Each national park requires a management plan that describes its vision and broad direction. The management planning process takes place every 10 years and involves: assessing the current state of park resources; determining key trends, pressures and opportunities; setting priorities; and seeking input from all Canadians.

Because national parks are dynamic and change over time in response to many factors, a state of the park assessment is the first step in the management planning process. It provides a ‘report card’ on the condition of natural and cultural resources and aspects of Parks Canada’s work in a national park and describes whether the condition shows an improving, declining or stable trend.

Condition ratings are determined through on-going monitoring, surveys and other forms of feedback, gathered since the previous Park Management Plan was approved in 2010. Key indicators are grouped into six main themes: ecological integrity, cultural resources, external relations, Indigenous relations, visitor experience and built assets. Using established thresholds, indicators are rated as: Good, Fair, or Poor

The State of the Park Assessment uses data from a variety of sources, such as ecological monitoring results, visitor surveys, attendance counts, and built asset inspections. A standardized approach allows Parks Canada to compare parks and sites across the Parks Canada network. The following are the results for Waterton Lakes National Park (WLNP).

Ecological Integrity

It is important to note this assessment was conducted prior to a significant wildfire event, Kenow Wildfire, which occurred in WLNP in September 2017, burning approximately 38% of the park area and 50% of the vegetated landscape. The effects this event will have on the ecological integrity of the park is presently unknown.

Five measures were evaluated for each of three important ecosystems to rate their overall condition.

Forest ecosystems Fair

Multi-species mammal occupancy remains relatively high and stable overall while the forest bird community remains in a fair and stable condition. Whitebark and limber pine continue to be decimated by the white pine blister rust fungal disease. Restoration efforts continue. Prior to the Kenow Wildfire, effects of the natural disturbance process of fire on the park’s forests were rated as fair and improving through the prescribed burning program. The wildfire brought the park significantly closer to the burned area objective within the specified time interval and very close to a good rating. The forest ecosystems in WLNP are rated fair.

Grasslands ecosystems Fair

The population of elk, the dominant herbivore in the grassland ecosystem, remains in good and relatively stable condition while grassland birds are in fair condition due to some species and guilds experiencing a decline. Invasive non-native plants continue to be the main stressor affecting the condition of the fescue grasslands. The Kenow Wildfire exceeded the burned area objective within the specified time interval resulting in a fair rating for the grasslands ecosystems.

Freshwater ecosystems Poor

Water quality in the park’s two large rivers, the Waterton and the Belly, remains in good and stable condition. Historic stocking practices, largely with non-native species, have highly altered fish communities in park lakes and streams. Research in WLNP Waterton has shown that stocking of fishless lakes has altered food webs and impacted zooplankton and amphibians. Stream biotic health, a measure of benthic invertebrate communities, is in good condition while amphibian populations remain in good condition with all surveyed species maintaining stable populations. The freshwater ecosystems in WLNP are rated poor.

Cultural Resources Fair

Archeological sites are in fair condition. The 2017 Kenow Wildfire impacted a large portion of the known archaeology by adding 70 new archaeological sites to WLNP’s archaeological inventory (total now at 406 sites). The park contains 19 recognized heritage buildings (e.g. Prince of Wales Hotel and RCMP detachment buildings), with the condition of the buildings ranging in ratings from poor to good condition. No cultural landscapes or landscape features have been formally identified in WLNP.

The archaeological objects for the park comprises over 30,500 artifacts. The majority of the recovered artifacts are currently stored at the Parks Canada Winnipeg office and are stable. Historical objects (non-archaeological) within the park are all catalogued and curated in acceptable repositories and they are considered stable.

External Relations Good

Bringing the parks to Canadians and engaging the public in meaningful ways help create personal connections to the parks and foster support for park management. Social media, events and urban outreach initiatives promote the park. Strategic partnering and volunteer opportunities broaden public support. External relations were essential during the Kenow Wildfire with interest in the park peaking on media, web and social media during and after the Kenow Wildfire. External Relations are rated good.

Indigenous Relations

WLNP is part of the traditional territory and place of significance for various Indigenous peoples. Collaboration takes place with Piikani and Kainai First Nations on a range of projects including the new Visitor Center, interpretive activities and events, and conservation of natural and cultural resources. WLNP remains committed to continued engagement to ensure Indigenous history, culture, and values are shared respectfully, and told authentically, by Indigenous peoples.

Because indicators and measures of the relationship between Parks Canada and Indigenous peoples should be collaboratively determined based on shared understanding and evaluation of what is meaningful to all parties, rating at this stage would be premature.

