Quick facts
whitebark pine cone

Height: 5-20 meters
Cones: egg-shaped
Needles: in clumps of 5
Lifespan: up to 1000 years
Status: Endangered

The whitebark pine produces some of the most nutritious seeds in the Canadian Rockies. Packed full of protein and fat, these pea-sized seeds are eaten by bears, squirrels and birds.

High up on a mountain slope a sturdy whitebark pine stands its ground against the elements. It grows in the harsh subalpine environment where few other plants can survive.

Whitebark pine has evolved over time to become an important tree of the high elevation forests along the Rocky and Columbia Mountain Ranges.

In these windswept places the whitebark pine stabilizes soil, creates habitat, and holds snow to control water flowing from the mountains in the spring. It is an impressive sight; however, it is now more common to see skeletons of these trees where they once thrived.

As hardy as the whitebark pine is, it is declining throughout its range, including within the mountain national parks. As a result, whitebark pine is now listed as endangered by the Species at Risk Act.


Threats

Whitebark pine faces 4 main threats.

White pine blister rust

This introduced fungus arrived in a shipment of white pine seedlings from Europe in 1906. Less than 1% of North American trees are rust-resistant.

Mountain pine beetle

Mountain pine beetle outbreaks in lodgepole pine forests are spreading to higher elevations due to climate warming. As a result, the beetles are also attacking whitebark pine.

Historic fire suppression

Thicker bark helps whitebark pines survive low intensity fires which remove competing vegetation. Historic fire suppresion reduced the opportunities for seedlings to grow.

Climate change

Currently there is sufficient suitable habitat available to support the species. However, climate change may alter the distribution of suitable habitats across the landscape.


Recovery

This species has a difficult time recovering from threats because it is slow growing and dependent on a single bird species to spread its seeds. The Clark’s nutcracker collects whitebark pine seeds to store for food over winter. Since the birds store more seeds than they need, many are left in the ground where they grow into new whitebark pine trees.

What are we doing

Research

Over the past decade, we have assessed tens of thousands of whitebark pine trees to identify several hundred trees that appear to have a natural resistance to white pine blister rust. These rare trees are tested to prove rust-resistance, a process that takes 7 years in a controlled facility.

Planting

We climb whitebark pine trees that show natural resistance to blister rust and put a cage over their cones. These cages keep the cones away from animals that would break into them to eat their valuable seeds. When the seeds are ready in autumn, we collect them and send them to a nursery to be planted. After two years in the nursery, seedlings can be planted back in their mountain habitat.


Planting locations
Year Area Seedlings
2017 Wilcox ~ 100
2017 Simpson ~ 370
2017 Berg Lake 550
2017 Robson Pass 3650
2018 Cavell 114
2018 Greenoch 220
2018 Miette Lake 480
2018 Moab 635
2018 Miette Lake 1280
2019 Whistlers 650
2019 Greenoch 750
2019 Moab 2400

Alpine collection by tentree

We're working with our proud partner tentree to plant an additional 3,600 whitebark pine trees in the mountain national parks. Learn more about this initiative and tentree's Alpine Collection.

Fire

Fire monitoring
Fires in areas that don't pose risks to people or infrastructure may be allowed to burn with minimal to no intervention. This allows a more natural fire structure to return to the area.

Prescribed fires
Whitebark pines are often shaded out by subalpine fir and spruce. Prescribed fires in whitebark pine habitat create open spaces. The sun-loving whitebark pine thrives in these recent burn areas. During prescribed fires, existing stands of whitebark pine are protected.

Terra torch
Parks Canada has now developed a Terra Torch to burn small patches the way lightning strikes would have in the past. This technique has been used in Waterton Lakes National Park to burn small plots for planting whitebark pine seedlings.

Pheromone protection

Pheromones are chemicals that bark beetles use to communicate with each other. They let beetles know where they can find a mate and a place to lay eggs, or when a tree is “full” and they should try another tree.

Pheromone packets that mimic the natural pheromones of mountain pine beetles, called verbenone, are attached to whitebark pine trees to protect trees. The pheromones fool beetles into thinking that the tree is already full.

During the mountain pine beetle outbreak in Jasper National Park from 2013 to 2019, Parks Canada saved over 80% of rust-resistant whitebark pine trees from being killed by mountain pine beetle using verbenone.

Aperçu
Un pin à blanche écorce

Hauteur : De 5 à 20 m
Cônes : En forme d’œuf
Aiguilles : En grappes de cinq
Longévité : Jusqu’à 1 000 ans
Situation au Canada : Espèce en voie de disparition

Le pin à écorce blanche produit des graines qui figurent parmi les plus nutritives des Rocheuses canadiennes. Regorgeant de protéines et de matières grasses, ces graines de la taille d’un pois servent de nourriture aux ours, aux écureuils et aux oiseaux.

Sur un flanc de montagne en haute altitude, un robuste pin à écorce blanche résiste aux éléments. Il pousse dans ce milieu subalpin hostile ou peu d’autres plantes peuvent survivre.

Avec le temps, le pin à écorce blanche est devenu arbre important des forêts à haute altitude dans les Rocheuses et la chaîne Columbia.

