Projects that do not trigger any building code requirements require a development permit only. Examples include erecting interior walls, constructing a patio less than 0.6m above grade, changing exterior finishes like roofing, cladding, or trim, landscaping, constructing an accessory building under 10m2 in area, installing a solid fuel appliance, or building a fence.

Process overview

  1. Apply for a development permit
  2. Parks Canada will issue a development permit if all application documents are correctly submitted and the proposed project complies with the criteria and specifications set out in all relevant Parks Canada acts, regulations, guidelines, and plans.
  3. Once work is completed, the leaseholder notifies Parks Canada to inspect the work, and, if the work complies with the terms and conditions of the permit, Parks Canada will issue a certificate of completion and close the file.

How to apply for a development permit

To apply for a development permit, please sign and submit the Application for development permit form (PDF, 121 kb), and include the following information. There is no fee for a development permit application.
  • Paragraph describing the proposed work – what currently exists on site, and what work you are proposing to undertake
  • Photographs of the intended work area
  • If the individual applying for the permit is not from the leaseholder: Leaseholder authorization letter (PDF, 73 kb)
  • A site plan drawn to a scale of not less than 1:200 scale with dimensions in metric. Site plans shall include at a minimum:
    • Type of development, number of residential units, site area, gross floor area by use, floor area ratio, site coverage;
    • North arrow and scale;
    • Dimensioned setbacks;
    • Size and location of existing and proposed structures or uses including accessory buildings;
    • Dimensioned existing and proposed parking spaces and driveways showing grades and paving materials.
  • Architectural plans, drawn to a scale of not less that 1:100. Dimensions shall be in metric. Drawings shall include, where applicable:
    • Existing and proposed floor plans
    • Elevations indicating finish materials, heights, overhangs, roof pitches and distances to setbacks
    • Sections indicating floor heights and relationship with grades
    • Roof plan showing major roof structure and equipment and screening details
  • For projects with a construction cost exceeding $5,000.00, development permit applications require a Fire Safety Plan. Please complete appendices A, B, and C of the Fire Safety Plan Form (PDF, 239 kb) and attach a site plan indicating location of first aid kit, muster point, and fire extinguisher.

Electronic copies of the above information should be submitted to the Development Office at pc.jasper-realty.pc@canada.ca. Hard copies may be submitted at the Parks Canada Administration Office in the Jasper Heritage Railway Station at 607 Connaught Street. Office hours are Monday to Friday, 8 am to 4 pm.

In order for Parks Canada to complete a comprehensive review of your development permit application, all requested information must be provided. Incomplete applications will be rejected. The Development Officer may require additional information to evaluate a development application, at their discretion. The onus is on the proponent to submit comprehensive applications which are easily understood and meet all requirements.

This information is meant to provide general information only. It should not be used as an official interpretation of the various codes and regulations currently in effect, and a Parks Canada development officer should always be contacted for accurate information.

Timelines for permit application review

The length of time required to review permit applications depends on the type of project. The permit application is your opportunity to provide the clearest possible picture of the proposed project. The more quality, detailed information you provide, the fewer questions the Development Office may have.

Projects submitted to the Development Office are reviewed in the order they are received. If permit applications are incomplete, the Development Office will contact the applicant in writing with the noted deficiencies and a resubmission will be required. Resubmissions are reviewed in the order they are received. Once documentation has been correctly submitted, it can take up to 40 business days to issue a development permit.

Anyone wishing to undertake development in Jasper National Park is encouraged to consult with a Development Officer as early as possible to ensure they are familiar with all relevant policies, guidelines, and requirements prior to their formal application submission.

To reach a development officer, please call 780-852-6162 or email pc.jasper-realty.pc@canada.ca. Meetings are available by appointment only.

Les projets non assujettis aux codes du bâtiment ne nécessitent qu’un permis d’aménagement. En voici quelques exemples : construire un mur intérieur, construire une terrasse de moins de 0,6 m au-dessus du sol, remplacer des finitions extérieures comme le toit, le revêtement ou la garniture, effectuer des travaux d’aménagement paysager, construire une dépendance de moins de 10 m2 de superficie, installer un appareil à combustible solide ou construire une clôture.

Aperçu du processus

  1. Le demandeur présente une demande de permis d’aménagement.
  2. Parcs Canada délivre le permis d’aménagement si tous les documents de la demande sont correctement soumis et si le projet proposé satisfait aux exigences et aux critères énoncés dans les lois, les règlements, les lignes directrices et les plans pertinents.
  3. Une fois les travaux achevés, le titulaire du domaine à bail en informe Parcs Canada, qui procède à une inspection. Si les travaux sont jugés conformes aux modalités du permis, Parcs Canada délivre un certificat d’achèvement et clôt le dossier.

