There are 29 species of small mammals in Jasper. They range in size from the pygmy shrew, which weighs only a few grams, to the beaver, which can weigh up to 20 kilograms. Except for shrews, bats and rabbits, these animals are all rodents. Following is a brief sampling of some of the more prominent small mammals in the park.

Columbian Ground Squirrel

Columbian Ground Squirrell © M. Bradley

The Columbian Ground Squirrel is the most commonly seen animal in the park during the summer. Although they hibernate for up to seven months, they are important prey for grizzly bears, coyotes, wolves and golden eagles. A winter hibernator, this ground squirrel may be seen throughout the park from the montane valleys to the alpine.


Hoary Marmot

Hoary Marmot © Parks Canada / R. Bray

Hoary Marmots are colonial animals that live in the alpine zone. One of the largest rodents in the park, marmots reach weights of up to 12 kilograms. Marmots can be seen on a number of day hikes in the park, including The Whistlers, named after the loud whistling sound a marmot makes when alarmed.

Porcupine

Porcupine © Fritz Mueller

Porcupines are common in the subalpine forests throughout the park. Like other rodents, porcupines chew bones and antlers to gain minerals. They are frequent visitors to backcountry campgrounds, mainly because tools and backpacks that humans have touched have a delicious salty residue left on them.


Beaver

Beaver © Wayne Lynch

The beaver is the largest rodent in the park and usually hard at work in valley-bottom streams and ponds building lodges and practically indestructible dams out of sticks, stones, and mud. Hike around Cottonwood Slough, on Pyramid Bench, or the Valley of Five Lakes, south of town, about dawn or dusk to catch a glimpse of the industrious creatures. These wide-tailed toothy fellows eat the rich, pulpy cambium layer of tree bark. Their favourite flavour? Aspen.

The animal that became Canada's symbol was trapped to near extinction for its pelt and only concerted efforts by early conservationists, namely Parks Canada's first naturalist/interpreter Grey Owl (Archibald Belaney), saved it.


Pika

Pika © M. Bradley

The pika or "rock rabbit" is the smallest member of the rabbit family. They live on rock slides and talus slopes from 6,000 to 8,500 feet. Although well camouflaged, pikas can often be located by their piercing call that sounds like a high-pitched "eep". They are often seen on the rockslides at Mount Edith Cavell.

Jasper compte 29 espèces de petits mammifères de taille variée, depuis la musaraigne naine, qui ne pèse que quelques grammes, jusqu'au castor, qui peut atteindre 20 kg. À l'exception de la musaraigne, de la chauve-souris et du lapin, ces animaux sont tous des rongeurs. Ce qui suit est un bref résumé de certains des petits mammifères les plus communs du parc.

Spermophile du Columbia

Spermophile du Columbia © M. Bradley

Le spermophile du Columbia est l'animal le plus souvent aperçu dans le parc en été. Même s'il hiberne pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu'à sept mois, le spermophile représente une proie importante pour le grizzli, le coyote, le loup et l'aigle royal. Ce petit écureuil terrestre fréquente tous les secteurs du parc, aussi bien les vallées de la zone montagnarde que la zone alpine.


Marmotte des Rocheuses

Marmotte des Rocheuses © Parcs Canada / R. Bray

Animal grégaire, la marmotte des Rocheuses vit dans la zone alpine. Il s'agit de l'un des plus gros rongeurs du parc, et elle peut atteindre un poids de 12 kg. Les visiteurs peuvent l'apercevoir sur un certain nombre de sentiers de randonnée d'une journée dans le parc, y compris le sentier menant au pic The Whistlers, baptisé ainsi pour rappeler le sifflement fort qu'émet la marmotte au moindre danger.


Porc-épic

Porc-épic © Fritz Mueller 

Le porc-épic est commun dans toutes les forêts subalpines du parc. Comme les autres rongeurs, il mâche des os et des bois de cervidés pour s'alimenter en minéraux. Le porc-épic visite souvent les campings de l'arrière-pays, principalement parce que les instruments et les sacs à dos qui ont été en contact avec l'être humain sont couverts d'un délicieux résidu salé.


Castor

Castor © Wayne Lynch

Le castor est le plus grand rongeur du parc, et on le trouve habituellement dans les ruisseaux et les étangs du fond des vallées, affairé à bâtir des huttes et des barrages quasi indestructibles au moyen de branches, de pierres et de boue. À l'aurore ou à la brunante, faites une randonnée autour du marais Cottonwood, sur la terrasse Pyramid, ou dans la vallée des Cinq-Lacs, au sud de la ville, pour entrevoir ces créatures industrieuses à l'œuvre. Ce travailleur à la queue plate et aux longues dents mange le riche cambium pulpeux de l'écorce des arbres. Son essence préférée? Le tremble.

Célèbre symbole du Canada, le castor a été traqué par les trappeurs pour sa fourrure jusqu'à ce qu'il disparaisse presque complètement. C'est grâce aux efforts des premiers protecteurs de l'environnement, dont le premier interprète et écologiste de Parcs Canada, Grey Owl (Archibald Belaney), qu'il a pu être sauvé de l'extinction.


Pica

Pica © M. Bradley

Le pica ou « lapin des rochers » est le plus petit membre de la famille du lapin. Il vit sur les éboulis de roches et les pentes de montagne à une altitude variant de 2 000 à 2 800 mètres. Quoique bien camouflé, le pica trahit souvent sa présence par son cri perçant, un « iiip » aigu. On l'aperçoit souvent sur les éboulis rocheux du mont Edith Cavell.