Article 1.0 Effective Date

Section 1.01 This Interim Policy takes effect on March 2, 2020.

Article 2.0 Purpose

Section 2.01 The purpose of this interim policy is to permit the development of secondary suites in the Town of Jasper without significantly affecting the built form. By permitting secondary suites, this policy aims to:

  1. Provide safe additional housing units;
  2. Increase the diversity in housing units; and
  3. Provide a transitional opportunity to legalize suites built without permit.

Article 3.0 Scope

Section 3.01 This interim policy applies to Secondary Suites in the Town of Jasper.

Section 3.02 Where conflict exists between this interim policy and other policies or plans, the most recent policy, or interim policy applies.

Article 4.0 Context

Section 4.01 Community - In 2013, a community-led group approached Parks Canada with a request to consider secondary suites within the Jasper townsite. Parks Canada, with the Municipality of Jasper, commissioned a consultant to develop a series of deliverables and recommendations to encourage more housing in the community for eligible residents. Public consultation was held in February and March 2019 exploring public interest in a variety of topics including Accessory Dwelling Units (“ADU’s”) and a What We Heard Report was completed on September 5, 2019. The public was in favour of incorporating ADU’s in areas where site sizes were adequate and building code requirements could be met. Secondary Suites are a form of ADU.

Section 4.02 Regulatory & Policy - The Canada National Parks Act (S.C. 2000, c.32) section 16.(1)(m) states the Governor in Council may make regulations respecting…the control of the location, standards, design, materials, construction, maintenance, and removal and demolition of buildings, structures, facilities, signs, and other improvements and the establishment of zones governing uses of land and buildings. Under this, and related authorities, The Town of Jasper Zoning Regulations (C.R.C., c.1111) were created and are currently in the regulatory process of repeal and replacement. In the interim, the Draft 5.0 Regulations Respecting the Use of Land in the Town of Jasper (March 29, 2005), hereafter referred to as the “Land Use Policy,” is currently being applied as policy. This interim policy applies to secondary suites only, and will be used in conjunction with the Land Use Policy.

Article 5.0 Expected Results

Section 5.01 This Interim Policy is intended to provided clear understanding for the community of Jasper and Parks Canada of the requirements when assessing and issuing development permits for Secondary Suites. This interim policy shall be continually reviewed and updated to ensure it achieves its purpose. It shall ultimately provide direction towards formally incorporating Accessory Dwelling Units into the Land Use Policy.

Article 6.0 Definitions

Section 6.01 For the purpose of this interim policy:

“secondary suite” means a second self-contained dwelling unit within a primary dwelling unit that has its own kitchen, sleeping and bathroom facilities. Secondary dwelling units must not be limited by, nor included in, any density control requirement, including for example, number of dwelling units.

Section 6.02 Subject to (a), where terms are undefined in this interim policy, definitions in the Land Use Policy shall apply.

Article 7.0 General Requirements

Section 7.01 Building Code Conformance - All new construction, be it a new building including a Secondary Suite or the conversion of a part of an existing building into a Secondary Suite, must be in conformance with the current Safety Codes in effect at the time of permit application and not the safety codes at the time the building was initially constructed.

Section 7.02 Subdivision – A Secondary Suite may not be condominiumized, subdivided from an existing site, or assigned separately from the primary dwelling through a tenant in common arrangement or otherwise.

Section 7.03 Occupancy – A Secondary Suite may only be occupied by eligible residents, as defined in the National Parks of Canada Lease and Licence of Occupation Regulation (SOR/92-25). Secondary Suites may not be rented, or made available for, periods less than 30 days.

Article 8.0 Secondary Suite Requirements

Section 8.01 Permitted Use Districts - A Secondary Suite shall be a Permitted Use in the following Districts:

  1. R1 (One-Unit Dwelling);
  2. R2 (Two-Unit Dwelling);
  3. R2H (Old Town Jasper Historic);
  4. R4 (Compact Lot District) sites which:
    1. Have the primary dwelling unit on permanent foundation developed in conformance with current Land Use Policy and this Interim Policy (excluding mobile homes); and
    2. Have executed a lease amending agreement removing the “Owner Occupancy” requirement,
  5. CCWa (Cabin Creek West One-Unit Dwelling);
  6. CCWb (Cabin Creek West Two-Unit Dwelling); and
  7. CCWc (Cabin Creek West Two-Unit Dwelling) excluding Block 39 Lot 48.