Marche à suivre pour présenter une demande de permis d’aménagement

Pour demander un permis d’aménagement, vous devez signer et soumettre le formulaire formulaire Demande de permis d’aménagement (PDF, 151 Ko),en prenant soin d’y inclure les renseignements énumérés ci-dessous. Il n’y a aucun droit à verser pour présenter une demande de permis d’aménagement.

  • Paragraphe décrivant le projet proposé – la situation actuelle et les travaux proposés.
  • Photos du chantier prévu.
  • Si vous n’êtes pas le titulaire du domaine à bail, lettre d’autorisation du titulaire du domaine à bail (PDF, 53 Ko).
  • Plan d’emplacement dessiné à une échelle d’au moins 1:200. Les dimensions doivent être indiquées en métrique. Le plan d’emplacement doit inclure à tout le moins les renseignements suivants :
    • Nature du projet d’aménagement, nombre de logements, superficie, surface de plancher brute par type d’activité, coefficient d’occupation du sol, surface construite.
    • Flèche indiquant le nord et échelle.
    • Plan dimensionnel des marges de recul.
    • Dimension et emplacement des structures existantes et proposées, y compris des dépendances.
    • Dessin dimensionnel des places de stationnement et des entrées existantes et proposées, avec renseignements sur la pente et les matériaux de revêtement.
  • Plans architecturaux, dessinés à une échelle d’au moins 1:100. Les dimensions doivent être indiquées en métrique. Le cas échéant, les dessins doivent comprendre ce qui suit :
    • Plans d’étage actuels et proposés.
    • Élévation, matériaux de finition, hauteur, surplombs, pente du toit et distances par rapport aux marges de recul.
    • Sections indiquant la hauteur de chaque étage et le rapport avec la pente.
    • Plan de toiture montrant la structure principale du toit, l’équipement et le détail des écrans visuels.
  • Dans le cas des projets dont le coût de construction dépasse 5 000 $, la demande de permis d’aménagement doit s’accompagner d’un plan de sécurité-incendie. Veuillez remplir les annexes A, B et C du formulaire Plan de sécurité-incendie ( en anglais seulement, PDF, 239 Ko) et y annexer un plan d’étage indiquant l’emplacement de la trousse de premiers soins, de l’aire de rassemblement et de l’extincteur d’incendie.

Il faut envoyer une copie électronique des documents énumérés ci-dessus au Bureau d’aménagement à l’adresse pc.developpementjasper-jasperdevelopment.pc@canada.ca. Vous pouvez également soumettre des imprimés au Centre administratif de Parcs Canada, à la gare ferroviaire patrimoniale de Jasper, au 607 Connaught Drive. Les heures d’ouverture sont de 8 h à 16 h, du lundi au vendredi.

Pour que Parcs Canada puisse réaliser un examen complet de votre demande de permis, vous devez lui fournir tous les renseignements demandés. Les demandes incomplètes seront rejetées. L’agent d’aménagement se réserve le droit de demander des renseignements supplémentaires pour évaluer votre demande. Il vous incombe de soumettre une demande complète, facile à comprendre et conforme à l’ensemble des exigences.

L’information qui précède n’est fournie qu’à titre de ligne de conduite générale. Elle ne devrait pas être utilisée comme interprétation officielle des divers codes et règlements en vigueur. Prenez l’habitude de communiquer avec un agent d’aménagement de Parcs Canada pour obtenir des renseignements exacts.

Calendriers d’examen des demandes de permis

Le délai nécessaire à l’examen des demandes de permis dépend de la nature du projet. La demande de permis vous donne l’occasion de brosser le tableau le plus clair possible du projet proposé. Plus vous fournissez des renseignements détaillés et de bonne qualité, plus le Bureau d’aménagement sera à même d’évaluer votre demande sans avoir à vous poser de questions supplémentaires.

Le Bureau d’aménagement examine les projets dans l’ordre où il les reçoit. Si la demande de permis est incomplète, il prend contact par écrit avec le demandeur pour lui signaler les lacunes et l’inviter à soumettre une nouvelle demande. Les demandes soumises une seconde fois sont examinées dans l’ordre où elles sont reçues. Une fois que toute la documentation exigée a été soumise, il faut prévoir jusqu’à 40 jours ouvrables pour la délivrance d’un permis d’aménagement.

Quiconque souhaite entreprendre un projet d’aménagement dans le parc national Jasper est invité à consulter un agent d’aménagement le plus tôt possible pour se familiariser avec l’ensemble des politiques, des lignes directrices et des exigences avant de soumettre officiellement une demande.

Pour communiquer avec un agent d’aménagement, composez le 780-852-6123 ou écrivez à l’adresse pc.developpementjasper-jasperdevelopment.pc@canada.ca. Des réunions sont organisées sur rendez-vous seulement.