Around town

Alderson-Carthew

(access to Alderson Lake, Carthew Lakes, the Summit, Summit Lake)

Length: 20.1 km / 12.5 mi (one way).
Time: 8 hours (one way).
Level of difficulty: Difficult.
Elevation gain: 1,023 m / 3,356 ft.
Trailhead: Next to Cameron Falls.

A steady climb from Cameron Falls in Waterton townsite to Alderson Lake below the towering cliffs of Mount Alderson, then ascend steep switchbacks to alternating shale and shrubs surrounding the Carthew Lakes. A steady climb gives way to steeper trail along the slope leading to the Summit, where you can gaze back at the Carthew Lakes and out to the Waterton Valley and prairie in the distance. Switchbacks lead down to Summit Lake and onwards to the trail’s end, complete with stunning views of Cameron Lake. You can access the Boundary Creek trail at Summit Lake.

Stay at one of our backcountry campgrounds (don't forget to make a reservation).

Bertha

Note: Bridge out on Bertha Trail

Length: 5.2 km/3.2 mi. to falls (return); 10.4 km/6.4 mi. to lake (return).
Time: 4.5 hours (return).
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 460 m / 1509 ft.
Trailhead: Parking lot on Evergreen South, 350 metres south of Cameron Falls.

There are several options on this hike. It starts with a moderate climb from Waterton townsite to a viewpoint overlooking Upper Waterton Lake. From there you can choose to head south along the lake to Bertha Bay, Boundary Bay and into Glacier National Park in the U.S. (Lakeshore Trail). Another option is to follow the creek to Lower Bertha Falls. From there you can continue up steep switchbacks, past brief views of Upper Bertha Falls and on to Bertha Lake. The lake is surrounded by a walking path below magnificent peaks and cliffs.

Stay at one of our backcountry campgrounds (don't forget to make a reservation).

Lakeshore

Length: 13 km / 8 mi (one way).
Time: 4 hours.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 125 m / 410 ft.
Trailhead: Parking lot on Evergreen south, 350 metres south of Cameron Falls.

Starts at Bertha trailhead in Waterton townsite and climbs moderately to a viewpoint overlooking Upper Waterton Lake. From there you head south along Upper Waterton Lake to Bertha Bay, Boundary Bay and into Glacier National Park in the United States. The Lakeshore trail is closed at the U.S. border

Requires a return boat trip from Goat Haunt or return hike. You can access the Boundary Creek trail at Boundary Bay.

Stay at one of our backcountry campgrounds (don't forget to make a reservation).

Crypt

Length: 17.2 km / 10.7 mi (return).
Time: 6 hours.
Level of difficulty: Difficult.
Elevation gain: 675 m / 2214 ft.
Trailhead: Fifteen-minute boat ride across Upper Waterton Lake brings you to the trailhead at Crypt Landing. A much longer way to access the trail involves hiking/biking 14 km of the Wishbone trail.

Be prepared for a varied all day hike with spectacular mountain views, several waterfalls, climbs along steep slopes, and a tight tunnel opening onto a narrow ledge above a cliff. A 20-minute side trip off the main trail provides views of Hell Roaring Falls and a steep canyon below. This hike requires a boat shuttle to and from the trailhead. Please contact Waterton Shoreline Cruise Co. for shuttle schedule and availability, particularly during spring and fall.

Akamina Parkway

Akamina Pass

(access to Wall Lake and Forum Lake)

Length: 3 km / 1.9 mi.
Time: 1 hour.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 123 m / 404 ft.
Trailhead: 14 km along the Akamina Parkway, on the right if driving from town.

Akamina Pass is a wide trail with steep sections which leads to the boundary of British Columbia and Akamina-Kishinena Provincial Park. Continuing into the provincial park gives access to Wall and Forum lakes, each surrounded by their own set of sheer rock walls. A short side trip from the Forum Lake trail will lead you to Forum Falls.

Lineham

Length: 8.4 km / 5.2 mi (return).
Time: 3 hours.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 350 m / 1148 ft.
Trailhead: 9 km along the Akamina Parkway, on the right if driving from town.

Steady uphill hike to a viewpoint below a stunning 250-metre high waterfall. Excellent views of Mount Lineham and Mount Blakiston, the highest peak in the park.

Lower Rowe Lake

(access to Tamarack)

Length: 8 km / 5 mi (return).
Time: 3 hours.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 350 m / 1148 ft.
Trailhead: 10.5 km along the Akamina Parkway, on the right if driving from town.

