FAQs
Why are motorized and trailered watercraft allowed in Waterton Lakes National Park again?

Motorised power boating is a long standing activity on Waterton Lakes, for which the Canada National Parks Act provides authority to permit. Power boating was removed because of a threat of contamination from invasive aquatic mussels. Now that that threat can be fully managed, Parks Canada has determined power boats can return.

Who is managing the sealing program?

Improvement District #4 is managing the sealing program. For more information on this program, visit the Improvement District #4 website.

Is the 90-day quarantine an effective method for preventing the spread of invasive mussels?

Yes. Preventing invasive mussels from entering Waterton Lakes National Park is still our top priority. The quarantine program was developed with this in mind, while providing a fair solution for recreational boaters.

What authority does Parks Canada have to make this decision?

Parks Canada manages Waterton Lakes National Park consistent with the expectations of Canadians as reflected in the Waterton Lakes National Park Management Plan, and the Canada National Parks Act. Authority to manage motorized watercraft access is set out in the National Park General Regulations (sections 7 and 21). Motorized watercraft are not permitted unless authorized by the Superintendent. The quarantine procedure is the only method in which motorized watercraft will be allowed back in Waterton Lakes National Park.

Are invasive mussels still a threat?

Yes. Preventing invasive mussels from entering Waterton Lakes National Park is still our top priority. The quarantine program was developed with this in mind, while providing a fair solution for recreational boaters.

Do non-motorized watercraft still follow the same self-inspection rules as in the 2018 season?

At this time, human-powered watercraft, including canoes, kayaks and other hand-launched watercraft will continue to be allowed on park waters, after users complete a mandatory self-inspection. Parks Canada is reviewing and assessing the effectiveness of the mandatory self-inspection program.

Where can I operate motorized or trailered watercraft in Waterton Lakes National Park?

These types of watercraft are permitted in Upper and Middle Waterton Lakes only, after the 90-day quarantine period has been completed.

Is there a penalty for launching a prohibited boat in Waterton Lakes National Park?

All motorized and trailered watercraft that have not undergone the 90-day seal and quarantine program will be considered a prohibited boat. Under the Canada National Parks Act the maximum penalty for a launching a prohibited boat in the park is $25,000. The offender can be arrested, their boat seized, and the offender will be compelled to attend court. If found guilty, in addition to the fine imposed by the court, the crown can seek forfeiture of the seized boat.

Invasive mussel FAQs
What are invasive mussels?

Invasive mussels, such as quagga and zebra mussels, are aquatic invasive species introduced from Europe into North America in 1980s. The fingernail-sized freshwater mollusk can produce millions of eggs and easily attach itself to objects such as boats and trailers. Their numbers can reach tens of thousands per square metre. Prodigious filter feeders, they strip nutrients from the water leaving little or no food for native species. This affects the entire food web, impacting the plant and animal life in the region, and altering water chemistry and water clarity. They are permanent and irreversible. No method, technology or natural predator exists to remove invasive mussels once established in a water body. Mussels can inadvertently be moved to a new location attached on boats, equipment and trailers. Standing or trapped water in boats is a concern because invasive mussels have a microscopic larval stage, allowing them to be present without being visible.

Where are invasive mussels found?

Invasive mussels are present in Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, and 34 U.S. states, including Montana.

Are there invasive mussels in Waterton Lakes?

To date, invasive mussels have not been detected in Waterton Lakes National Park. Parks Canada regularly tests for invasive mussels, following similar protocols as the U.S. National Parks Service in Glacier National Park and Alberta Environment and Parks. This includes visual testing for invasive mussels and active monitoring for invasive mussel veligers (larval stage).

Have invasive mussels been found near Waterton Lakes National Park?

The larvae of these aquatic invasive species (AIS) were detected in the Tiber Reservoir in Montana, which is about a half-day’s drive from Waterton. Parks Canada concluded that prohibition of motorized and trailered watercraft was the most effective way to protect the ecological integrity of the Waterton Lakes and downstream areas while a solution was developed.

The biggest risk of invasive mussel contamination in Waterton is transfer from infested areas in power boats, trailered boats and the trailers. Standing or trapped water in these vessels is a concern because invasive mussels have a microscopic larval stage, allowing them to be present without being visible. This is why these watercraft were prohibited from use in Waterton before the quarantine program was developed.

What are the impacts of invasive mussel contamination?

