There's lots to enjoy in Waterton Lakes National Park during this colourful time of year. Head out on the trails, take to the water, watch wildlife or enjoy an interpretive program.

Here is our list of top 10 things to do in the park this fall.

Go kayaking on Lower Waterton Lake

The clear, clean waters of Lower Waterton Lake, located near the park gates

Get a new perspective of the park from the waters of Lower Waterton Lake, the smallest and northernmost of the Waterton lakes chain. Launch your kayak or canoe from Knight’s Day Use Area and explore the shorelines and neighbouring wetlands. Remember to Clean, drain and dry your watercraft, and be prepared for cooler water temperatures.

Hike to Bertha viewpoint - and beyond!

Bertha Lake is surrounded by a walking path below magnificent peaks and cliffs

Take a short (1.5 km) hike on the Bertha Trail from Waterton townsite to a viewpoint overlooking Upper Waterton Lake. After taking in the view, follow the trail to Bertha Falls, a cascading “bridal veil” waterfall. From there you can continue up to Bertha Lake. The lake is surrounded by a walking path below magnificent peaks and cliffs.

Watch and photograph wildlife

Only mature rams have massive curved horns

Calling all photography enthusiasts! Fall is an excellent time for wildlife photography in Waterton Lakes National Park. Bring your telephoto lens and capture some prize-winning shots! Bighorn sheep, deer, bears, elk and birds are out and about at this time of year. Early and late in the day is usually the best time for photography and nature watching. Give wildlife plenty of space.

See the great fall migration

Hundreds of swans, geese and ducks can be seen in Waterton in fall

Birds are the ultimate seasonal tourists in Waterton Lakes National Park! Hundreds of swans, geese and ducks all make migratory stops in late fall at the Maskinonge and other water bodies. Bring a spotting scope or binoculars to get a close look at the birds without disturbing them.

Explore the park on two wheels

Cycling is a great way to explore the park in fall

Bike the Kootenai Brown Trail, a multi-use pathway that provides a link for non-motorized travellers from the townsite to facilities in the Waterton Valley. Head up the Red Rock Parkway and enjoy the scenery. If you make it to Red Rock Canyon (14.1 km), carry on to the Snowshoe Trail, a fire road suitable for cycling.

Get starstruck!

Waterton Lakes National Park and Glacier National Park (USA) are recognized as an International Dark Sky Park

Get away from the city lights and spend some time under the stars of the Waterton-Glacier International Dark Sky Park. Cozy up as the sun goes down and watch the night sky appear. See the Milky Way, planets and maybe even a meteor or two! Bison Overlook, Cameron Bay and pullouts on the Entrance Parkway and Chief Mountain Highway are good stargazing destinations.

Watch the elk rut

Bulls grow a new set of antlers each spring and then cast them the following winter

Autumn is mating season for elk. Watch these ungulates congregate on the Blakiston Fan and listen for their bugling to attract cows (females). Males can be aggressive during fall mating season so watch from a safe distance (30 metres, or 3 bus lengths, away). Elk are one of the many animal species that move about freely with in the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park, crossing back and forth over the Canada-USA boundary, as well as onto lands outside the park.

Hiking season is not over yet!

Fall hiking in the Rocky Mountains offers crisp fresh air and beautiful colours

What better way to spend a fall day than to get outside and take a hike in Waterton Lakes National Park. Fall brings crisp, fresh air, changing colours and no mosquitos - perfect for hiking! During fall, Waterton’s larch and aspen groves turn brilliant shades of yellow and gold. Hikers are rewarded with quiet trails and sublime subalpine scenery. Horseshoe and Wishbone are popular trails for fall hiking.

Hold onto your hat!

Wind is a noticeable and important element of the park's climate

Watch the full fury of a Waterton wind along the lakeshore in the townsite or Prince of Wales hill. Wind gusts of over 100 km/hr (60 mph) are common in the park in fall and winter. You can always seek shelter at Linnet Lake or the Community Kitchen day use areas and enjoy a cozy autumn picnic.

Interpretive programs and events

Come explore with our interpreters

Join our fantastic interpretive team this fall for bird walks, guided hikes (including night hikes), discovery tables and other opportunities to learn about Waterton Lakes National Park. Don’t forget about the Waterton Wildlife Weekend (September 19-22), which includes hikes, talks and hands-on activities.

Le parc national des Lacs-Waterton a beaucoup à offrir pendant ce temps-ci de l’année. Partez en randonnée, allez sur l’eau, observez la faune ou assistez à un programme d’interprétation.

Voici une liste des 10 meilleures choses à faire dans le parc cet automne.

Faites du kayak sur le lac Waterton Inférieur

Les eaux propres et limpides du lac Waterton Inférieur, situé près de la barrière du parc

Obtenez une nouvelle perspective du parc depuis le lac Waterton Inférieur, le plus petit lac et le plus au nord de la chaîne des lacs Waterton. Mettez votre kayak ou votre canot à l’eau à l’aire d’utilisation diurne Knight’s Day et explorez les rivages et les zones humides environnantes. N’oubliez pas de nettoyer, vider et faire sécher (en anglais seulement) votre embarcation et attendez-vous à ce que l’eau soit plus froide.