The trail starts along Rowe Creek as it tumbles over mossy ledges and bright red argillite rocks. Walk through forests and along open slopes to a junction and short path off the main trail to Lower Rowe Lake.

Upper Rowe Lake

(access to Tamarack)

Length: 12.8 km / 8 mi (return).
Time: 5 hours.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 575 m / 1886 ft.
Trailhead: 10.5 km along the Akamina Parkway, on the right if driving from town.

Continue from the junction to the wildflowers and stream at Rowe Meadow and then up steep switchbacks to Upper Rowe Lakes. At Rowe Meadow another set of steep switchbacks leads north onto the ridge above the sparkling chain of Lineham Lakes and beyond, to Lone Lake, the Blakiston Valley, Twin Lakes and a long trek to Snowshoe and Red Rock Canyon.

Carthew-Alderson

(access to Summit Lake, the Summit, Carthew Lakes, Alderson Lake)

Length: 20.1 km / 12.5 mi (one way).
Time: 8 hours.
Level of difficulty: Difficult.
Elevation gain: 650 m / 2132 ft.
Trailhead: Cameron Lake - on the left when facing the lake.

Starting at Cameron Lake, a series of switchbacks lessen the grade to reach Summit Lake, where the trail levels off for a time to once again switchback to the Summit. Here there are spectacular views of the Carthew Lakes, the Waterton Valley and prairies in the distance. The trail descends along a scree slope to the scree and shrubs along Carthew Lakes, then down steeper terrain to Alderson Lake nestled among the tall cliffs of Mount Alderson. From there it is a steady descent to Cameron Falls in the Townsite. You can access the Boundary Creek trail at Summit Lake.

Stay at one of our backcountry campgrounds (don't forget to make a reservation).

Boundary Creek

Length: 14.6 km / 9 mi (one way).
Time: 4 hours (one way).
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 600 m / 1,968 ft.
Trailhead: North: Joins the Carthew-Alderson trail at Summit Lake. South: Joins the Lakeshore Trail at Boundary Bay.

Trail goes from Summit Lake (on Carthew-Alderson Trail) to Lakeshore trail, joining at Boundary Bay. Crosses the Canada-USA border. The Boundary Creek trail is closed at the U.S. border

Stay at one of our backcountry campgrounds (don't forget to make a reservation).

Red Rock Parkway

Snowshoe

Note: Bridges out on Snowshoe Trail

(access to Goat Lake, Lost Lake, Twin Lakes, Castle Divide, Avion Ridge, Lone Lake, Sage Pass)

Length: 16.4 km / 10.2 mi (return).
Time: 5 hours.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 150 m / 492 ft.
Trailhead: At Red Rock Canyon upper parking lot, cross the bridge over Red Rock Creek and continue straight.

Formerly a fire road, this trail is suitable for cycling, horseback riding or hiking. Along Snowshoe trail is a junction with the steep path climbing to Goat Lake and one of two access points to bright red Avion Ridge. At Snowshoe backcountry campground there are further hiking options. A short uphill climb will take you to secluded Lost Lake or to Castle Divide at the edge of Castle Wildland Provincial Park (Alberta Parks) and on to Castle Provincial Park (Alberta Parks). This is also the second access point to Avion Ridge. Another trail leading from Snowshoe heads toward Twin Lakes, the Blakiston Valley Trail, Lone Lake and beyond to the Tamarack Trail and Rowe Lakes. Routes to Sage Pass and South Kootenay Pass are found along the way.

Stay at one of our backcountry campgrounds (don't forget to make a reservation).

Blakiston Valley

(access to Blakiston Falls, Lone Lake, Twin Lakes, Tamarack trail, South Kootenay Pass)

Length: 20.2 km / 12.5 mi (return).
Time: 7 hours.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 350 m / 1148 ft.
Trailhead: Red Rock Canyon lower parking lot. Walk past the kitchen shelter, cross the bridge over Red Rock Creek, then left across the bridge over Bauerman Creek and turn right.

Hiking and horseback riding trail along Blakiston Creek to junction. From there head north to Lone Lake, Twin Lakes and Snowshoe trail, south to Tamarack trail and Rowe Lakes or continue on to South Kootenay Pass and access to Akamina-Kishinena Provincial Park in B.C.

Stay at one of our backcountry campgrounds (don't forget to make a reservation).

Eastern areas / Highway 6

Wishbone/Vimy

Length: 21 km / 13 mi (return).
Time: 8 hours.
Level of difficulty: Difficult.
Elevation gain: Minimal.
Trailhead: Approximately 250 metres along the Chief Mountain Highway. Parking on your left if heading towards the Canada/US border. Trailhead is across the road from the parking area.