Parks Canada is responsible for protecting the lakes, rivers and streams in Waterton Lakes National Park. Invasive mussel contamination poses a significant threat to the park’s unique ecology, by depleting nutrients available for native species, which affects the entire food web, and altering water chemistry and quality.

In addition to the significant ecological effects, invasive mussels are known to cause extensive economic and visitor experience impacts by clogging water intake structures, dams, water treatment facilities, hydro power facilities, docks, breakwaters, buoys, boats and beaches.

The headwaters of the South Saskatchewan River Basin are in Waterton Lakes National Park. The downstream risk of invasive mussel contamination in Waterton threatens: the extensive irrigation network that supports southern Alberta’s significant agricultural industry; infrastructure that supports water supply for multiple jurisdictions, including the cities of Lethbridge and Medicine Hat; and the ecological health for multiple recreational areas.

A 2015 report by the Pacific Northwest Economic Region estimates that the cost of failing to prevent mussel contamination in the region would exceed $500 million (USD) annually. Alberta estimates the potential annual cost of contamination at $75 million.

What can people do to help prevent the spread of invasive mussels or other AIS?

Prevention is essential. In addition to completing the mandatory self-inspection permit before using human-powered watercraft, scuba gear and fishing equipment in park waters, people need to adhere to the Clean, Drain, Dry program, following these steps:

  • Clean - Clean and inspect watercraft and gear (including fishing and SCUBA equipment)
  • Drain- Drain buckets, ballasts, bilges, coolers, internal compartments, and other containers that may hold trapped or standing water.
  • Dry - Dry the watercraft and gear completely between trips and leave compartments open and sponge out standing water.
How else is Parks Canada working to protect Waterton from aquatic invasive species (AIS)?

Parks Canada staff, outside researchers and contractors follow best practices and a stringent decontamination protocol for gear and equipment when working in aquatic environments.

Parks Canada is collaborating closely with the U.S. National Park Service and Alberta Environment and Parks to monitor for invasive mussels and other AIS. Parks Canada also provides information to the public so people can learn about this serious issue and contribute to protecting the park’s aquatic environment.

What is the U.S. National Park Service doing in Glacier NP?

Parks Canada is collaborating closely with the U.S. National Park Service in Glacier National Park to monitor for invasive mussels. For more information on the U.S. National Park Service’s boating requirements and invasive mussel prevention in Glacier National Park, visit: https://www.nps.gov/glac/planyourvisit/ais.htm

Self-inspection FAQs
What types of watercraft require self-inspection before being used in Waterton Lakes National Park?

Anything items that go into park waters, including human-powered and most wind-powered watercraft, fishing equipment, SCUBA gear, inflatables and water toys require self-inspection, including:

  • canoes
  • kayaks
  • paddle boards
  • kite boards
  • windsurfers and kiteboards
  • row boats
  • inflatable watercraft
  • fish equipment (nets, waders, poles)
  • SCUBA gear
  • water toys, inflatables and Personal Floatation Devices (PFDs)
How does the self-inspection permit system work?

Visitors must complete a mandatory self-inspection of their human-powered watercraft or other items before entering park waters. The self-inspection form acts as a permit. Watercraft users must ensure their permits are available for examination. Visitors complete the permit the first time they launch their human-powered watercraft in the park, but must comply with the permit conditions every time they launch thereafter.

Self-inspection forms will be available at the park gate, Visitor Reception Centre, Operations Building and Warden's Office, campgrounds, and select locations in town during the busy season. Permit stations will also be located throughout the park at boat launches and the most popular boating areas:

  • Cameron Bay
  • Emerald Bay Day Use Area
  • Windsurfer Beach
  • Maskinonge
  • Knight's Lake
  • Hay Barn Day Use Area
  • Waterton Bridge
  • Community Kitchen parking
  • Cameron Lake
  • Linnet Lake
  • Driftwood Beach
  • Waterton Marina
  • Belly River Campground
  • Belly River Bridge

Roving Parks Canada staff will be available to answer questions and ensure visitors understand the inspection process. Since the permit is a legal requirement, Park Wardens will be checking that visitors complete the self-inspection and will take appropriate action as necessary.

How will the information on the self-inspection permit be used?

Information will be gathered to determine the number and type of watercraft in the park, where the watercraft comes from, and will help quantify the risk of contamination. This data will help Parks Canada make management decisions that continue to protect Waterton Lakes National Park.

What other benefits does the self-inspection permit program provide?

The self-inspection permit provides Parks Canada with another point of contact with people recreating in and on the water. Through the permit we communicate about the threat of invasive mussel contamination, encourage the public to follow the Clean, Drain, Dry program, and raise public awareness about everyone’s responsibility to help protect the aquatic environment.