Visitor Experience Good

Visitation to WLNP increased by 34% from 2011 to 2017 with 536,864 visitors visiting the park annually. Based on Visitor Information Program surveys completed in 2011, enjoyment and satisfaction with visitor’s experiences were rated high however visitor learning scores were lower than expected. Over the past decade there has been a focus on incorporating interpretation and outreach into the conservation and restoration projects in the park to provide more learning opportunities for visitors to the park and beyond.

Since the last management plan, many actions have been undertaken to ensure quality visitor experiences. Examples include: campground washroom replacement, street and sidewalk improvements, additional parking in the townsite and major day use areas, traffic management strategies and additional janitorial staff.

Built Assets Good

WLNP has a total of 517 assets. Significant investments through the Federal Infrastructure Investment (FII) program have resulted in improvements to the built assets in the park, including townsite facilities. Recent projects include the Townsite Street Works, the Marina Sea Wall and the new Visitor Center. Post-Kenow Wildfire reconstruction is still in the planning stages for repair or replacement of several buildings and facilities in the park. Highways are in good condition but the temporary closure of some parkways post Kenow Wildfire lowered the overall road condition rating.

  • Buildings Good
  • Highways Good
  • Roads Good
  • Vehicular bridges Fair
  • Visitor facilities Fair

Key considerations – identified from the State of the Park Assessment

Parks Canada identified the following as key considerations in planning for the future of WLNP.

Kenow Wildfire recovery and monitoring

The fire affected 38% of the park and 50% of its vegetation. Recovery efforts are still underway. The majority of the west side of the park was closed to visitors for the 2018 season. There is significant interest in recovery and monitoring plans resulting in an increased demand for communications with staff, stakeholders, Indigenous groups and the public.

Managing increasing visitation

Prior to the Kenow Wildfire, visitation levels had been increasing significantly creating traffic congestion and parking issues. Visitation levels have rebounded as areas and facilities once closed due to the fire have reopened. It is anticipated that the trend for increasing visitation will continue. Considerations for a long-term approach to manage ongoing congestion in the park and asset sustainability are needed.

Invasive species

Invasive non-native plants continue to be the main stressor affecting the condition of the fescue grasslands in WLNP. Even with restoration efforts, whitebark and limber pine continue to be decimated by the white pine blister rust fungal disease. In many locations the presence of non-native fish is jeopardizing the status of native fish populations through hybridization and competition. The stocking of fishless lakes has altered food webs and impacted zooplankton and amphibians.

Indigenous relations and cultural Integrity

Relationships continue to develop with Indigenous partners. Parks Canada will continue its efforts to work closely with the Blackfoot Confederacy, particularly Kainai and Piikani First Nations, related to Indigenous traditional knowledge, traditional use and interpretive programming that provide opportunities for visitors to learn about Blackfoot culture, history, and connection to WLNP.

As a result of the Kenow Wildfire, new archaeological sites were added and known extent of the remaining archaeological sites within the burn zone were expanded. Subsequently, there will be enhanced interest for programming and conservation of cultural resources.

Chaque parc national doit se doter d’un plan directeur qui décrit sa vision et son orientation générale. Ce plan doit être revu tous les dix ans, et le processus d’élaboration comporte les étapes suivantes : évaluation de l’état actuel des ressources du parc; détermination des tendances, des pressions et des possibilités; choix des priorités, et consultation de la population.

Comme les parcs nationaux évoluent avec le temps en réponse à de nombreux facteurs, l’évaluation de l’état du parc représente la première étape du processus d’élaboration du plan directeur. Cette évaluation est en quelque sorte un « bulletin de notes » sur l’état de ressources naturelles et culturelles particulières et sur certains aspects du travail de Parcs Canada. Elle précise si cet état s’améliore, s’aggrave ou reste stable.

Les cotes d’état sont déterminées à la lumière de données de surveillance continue, de résultats de sondages et d’autres formes de rétroaction obtenus depuis l’approbation du dernier plan directeur du parc, en l’occurrence en 2010. Les indicateurs clés sont regroupés sous six thèmes : l’intégrité écologique, les ressources culturelles, les relations externes, les relations avec les Autochtones, l’expérience du visiteur et les biens bâtis. À l’aide de seuils établis, on attribue aux indicateurs l’une des cotes suivantes : Bon, Passable, or Médiocre

Pour évaluer l’état du parc, Parcs Canada se sert de données provenant d’une gamme variée de sources, telles que les données de surveillance écologique, les résultats de sondages auprès des visiteurs, les relevés d’affluence et les inspections des biens bâtis. En adoptant une approche normalisée, il peut comparer les différents parcs et lieux historiques de son réseau. Voici les résultats obtenus pour le parc national des Lacs-Waterton (PNLW).