A wide trail leads through forests of aspen and birch, crosses streams and traverses some wide stretches of open prairie. The terrain steepens and is more forested just before reaching the junction with the Vimy Trail. Stay right to continue along to Wishbone Landing on the shore of Middle Waterton Lake. The trail to the left climbs steeply to the end of the Vimy trail and crosses montane and subalpine forests of fir and larch. Please note that the final kilometre from the end of the trail to the summit of Vimy Peak requires a scramble and route finding in steep terrain with loose rock and short cliff bands.

Horseshoe

(access to Horseshoe Basin, Oil Basin and Park Line)

Length: 21.3 km / 13 mi (return).
Time: 7 hours.
Level of difficulty: Moderate.
Elevation gain: 350 m / 1148 ft.
Trailhead: Follow the dirt road past the Bison Paddock until you arrive at the parking area. Hike starts at the gate.

Popular hiking and horseback riding area and great early season walk through meadows with abundant wildflowers. Steady ascent through mostly open terrain over the col between Lakeview Ridge and Mount Galway. The trail continues to Oil Basin, near the cut line along the park boundary. Hikers should use caution as the trail becomes indistinct in many places approaching and along the park line.

Aux environs de la ville

Alderson-Carthew

(accès au lac Alderson, aux lacs Carthew, à Summit, au lac Summit)

Distance : 20,1 km (aller seulement).
Durée : 8 heures (aller seulement).
Degré de difficulté : Difficile.
Gain d'altitude : 1,023 m.
Point de départ : Village – à côté des chutes Cameron.

Une montée continue des chutes Cameron dans le village de Waterton jusqu’au lac Alderson sous les imposantes falaises du mont Alderson, puis une série de lacets en pente raide vers les schistes et les arbrisseaux entourant les lacs Carthew. Une montée stable cède sa place à un sentier plus abrupt sur la pente menant au sommet, d’où vous pouvez admirer les lacs Carthew derrière vous de même que la vallée Waterton et la prairie à l’horizon. Le sentier en lacet descend jusqu’au lac Summit et se termine plus loin. Il offre des vues du lac Cameron dans tout son éclat. Vous pouvez accéder au sentier du ruisseau Boundary au lac Summit.

Séjournez dans un de nos campings de l’arrière-pays (n’oubliez pas de faire une réservation).

Bertha - lac Bertha

Distance : 5,2 km jusqu’aux chutes; 10,4 km jusqu’au lac (aller-retour).
Durée : 4,5 heures (aller-retour).
Degré de difficulté : Modéré.
Gain d'altitude : 460 m / 1509 ft.
Point de départ : Stationnement sur Evergreen South, à 350 m au sud des chutes Cameron.

Cette randonnée présente plusieurs options. Le trajet commence par une montée modérée du village de Waterton vers un point de vue sur le lac Waterton Supérieur. Rendu là, vous pouvez aller en direction sud et longer le lac jusqu’à la baie Bertha, puis atteindre la baie Boundary et le parc national Glacier aux États-Unis (Rive-du-Lac). L’autre option consiste à suivre le ruisseau jusqu’à la chute « du voile de la mariée » en cascade. Une fois rendu là, vous pouvez continuer sur le sentier abrupt en lacet, apercevoir les chutes Bertha Supérieures et aboutir au lac Bertha. Un petit sentier ceinture ce lac entouré de magnifiques sommets et falaises.

Séjournez dans un de nos campings de l’arrière-pays (n’oubliez pas de faire une réservation).

Rive-du-Lac

Distance : 13 km (aller seulement).
Durée : 4 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Facile.
Gain d'altitude : 125 m.
Point de départ : Stationnement sur Evergreen South, à 350 m au sud des chutes Cameron.

Un sentier le long du lac Waterton Supérieur qui mène à la baie Bertha, à la baie Boundary et au Glacier National Park (en anglais seulement) aux États-Unis (assurez-vous d’avoir pris les mesures nécessaires et d’avoir les documents appropriés pour entrer aux États-Unis). Nécessite un retour en bateau (en anglais seulement) depuis Goat Haunt, aux États-Unis, ou une randonnée pour le retour. Vous pouvez accéder au sentier du Ruisseau-Boundary par la baie Boundary.

Séjournez dans un de nos campings de l’arrière-pays (n’oubliez pas de faire une réservation).

Crypt

Distance : 17.2 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 6 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Difficile.
Gain d'altitude : 675 m.
Point de départ : Quinze minutes en bateau de l’autre côté du lac Waterton Supérieur pour arriver au quai Crypt. On peut aussi accéder au sentier en parcourant 14 km à pied ou à vélo du sentier Wishbone.

