What are electrical, plumbing and gas permits?

As required by the Alberta Safety Codes Act, all electrical, plumbing, and gas installations require a permit and may also require inspections. An electrical, plumbing or gas permit, also known as a trade permit, is a legal document for the purpose of establishing the qualifications, authority, and responsibility of the person undertaking the work. Generally, when you change, add, or move electrical, plumbing, or gas systems, a trade permit is required. Depending on the scope of the project, development and building permits may also be required.

Why do you need a permit?

By obtaining permits from an accredited, Parks Canada approved inspection service, the lessee ensures that the work is being performed in a safe and satisfactory manner in compliance with all applicable building codes, rules and regulations.

When do you need an electrical, plumbing or gas permit?

Without exception, the following work requires a plumbing or gas permit:
  • All new installations
  • Renovations, upgrading or relocations of existing plumbing pipes or fixtures
  • Water and sewer service connections
  • Gas appliance replacement or additions
  • Meter relocations
  • Replacing, altering or upgrading gas lines
  • Installing a secondary natural gas line
  • Propane tank and cylinder installation
  • Service line installation and/or replacement
Without exception, the following work requires an electrical permit:
  • All new installations
  • Relocating fixtures
  • Replacing, altering or upgrading wires

How do you get a permit?

You must apply for permits from an accredited safety code inspection service (PDF, 47 kb). Electrical, plumbing, and gas permits are not issued by Parks Canada. They are issued directly from the accredited inspection agency.

Fees

Fees for inspections are payable directly to the accredited inspection agency. Generally, electrical permits cost between $50-100. Plumbing and gas permits are charged per fixture, with a minimum fee. All fees are subject to change.

Disclaimer

This document has no legal status and cannot be used as an official interpretation of the various codes and regulations currently in effect. It is meant solely to provide general information that may be of assistance to the developer. The development authority should always be contacted for accurate information.

For more information, contact the Jasper National Park Development Office at (780) 852- 6162 or at pc.jasper-realty.pc@canada.ca.

En quoi consistent les permis pour les installations électriques, la plomberie et le gaz?

Conformément à l’Alberta Safety Codes Act, les travaux liés aux installations électriques, aux systèmes de plomberie et aux conduites de gaz doivent faire l’objet d’un permis et peuvent également nécessiter des inspections. Ce permis est un document juridique qui confère des qualifications, une autorisation et des responsabilités à quiconque entreprend de tels travaux. En général, il faut un permis pour modifier, agrandir ou déplacer des installations électriques, des systèmes de plomberie ou des conduites de gaz. Selon la portée du projet, il se peut aussi qu’un permis d’aménagement et un permis de construction soient nécessaires.

Pourquoi faut-il obtenir un permis?

En obtenant un permis auprès d’un organe d’inspection agréé et approuvé par Parcs Canada, vous veillez à ce que les travaux soient exécutés de façon sécuritaire et satisfaisante, dans le respect des codes du bâtiment, des règles et des règlements applicables.

Dans quelles circonstances faut-il se procurer ces permis?

Sans aucune exception, les travaux suivants doivent faire l’objet d’un permis pour la plomberie ou le gaz :
  • Aménagement de nouvelles installations;
  • Rénovation, amélioration ou déplacement de conduites ou d’accessoires de plomberie existants;
  • Raccordement au réseau d’approvisionnement en eau ou aux égouts;
  • Remplacement ou ajout d’appareils au gaz;
  • Déplacement d’un compteur;
  • Remplacement, modification ou amélioration de conduites de gaz;
  • Installation d’une conduite de gaz naturel secondaire;
  • Installation d’une citerne et d’un cylindre à propane;
  • Installation ou remplacement d’une conduite de branchement.
Sans aucune exception, les travaux suivants doivent faire l’objet d’un permis pour les installations électriques :
  • Aménagement de nouvelles installations électriques;
  • Déplacement d’appareils électriques existants;
  • Remplacement, modification ou amélioration de fils électriques.

Comment faire pour obtenir un permis?

Vous devez vous adresser à un organe d’inspection agréé par Parcs Canada (PDF, 104 Ko). Les permis pour les installations électriques, la plomberie et le gaz ne sont pas accordés par Parcs Canada. Ils sont délivrés directement par l’organe d’inspection agréé.

Droits à acquitter

Vous devez payer les droits d’inspection directement à l’organe d’inspection agréé. En général, les permis pour les installations électriques coûtent de 50 $ à 100 $. Dans le cas de travaux liés à la plomberie ou au gaz, le coût des permis dépend du type et du nombre d’installations, et il y a un tarif minimum. Tous les droits peuvent changer sans préavis.

Avertissement

Le présent document n’a aucune valeur juridique et ne doit pas servir à l’interprétation des divers codes et règlements actuellement en vigueur. Il a été créé uniquement à des fins d’information générale pour venir en aide aux promoteurs. Prenez l’habitude de communiquer avec le Bureau d’aménagement pour obtenir de l’information exacte.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, appelez le Bureau d’aménagement du parc national Jasper au 780-852-6123 ou écrivez à l’adresse pc.developpementjasper-jasperdevelopment.pc@canada.ca.