Each national park requires a management plan that describes its vision and broad direction. The management planning process takes place every 10 years and involves: assessing the current state of park resources; determining key trends, pressures and opportunities; setting priorities; and seeking input from all Canadians.

Because national parks are dynamic and change over time in response to many factors, a state of the park assessment is the first step in the management planning process. It provides a ‘report card’ on the condition of natural and cultural resources and aspects of Parks Canada’s work in a national park and describes whether the condition shows an improving, declining or stable trend. Condition ratings are determined through on-going monitoring, surveys and other forms of feedback, gathered since the previous Park Management Plan was approved in 2010.

Key indicators are grouped into six main themes–ecological integrity, cultural resources, external relations, Indigenous relations, visitor experience and built assets. Using established thresholds, indicators are rated as: Good, Fair, or Poor

The State of the Park Assessment uses data from a variety of sources, such as ecological monitoring results, visitor surveys, attendance counts, and built asset inspections. A standardized approach allows Parks Canada to compare parks and sites across the Parks Canada network. Based on a review of key indicators, here are the results for Jasper National Park.


Ecological Integrity

The diversity of Jasper’s Rocky Mountain ecosystems and species is reflected in our ecological monitoring program; we track fifteen measures to rate the overall condition of three important ecosystems. Some measures are impacted by broad issues like climate change and regional land use changes that cannot be addressed solely at the park level.

Freshwater ecosystems Good

Freshwater ecosystems are rated good overall because three measures—amphibians, stream biotic health and river fish—are in good condition. Lake fish and aquatic connectivity are in fair condition. Aquatic connectivity has improved since the last reporting period due to restoration work; 61% of watershed catchment areas are now fully connected.

Forest ecosystems Fair

Forest ecosystems are in fair condition. Two measures for this indicator, multi-species mammal occupancy (abundance and distribution of a suite of large mammals) and elk density, are rated as good and stable. Forest terrestrial birds and the regional density of roads and motorized trails are in fair condition. Most fire-adapted habitats still have a fire deficit despite an active prescribed burn program; a mountain pine beetle outbreak is dramatically changing park forests and altering wildfire risk.

Alpine ecosystems Poor

Alpine ecosystems are rated poor overall because the following two measures are in poor condition. The three South Jasper caribou herds are at risk of imminent extirpation (local extinction); their numbers are so low they cannot recover on their own. Park glaciers continue to retreat under a changing climate. Whitebark pine are in fair condition but are declining due to blister rust and mountain pine beetle. Alpine terrestrial birds are also in fair condition. A baseline for alpine extent has been established.


Cultural Resources Good Fair

Nine thousand years of human presence have produced a rich fabric of archaeological sites, archaeological and historic objects, and historic buildings.

Two out of three indicators—archaeological sites and historical objects—are rated good. Archaeological sites are largely intact and park zoning and regulations provide a high level of protection. The 286 historical objects associated with the park and the over 35,000 catalogued archaeological objects are in good condition overall. Heritage buildings are rated fair; the majority of the 37 federal-heritage-listed buildings in the park are in stable condition.


Visitor Experience Good Fair

Almost 2.4 million Canadians and international visitors had the opportunity to experience Jasper’s natural and cultural heritage firsthand in 2016-17. Visitation has increased by 20% since 2011-12.

Visits, the indicator based on park attendance, is rated as good because attendance has exceeded visitation targets for the park. Enjoyment and learning are also rated good; 98% of visitors surveyed reported enjoying their visit to the park and 75% felt they had learned something about the park’s natural heritage. Satisfaction is rated fair as there is room for improvement in value for entry fee and pre-trip information.


Indigenous Relations Fair Poor

We work with more than 20 Indigenous communities with ties to the park. Indigenous partners rated five indicators related to the park’s Indigenous engagement program.

Three indicators—partnerships, accessibility and mutual respect—are rated fair. The Jasper Indigenous Forum, established in 2006, has been a good model of collaboration and partnership with Parks Canada. Initiatives, such as free park access, the development of a cultural use area and harvesting permits, have facilitated traditional activities. Parks Canada has demonstrated a commitment to building mutual respect, trust and understanding. Traditional knowledge and support are rated poor; more work is needed to integrate traditional knowledge into park management and to facilitate economic and employment opportunities.


