Projects that are regulated by Alberta and National Building Codes are required to obtain both a development permit and a building permit. A development permit gives developers general guidance and direction before significant investment is made in formal building permit drawings. Generally, building permits are required for the construction of a new building, or for the addition or structural alteration of any building or structure with an area greater than 10m2. Examples include the construction of a new home, construction of stairs, construction of a deck or stairs greater than 0.6m above grade, construction of a retaining wall greater than 1.2m above grade, or erection of a tent greater than 10m2 in area.

Process overview

  1. Apply for a development permit using the process outlined
  2. Parks Canada will issue a development permit if all required application documents have been received and the project complies with the criteria and specifications set out in all relevant Parks Canada acts, regulations, guidelines, and plans.
  3. Submit the development permit and completed construction drawings to an approved safety codes inspection agency for Code Review (PDF, 47 kb) . The inspection agency will not review construction drawings until a development permit has been issued. Please ensure that a copy of the plans inspection report and a copy of the plans stamped by the building inspector are forwarded to Parks Canada.
  4. Submit the building permit application form (PDF, 124 kb), building permit application fee, and compliance deposit to Parks Canada.
    1. The cost for the building permit is $7 per $1,000 (or portion thereof) of construction plus GST. The building permit fee can be paid by cash, cheque, debit, or credit at the Parks Canada Administration Office. Cheques should be made out to the Receiver General for Canada.
    2. The compliance deposit must be in the amount of 15% of the value of construction for the first $100,000 and 5% on the balance. The compliance deposit must be provided by either a certified cheque or bank draft, made payable to the Receiver General for Canada.

    Parks Canada will review the application to ensure compliance with the terms and conditions of the development permit. If all conditions have been met, a development officer will issue the building permit. Plumbing, electrical and gas permits are issued directly by the Inspection Agency.

  5. Construction may begin according to the terms and conditions of the building permit package. Inspections will be necessary at various stages of the construction process: All required inspections will be listed in the building permit package.
  6. Once all final inspections with no deficiencies have been submitted to Parks Canada, Parks Canada will issue an occupancy permit or certificate of completion.

Required building permit drawings

Three hardcopies and one electronic copy of the following, where applicable:
  • A site plan at a metric scale of not less than 1:200, showing accurately all the required information approved in the development permit;
  • A landscape plan at a metric scale not less than 1:200, showing accurately all the required information approved in the development permit;
  • Architectural plans at a metric scale not less than 1:100, showing accurately all the required information approved in the development permit;
  • Building sections, wall details and any other detail as required by the proposed construction;
  • Structural plans;
  • Mechanical plans; and
  • Any other information relating to the development to explain construction, conformance to codes or that may be required by the superintendent.

Other building permit requirements

  • If your project takes place in the Municipality of Jasper and involves the construction of a new structure or addition to a structure, you must pay off-site levies to the Municipality of Jasper prior to building permit issuance. Off-site levies are fees that must be paid to the Municipality of Jasper for new developments or building renovations to help fund increased demands on municipal infrastructure like water and sewer systems. If your project requires the payment of off-site levies, the Municipality of Jasper will invoice you directly. The Municipal off-site levy by-law can be found here.
  • For projects involving commercial food preparation, pools, hot tubs, or wells, proponents must submit their plans to Alberta Health Services for review.
  • For projects taking place outside of the Municipality of Jasper, a completed environmental impact analysis project description form (PDF, 431 kb) must be submitted to the development officer. The project will be reviewed internally for potential environmental and cultural impacts by Parks Canada. This review must be completed before a building permit can be issued, and may result in additional permit requirements and/or project-specific mitigations.

Electronic copies of the above information should be submitted to pc-jasper.realty-pc@canada.ca. Hard copies may be submitted at the Parks Canada Administration Office in the Jasper Heritage Railway Station at 607 Connaught Street. Office hours are Monday to Friday, 8 am to 4 pm.

In order for Parks Canada to complete a comprehensive review of your permit application, all requested information must be provided. Incomplete applications will be rejected, and the development officer may require additional information to evaluate an application, at their discretion. The onus is on the proponent to submit comprehensive applications which are easily understood and which meet all requirements.

This information is meant to provide general information only. It should not be used as an official interpretation of the various codes and regulations currently in effect, and a Parks Canada development officer should always be contacted for accurate information.

Timelines for permit application review

The length of time required to review permit applications depends on the type of project. The permit application is your opportunity to provide the clearest possible picture of the proposed project. The more quality, detailed information you provide, the fewer questions the Development Office may have.