Intégrité écologique

Il est important de noter que cette évaluation a été effectuée avant un feu important (feu de Kenow), survenu dans le PNLW en septembre 2017, lequel a brûlé environ 38 % du parc et 50 % de la végétation. On ne connaît pas encore les répercussions de ce feu sur l’intégrité écologique du parc.

Cinq mesures ont été évaluées pour chacun des trois écosystèmes importants afin de déterminer leur état dans l’ensemble.

Forêt Passable

L’occupation de plusieurs espèces de mammifères reste relativement élevée et stable dans l’ensemble, alors que l’état de la communauté d’oiseaux forestiers reste passable et stable. Le pin à écorce blanche et le pin souple restent décimés par la maladie fongique appelée la rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc. Les efforts de rétablissement se poursuivent. Avant le feu de Kenow, les répercussions du phénomène de perturbation naturel du feu sur les forêts du parc étaient jugées passables et en voie d’amélioration grâce au programme de brûlages dirigés. Le feu de Kenow a grandement rapproché le parc de son objectif de zone brûlée dans les limites de temps établies, et l’indicateur est très près de bon. L’état des écosystèmes forestiers du PNLW est jugé passable.

Prairie Passable

L’état de la population de wapitis, l’herbivore dominant de l’écosystème de la prairie, reste bon et relativement stable, tandis que l’état des oiseaux de la prairie est passable en raison d’un déclin de certaines espèces et guildes. Les plantes exotiques envahissantes continuent d’être le facteur de stress principal pour l’état des praires de fétuque. Le feu de Kenow a dépassé l’objectif de zone brûlée dans les limites de temps établies et l’indicateur est passable pour l’écosystème des prairies.

Eau douce Médiocre

La qualité de l’eau dans les deux grandes rivières du parc, la Waterton et la Belly, reste bonne et stable. Les pratiques d’empoissonnement historiques, surtout de poissons non indigènes, ont grandement modifié les communautés halieutiques dans les lacs et les cours d’eau du parc. Les recherches menées dans le PNLW ont indiqué que l’empoissonnement des lacs sans poissons a modifié les réseaux trophiques et touché le zooplancton et les amphibiens. L’état de santé biotique des cours d’eau, une mesure des communautés d’invertébrés benthiques, est bon. Les populations d’amphibiens restent en bon état, et toutes celles des espèces ayant fait l’objet de relevés restent stables. L’état des écosystèmes d’eau douce dans le PNLW est jugé médiocre.

Ressources culturelles Passable

L’état des sites archéologiques est passable. Le feu de Kenow en 2017 a eu une forte incidence sur l’archéologie en ajoutant 70 nouveaux sites à la liste des sites connus, portant ainsi le total actuel à 406. Le parc compte 19 bâtiments reconnus comme étant des édifices patrimoniaux (p. ex. l’hôtel Prince of Wales et le bâtiment de la GRC). L’état des édifices, tels qu’évalués dans le cadre de l’examen national des biens, a été jugé médiocre à bon. Aucun paysage ou caractéristique de paysage n’a été déterminé officiellement dans le PNLW.

Les objets archéologiques du parc comptent plus de 30 500 artefacts. La plupart des artefacts récupérés sont actuellement entreposés au bureau de Parcs Canada à Winnipeg et leur état est stable. Les objets historiques (non archéologiques) dans le parc sont catalogués et conservés dans des réserves acceptables. Leur état est considéré comme étant stable.

Relations externes Bon

Présenter les parcs aux Canadiens et mobiliser le public de manière intéressante aide à créer les liens personnels avec les parcs et favorise le soutien de la gestion du parc. Les médias sociaux, les activités et les initiatives de diffusion externe dans les régions urbaines aident à promouvoir le parc. Les partenariats stratégiques et les occasions de bénévolat aident à élargir le soutien du public. Les relations externes étaient essentielles durant le feu de Kenow. Le parc a fait l’objet d’un grand intérêt pour le parc dans les médias, sur Internet et dans les médias sociaux durant et après le feu de Kenow. L’état des relations externes est bon.

Relations avec les Autochtones

Le PNLW fait partie du territoire traditionnel de divers peuples autochtones et représente pour eux un endroit important. Le parc collabore avec les Premières Nations Piikani et Kainai dans le cadre d’un éventail de projets, dont le nouveau centre d’accueil, des activités d’interprétation et la conservation des ressources naturelles et culturelles. Le PNLW reste déterminé à maintenir cet engagement pour s’assurer que l’histoire, la culture et les valeurs autochtones sont partagées de manière respectueuse et authentique par les peuples autochtones.