External Relations Good

We reach audiences where they live through various outreach, partnering, and stakeholder engagement initiatives; media relations; and web and social media presence.

Both indicators—promotions and support—are rated good. We are connecting with more people through events and venues in the Edmonton area and other cities in western Canada. Our social media presence continues to grow with more Facebook and Twitter followers. More than 100 volunteers contribute approximately 2,500 hours each year to Jasper’s volunteer program.


Built Assets Good Fair

More than one thousand assets (e.g. highways, roadways, bridges, buildings) support visitor activities and park operations in Jasper National Park.

The majority of park assets are in fair and improving condition. Thanks to recent investment, there are no longer any groups of assets in poor condition.

Chaque parc national doit avoir un plan directeur dans lequel sont énoncées sa vision et son orientation générale. Le processus d’établissement du plan directeur recommence tous les dix ans et comprend différents volets : l’évaluation de l’état actuel des ressources du parc; l’évaluation des principales tendances, pressions et possibilités; l’établissement des priorités; et la soumission du plan préliminaire aux commentaires de tous les Canadiens.

Comme les parcs nationaux sont des lieux dynamiques qui évoluent au fil du temps en raison de nombreux facteurs, la première étape du processus d’élaboration d’un plan directeur est l’évaluation de l’état du parc. Celle-ci permet d’obtenir une vue d’ensemble de l’état des ressources naturelles et culturelles et de différents aspects des travaux menés par Parcs Canada dans le parc, afin de savoir si les ressources tendent à s’améliorer, à se détériorer ou à demeurer stables. Des cotes d’état sont accordées d’après les données de surveillance continue, les résultats de sondages et d’autres formes de rétroaction obtenus depuis l’approbation du précédent plan directeur du parc, en l’occurrence en 2010.

Les principaux indicateurs sont regroupés en six grandes catégories : intégrité écologique, ressources culturelles, relations externes, relations avec les Autochtones, expérience du visiteur et biens bâtis. En fonction de seuils établis, l’une des cotes suivantes est attribuée à chaque indicateur : Bon, Passable, Médiocre.

L’évaluation de l’état du parc se fait à partir de données obtenues de différentes sources, par exemple les résultats de la surveillance écologiques, les sondages auprès des visiteurs, le dénombrement des visiteurs et les inspections des biens bâtis. Grâce à une approche normalisée, Parcs Canada peut comparer les données des parcs et des lieux de tout son réseau. Voici les résultats obtenus pour le parc national Jasper à la lumière d’un examen des principaux indicateurs.


Intégrité écologique

La diversité des écosystèmes et des espèces propres aux Rocheuses que l’on trouve à Jasper se reflète dans notre programme de surveillance écologique : nous faisons le suivi de quinze mesures afin de déterminer l’état général de trois écosystèmes importants. Certaines mesures sont influencées par des enjeux importants (par exemple les changements climatiques et l’aménagement du territoire dans la région) qui ne peuvent être traités uniquement à l’échelle du parc.

Les écosystèmes d’eau douce Bon

Les écosystèmes d’eau douce ont en général une bonne cote, car trois des mesures suivies (les amphibiens, la santé biotique des cours d’eau et les poissons des rivières) sont bonnes. Les poissons des lacs et la connectivité aquatique sont dans un état passable. La connectivité aquatique s’est améliorée depuis la dernière période de rapport grâce à des travaux de restauration : 61 % des zones de captage des bassins hydrographiques sont maintenant pleinement connectées.

Les écosystèmes forestiers Passable

Les écosystèmes forestiers sont dans un état passable. Deux mesures pour cet indicateur, soit la présence de multiples espèces de mammifères (abondance et répartition d’une série de grands mammifères) et la densité des wapitis, sont jugées bonnes et stables. Les oiseaux terrestres forestiers et la densité régionale des routes et des sentiers pour véhicules motorisés sont dans un état passable. On observe toutefois un déficit d’incendie dans la plupart des habitats adaptés aux feux, malgré un programme actif de brûlages dirigés. En outre, la propagation du dendroctone du pin ponderosa modifie de façon spectaculaire les forêts du parc et influe sur les risques d’incendie de forêt.