FAQ
Pourquoi les embarcations motorisées et les embarcations sur remorque seront-elles de nouveau permises dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton?

La navigation de plaisance avec embarcation motorisée est une activité qui se pratique depuis longtemps sur les lacs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Elle est autorisée en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Les embarcations motorisées avaient été interdites à Waterton en raison de la menace de contamination par les moules aquatiques envahissantes. Maintenant qu’il est possible de bien contrôler cette menace, Parcs Canada a déterminé que les embarcations motorisées peuvent revenir dans le parc.

Qui gère le programme des scellés?

L’Improvement District #4 gère le programme des scellés. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce programme, consultez le site Web de l’Improvement District #4.

Est-ce que la quarantaine de 90 jours suffit à empêcher la pénétration des moules envahissantes dans le parc?

Oui. Notre plus grande priorité consiste toujours à empêcher les moules envahissantes de pénétrer dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Le programme de quarantaine a été conçu dans cette optique, tout en présentant une solution équitable aux plaisanciers.

Sur quelle autorisation cette décision de Parcs Canada s’appuie-t-elle?

Parcs Canada gère le parc national des Lacs-Waterton en fonction des attentes des Canadiens, conformément au Plan directeur du parc national des Lacs-Waterton et à la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. L’autorisation de gérer l’accès des embarcations motorisées relève du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux (articles 7 et 21). Les embarcations motorisées sont interdites, à moins d’autorisation contraire de la part du directeur du parc. La quarantaine est la seule méthode qui permet la réintégration des embarcations motorisées dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton.

Est-ce que les moules envahissantes présentent toujours une menace?

Oui. Notre plus grande priorité consiste toujours à empêcher les moules envahissantes de pénétrer dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Le programme de quarantaine a été conçu dans cette optique, tout en présentant une solution équitable aux plaisanciers.

Est-ce que les embarcations non motorisées font toujours l’objet des mêmes règles d’auto-inspection que pendant la saison 2018?

Pour l’instant, les embarcations à propulsion humaine, dont les canots, les kayaks et d’autres embarcations lancées à la main, continueront d’être permises sur les eaux du parc, pourvu que leurs utilisateurs aient fait l’auto-inspection obligatoire. Parcs Canada est en train de réviser et d’évaluer l’efficacité du programme d’auto-inspection obligatoire.

Où puis-je me servir d’une embarcation motorisée ou d’une embarcation sur remorque dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton?

Ces types d’embarcations ne sont permis que sur le lac Waterton Supérieur et sur le lac Waterton du Milieu, une fois que la période de quarantaine de 90 jours est écoulée.

Est-ce que des pénalités sont imposées aux personnes qui mettent à l’eau une embarcation interdite dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton?

Toutes les embarcations motorisées et les embarcations sur remorque qui n’ont pas fait l’objet du programme de quarantaine et de scellés de 90 jours seront interdites. En vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, la pénalité maximale imposée pour la mise à l’eau d’une embarcation interdite dans le parc est de 25 000 $. Le contrevenant peut faire l’objet d’une arrestation, son embarcation peut être saisie et il peut être appelé à aller en cour. S’il est reconnu coupable, la Couronne peut décider de confisquer l’embarcation ainsi saisie.

FAQ sur les moules envahissantes
Qu’est-ce qu’une moule envahissante?

Les moules envahissantes, comme la moule quagga et la moule zébrée, sont des espèces aquatiques envahissantes (EAE) originaires d’Europe. Elles ont fait leur apparition en Amérique du Nord dans les années 1980. Ces mollusques d’eau douce de la grosseur d’un ongle produisent des millions d'œufs et s’agrippent facilement aux objets comme les embarcations. On peut en retrouver des dizaines de milliers par mètre carré. Les moules envahissantes sont des organismes filtreurs prodigieux qui vident les éléments nutritifs se trouvant dans l’eau et laissent peu de nourriture aux espèces indigènes, voire pas du tout. Les effets de ces moules se font sentir à la grandeur du réseau alimentaire, ce qui a des incidences sur les plantes et les animaux des régions touchées, en plus d'avoir des conséquences sur la chimie et la clarté de l'eau. Ces dommages sont permanents et irréversibles. Il n’existe aucune méthode, aucune technologie, ni aucun prédateur naturel pour éliminer les moules envahissantes une fois qu’elles s’établissent dans un plan d’eau.