Les pins à blanche écorce stabilisent les pentes raides, influencent la quantité des eaux de fonte en retenant la neige et offrent nourriture et abri nécessaires à de nombreuses espèces fauniques. Bien qu'il soit robuste, le Pin à écorce blanche est en déclin dans tout l'écosystème de la Couronne du Continent, y compris le parc national des Lacs-Waterton.

Aussi robuste que soit le pin à écorce blanche, il est en déclin dans toute son aire de répartition, y compris dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes. Par conséquent, il figure maintenant sur la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.


Menaces

Le pin à écorce blanche fait face à quatre menaces principales.

Rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc

Ce champignon introduit d’Europe est arrivé en 1906 dans une livraison de semis de pin blanc. Moins de 1 % des arbres nord-américains sont résistants à la rouille.

Dendroctone du pin ponderosa

Les infestations de dendroctones du pin ponderosa dans les forêts de pins tordus se propagent à des altitudes plus élevées en raison du réchauffement climatique. En conséquence, les coléoptères attaquent également le pin à écorce blanche.

Historique de la suppression des incendies

L’écorce plus épaisse permet au pin à écorce blanche de survivre aux feux de faible intensité qui éliminent la végétation concurrente. La suppression historique des incendies a réduit les possibilités de croissance des semis.

Changements climatiques

À l’heure actuelle, il y a suffisamment d’habitats convenables pour soutenir l’espèce. Cependant, les changements climatiques pourraient modifier la répartition des habitats convenables dans le paysage.


Rétablissement

Cette espèce a de la difficulté à se remettre des menaces parce qu’elle croît lentement et dépend d’une seule espèce d’oiseaux pour répandre ses graines. Le cassenoix d’Amérique recueille les graines de pin à écorce blanche pour les conserver pendant l’hiver. Comme les oiseaux stockent plus de graines qu’ils n’en ont besoin, un grand nombre de graines sont laissées dans le sol où elles poussent pour devenir de nouveaux pins à écorce blanche.

Que faisons-nous

Recherches

Au cours de la dernière décennie, nous avons évalué des dizaines de milliers de pins à écorce blanche dans le but de recenser plusieurs centaines d’arbres qui semblent avoir une résistance naturelle à la rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc. Ces arbres rares sont testés pour prouver leur résistance à la rouille, un processus qui se déroule sur sept ans dans une installation contrôlée.

Plantation

Nous grimpons dans les pins à écorce blanche qui résistent naturellement à la rouille vésiculeuse et plaçons une cage sur les pommes de pin. Ces cages protègent les pommes des animaux qui pourraient les briser afin de manger leurs précieuses graines. Quand les graines sont prêtes en automne, nous les récoltons et les envoyons à une pépinière où elles sont plantées. Après deux ans en pépinière, les semis peuvent être replantés dans leur habitat de montagne.


Lieux de plantation
Lieux de plantation
Année Secteur Semis
2017 Wilcox ~ 100
2017 Simpson ~ 370
2017 Lac Berg 550
2017 Col Robson 3 650
2018 Cavell 114
2018 Greenoch 220
2018 Miette 480
2018 Moab 635
2018 Miette 1 280
2019 Whistlers 650
2019 Greenoch 750
2019 Moab 2 400

Collection « alpine » de tentree

Nous sommes fiers d’unir nos efforts avec tentree (en anglais seulement) afin de planter 3 600 pins à écorce blanche additionnels dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes. Apprenez-en davantage sur sur cette initiative et sur la collection « alpine » de tentree (en anglais seulement).

Incendies

Surveillance des incendies
Il arrive que nous laissions brûler les incendies qui éclatent dans des zones qui ne posent pas de risques pour les personnes ou l’infrastructure sans intervenir ou en intervenant de manière minimale. Cela permet à une structure de feu plus naturelle de revenir dans la zone.

Brûlages dirigés
Les pins à écorce blanche sont souvent ombragés par le sapin subalpin et l’épinette. Les brûlages dirigés dans l’habitat du pin à écorce blanche créent des espaces ouverts. Le pin à écorce blanche, qui aime le soleil, prospère dans ces régions récemment brûlées. Lors des brûlages dirigés, les peuplements existants de pin à écorce blanche sont protégés.

Terratorche
Parcs Canada a maintenant mis au point une terratorche permettant de brûler de petites parcelles comme les éclairs l’auraient fait dans le passé. Cette technique a été utilisée dans le parc national des Lacs Waterton pour brûler de petites parcelles en vue de planter des semis de pin à écorce blanche.

Protection contre les phéromones

Les phéromones sont des produits chimiques que les scolytes utilisent pour communiquer entre eux. Ils permettent aux insectes de savoir où ils peuvent trouver un compagnon et un endroit pour pondre leurs œufs, ou quand un arbre est « plein » et qu’ils devraient coloniser un autre arbre.

Les paquets de phéromones qui imitent les phéromones naturelles du dendroctone du pin ponderosa, appelées verbanones, sont attachés à des pins à écorce blanche pour protéger les arbres. Les phéromones trompent les insectes en leur faisant croire que l’arbre est déjà plein.

Au cours de l’infestation du dendroctone du pin ponderosa dans le parc national Jasper de 2013 à 2019, Parcs Canada a empêché plus de 80 % des pins à écorce blanche résistants à la rouille d’être tués par le dendroctone du pin ponderosa au moyen des verbanones.