Comme les indicateurs et les paramètres des relations entre Parcs Canada et les Autochtones devraient être déterminés de manière collaborative en se fondant sur une compréhension et une évaluation communes de ce qui est important pour les deux parties, il serait prématuré de fournir des cotes.

Expérience du visiteur Bon

Le nombre de visiteurs du PNLW a augmenté de 34 % entre 2011 et 2017, et le parc accueille 536 864 visiteurs par année. En se fondant sur les sondages menés dans le cadre du Programme d’information sur les visiteurs en 2011, la cote d’appréciation et de satisfaction des visiteurs était élevée, mais la cote d’apprentissage des visiteurs était plus faible que prévu. On met l’accent depuis 10 ans sur l’intégration des projets de conservation et de rétablissement dans le parc pour offrir davantage d’occasions d’apprentissage.

Depuis le dernier plan directeur, de nombreuses mesures ont été prises pour assurer la qualité de l’expérience du visiteur, par exemple le remplacement des toilettes du terrain de camping, l’amélioration des rues et des trottoirs, l’ajout de places de stationnement dans le lotissement urbain et les principales aires de fréquentation diurne, des stratégies de gestion de la circulation et l’ajout de personnel d’entretien.

Biens bâtis Bon

Le PNLW compte 517 biens. Des investissements importants effectués dans le cadre de l’initiative d’infrastructure fédérale ont permis d’améliorer les biens bâtis dans le parc, notamment les installations du lotissement urbain. Les projets récents sont les travaux des rues du lotissement urbain, l’ouvrage de protection de la marina et le nouveau centre d’accueil. La reconstruction après le feu de Kenow en est encore à l’étape de planification des réparations ou du remplacement de plusieurs bâtiments et installations dans le parc. Les autoroutes sont en bon état mais la fermeture temporaire de certaines promenades après le feu de Kenow a fait baisser la cote d’ensemble de l’état des routes.

  • Bâtiments Bon
  • Routes Bon
  • Chemins Bon
  • Ponts routiers Passable
  • Installations pour visiteurs Passable

Enjeux clés cernés à partir de l’évaluation de l’état du parc

Parcs Canada a cerné les enjeux clés suivants pour la planification de l’avenir du PNLW.

Rétablissement et surveillance – feu de Kenow

Le feu a touché 38 % du parc et 50 % de sa végétation. Les travaux de rétablissement se poursuivent. La plus grande partie du secteur occidental du parc était fermée aux visiteurs pendant la saison de 2018. On s’intéresse de près à des plans de rétablissement et de surveillance donnant lieu à une demande accrue de communication avec le personnel, les intervenants, les groupes autochtones et le public.

Gestion de l’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs

Avant le feu de Kenow en 2017, le nombre de visiteurs avait augmenté de manière significative, créant de la congestion et des problèmes de stationnement. Les visites ont augmenté de nouveau depuis que certains secteurs et installations fermés en raison du feu ont rouvert. On s’attend à ce que la tendance de l’augmentation des visites se poursuive. Il est nécessaire d’examiner une approche à long terme pour gérer la congestion dans le parc et assurer la durabilité des biens.

Espèces envahissantes

Les plantes exotiques envahissantes restent le principal facteur de stress pour l’état des prairies de fétuque dans le PNLW. En dépit des efforts de rétablissement, les populations de pin à écorce blanche et de pin souple continuent d’être décimées par la maladie fongique appelée la rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc. À bien des endroits, la présence de poissons non indigènes met en danger l’état des populations indigènes en raison de l’hybridation et de la concurrence. L’empoissonnement des lacs sans poissons a modifié les réseaux trophiques et touché le zooplancton et les amphibiens.

Relations avec les Autochtones et intégrité culturelle

Les relations continuent de se développer avec les partenaires autochtones. Parcs Canada continuera de déployer des efforts pour travailler de près avec les Pieds-Noirs, et particulièrement avec les Premières Nations Kainai et Piikanai, en rapport avec le savoir traditionnel, l’utilisation traditionnelle et les programmes d’interprétation qui offrent aux visiteurs l’occasion de se renseigner au sujet de la culture et de l’histoire des Pieds-Noirs, et des liens que ces derniers entretiennent avec le PNLW.

Suivant le feu de Kenow, on a ajouté de nouveaux sites archéologiques et élargi l’étendue connue des sites restants dans la zone brûlée. Il y aura donc un intérêt accru pour les programmes et la conservation des ressources culturelles.