Section 8.02 Maximum Gross Floor Area – A secondary suite may be no more than 45% of the gross floor area of the dwelling unit within which it is located.

Section 8.03 Density – A maximum of one secondary suite per primary dwelling unit shall be permitted.

Section 8.04 Parking - No additional on-site parking shall be required for a Secondary Suite as long as the site has a minimum of One (1) required on-site parking stall for each dwelling unit. For sites without back lane access, additional on-site parking to accommodate a Secondary Suite may be located in the front setback as long as it does not conflict with the required front yard landscaping requirements of the district it is located within.

Section 8.05 Exterior Entrance – A Secondary Suite must have its own direct access route to the outdoors. For the purposes of providing access to a secondary suite only, the following are permitted forms of access:

  1. An interior connecting stairway or doorway accessing onto an enclosed entrance hall or vestibule;
  2. An exterior stairway providing independent access to the basement or second floor from outside the building, provided the stairway is not located on the face of the primary dwelling unit facing the front property line, and forms the only access route to the secondary suite; and
  3. An exterior doorway accessing onto an independent route of travel to the secondary suite, provided the doorway is not located on the face of the primary dwelling unit facing the front property line.

Article 9.0 Transition Compliance Strategy

Section 9.01 Application – Article 9.0 applies only to suites which, in the opinion of the Superintendent, could be considered to be secondary suites, and existed prior to the Effective Date of this Interim Policy, but were developed without obtaining the permit(s) required by the Land Use Policy.

Section 9.02 Effective Period – This Transition Compliance Strategy is only in effect for development permit applications, consistent with Section 5 of the Land Use Policy, received by the Parks Canada Development Office from March 2, 2020 to April 30, 2021.

Section 9.03 Exterior Entrance – A Secondary Suite entrance may be located on the face of the primary dwelling unit facing the front property line.

Section 9.04 Safety Codes – At the Superintendent’s discretion, Secondary Suites may be exempt from code requirements that do not pertain to human life safety. All Secondary Suites applying for permits under this Transition Strategy must meet measures that provide a level of safety equal to that outlined in the applicable code for secondary suites.

Article 10.0 Exemption from the Requirements of this Interim Policy

Section 10.01 In the application of this interim policy, it may not always be possible to carry out the requirements. In these instances, approval for a variance from the requirements of this interim policy, may be obtained from the Superintendent of Jasper National Park, provided that the requested exemption does not contravene applicable legislation, or the intent of applicable, policy. Application for a variance shall be subject to the same process stated in the Land Use Policy under the criteria stated in Section 5.(7)(a).

Section 10.02 The rationale for a variance and the approval must be documented.

Article 11.0 Monitoring and Review

Section 11.01 The Realty and Municipal Services Department shall monitor this policy and ADUs in Jasper and provide advice and updates to the Superintendent and the Municipality of Jasper. This Interim Secondary Suite Policy is subject to amendments or termination at the Superintendent’s discretion.

Section 11.02 This Interim Policy will be reviewed as needed and at a minimum of annually by Parks Canada. It will remain in effect until the review indicates it should be rescinded or it is superseded by a new policy, at which time it will be deemed rescinded.

Article 12.0 Related Legislation, Policies and Guidelines

Section 12.01 Unless explicitly stated otherwise, secondary suites are subject to all acts, regulations, and policies pertaining to development in the Town of Jasper in effect at the time of application. These requirements may include:

  1. Canada National Parks Act (S.C. 2000, c. 32);
  2. Town of Jasper Zoning Regulations (C.R.C., c. 1111);
  3. National Parks of Canada Lease and Licence of Occupation Regulation (SOR/92-25)
  4. National Parks Building Regulations (C.R.C., c. 1126);
  5. National Building Code of Canada (2015);
  6. National Plumbing Code of Canada (2015);
  7. National Fire Code of Canada (2015);
  8. National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings (2017);
    1. Province of Alberta Safety Codes Act and Regulations thereunder including, but not limited to:
    2. National Building Code – Alberta Edition (2019); and
    3. Alberta Fire Code (2014),
  9. Draft 5.0 Regulations Respecting the Use of Land in the Town of Jasper (March 29, 2005);
  10. Architectural Motif Guidelines for the Town of Jasper (1993), as amended (1997);
  11. Design Guidelines for New Development in Old Town Jasper (2005); and
  12. Area Redevelopment Plan for the Jasper Mobile Home District (2004),

All as amended from time to time.