Préparez-vous à faire une randonnée diversifiée durant toute la journée, vous offrant de magnifiques vues des montagnes. Vous apercevrez de nombreuses chutes, monterez des pentes abruptes et passerez par un tunnel étroit vous menant à une mince corniche surplombant une falaise. À partir du sentier principal, une petite randonnée de 20 minutes vous permet de voir les chutes Hell Roaring et un canyon escarpé plus bas. Il faut prendre le bateau pour se rendre au début du sentier. Veuillez communiquer avec Waterton Shoreline Cruise Co. (en anglais seulement) pour connaître l'horaire des départs, surtout à l'automne et au printemps.

La promenade Akamina

Col Akamina

(accès aux lacs Wall et Forum (en anglais seulement))

Distance : 3 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 1 heur.
Degré de difficulté : Modéré.
Gain d'altitude : 123 m.
Point de départ : À 14 km le long de la promenade Akamina, à droite en venant du village.

Le Col-Akamina est un large sentier doté de tronçons abrupts qui mènent à la frontière de la Colombie-Britannique et au parc provincial Akamina-Kishinena (en anglais seulement). Une fois dans le parc provincial, vous pouvez vous rendre aux lacs Wall et Forum.

Lineham

Distance : 8.4 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 3 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Modéré.
Gain d'altitude : 350 m.
Point de départ : À 9 km le long de la promenade Akamina, à droite en venant du village.

Cette randonnée en pente ascendante constante mène à un point de vue surplombé par de spectaculaires chutes de 250 m/410 pi de hauteur. Elle offre d’excellentes vues du mont Lineham et du mont Blakiston, le plus haut sommet du parc. 9 km jusqu'au début du sentier à partir de la barrière de la promenade Akamina.

Lac-Rowe-Inférieur

(accès à Tamarack)

Distance : 8 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 3 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Modéré.
Gain d'altitude : 350 m.
Point de départ : À 10,5 km le long de la promenade Akamina, à droite en venant du village.

Pour commencer, le sentier longe le ruisseau Rowe et passe par des corniches moussues et de l’argilite d’un rouge vif. Vous vous promenez dans la forêt, sur des pentes dégagées jusqu’à une intersection et un court chemin menant au lac Rowe Inférieur à partir du sentier principal.

Lac-Rowe-Supérieur

(accès à Tamarack)

Distance : 12.8 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 5 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Facile.
Gain d'altitude : 575 m.
Point de départ : À 10,5 km le long de la promenade Akamina, à droite en venant du village.

À l’intersection, continuez jusqu’aux fleurs sauvages et au ruisseau du pré Rowe, puis empruntez le sentier abrupt en lacet jusqu’aux lacs Rowe Supérieurs. Au pré Rowe, un autre sentier abrupt en lacet en direction nord vous mène à la crête surplombant la chaîne de lacs Lineham étincelants. Plus loin, vous arrivez au lac Lone, à la vallée du Blakiston et aux lacs Twin. Une longue randonnée vous conduit à Snowshoe et au canyon Red Rock.

Carthew-Alderson

(accès au lac Summit, à Summit, aux lacs Carthew, au lac Alderson)

Distance : 20.1 km (aller seulement).
Durée : 8 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Difficile.
Gain d'altitude : 650 m.
Point de départ : Lac Cameron (le plus populaire). À gauche quand on est face au lac.

À partir du lac Cameron, une série de lacets réduit le degré de pente pour atteindre le lac Summit, où le trajet est plat pendant un certain temps avant de suivre d’autres lacets jusqu’à Summit. Vous y apercevez des vues spectaculaires des lacs Carthew, de la vallée Waterton et des prairies à l’horizon. Le sentier descend le long d’un talus menant aux éboulis et aux arbrisseaux des lacs Carthew. Le terrain se met alors à descendre abruptement jusqu’au lac Alderson niché dans les hautes falaises du mont Alderson. De là, la pente descend de manière constante jusqu’aux chutes Cameron, au village. Vous pouvez accéder au sentier du ruisseau Boundary au lac Summit.

Séjournez dans un de nos campings de l’arrière-pays (n’oubliez pas de faire une réservation).

Ruisseau Boundary

Distance : 14.6 km (aller seulement).
Durée : 4 heures (aller seulement).
Degré de difficulté : Modéré.
Gain d'altitude : 600 m.
Point de départ : Nord – Accédez au sentier Carthew-Alderson au lac Summit. Sud – Accédez au sentier Lakeshore à la baie Boundary.

