’Europe et elles ont fait leur apparition en Amérique du Nord dans les années 1980. Ce mollusque d’eau douce de la grosseur d’un ongle produit des millions d’œufs et s’agrippe facilement aux objets comme les embarcations. On peut en retrouver des dizaines de milliers par mètre carré.

Moteur incrusté des moules envahissantes
Photothèque : U.S. National Park Service

La moule envahissante est un organisme filtreur prodigieux qui vide les éléments nutritifs se trouvant dans l’eau et laisse peu de nourriture aux espèces indigènes, voire pas du tout. Les effets de cette moule se font sentir à la grandeur du réseau alimentaire, ce qui a des incidences sur les plantes et les animaux des régions touchées, en plus d’avoir des conséquences sur la chimie et la clarté de l’eau.

Cette moule a d’énormes incidences économiques et effets sur l’expérience des visiteurs, car elle bouche les structures de prise d’eau, les barrages, les stations de traitement de l’eau, les installations hydroélectriques, les quais, les digues, les bouées, les embarcations et les plages.

Les infestations sont permanentes et irréversibles. Il n’existe aucune méthode, aucune technologie, ni aucun prédateur naturel pour éliminer la moule envahissante une fois qu’elle s’établit dans un plan d’eau.

Le plus grand risque d’infestation par la moule envahissante vient de la transmission en aval d’eaux infestées ainsi que du transfert des moules des secteurs infestés par les embarcations motorisées ou les embarcations sur remorque. La prévention est essentielle à la minimisation des risques. D’après les meilleures preuves qui existent, une quarantaine de 90 jours suffit à empêcher les moules envahissantes de s’infiltrer dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton.

Les moules et d’autres espèces aquatiques envahissantes peuvent pénétrer dans un nouveau lieu par inadvertance parce qu’elles se sont collées aux embarcations, à l’attirail, à l’équipement et aux remorques. L’eau stagnante ou piégée se trouvant dans les embarcations est particulièrement préoccupante, car au stade microscopique de la larve, la moule envahissante est invisible. Parcs Canada rappelle aux plaisanciers les principes Nettoyez, videz, faites (en anglais seulement) sécher les embarcations, car il s’agit là d’une mesure de prévention primordiale.

Les moules envahissantes se trouvent au Québec, en Ontario, au Manitoba et dans 34 États américains, dont le Montana.

La menace des moules envahissantes au parc national des Lacs-Waterton

Les moules envahissantes constituent une menace irréversible d’envergure pour l’intégrité des eaux du parc. Une infestation pourrait avoir de graves incidences sur l’écologie et les activités récréatives du parc.

L’écologie des lacs Waterton est unique en son genre. En plus de servir d’habitat à l’omble à tête plate (une espèce menacée), ces lacs sont les seuls lacs connus à contenir un assemblage de truite grise, de ménomini pygmée et de rares espèces glaciaires reliques comme la mysis et le chabot de profondeur. Le ménomini pygmée se trouvant dans ces lacs fait partie d’une population unique qui a été déclarée espèce préoccupante par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Par ailleurs, le seul endroit connu où se trouve le chabot de profondeur en Alberta est le lac Waterton Supérieur.

Les lacs Waterton sont les eaux d’amont du bassin de la rivière Saskatchewan Sud. Une infestation de moules envahissantes dans le parc aurait pour effet de menacer les réseaux d’irrigation dont dépend l’industrie agricole du sud de l’Alberta, l’infrastructure en eau de nombreuses collectivités, dont les villes de Lethbridge et de Medicine Hat, ainsi que d’autres aires de loisirs.

Parcs Canada continuera de gérer l’intégrité aquatique du parc national des Lacs-Waterton au moyen de la surveillance, de la sensibilisation du public et d’un programme de permis et d’inspections des embarcations motorisées et non motorisées. Par ailleurs, notre personnel, les chercheurs externes et les entrepreneurs doivent respecter les pratiques exemplaires de même qu’un protocole de décontamination strict pour leur attirail et leur équipement lorsqu’ils travaillent dans les eaux du parc.