Article 13.0 Approval

Approved by:

Alan Fehr
Field Unit Superintendent
Jasper National Park
Parks Canada

Article 1.0 Date d’entrée en vigueur

Section 1.01 La présente politique provisoire entre en vigueur le 2 mars 2020.

Article 2.0 Objet

Section 2.01 La présente politique provisoire a pour but d’autoriser, à l’intérieur de résidences privées de la ville de Jasper, l’aménagement d’appartements qui ne modifient pas de façon notable la forme d’origine des bâtiments. En autorisant l’aménagement d’appartements de résidence privée, la présente politique vise à :

  1. fournir des logements supplémentaires sécuritaires;
  2. accroître la diversité des types de logement;
  3. fournir une possibilité transitoire de légaliser des appartements construits sans permis.

Article 3.0 Portée

Section 3.01 La présente politique provisoire s’applique aux appartements de résidence privée de la ville de Jasper.

Section 3.02 En cas de contradiction entre la présente politique provisoire et d’autres politiques ou plans, c’est la politique ou la politique provisoire la plus récente qui s’applique.

Article 4.0 Contexte

Section 4.01 Consultations communautaires – En 2013, un groupe communautaire a demandé à Parcs Canada d’envisager d’autoriser des appartements de résidence privée dans le lotissement urbain de Jasper. De concert avec la Municipalité de Jasper, Parcs Canada a chargé un expert-conseil d’élaborer une série de produits livrables et de recommandations afin de favoriser l’aménagement de nouveaux logements pour les résidents admissibles de la collectivité. Les deux partenaires ont tenu des consultations publiques en février et en mars 2019 dans le but d’explorer le degré d’intérêt du public à l’égard d’une gamme variée de sujets, dont les unités d’habitation annexes (UHA). Un rapport « Ce que nous avons entendu » a été produit le 5 septembre 2019. Le public s’est prononcé en faveur de l’intégration d’UHA dans la collectivité, à condition que les propriétés soient de superficie suffisante et que les exigences du code du bâtiment puissent être respectées. Les appartements de résidence privée sont un type d’UHA.

Section 4.02 Cadre réglementaire et stratégique – L’alinéa 16.(1)(m) de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (L.C. 2000, ch. 32) précise que le gouverneur en conseil peut prendre des règlements concernant la réglementation de l’emplacement, de la conception, de la construction, de l’entretien, de l’amélioration, de l’enlèvement et de la démolition de bâtiments, installations, pancartes et autres structures, des normes à appliquer et des matériaux à utiliser ainsi que le zonage en vue de l’utilisation des terres ou des bâtiments. Le Règlement sur le zonage du périmètre urbain de Jasper (C.R.C., ch. 1111) a été pris en vertu de cet alinéa et de dispositions connexes; il est en cours d’abrogation et de remplacement. Dans l’intervalle, l’ébauche 5.0 du règlement sur l’utilisation des terrains dans la ville de Jasper (29 mars 2005), ci-après appelée politique sur l’aménagement du territoire, est appliquée comme instrument stratégique. La présente politique provisoire ne s’applique qu’aux appartements de résidence privée et doit être utilisée conjointement avec la politique sur l’aménagement du territoire.

Article 5.0 Résultats attendus

Section 5.01 La présente politique provisoire a pour but de fournir à la collectivité de Jasper et à Parcs Canada un tableau clair des exigences à respecter pour l’évaluation des demandes relatives à des appartements de résidence privée et la délivrance des permis d’aménagement correspondants. Elle doit continuellement faire l’objet d’un examen et d’une mise à jour pour pouvoir atteindre ses objectifs. En définitive, la présente politique provisoire doit orienter l’intégration officielle des unités d’habitation annexes à la politique sur l’aménagement du territoire.

