If spectacular scenery and wildlife appeal to you, drive one of the scenic parkways in Waterton Lakes National Park. All have pulloffs and viewpoints for safe viewing opportunities, and offer the chance to discover more about this special place.



Entrance Parkway

An aerial view of the Entrance Parkway by the park gate
The Entrance Parkway is an 8 km route from the Maskinonge wetlands, past the park gate to the townsite

The Entrance Parkway runs from the park gate to Waterton townsite and provides scenic views overlooking the Waterton Valley. It starts out on the prairie and follows the Waterton Lakes chain past the Prince of Wales Hotel National Historic Site to the townsite. It is one of the best roads in the park for viewing wildlife.

Did you know?

A multi-use pathway called the Kootenai Brown Trail runs alongside the Entrance Parkway from the park gate to the townsite.

Red Rock Parkway

A roadside view of the scenic Red Rock Parkway
The Red Rock Parkway winds its way up Blakiston Valley

The Red Rock Parkway travels 15 km up the Blakiston Valley through rolling grasslands and ends at Red Rock Canyon. It is the best place to experience Waterton's classic prairie meeting mountain landscape.

During your trip, be sure to stop at the scenic pulloffs, many of which have interpretive displays. At the end of the parkway, a self-guided trail loops around Red Rock Canyon. In June, the wildflowers are spectacular along this road. It is also a great place for wildlife viewing. The parkway is narrow and may not be suitable for larger motor homes.

The Red Rock Parkway offers dramatic views of Mt. Blakiston, the park’s highest peak at 2,940 m (9,645 ft) above sea level.

Seasonal closure to motor vehicle use October 31 to May 1 (weather dependent).

Did you know?

Red Rock Canyon is named for the several, thick, sedimentary beds of red argillite rock.

Chief Mountain Highway

Motorcyclists riding along the Chief Mountain Highway
The Chief Mountain Highway offers exhilarating vistas of the Waterton and Blakiston valleys

The Chief Mountain Highway is the primary route between Waterton Lakes National Park and Glacier National Park (U.S). The highway climbs from the grasslands near Maskinonge Lake to a viewpoint which offers a magnificent panorama of the Waterton and Blakiston valleys (Chief Mountain lookout).

Along the way to Chief Mountain international border crossing (seasonal), the highway passes through wetlands and the site of the Sofa Mountain Wildfire. Travellers can continue across the international border past Chief Mountain to the community of St. Mary, on the boundary of Glacier National Park.

Chief Mountain Highway has wide shoulders making it good for cycling, but be prepared for some large hills. Belly River campground is located along this road.

Did you know?

The Chief Mountain Highway officially opened in 1936.

Bison Paddock Loop Road

Bison grazing in the bison paddock
Waterton Lakes National Park has maintained a herd of plains bison in its bison paddock since 1952

The Bison Paddock Loop Road is currently closed. It is scheduled to reopen in spring 2021.

Located just inside the park’s north boundary, off Highway 6, the Bison Paddock Loop Road provides an opportunity to see plains bison in their natural grassland habitat. In spring, summer and fall, you can drive the road and view the bison. This short, scenic route passes through fescue grasslands inside the park's summer paddock. The bison are free to roam the enclosure. For your safety, you must remain in your vehicle.

Bison Paddock Overlook

Located near the Bison Paddock Loop Road, this short walk leads to an outstanding view of the valley and mountains. Discover the subtle beauty of the rough fescue prairies. Waterton Lakes is the only national park in Canada that protects rough fescue, a grass that is highly nutritious food for plains bison. Located below the overlook, bison can frequently be seen in the bison paddock.

There are currently six bison in an isolated winter paddock in Waterton Lakes National Park. Visitors will be able to view the bison once they move to the summer paddock in late spring 2021. Exact dates will be listed nearer the time.

More information

Si le paysage et la faune vous intéressent, sillonnez l’une des routes panoramiques. Chacune possède des sites d’observation où vous pouvez vous garer de façon sécuritaire et avoir la chance d’en découvrir plus sur cet endroit unique.



La promenade de l'entré

Vue aérienne de la route de l’entrée près de la barrière du parc
La route de l’entrée est d’une longueur de 8 km entre la barrière du parc et le village de Waterton.