Le sentier relie le lac Summit au sentier Lakeshore, et s’y connecte près de la baie Boundary. Traverse la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Séjournez dans un de nos campings de l’arrière-pays (n’oubliez pas de faire une réservation).

La promenade Red Rock

Snowshoe

(accès aux lacs Goat, Lost, Twin et Lone, aux chaînons Castle Divide et Avion ainsi qu’au col Sage)

Distance : 16.4 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 5 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Facile.
Gain d'altitude : 150 m.
Point de départ : Au stationnement supérieur du canyon Red Rock, traversez le pont du ruisseau Red Rock Creek et continuez tout droit.

Ce sentier, un ancien chemin pare-feu, convient au cyclisme, à l’équitation et aux randonnées. L’intersection le long du sentier Snowshoe mène à une montée abrupte se rendant au lac Goat et à un des deux points d’accès menant à la crête d’Avion d’un rouge vif. Au terrain de camping de l’arrière-pays de Snowshoe, il y a d’autres options de randonnées. Une courte pente ascendante vous mène au lac Lost isolé ou à Castle Divide, au bord du parc provincial Castle Wildland (en anglais seulement) et au parc provincial Castle de l’Alberta (en anglais seulement). Il s’agit aussi du deuxième point d’accès à la crête d’Avion. À partir de Snowshoe, un autre sentier mène aux lacs Twin, au sentier de la Vallée-du-Blakiston et au lac Lone, puis vous conduit jusqu’au sentier Tamarack et aux lacs Rowe. Sur votre passage, vous apercevrez aussi des chemins menant au col Sage et au col Kootenay Sud.

Séjournez dans un de nos campings de l’arrière-pays (n’oubliez pas de faire une réservation).

Vallée-du-Blakiston

(accès aux chutes Blakiston, aux lacs Lone et Twin, au sentier Tamarack et au col Kootenay Sud)

Distance : 20.2 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 7 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Modéré.
Gain d'altitude : 350 m.
Point de départ : Stationnement inférieur du canyon Red Rock. Passez devant l’abri-cuisine, traversez le pont du ruisseau Red Rock, tournez à gauche et traversez le pont du ruisseau Bauerman, puis tournez à droite.

Ce sentier convient à la randonnée et à l’équitation. Il longe le ruisseau Blakiston jusqu’à l’intersection. Rendu là, allez en direction nord jusqu’au lac Lone, aux lacs Twin et au sentier Snowshoe, ou en direction sud jusqu’au sentier Tamarack et aux lacs Rowe.

Séjournez dans un de nos campings de l’arrière-pays (n’oubliez pas de faire une réservation).

Eastern areas / Highway 6

Wishbone/Vimy

Distance : 21 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 8 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Difficile.
Gain d'altitude : Minime.
Point de départ : À environ 250 m le long de la route du mont Chief. Stationnement à votre gauche en direction de la frontière entre le Canada et les É.-U. Le début de sentier est en face du stationnement, de l’autre côté de la route.

Un large sentier traverse des forêts de trembles et de bouleaux, des ruisseaux et de grands tronçons de prairies dégagées. Le terrain devient plus abrupt et la forêt plus dense juste avant l’intersection du sentier Vimy. Gardez la droite pour continuer en direction de Wishbone Landing, sur la rive du lac Waterton du Milieu. À gauche, la pente du sentier est abrupte jusqu’à la fin du sentier Vimy. Le sentier traverse des forêts montagnardes et subalpines de sapins et de mélèzes. Sur le dernier kilomètre, allant du bout du sentier jusqu’au sommet du pic Vimy, vous devez faire un peu d’escalade et trouver votre chemin sur un terrain abrupt jonché de roches meubles et de courtes bandes de falaises

Horseshoe

(accès aux bassins Horseshoe et Oil et à la limite du parc)

Distance : 21,3 km (aller-retour).
Durée : 7 heures.
Degré de difficulté : Modéré.
Gain d'altitude : 350 m.
Point de départ : Suivez le chemin de terre qui passe par l’enclos de bisons jusqu’au stationnement. Le sentier débute à la barrière.

Endroit populaire pour l’équitation et pour marcher dans les prés en début de saison. Il y a abondance de fleurs sauvages au printemps et à l’été. La montée est constante sur un terrain principalement dégagé passant dans le col, entre la crête Lakeview et le mont Galway. Le sentier se poursuit jusqu’au bassin Oil et s’approche de la bande défrichée, le long de la limite du parc. Les randonneurs doivent faire preuve de prudence, car en maints endroits, le sentier n’est plus visible à proximité de la limite du parc.