Où trouve-t-on les moules envahissantes?

Les moules envahissantes, comme la moule quagga, se trouvent au Québec, en Ontario, au Manitoba et dans 34 États américains, dont le Montana.

Les moules envahissantes se trouvent-elles dans les lacs Waterton?

Jusqu'à maintenant, les moules envahissantes n’ont pas été détectées dans le parc national des Lacs Waterton. Régulièrement, Parcs Canada fait des tests de dépistage de moules envahissantes en respectant des protocoles semblables à ceux qu’emploie le service des parcs nationaux américains dans le parc national Glacier de même que le ministère de l’Environnement et des Parcs de l’Alberta. Cela comprend des examens à vue pour détecter les moules envahissantes et la surveillance active des larves véligères.

Est-ce que des moules envahissantes ont été trouvées près du parc national des Lacs-Waterton?

Des larves de ces espèces aquatiques envahissantes (EAE) ont été détectées dans le réservoir Tiber, au Montana, à environ une demi-journée de route de Waterton. Parcs Canada avait conclu que l’interdiction des embarcations motorisées et des embarcations sur remorque était le meilleur moyen de protéger l’intégrité écologique des lacs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton et des secteurs en aval dans l’attente d’une solution. À Waterton, le plus grand risque de contamination par la moule envahissante provient du transfert d’aspects infestés des embarcations motorisées, des embarcations sur remorque et des remorques mêmes. L’eau stagnante ou piégée se trouvant dans ces embarcations est particulièrement préoccupante, car au stade microscopique de la larve, la moule envahissante est invisible. C’est pour cette raison que ces embarcations ont été interdites à Waterton avant l’entrée en vigueur du programme de quarantaine.

Quelles sont les conséquences de la contamination par les moules envahissantes?

Parcs Canada a la responsabilité de protéger les lacs, les rivières et les cours d’eau du parc national des Lacs-Waterton. La contamination par les moules envahissantes présente une grave menace à l’écologie unique du parc, car elles puisent les éléments nutritifs de l’eau et n’en laissent pas aux espèces indigènes, ce qui a des effets sur l’ensemble du réseau alimentaire et altère la chimie et la qualité de l’eau.

En plus de ses importants effets écologiques, ces moules ont d’énormes incidences économiques de même que d’importantes incidences sur l’expérience des visiteurs, car elles bouchent les structures de prise d’eau, les barrages, les stations de traitement de l'eau, les installations hydroélectriques, les quais, les digues et les bouées, en plus de s’accrocher aux embarcations et aux plages.

Le parc national des Lacs-Waterton comprend les eaux d’amont du bassin de la rivière Saskatchewan Sud. Le risque de contamination par les moules envahissantes en aval de Waterton menace l'immense réseau d'irrigation dont dépend l’importante industrie agricole du sud de l’Alberta, l’infrastructure d’approvisionnement en eau de nombreuses collectivités, dont les villes de Lethbridge et de Medicine Hat, de même que la santé écologique de nombreux secteurs récréatifs.

Selon un rapport de la Pacific Northwest Economic Region publié en 2015, tous les ans, les coûts liés au fait de ne pas empêcher la contamination par les moules dans la région dépasseraient le cap des 500 millions de dollars américains. En Alberta, les coûts potentiels liés à la contamination par les moules pourraient atteindre 75 millions de dollars par année.

Que peuvent faire les gens pour empêcher les moules envahissantes et d’autres EAE de s’étendre?

La prévention joue un rôle essentiel. En plus de faire l’auto-inspection obligatoire avant d’utiliser des embarcations à propulsion humaine ainsi que l’attirail de plongée et de pêche dans les eaux du parc, les gens doivent respecter le programme de nettoyage, de vidage et de séchage de leurs appareils, comme suit :

  • Nettoyer - Nettoyer et inspecter les embarcations, l'attirail et l'équipement (y compris l’attirail de pêche et de PLONGÉE)
  • Vider - Vider les seaux, les lests, les cales, les glacières, les compartiments internes et d’autres contenants susceptibles de contenir de l’eau piégée ou de l’eau stagnante
  • Faire sécher - Faire sécher les embarcations, l’attirail et l'équipement après avoir fini de s’en servir, laisser les compartiments ouverts et éponger l’eau stagnante
Qu’est-ce que Parcs Canada fait d’autre pour protéger Waterton des espèces aquatiques envahissantes (EAE)?