Article 6.0 Définitions

Section 6.01 Pour les besoins de la présente politique provisoire :

Appartement de résidence privée désigne, à l’intérieur d’une habitation principale, un second logement autonome renfermant une cuisine, une chambre à coucher et une salle de bains. Les appartements de résidence privée ne peuvent être limités par aucune exigence relative au contrôle de la densité, par exemple le nombre de logements, et ne doivent pas non plus être pris en compte dans de telles exigences.

Section 6.02 Sous réserve du paragraphe a), les termes non définis dans la présente politique provisoire sont entendus au sens qui leur est donné dans la politique sur l’aménagement du territoire.

Article 7.0 Exigences générales

Section 7.01 Conformité aux codes du bâtiment – Les nouvelles constructions, qu’il s’agisse d’un nouveau bâtiment auquel est intégré un appartement ou d’un bâtiment existant dont une partie est convertie en appartement, doivent être conformes aux codes de sécurité en vigueur au moment de la présentation de la demande de permis et non au moment de la construction initiale du bâtiment.

Section 7.02 Subdivision – L’appartement de résidence privée ne peut pas être transformé en logements en copropriété, subdivisé ou cédé séparément de l’habitation principale par un accord de locataire en commun ou par quelque autre moyen.

Section 7.03 Occupation – L’appartement de résidence privée ne peut être occupé que par des résidents admissibles, aux termes du Règlement sur les baux et les permis d’occupation dans les parcs nationaux du Canada (DORS/92-25). Il ne peut être loué ou mis à disposition pour des périodes de moins de 30 jours.

Article 8.0 Exigences relatives aux appartements de résidence privée

Section 8.01 Zones autorisées – Les appartements de résidence privée sont autorisés dans les zones suivantes :

  1. Zone R1 (habitations familiales);
  2. Zone R2 (habitations bifamiliales);
  3. Zone R2H (quartier historique de Jasper);
  4. Zone R4 (lots compacts), sur les propriétés :
    1. dont l’habitation principale se trouve sur des fondations permanentes aménagées conformément à l’actuelle politique sur l’aménagement du territoire et à la présente politique provisoire (à l’exclusion des maisons mobiles);
    2. qui ont fait l’objet d’un accord de modification de bail pour retirer l’exigence relative à l’occupation par le propriétaire.
  5. Zone CCWa (habitations unifamiliales du quartier Cabin Creek West);
  6. Zone CCWb (habitations bifamiliales du quartier Cabin Creek West);
  7. Zone CCWc (habitations bifamiliales du quartier Cabin Creek West), à l’exclusion du lot 48 (bloc 39).

Section 8.02 Surface de plancher brute maximale – L’appartement de résidence privée ne peut pas occuper plus de 45 % de la surface de plancher brute de l’habitation dans laquelle il se trouve.

Section 8.03 Densité – Il ne peut y avoir plus d’un appartement de résidence privée par habitation principale.

Section 8.04 Stationnement – Il n’y a aucune exigence relative à l’aménagement de places de stationnement supplémentaires sur les lieux pour les appartements de résidence privée, pourvu que la propriété renferme au moins une place de stationnement par logement. Dans le cas des propriétés dépourvues de ruelles à l’arrière, il est possible d’aménager sur les lieux une place de stationnement supplémentaire pour l’appartement de résidence privée dans la marge de recul avant, à condition de respecter les exigences d’aménagement paysager de la cour d’entrée pour la zone où se trouve l’habitation.

Section 8.05 Entrée extérieure – L’appartement de résidence privée doit être pourvu d’un accès direct à l’extérieur. À cette fin, les moyens d’accès suivants sont autorisés :

  1. Un escalier intérieur ou une porte d’entrée donnant accès à un vestibule fermé;
  2. Un escalier extérieur permettant un accès indépendant au sous-sol ou à l’étage depuis l’extérieur du bâtiment, à condition qu’il ne soit pas situé sur la façade de l’habitation principale et qu’il représente le seul moyen d’accès à l’appartement;
  3. Une porte d’entrée extérieure donnant accès à un passage indépendant qui mène à l’appartement de résidence privée, à condition que celle-ci ne soit pas située sur la façade de l’habitation principale.

