On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure their ecological and commemorative integrity for present and future generations.

Canada National Parks Act

Parks Canada is reviewing the management plan for Jasper National Park. Jasper’s plan, along with the management plans for the other southern mountain national parks, is due for tabling in Parliament in 2020. This fact sheet describes the plan review process and opportunities for Indigenous and public involvement.

What is a park management plan?

A management plan, prepared in consultation with Indigenous peoples and Canadians, is the main public accountability document for a national park. It is the road map that guides Parks Canada’s work to protect natural and cultural resources; to facilitate visitor experiences and learning opportunities; and to collaborate with other organizations and Indigenous partners on common interests. The plan sets out a long-term vision for a national park, as well as strategic direction to guide decision-making by park managers. Management plans also help Parks Canada make sound decisions about where to invest financial and human resources.

Plan review process

Text description

Management planning cycle

  • Management plan review
    1. State of the Park assessment
    2. Scoping exercise *Indigenous and public engagement
    3. Management plan preperation *Indigenous and public engagement
    4. Mangement plan approval
    5. Management planning cycle
  • Management plan implementation
    Monitoring and evaluation occur throughout the cycle
    • Annual implementation updates
  • Management planning and implementation is a continuous cycle of engagement, decision-making, evaluating and reporting.
  • State of the Park Assessments are prepared two years before a new plan is due to set the stage for the management plan review.
  • Parks Canada sets the scope of the plan review based on the State of the Park Assessment, an evaluation of the current management plan, public and Indigenous feedback, the Agency’s corporate priorities, and other factors.
  • Parks Canada will provide opportunities for Indigenous and public involvement at both the management plan scoping phase and as the draft plan is developed.
  • The final plans are approved by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change and tabled in Parliament.
  • Each park reports annually on progress in implementing its management plan through public meetings or written reports.

Indigenous involvement

As a member of the federal Crown, Parks Canada has a special relationship with Indigenous peoples. The management plan review is an opportunity to strengthen collaboration with Indigenous communities and organizations. We will offer opportunities for Indigenous communities and organizations to engage directly with us during the management plan review.

Public involvement

Parks Canada welcomes broad public participation in the management plan review. Public involvement ensures that park management plans reflect the perspectives of Canadians. We will offer a variety of ways to get involved—from public meetings to an online forum.

Timelines

  • Parks Canada has completed a State of the Park Assessment for Jasper National Park.
  • We are inviting input on key considerations for the plan review process in early 2019.
  • A draft plan for Jasper National Park will be ready for review in 2020.
  • A final plan will be tabled in Parliament in 2020.
Timelines
Year Planning activity
2018 State of the Park Assesment & other analysis
Early 2019 Set scope of management plan review
Key opportunities for indigenous and public participation
Late 2019 Develop and update park strategies
Key opportunities for indigenous and public participation
Early 2020 Draft and review updated plans
Key opportunities for indigenous and public participation
Late 2020 Finalize and approve plans

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada

Parcs Canada examine actuellement le plan directeur du parc national Jasper. Le plan de Jasper ainsi que les plans directeurs des autres parcs nationaux des montagnes du Sud doivent être déposés au Parlement. La présente fiche d’information décrit le processus d’examen des plans directeurs, ainsi que les possibilités de participation des Autochtones et du public.

Qu’est-ce qu’un plan directeur de parc?

Un plan directeur, rédigé avec le concours des peuples autochtones et de la population canadienne, est le principal outil de reddition de comptes d’un parc national. Il s’agit de la feuille de route qui oriente le travail accompli par Parcs Canada pour protéger les ressources naturelles et culturelles, faciliter la création d’expériences et de possibilités d’apprentissage, et collaborer avec d’autres organismes et partenaires autochtones à la défense des intérêts communs. Le plan expose la vision à long terme adoptée pour un parc national donné, de même que l’orientation stratégique qui régira la prise de décisions par les gestionnaires du parc. Le plan directeur aide également Parcs Canada à prendre des décisions judicieuses sur la manière d’investir ses ressources financières et humaines.

Processus d’examen du plan directeur

Version texte

Cycle de l’elaboration du plan directeur

  • Examen du plan directeur
    1. Évaluation de l’état du parc
    2. Exercice de détermination de la portée *Mobilisation des Autochtones et du public
    3. Management plan preperation *Mobilisation des Autochtones et du public
    4. Élaboration du plan directeur
    5. Approbation du plan directeur
  • Mise en oeuvre du plan directeur
    Surveillance et évaluation tout au long du cycle
    • Mises à jour annuelles surla mise en oeuvre

    Processus d’examen du plan directeur

    • L’élaboration et la mise en œuvre du plan directeur font partie d’un cycle continu de mobilisation, de prise de décisions, d’évaluation et de reddition de comptes.
    • L’évaluation de l’état du parc est entreprise deux ans avant l’élaboration d’un nouveau plan directeur, de manière à préparer le terrain pour l’examen du plan.
    • Parcs Canada établit la portée de l’examen en fonction de l’évaluation de l’état du parc, de l’évaluation du plan directeur actuel, de la rétroaction du public, des points de vue exprimés par les Autochtones, de ses propres priorités stratégiques et d’autres facteurs.
    • Parcs Canada offrira des possibilités de participation aux Autochtones et au public tant à l’étape de l’établissement de la portée du plan directeur qu’à celle de l’élaboration du plan provisoire.
    • La version définitive du plan est approuvée par le ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, puis déposée au Parlement.
    • Chaque parc rend compte annuellement des progrès accomplis dans la mise en œuvre de son plan directeur en organisant des réunions publiques ou en produisant des rapports écrits.

    Participation des Autochtones

    En tant que représentant de l’État fédéral, Parcs Canada entretient une relation spéciale avec les peuples autochtones. L’examen des plans directeurs représente pour lui une occasion de renforcer sa collaboration avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones. Parcs Canada leur offrira des possibilités de faire connaître directement leur point de vue pendant l’examen des plans.

    Participation du public

    Parcs Canada tient à ce que le public participe à l’examen des plans directeurs. C’est ce qui lui permet de veiller à ce que les plans reflètent les points de vue du peuple canadien. Parcs Canada offrira au public différents moyens de faire connaître son avis, notamment des réunions publiques et une tribune en ligne.

    Calendriers

    • Parcs Canada a terminé l’évaluation de l’état du parc national Jasper.
    • Nous sollicitons vos commentaires sur les principales questions cernées au début de 2019 pour l’examen des plans.
    • Une ébauche de plan pour le parc national Jasper sera prête pour examen en 2021.
    • La version définitive du plan sera déposée au Parlement.