Faites une randonnée jusqu’au belvédère Bertha ou au-delà!

Un petit sentier ceinture ce lac entouré de magnifiques sommets et falaises

Faites une courte randonnée (1,5 km) sur le sentier Bertha, du village de Waterton jusqu’à un belvédère surplombant le lac Waterton Supérieur. Admirez le paysage puis suivez la piste jusqu’aux chutes Bertha, un « voile de la mariée » cascadant parmi les roches. Vous pouvez aussi poursuivre votre chemin jusqu’au lac Bertha, bordé d’un sentier pédestre entouré de magnifiques pics et falaises.

Observez et photographiez la faune

Seuls les mâles adultes ont des cornes massives en forme de volute

Attention passionnés de la photographie! L’automne est le temps idéal pour photographier la faune au parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Apportez votre téléobjectif et prenez des photos hors du commun! Mouflons d’Amérique, cerfs, ours, wapitis et oiseaux parcourent le parc à ce temps-ci de l’année. Le meilleur moment pour photographier ou observer le paysage est tôt le matin ou tard dans la journée. Laissez suffisamment de place aux animaux sauvages.

Observez la grande migration automnale

À l’automne, on peut voir des centaines de cygnes, d’oies et de canards à Waterton

Les oiseaux sont les derniers touristes saisonniers dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Des centaines de cygnes, oies et canards migrateurs font escale au Maskinonge ou dans d’autres plans d’eaux. Apportez une longue-vue ou des jumelles pour observer les oiseaux de près sans les déranger.

Explorez le parc sur deux roues

Le vélo est un excellent moyen d’explorer le parc à l’automne

Faites du vélo sur le sentier Kootenay Brown, une piste polyvalente pour les visiteurs non motorisés qui fait le lien entre le village et les installations de la vallée Waterton. Empruntez la promenade Red Rock et admirez le paysage. Si vous vous rendez jusqu’au canyon Red Rock (14,1 km), poursuivez votre chemin jusqu’au sentier Snowshoe, un chemin forestier qui convient au cyclisme.

Laissez-vous éblouir par les étoiles!

Le parc national des Lacs-Waterton et le parc national Glacier (aux États-Unis) sont reconnus comme un parc international de ciel étoilé

Éloignez-vous des lumières de la ville et passez du temps sous les étoiles du parc international étoilé Waterton-Glacier. Installez-vous confortablement au coucher du soleil et assistez à l’arrivée de la nuit. Observez la Voie lactée, les planètes et peut-être un météore ou deux! Le belvédère de l’enclos des bisons, la baie Cameron et les haltes routières le long de la route de l’entrée et du Mont-Chief se prêtent bien à l’observation des étoiles.

Observez le rut des wapitis

Les mâles ont des bois qui poussent chaque printemps; ils les perdent à l’hiver suivant

L’automne est la saison d’accouplement pour les wapitis. Observez ces ongulés qui se rassemblent dans le cône de Blakiston et écoutez-les bramer pour attirer les femelles. Ces animaux peuvent être agressifs pendant cette période et il faut les observer à bonne distance (30 mètres ou longueur de trois autocars). Les wapitis font partie des nombreuses espèces animales qui se déplacent librement dans le parc international de la Paix Waterton-Glacier d’un côté ou de l’autre de la frontière canado-américaine, ou sur les terres à l’extérieur du parc.

La saison de randonnée n’est pas encore terminée!

En randonnée dans les Rocheuses à l’automne, l’air est vif et frais et les couleurs sont magnifiques

Il n’y a pas de meilleure façon de passer une journée d’automne que de sortir et faire une randonnée dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton. L’air est frais et vivifiant, les couleurs se manifestent et les moustiques sont absents – un temps idéal pour la randonnée! À l’automne, les mélèzes et les trembles revêtent différents tons de jaune et d’or. Les sentiers sont tranquilles et le paysage subalpin est sublime. Les sentiers Horseshoe et Wishbone sont des sentiers de randonnée prisés à l’automne.

Tenez votre chapeau!

Le vent est un élément remarquable du climat du parc

Observez la fureur du vent à Waterton le long de la rive dans le village ou sur la colline Prince-of-Whales. Les rafales de vent de plus de 100 km/h sont courantes dans le parc à l’automne et à l’hiver. Vous pouvez vous abriter du vent au lac Linnet ou dans les aires de cuisine communautaire, et faire un pique-nique automnal.

Activités et programmes d’interprétation

Venez explorer avec nos interprètes

Cet automne, joignez-vous à notre fantastique équipe d’interprétation et participez à des promenades d’observation des oiseaux et des randonnées guidées (y compris des randonnées le soir). Prenez connaissance de nos tables de découverte et saisissez d’autres occasions de découvrir le parc national des Lacs-Waterton. N’oubliez pas la fin de semaine de la faune (19 au 22 septembre), qui propose des randonnées, des causeries et des activités pratiques.