Le personnel de Parcs Canada, les chercheurs externes et les entrepreneurs doivent respecter les pratiques exemplaires de même qu’un protocole de décontamination strict pour leur attirail et leur équipement lorsqu’ils travaillent dans les milieux aquatiques du parc. Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration étroite avec le service des parcs nationaux américains ainsi que le ministère de l’Environnement et des Parcs de l’Alberta pour surveiller la situation des moules envahissantes et d’autres EAE. De plus, Parcs Canada communique de l’information au grand public afin de sensibiliser les gens à ce grave problème et de favoriser la protection de l’environnement aquatique du parc.

Que fait le service des parcs nationaux américains dans le parc Glacier?

Parcs Canada travaille en collaboration étroite avec le service américain des parcs nationaux américains relevant du parc national Glacier pour surveiller la situation des moules envahissantes. Pour un complément d’information, visitez : https://www.nps.gov/glac/planyourvisit/ais.htm (en anglais seulement).

FAQ sur l’auto-inspection
Quels types d’embarcations doivent faire l’objet d’une auto-inspection avant de pouvoir être utilisées dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton?

N’importe quel article qui va dans les eaux du parc, y compris les embarcations à propulsion humaine et la plupart des embarcations propulsées par le vent, l’attirail de pêche, l’attirail de plongée, les embarcations ou objets gonflables et les jouets pour l’eau doivent faire l’objet d’une auto-inspection, notamment :

  • les canots
  • les kayaks
  • les planches à bras
  • les planches aérotractées
  • les planches à voile
  • les bateaux d’aviron
  • les embarcations gonflables
  • l’attirail de pêche (filets, cuissardes, cannes à pêche);
  • l’attirail de plongée
  • les jouets pour l’eau, les embarcations et objets gonflables et les gilets de sauvetage
Comment le système de permis fonctionne-t-il?

Les utilisateurs doivent faire l’auto-inspection obligatoire des embarcations à propulsion humaine avant d’entrer dans les eaux du parc. Le formulaire d'auto-inspection fait office de permis. Les utilisateurs d’embarcations doivent avoir leur permis à la portée de la main en cas d’inspection. Les visiteurs doivent remplir leur permis la première fois qu’ils lancent leur embarcation à propulsion humaine dans le parc, mais ils doivent être conformes aux modalités du permis chaque fois qu’ils lancent leur embarcation par la suite.

Les formulaires d’auto-inspection seront distribués à l’entrée du parc, au Centre d’accueil des visiteurs, au bâtiment des opérations et au bureau des gardes de parc, aux terrains de camping et dans certains endroits du village. Par ailleurs, des postes de distribution de permis seront placés à divers lieux du parc, comme les aires de mise à l'eau et les lieux de navigation de plaisance les plus populaires.

  • Baie Cameron
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne de la baie Emerald
  • Plage Windsurfer
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne Maskinonge
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne Lac Knight’s
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne Hay-Barn
  • Pont de Waterton
  • Stationnement de la cuisine communautaire
  • Lac Cameron
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne Lac Linnet
  • Aire de fréquentation diurne plage Driftwood
  • Marina de Waterton
  • Terrain de camping de la rivière-Belly
  • Pont de la rivière-Belly

Du personnel itinerant de Parcs Canada se tiendra à la disposition des visiteurs pour répondre à leurs questions et les aider à comprendre le processus d’inspection. Puisque le permis constitue une exigence au sens de la loi, les gardes de parc vérifieront si les visiteurs ont bien rempli leur formulaire d'auto-inspection et prendront les mesures qui s'imposent au besoin.

À quoi serviront les renseignements se trouvant sur le permis?

Ces renseignements seront compilés afin de nous aider à déterminer le nombre et le type d’embarcations apportées dans le parc et la provenance de ces embarcations. Ils nous permettront également de quantifier les risques de contamination. Ces données aideront Parcs Canada à prendre des décisions de gestion qui continueront à favoriser la protection du parc national des Lacs-Waterton.

Quels sont les autres avantages du programme de permis et d’auto-inspection?

Le permis d’auto-inspection donne un autre point de contact permettant de communiquer avec les visiteurs qui s’amusent dans l’eau ou sur l’eau. Grâce à ces permis, nous pourrons envoyer des messages au sujet de la menace de contamination par les moules envahissantes, inciter les gens à respecter le programme de nettoyage, vidage et séchage de leurs embarcations, et sensibiliser le grand public aux responsabilités de chacun pour aider à protéger l’environnement aquatique.