Improving ecological integrity and visitor experience at lakes and rivers in Jasper National Park

Purpose

To restore and protect lakes and rivers and their shoreline habitats in Jasper National Park to improve ecological integrity and enhance visitor experience.

Background

Jasper National Park’s many lakes harbour diverse ecological communities and represent one of the premiere visitor attractions to the park both for their scenic beauty and the recreational opportunities they afford. Healthy lake ecosystems include healthy riparian habitat that is important for nesting waterfowl, beavers, amphibians, and countless plant and insect species. Those same shorelines also attract large numbers of park visitors recreating on or near the water, enjoying the spectacular views and the opportunities to see a variety of wildlife.

Invasive aquatic species such as whirling disease, quagga mussels, and zebra mussels pose emerging threats to aquatic ecosystems generally. Parks Canada is committed to protecting these lakes and shorelines to ensure they maintain their significant ecological role as well as to provide visitors with experiences consistent with Jasper’s World Heritage status.

The Athabasca River in Jasper National Park is also designated a Canadian Heritage River for its many celebrated natural, cultural, and recreational features. Protection of shorelines is priority for Parks Canada.

A number of stressors are affecting park lake and river shorelines. Collectively, they represent a cumulative and growing impact to ecological integrity and visitor experience, which Parks Canada would like to prevent or mitigate.

Approach

Parks Canada will follow a three-pronged approach which touches on all aspects of Parks Canada’s mandate to implement actions that will improve riparian zones as recommended in the Jasper Park Management Plan and the Maligne Valley Action Plan:

I. Clean up - riparian areas
II. Protect - aquatic wildlife and park visitors at Jasper’s lakes
III. Restore – aquatic ecosystems


Components of Jasper National Park Shoreline Action Plan

Clean up riparian areas
  1. Garbage on shorelines
    Litter and other garbage collects on many water bodies along transportation routes and areas of significant infrastructure development. Garbage is unsightly, takes away from visitor experience, and can present a risk to wildlife species.

    Goal: Lake and river shorelines are free of litter and other garbage.
    Objective: Engage volunteer groups to clean up a priority list of Jasper National Park Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup (GCSC) sites annually.

  2. Unauthorized storage of personal watercraft along shorelines
    Unauthorized storage of personal boats on park shorelines continues to increase. Otherwise scenic and accessible shorelines are becoming eyesores, cluttered with private and abandoned boats, often in very poor condition, that have been left by unknown people for unknown periods of time. Unsecured watercraft pose visitor safety and liability concerns. Storage of personal boats on park shorelines may also destroy and degrade shoreline vegetation.

    Goal: Lakes and rivers are not used for storage of personal watercraft.
    Objective: Personal watercraft are removed from lake and river shorelines by 2020.

  3. Storage of commercial watercraft along shorelines
    Commercial outfitters that offer watercraft rental and fishing opportunities provide a valued service to visitors of the park. Both Parks Canada and outfitters want to ensure that commercial watercraft stored at lakes are in good repair, stowed in a safe manner, and do not compromise the area’s scenic beauty.

    Goal: To ensure commercial outfitters provide a safe and enjoyable experience to visitors through the rental of canoes and other watercraft.
    Objectives: To ensure commercial outfitters are complying with the numbers and locations of boats permitted in their existing licences and that boats are safe, in good repair, and stored in a manner that does not compromise scenic views.
Protect aquatic wildlife and park visitors
  1. Aquatic invasive species
    Whirling disease, quagga mussels, and zebra mussels are three invasive species whose distributions are creeping closer to Jasper. All three can have devastating impacts to aquatic ecosystems. Transmission is generally through the movement of contaminated boats and boat trailers, aquatic recreational equipment, fishing gear, or contaminated fish from an infected watershed.

    Goal: To prevent or minimize the establishment of aquatic invasive species in waterbodies in Jasper National Park.
    Objective: In conjunction with regional provincial agencies and the other mountain parks field units, develop and implement a strategy to prevent the establishment of aquatic invasive species in Jasper National Park.

  2. Recreational fishing
    Recreational fishing represents one of the few consumptive activities permitted in Jasper National Park and the most direct ecological impact to the park’s fish populations. Historically, it has been the rationale for extensive stocking of non-native species throughout the park which has resulted in significant change to aquatic ecological communities. Parks Canada continually evaluates and adjusts fishing regulations as new scientific information becomes available to ensure the protection of native species and species at risk.