Article 9.0 Stratégie de conformité transitoire

Section 9.01 Application – L’article 9.0 ne s’applique qu’aux appartements qui, de l’avis du directeur, peuvent être considérés comme des appartements de résidence privée et qui ont été aménagés avant la date d’entrée en vigueur de la présente politique provisoire, sans l’obtention du ou des permis exigés par la politique sur l’aménagement du territoire.

Section 9.02 Période visée – La présente stratégie de conformité transitoire ne s’applique qu’aux demandes de permis d’aménagement qui sont conformes à l’article 5 de la politique sur l’aménagement du territoire et qui sont reçues par le Bureau d’aménagement de Parcs Canada entre le 2 mars 2020 et le 30 avril 2021.

Section 9.03 Entrée extérieure – L’appartement de résidence privée peut être pourvu d’une entrée donnant sur la façade de l’habitation principale.

Section 9.04 Codes de sécurité – À la discrétion du directeur, les appartements de résidence privée peuvent être exemptés des exigences des codes de sécurité qui n’ont aucune incidence sur la sécurité publique. Les propriétaires d’appartements de résidence privée qui présentent une demande de permis en vertu de la présente stratégie transitoire doivent satisfaire aux mesures qui garantissent un niveau de sécurité équivalent à celui du code applicable aux appartements de résidence privée.

Article 10.0 Exemption des exigences de la présente politique provisoire

Section 10.01 Dans l’application de la présente politique provisoire, il pourrait ne pas toujours être possible de satisfaire aux exigences. Le cas échéant, le directeur du parc national Jasper peut approuver une dérogation aux exigences de la présente politique, pourvu que l’exemption demandée ne contrevienne pas à l’esprit de la politique ou aux lois applicables. Les demandes de dérogation sont assujetties aux critères énoncés à l’alinéa 5.(7)a) de la politique sur l’aménagement du territoire.

Section 10.02 Les motifs justifiant la dérogation et l’approbation doivent être étayés par des documents.

Article 11.0 Surveillance et examen

Section 11.01 Les Services immobiliers et municipaux surveillent la présente politique et les UHA à Jasper, et ils transmettent des conseils et des mises à jour au directeur et à la Municipalité de Jasper. La présente politique provisoire sur les appartements de résidence privée peut être modifiée ou abrogée à la discrétion du directeur.

Section 11.02 La présente politique provisoire doit être examinée au moins une fois l’an par Parcs Canada ou plus souvent au besoin. Elle demeure en vigueur jusqu’à ce que l’examen révèle la nécessité de l’abroger ou de la remplacer par une nouvelle politique. Elle est dès lors considérée comme abrogée.

Article 12.0 Lois, politiques et lignes directrices connexes

Section 12.01 Sauf indication contraire explicite, les appartements de résidence privée sont assujettis à l’ensemble des lois, des règlements et des politiques applicables qui sont en vigueur au moment de la présentation de la demande. En voici une liste partielle :

  1. Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (L.C. 2000, ch. 32);
  2. Règlement sur le zonage du périmètre urbain de Jasper (C.R.C., ch. 1111);
  3. Règlement sur les baux et les permis d’occupation dans les parcs nationaux du Canada (DORS/92-25);
  4. Règlement sur les bâtiments des parcs nationaux (C.R.C., ch. 1114);
  5. Code national du bâtiment du Canada (2015);
  6. Code national de la plomberie – Canada (2015);
  7. Code national de prévention des incendies du Canada (2015);
  8. Code national de l’énergie pour les bâtiments (2017);
  9. Safety Codes Act de l’Alberta et règlements connexes, notamment :
    1. National Building Code – Alberta Edition (2019);
    2. Alberta Fire Code (2014);
  10. Ébauche 5.0 du règlement sur l’utilisation des terrains dans la ville de Jasper (29 mars 2005);
  11. Directives en matière de motif architectural pour la ville de Jasper (1993), modifiées en 1997;
  12. Lignes directrices de conception pour les nouveaux projets d’aménagement dans le quartier historique de Jasper (2005);
  13. Plan de réaménagement sectoriel pour la zone des maisons mobiles de Jasper (2004).

Sont également incluses les modifications successives de ces instruments.

Article 13.0 Approbation

Approuvé par:

Alan Fehr
Directeur
Parc national Jasper
Parcs Canada