Explore the great outdoors in Waterton Lakes National Park. Whatever the weather, there’s something for everyone in the winter months.

Wildlife watching

Bighorn rams are easily recognized by their large curved horns.

Bighorn sheep and deer are a common sight in the community of Waterton over the winter months. The Blakiston fan is a great place to park your vehicle and watch for elk. Discover animal tracks and who they belong to by exploring Red Rock Parkway. Remember - these are wild animals, so make sure to give them lots of space.

Winter stargazing

Waterton Lakes National Park and Glacier National Park (USA) are an International Dark Sky Park.

Constellations like Orion and the Big Dipper are easy to spot in the clear night skies. Get comfortable and watch the Milky Way appear from Bison Overlook or Cameron Bay. Bundle up, grab your binoculars or telescope and bring your star chart to experience our International Dark Sky Park at its very best.

Spend the night 

Pass Creek picnic site offers a sheltered winter campground.

Don’t let winter kill your camping buzz! Set up camp at Pass Creek Day Use Area and make some s’mores around the campfire. Bring your friends and spend the night to get an early start on the day’s adventures. 

Cycling

Fat bikes have oversized rims and tires - perfect for snowy conditions!

Calling all fat bike enthusiasts! BYOB (Bring Your Own Bike) and pedal along the Townsite Loop or Wishbone Trail. If you’re up for a bigger adventure, spend the day on Red Rock Parkway and head to Crandell Lake or Snowshoe Trail.

Snowshoeing

Always check trail and weather conditions before heading out for the day.

Strap on your snowshoes and trek up the Akamina and Red Rock Parkways, Horseshoe Basin or Wishbone Trail this winter. Some of the popular places to snowshoe are classified with Avalanche Terrain Ratingscheck our Avalanche Bulletin before heading out. Snowshoes are available to rent in the community. Stop by our Parks Canada Visitor Centre on Fountain Avenue for all the details.

Weather watching

Our park is known to have wind, rain, snow and sun, often all in one day.

Our weather is legendary! Record-breaking snowfalls, powerful chinook winds and clear sunny days are all part of southern Alberta’s winters. The Prince of Wales hill and lakeshore in the community both offer great viewpoints of the weather rolling in across Upper Waterton Lake. 

Cross-country skiing 

Cross-country skiing is popular on track set and backcountry areas of the park.

Kick and glide your way through our winter wonderland. Parks Canada will be grooming trails and road this year as resources and weather allows. Potential options include Akamina Parkway, Wishbone Trail and Chief Mountain Highway (after Jan. 4, 2020). Groomed trails will be posted on the Trail Conditions page.

Many of the places to ski are in avalanche territory, check the Avalanche Bulletin regularly. Before heading out, ensure you have proper equipment and training for the conditions and terrain you plan to visit. Skis, boots and poles are available for rent in the townsite.

Volunteering

There may be fewer birds around in winter, but with no leaves on the trees, they’re easier to see!

Volunteer for the 43rd Christmas Bird Count and join other bird nerds to count the many species that call Waterton Lakes National Park home, and the ones just passing through! Take a look at our other volunteer opportunities in the coming year to find something perfect for yourself or a group.

Visit the Peace Park Plaza

The Peace Park Plaza, with new pathways, exhibits and interpretive nodes, opened in 2018.

Explore Waterton’s waterfront and celebrate the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the world’s first international peace park. This is a great location to photograph the Prince of Wales Hotel National Historic Site.

Winter photography

Head up Chief Mountain Highway for a unique perspective of our landscapes.

The clear winter air makes every direction in the park picture-perfect. Snowy peaks paired with late sunrises and early sunsets are too good to resist! Head to any of our red chairs for a photo that will make all your Instagram followers jealous. Capture the wild waves of Upper Waterton Lake, looking south to the United States, or seek shelter in Emerald Bay for mirror-like reflections.

Explorez notre magnifique parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Peu importe le temps, il y a des activités pour tous durant les mois d’hiver.

Observation de la faune

On reconnaît facilement les mâles du mouflon d’Amérique à leurs grandes cornes recourbées.

On voit couramment des mouflons d’Amérique et des cerfs dans le village de Waterton l’hiver. Le cône Blakiston est un excellent endroit pour stationner votre voiture et être à l’affût des cerfs. Découvrez des empreintes d’animaux et déterminez à quel type d’animal elles correspondent en parcourant la promenade Red Rock. N’oubliez pas : ces animaux sont sauvages; donnez-leur beaucoup d’espace.

Observation des étoiles l’hiver

Le parc national des Lacs-Waterton et le parc national Glacier (aux É.-U.) forment ensemble une réserve de ciel étoilé internationale.