    Goal: Fishing regulations and closures promote the long-term survival of healthy populations of native fish species.
    Objective: Review and revise fishing regulations in the context of the protection of native species and species at risk, with special consideration to minimizing the potential spread of aquatic invasive species.

  3. Electric boat motors
    Historically, Jasper National Park has not prevented the use of electric motors. However, the use of motorized watercraft is prohibited by the Canada National Parks Act “except as permitted by a sign or notice placed, posted or erected by the superintendent at or near the watercourse”. As electric motor technology rapidly improves, the issue of electric motor use will become a more significant visitor experience and visitor safety issue, as well as a possible ecological risk to waterfowl such as loons nesting and raising chicks along the shoreline.

    Goal: Ensure that Jasper National Park is effectively managing the emerging technology of electric motors to minimize negative impacts to visitor experience and ecological integrity.
    Objective: Review where electric motors are currently used and the impacts or potential impacts they have on lake and river ecosystems and visitor experience.
Restore aquatic ecosystems
  1. Managing shoreline infrastructure to improve visitor experience and visitor safety, and restore riparian habitat
    Providing infrastructure for visitors to enjoy Jasper’s many lakes requires that Parks Canada continually evaluate and improve the way we do business around water bodies to ensure that park facilities minimize ecological impacts and ensure visitor safety. Infrastructure such as boat launches and docks, for example, may be in need of repair or considered for possible removal in the context of aquatic invasive species. Infrastructure such as culverts at stream crossings along transportation corridors can significantly alter aquatic habitat and prevent stream continuity.

    Non-park infrastructure may also be present, such as docks and rafts associated with cabins or businesses. There may be issues such as runoff or erosion around beaches, trails, day use areas, septic fields and commercial operations such as the golf course. There could be opportunities to enhance visitor experience while restoring degraded locations through actions such as the construction of boardwalks. It is also important to ensure that storm water management and wastewater treatment plants meet effluent targets.

    Other infrastructure may have lost its utility, but still negatively impacts aquatic ecosystems.

    Goal: Lake and river shorelines are free of infrastructure except where needed to enable visitor enjoyment and safety, or prevent ecosystem damage.
    Objective 1: To ensure that authorized shoreline infrastructure meets visitor needs, is in good repair, and does not pose a risk to visitor safety or aquatic ecosystems.
    Objective 2: To restore and maintain, to the highest degree practical, natural hydrology and riparian / wetland habitat and natural passage for fish and other aquatic species at road and rail stream crossings.

Accroître l’intégrité écologique et enrichir l’expérience du visiteur aux abords des lacs et des cours d’eau du parc national Jasper

Objectif

Remettre en état et protéger les lacs, les cours d’eau et les habitats riverains du parc national Jasper afin d’en accroître l’intégrité écologique et d’enrichir l’expérience du visiteur.

Contexte

Les nombreux lacs du parc national Jasper abritent diverses communautés écologiques et constituent d’importantes attractions touristiques, tant par leur beauté panoramique que par leurs possibilités récréatives. Les écosystèmes lacustres en santé englobent un habitat riverain en santé qui joue un rôle important pour la sauvagine nicheuse, les castors, les amphibiens et d’innombrables espèces de plantes et d’insectes. Ces zones attirent aussi de nombreux visiteurs qui viennent se divertir dans l’eau ou sur les rives, admirer les paysages spectaculaires et tirer parti de possibilités d’observation de tout un éventail d’espèces sauvages.

De manière générale, des espèces aquatiques envahissantes comme le tournis des truites, la moule quagga et la moule zébrée représentent de nouvelles menaces pour les écosystèmes aquatiques. Parcs Canada est résolu à protéger les lacs et les rives afin qu’ils puissent continuer de jouer leur important rôle écologique et fournir aux visiteurs des expériences qui cadrent avec le statut de site du patrimoine mondial dont jouit le parc national Jasper.

L’Athabasca, qui coule dans le parc national Jasper, a été classée rivière du patrimoine canadien en raison de ses nombreuses caractéristiques naturelles, culturelles et récréatives. La protection des rives représente une priorité pour Parcs Canada.