Les écosystèmes alpins Médiocre

Les écosystèmes alpins sont en général dans un état jugé médiocre, car deux des mesures suivies sont médiocres. En effet, on craint la disparition locale imminente des trois hardes de caribous de la partie sud du parc, car ils sont si peu nombreux qu’ils ne pourront se rétablir par eux-mêmes. En outre, les glaciers du parc continuent de diminuer en raison des changements climatiques. Les pins à écorce blanche sont dans un état passable, mais sont en déclin en raison de la rouille vésiculeuse et du dendroctone du pin ponderosa. Les oiseaux terrestres alpins sont aussi dans un état passable. Un seuil de référence sur l’étendue de la zone alpine a été établi.

Ressources culturelles Bon Passable

Les neuf mille ans de présence humaine ont laissé un riche patrimoine de sites archéologiques, d’objets archéologiques et historiques et de bâtiments historiques.

Deux des trois indicateurs (sites archéologiques et objets historiques) sont bien cotés. Les sites archéologiques sont en grande partie intacts et sont très bien protégés par le zonage et les règlements du parc. Les 286 objets historiques associés au parc et les quelque 35 000 objets archéologiques catalogués sont généralement en bon état. Les bâtiments patrimoniaux sont dans un état jugé passable : la majorité des 37 bâtiments patrimoniaux du parc qui sont inscrits sur les listes fédérales sont dans un état stable.


Expérience du visiteur Bon Passable

En 2016-2017, près de 2,4 millions de Canadiens et de visiteurs étrangers ont eu l’occasion de découvrir par eux mêmes le patrimoine naturel et culturel de Jasper. La fréquentation a augmenté de 20 % depuis 2011-2012.

L’indicateur des visites, qui est fondé sur la fréquentation du parc, est bien coté, car la fréquentation a dépassé les cibles établies pour le parc. L’appréciation et l’apprentissage sont aussi considérés comme bons : 98 % des visiteurs sondés ont indiqué qu’ils prenaient plaisir à leur visite au parc, et 75 % ont dit avoir appris quelque chose sur le patrimoine naturel du parc. La satisfaction est considérée comme passable, car il est possible d’améliorer la valeur par rapport aux droits d’entrée et les renseignements disponibles avant la visite.


Relations avec les Autochtones Passable Médiocre

Nous travaillons de concert avec plus de vingt collectivités autochtones qui ont des liens avec le parc. Nos partenaires autochtones ont coté cinq indicateurs liés au programme de mobilisation autochtone du parc.

Trois indicateurs (partenariats, accessibilité et respect mutuel) sont jugés passables. Le Forum des Autochtones du parc national Jasper, créé en 2006, est un bon modèle de collaboration et de partenariat avec Parcs Canada. Certaines initiatives, comme l’accès gratuit au parc, l’aménagement d’une aire culturelle et la délivrance de permis de cueillette, ont facilité les activités traditionnelles. Parcs Canada a démontré son engagement envers le respect mutuel, la confiance et la compréhension. Les indicateurs savoir traditionnel et soutien sont toutefois jugés médiocre : il faudra travailler plus pour intégrer le savoir traditionnel à la gestion du parc et pour favoriser les possibilités d’emploi et de développement économique.


Relations externes Bon

Nous joignons les publics là où ils vivent par l’intermédiaire de diverses initiatives de diffusion externe, de partenariat et de mobilisation des intervenants; les relations avec les médias; ainsi que la présence sur le Web et les réseaux sociaux.

Les deux indicateurs (promotion et appui) sont jugés bons. Nous arrivons à joindre un nombre accru de personnes dans des lieux et événements du secteur d’Edmonton, ainsi que dans d’autres villes de l’Ouest canadien. Notre présence sur les réseaux sociaux continue de croître, tout comme le nombre de personnes qui nous suivent sur Facebook et Twitter. Plus de 100 bénévoles fournissent environ 2 500 heures chaque année dans le cadre du programme de bénévolat de Jasper.


Biens bâtis Bon Passable

Plus de mille biens (par exemple les routes, les chemins, les ponts et les bâtiments) permettent à Parcs Canada d’exploiter le parc national Jasper et d’y offrir des activités aux visiteurs.

La majorité des biens du parc sont dans un état passable et en amélioration. Grâce aux récents investissements, il n’y a désormais plus aucun groupe de biens dans un état jugé médiocre.