Les constellations comme Orion et la Grande Ourse sont faciles à trouver dans le ciel dégagé. Mettez-vous à l’aise et regardez la Voie lactée faire son apparition depuis le belvédère des bisons ou la baie Cameron. Emmitouflez-vous, emportez vos jumelles ou votre télescope et une carte du ciel pour vraiment faire l’expérience de notre réserve de ciel étoilé internationale.

Passez la nuit  

L’aire de pique-nique du ruisseau Pass comporte un terrain de camping hivernal abrité.

Ne laissez pas l’hiver vous empêcher de camper! Montez votre tente à l’aire de fréquentation diurne du ruisseau Pass et faites des s’mores dans votre feu de camp. Amenez des amis et passez la nuit pour partir à l’aventure de bonne heure le lendemain. 

Vélo

Les vélos à pneus surdimensionnés sont parfaits pour la neige!

Appel à tous les amateurs de vélos à pneus surdimensionnés! Pédalez sur la boucle du village ou le sentier Wishbone. Si vous êtes prêt à vivre une plus grande aventure, passez la journée sur la promenade Red Rock et rendez-vous au lac Crandell ou sur le sentier Snowshoe.

Raquette

Vérifiez toujours les conditions météorologiques et l’état des sentiers avant de partir pour la journée.

Mettez vos raquettes et parcourez la promenade Akamina ou Red Rock, ou le sentier du bassin Horseshoe ou Wishbone cet hiver. Certains des endroits prisés pour la raquette sont classés selon la cote de terrain avalancheux. Consultez notre bulletin d’avalanche avant de partir. Vous pouvez louer des raquettes au village. Passez au centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada sur l’avenue Fountain pour tous les détails.

Observation des phénomènes météorologiques

Notre parc est connu pour avoir du vent, de la pluie, de la neige et du soleil, souvent au cours de la même journée.

Notre temps est légendaire! Chutes de neige records, vent chinook puissant et journées ensoleillées font tous partie de l’hiver dans le sud de l’Alberta. La colline Prince of Wales et le bord du lac dans le village offrent d’excellents points de vue pour observer les phénomènes météorologiques faisant leur apparition au-dessus du lac Waterton Supérieur. 

Ski de fond

Le ski de fond est populaire sur les pistes tracées et dans l’arrière-pays du parc.

Glissez sur les pistes de notre pays des merveilles hivernal. Parcs Canada damera les pistes et les routes cet hiver si les ressources et le temps le permettent, notamment la promenade Akamina, le sentier Wishbone et la route du mont-Chief (après le 4 janvier 2020). Le nom des pistes damées sera affiché à la page de l’état des sentiers.

Un grand nombre des endroits où skier se trouvent en terrain avalancheux. Vérifiez régulièrement le bulletin d’avalanche. Avant de partir, assurez-vous d’avoir le bon équipement et la formation voulue pour faire face aux conditions et au terrain visés. On peut louer des skis, des bottes et des bâtons au village.

Bénévolat

Il y a peut-être moins d’oiseaux l’hiver, mais on les voit plus facilement puisqu’il n’y a plus de feuilles sur les arbres!

Participez au 43e dénombrement des oiseaux de Noël et joignez-vous à d’autres amateurs d’oiseaux pour dénombrer les nombreuses espèces du parc national des Lacs-Waterton, ainsi que celles qui ne font que passer! Prenez connaissance de nos autres occasions de bénévolat durant l’année à venir afin de trouver quelque chose qui vous convient parfaitement, à vous ou un groupe.

Visitez la place du Parc de la paix

La place du Parc de la paix, qui compte de nouvelles allées, expositions et composantes d’interprétation, a ouvert ses portes en 2018.

Explorez le bord du lac à Waterton et célébrez le parc international de la paix Waterton-Glacier, un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et le premier parc international de la paix au monde. C’est un excellent endroit d’où photographier le lieu historique national de l’Hôtel-Prince of Wales.

Photographie hivernale

Parcourez la route du mont-Chief pour voir nos paysages d’un point de vue unique.

Grâce au bon air hivernal, les photos sont parfaites dans toutes les directions dans le parc. Les cimes enneigées jumelées aux levers de soleil tardifs ou aux couchers de soleil hâtifs sont trop belles! Qui peut y résister? Prenez des photos dans nos chaises rouges et vos abonnés sur Instagram seront jaloux. Saisissez les vagues sauvages du lac Waterton Supérieur, en direction des États-Unis, ou cherchez refuge dans la baie Emerald pour admirer des réflexions ressemblant à un miroir.