Plusieurs agresseurs menacent les rives des lacs et des cours d’eau du parc. Collectivement, ils ont des impacts cumulatifs croissants sur l’intégrité écologique et l’expérience du visiteur, une situation que Parcs Canada tient à prévenir ou à atténuer.

Démarche

Parcs Canada adoptera une démarche à trois volets qui touchera à tous les aspects de son mandat. Il pourra ainsi mettre en œuvre des mesures pour améliorer les zones riveraines, comme le recommandent le plan directeur du parc national Jasper et le plan d’action pour la vallée de la Maligne :

I. Nettoyer les zones riveraines;
II. Protéger la faune aquatique et les visiteurs du parc;
III. Remettre en état la faune aquatique.


Volets du Plan d’action pour les rives du parc national Jasper

Nettoyer les zones riveraines
  1. Déchets le long des rives
    Des ordures et d’autres déchets s’accumulent au bord de nombreux plans d’eau le long des couloirs de transport et dans les zones fortement aménagées. Ces déchets sont inesthétiques, appauvrissent l’expérience offerte au visiteur et peuvent engendrer un risque pour les espèces fauniques.

    But : Les rives des lacs et des cours d’eau sont exemptes d’ordures et d’autres déchets.
    Objectif : Mobiliser des groupes de bénévoles pour le nettoyage annuel d’une liste de zones prioritaires du parc national Jasper qui sont inscrites au Grand nettoyage des rivages canadiens.

  2. Entreposage non autorisé d’embarcations personnelles le long des rives
    Le nombre d’embarcations entreposées sans autorisation le long des rives du parc ne cesse d’augmenter. Des rives panoramiques et accessibles deviennent peu à peu des endroits hideux, encombrés d’embarcations personnelles, souvent en très mauvais état, qui ont été abandonnées sur place par des inconnus pour des périodes également inconnues. Les embarcations non sécurisées présentent des risques pour la sécurité et créent des problèmes de responsabilité juridique. Elles peuvent aussi détruire et dégrader la végétation riveraine.

    But : Les lacs et les cours d’eau ne sont pas utilisés pour l’entreposage d’embarcations personnelles.
    Objectif : Retirer les embarcations personnelles des rives des lacs et des cours d’eau d’ici 2020.

  3. Entreposage d’embarcations commerciales le long des rives
    Les pourvoyeurs commerciaux qui louent des embarcations et organisent des sorties de pêche fournissent des services appréciés des visiteurs. Parcs Canada et les pourvoyeurs tiennent à ce que les embarcations commerciales entreposées au bord des lacs soient en bon état, à ce qu’elles soient placées dans un lieu sécuritaire et à ce qu’elles ne compromettent en rien la beauté panoramique des environs.

    But : Les pourvoyeurs commerciaux offrent une expérience sécuritaire et agréable aux visiteurs en louant des canots et d’autres embarcations.
    Objectif : Retirer les embarcations personnelles des rives des lacs et des cours d’eau d’ici 2020.
Protéger la faune aquatique et les visiteurs du parc
  1. Espèces aquatiques envahissantes
    Le tournis des truites, la moule quagga et la moule zébrée sont des espèces envahissantes dont l’aire de répartition se rapproche peu à peu du parc national Jasper. Ces trois espèces peuvent avoir des effets dévastateurs sur les écosystèmes aquatiques. Elles se propagent généralement par des embarcations et des remorques à bateaux contaminées, de l’équipement de sport nautique, du matériel de pêche ou des poissons contaminés issus d’un bassin hydrographique infecté.

    But : Les risques d’établissement d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans les bassins hydrographiques du parc national Jasper sont éliminés ou réduits à un minimum.
    Objectif : De concert avec des organismes régionaux et provinciaux et avec les autres unités de gestion des parcs des montagnes, élaborer et mettre en œuvre une stratégie visant à prévenir l’établissement d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans le parc national Jasper.