La promenade de l'entrée relie le poste d'entrée au lotissement urbain. Cette route donne aux visiteurs la possibilité d'admirer le magnifique paysage de la vallée de la Waterton. Elle traverse d'abord la prairie, suit la chaîne des lacs Waterton et longe la colline de l'hôtel Prince of Wales, avant de se terminer aux approches du lotissement urbain. Cette promenade est également l'une des meilleures routes du parc pour l'observation de la faune.

Le saviez-vous?

Une piste polyvalente appelée sentier Kootenai Brown longe la route de l’entrée de la barrière du parc au village.

La promenade Red Rock

Vue le long de la promenade panoramique Red Rock
La promenade Red Rock serpente en montant dans la vallée Blakiston

La promenade Red Rock traverse la prairie ondulante de la vallée du Blakiston en montant sur une distance de 15 km pour aboutir au canyon Red Rock. C'est là que se trouve le meilleur exemple du point de rencontre entre la prairie et la montagne.

Pendant votre trajet de 15 km, arrêtez-vous dans les aires de repos panoramiques, la plupart étant munies de panneaux d’interprétation. Au bout de la route, une courte boucle autoguidée permet aux marcheurs d'explorer le périmètre du canyon. En juin, les fleurs sauvages sont spectaculaires le long de cette route, et les animaux sauvages sont abondants. La chaussée est étroite et convient mal aux grosses autocaravanes.

La promenade Red Rock offre des vues spectaculaires du mont Blakiston, le plus haut sommet du parc - 2 940 m (9 645 pi) au-dessus du niveau de la mer.

Elle est fermée aux véhicules motorisés du 31 octobre au 1er mai (selon les conditions météorologiques).

Le saviez-vous?

Le canyon Red Rock est ainsi nommé pour ses multiples couches épaisses de roche sédimentaire d’argilite.

La route du Mont-Chief

Motocyclistes sur la route du mont Chief
La route du mont Chief offre des vues splendides des vallées Waterton et Blakiston

La route du Mont-Chief est la principale voie d'accès entre le parc national des Lacs-Waterton et le parc national Glacier (en anglais seulement). Elle quitte la prairie près du lac Maskinonge pour monter jusqu'à un belvédère (Belvédère du mont-Chief) qui offre une vue sans pareille des vallées de la Waterton et du Blakiston.

En direction de la frontière internationale (saisonnier), la route traverse des zones humides et le brûlis du mont Sofa. Les voyageurs peuvent poursuivre leur chemin au-delà de la frontière jusqu'à la collectivité de St. Mary, située en bordure du parc national Glacier.

La route du mont Chief a de larges accotements qui conviennent bien au vélo, mais soyez prêt à gravir des côtes. Le terrain de camping de la Rivière-Belly se trouve le long de cette route.

Le saviez-vous?

La route du mont Chief a été inaugurée en 1936.

La route en loupe de l’enclos des bisons

Le parc national des Lacs-Waterton a un troupeau de bisons des plaines dans son enclos depuis 1952.

La route de la boucle de l’enclos des bisons est fermée. Elle devrait rouvrir au printemps 2021.

Située à la limite nord du parc, la route de la boucle de l’enclos des bisons débute à l’intersection de la route 6 et permet d’observer des bisons des plaines dans leur habitat de prairie naturel. Au printemps, pendant l’été et à l’automne, on peut l’emprunter en voiture et observer les animaux. Cette courte route panoramique traverse des prairies de fétuque dans le secteur estival de l’enclos des bisons du parc, qui est clôturé. Vous devez rester dans votre véhicule pour des raisons de sécurité.

Belvédère de l’enclos de bisons

Située près de la route de la boucle de l’enclos des bisons, cette courte promenade aboutit à un belvédère d’où vous aurez une vue spectaculaire de la vallée et des montagnes. Découvrez la beauté subtile de la prairie de fétuque scabre. Le parc national des Lacs-Waterton est le seul parc national au Canada qui protège la fétuque scabre, une herbe très nutritive pour les bisons des plaines. On voit souvent les bisons dans l’enclos en contrebas du belvédère.

Il y a actuellement six bisons dans un enclos d’hiver isolé au parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Les visiteurs pourront observer les bisons lorsqu’ils seront dans leur enclos d’été au printemps 2021. La date exacte sera affichée en temps et lieu.

En plus