  2. Pêche récréative
    La pêche récréative représente l’une des rares activités consommatrices autorisées dans le parc national Jasper et celle qui a l’impact écologique le plus direct sur les populations de poissons du parc. C’est cette activité qui, par le passé, a justifié les vastes opérations d’introduction d’espèces non indigènes un peu partout dans le parc. Ces opérations d’empoissonnement ont causé d’importants changements aux communautés écologiques aquatiques. Parcs Canada évalue et adapte la réglementation sur la pêche au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements scientifiques deviennent accessibles, en vue d’assurer la protection des espèces indigènes et des espèces en péril.

    But : La réglementation sur la pêche et les fermetures favorisent la survie à long terme de saines populations de poissons indigènes.
    Objectif : Examiner et réviser la réglementation sur la pêche dans le contexte de la protection des espèces indigènes et des espèces en péril, en tenant compte tout particulièrement de la nécessité de réduire à un minimum les risques de propagation d’espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

  3. Moteurs électriques de bateaux
    Le parc national Jasper n’a jamais interdit l’utilisation de moteurs électriques. Cependant, les embarcations à moteur sont interdites par le Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, « à moins d’indication à cet effet sur des écriteaux ou avis installés par le directeur du parc ». La technologie des moteurs électriques s’améliore rapidement, et l’utilisation de ce type de moteur aura des incidences croissantes sur l’expérience offerte et la sécurité des visiteurs. Elle pourrait aussi engendrer un risque écologique pour la sauvagine, par exemple pour des plongeons huards qui nichent et élèvent leurs oisillons le long des rives.

    But : Le parc national Jasper gère efficacement la technologie naissante des moteurs électriques afin de réduire à un minimum les incidences néfastes sur l’expérience du visiteur et l’intégrité écologique.
    Objectif : Procéder à un examen des bassins d’eau où les moteurs électriques sont actuellement utilisés et évaluer les impacts réels ou possibles sur les écosystèmes des lacs et des cours d’eau ainsi que sur l’expérience du visiteur.
Remettre en état les écosystèmes aquatiques
  1. Gérer l’infrastructure des rives afin d’enrichir l’expérience du visiteur, d’accroître la sécurité du public et de régénérer l’habitat riverain
    Pour fournir une infrastructure permettant aux visiteurs de profiter des nombreux lacs du parc national Jasper, Parcs Canada doit continuellement évaluer et améliorer ses façons de faire aux abords des plans d’eau, de manière à réduire le plus possible les impacts écologiques des installations du parc et à assurer la sécurité des visiteurs. Par exemple, il lui faut parfois réparer des installations telles que des rampes de mise à l’eau et des quais ou envisager de les enlever dans le contexte des espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Des éléments d’infrastructure tels que des ponceaux de ruisseau aménagés le long des couloirs de transport peuvent altérer de façon appréciable l’habitat aquatique et interrompre la continuité des cours d’eau.

    Le parc abrite également des éléments d’infrastructure qui ne relèvent pas de Parcs Canada, par exemple des quais et des radeaux associés à des chalets ou à des entreprises. En outre, il faut régler des problèmes tels que le ruissellement ou l’érosion près de plages, de sentiers, d’aires de fréquentation diurne, de champs d’épuration et d’installations commerciales comme le terrain de golf. Parcs Canada pourrait saisir des occasions d’enrichir l’expérience du visiteur tout en remettant à neuf des installations dégradées, par des mesures telles que la construction de trottoirs de bois. Par ailleurs, il est important de veiller à ce que les installations de gestion des eaux d’orage et les stations d’épuration des eaux usées répondent aux normes en matière d’effluents.

    Certains autres éléments d’infrastructure pourraient avoir perdu leur raison d’être tout en ayant des impacts néfastes sur les écosystèmes aquatiques.

    But : Les rives des lacs et des cours d’eau sont exemptes d’installations, sauf lorsque celles-ci sont nécessaires à l’agrément des visiteurs, à la sécurité publique ou à la prévention de dommages à l’écosystème.
    Objectif 1 : Veiller à ce que l’infrastructure riveraine autorisée réponde aux besoins des visiteurs, soit en bon état et ne pose aucun risque pour la sécurité des visiteurs ou pour les écosystèmes aquatiques.
    Objectif 2 : Dans la mesure du possible, rétablir et préserver l’hydrologie naturelle, l’habitat des rives et des milieux humides ainsi que les profils de circulation naturels des poissons et des autres espèces aquatiques aux lieux de franchissement des routes et des voies ferrées.