Projects submitted to the Development Office are reviewed in the order they are received. If permit applications are incomplete, the Development Office will contact the applicant in writing with the noted deficiencies and a resubmission will be required. Resubmissions are reviewed in the order they are received. Once documentation has been correctly submitted, it can take up to 40 business days to issue a development permit.

Anyone wishing to undertake development in Jasper National Park is encouraged to consult with a Development Officer as early as possible to ensure they are familiar with all relevant policies, guidelines, and requirements prior to their formal application submission.

To reach a development officer, please call 780-852-6162 or email pc.jasper-realty.pc@canada.ca. Meetings are available by appointment only.

Le permis de construction énonce les conditions à respecter pour la construction, la modification et la rénovation de bâtiments et d’ouvrages, afin que les projets respectent les normes des codes en vigueur, notamment la dernière version du Code national du bâtiment du Canada et du code du bâtiment de l’Alberta.

Aperçu du processus

  1. Le demandeur présente une demande de permis d’aménagement.
  2. Parcs Canada délivre le permis d’aménagement si tous les documents exigés dans la demande ont été reçus et si le projet satisfait aux exigences et aux critères énoncés dans l’ensemble des lois, des règlements, des lignes directrices et des plans pertinents.
  3. Le demandeur soumet le permis d’aménagement et les dessins de construction à un organe d’inspection autorisé (PDF, 104 Ko) qui se charge de vérifier si les plans respectent les codes de sécurité. L’organe d’inspection n’examine les dessins de construction que si le permis d’aménagement a été délivré. Une fois l’inspection terminée, le demandeur achemine à Parcs Canada une copie du rapport d’inspection des plans et une copie des plans portant le timbre de l’inspecteur en bâtiment.
  4. Le demandeur soumet le formulaire de demande de permis de construction (PDF, 157 Ko), les droits applicables et le dépôt de garantie d’exécution à Parcs Canada.
    1. Le coût du permis de construction s’élève à 7 $ par tranche de 1 000 $ (ou partie de 1 000 $) de construction, TPS en sus. Les droits peuvent être payés en argent comptant, par chèque, par carte de débit ou par carte de crédit au Centre administratif de Parcs Canada. Les chèques doivent être libellés à l’ordre du receveur général du Canada.
    2. Le montant du dépôt de garantie d’exécution doit totaliser 15 % de la valeur de la construction pour la première tranche de 100 000 $ et 5 % de la valeur pour le solde. Le dépôt doit être versé par chèque certifié ou par traite bancaire, à l’ordre du receveur général du Canada.

    Parcs Canada examine la demande pour s’assurer qu’elle est conforme aux modalités du permis d’aménagement. Si toutes les conditions sont remplies, l’agent d’aménagement délivre le permis de construction. Les permis pour la plomberie, l’électricité et le gaz sont délivrés directement par l’organe d’inspection.

  5. Les travaux de construction peuvent débuter conformément aux modalités du permis de construction. Des inspections sont prévues à diverses étapes du processus de construction. Les inspections exigées sont énumérées dans la documentation accompagnant le permis de construction.
  6. Lorsqu’il a en mains des rapports d’inspection complets qui ne révèlent aucun manquement, Parcs Canada délivre le permis d’occupation ou le certificat d’achèvement.

Dessins devant accompagner la demande de permis de construction

Trois copies imprimées et une copie électronique des documents suivants, le cas échéant :
  • Plan d’emplacement à une échelle métrique d’au moins 1:200, montrant de manière exacte tous les renseignements approuvés dans le permis d’aménagement.
  • Plan d’aménagement paysager à une échelle métrique d’au moins 1:200, montrant de manière exacte tous les renseignements approuvés dans le permis d’aménagement.
  • Plans architecturaux à une échelle métrique d’au moins 1:100, montrant de manière exacte tous les renseignements approuvés dans le permis d’aménagement.
  • Sections du bâtiment, détails des murs et tout autre renseignement exigé pour le projet de construction.
  • Plans structuraux.
  • Plans mécaniques.
  • Toute autre information liée à l’aménagement pour expliquer la construction et attester le respect des codes, de même que toute autre information exigée par le directeur.

Autres exigences liées au permis de construction

  • Si votre projet a lieu dans la ville de Jasper et s’il prévoit la construction d’une nouvelle structure ou d’une annexe à une structure existante, vous devrez payer des contributions de viabilisation à la Municipalité de Jasper avant que le permis de construction ne puisse vous être délivré. Les contributions de viabilisation sont des sommes que les demandeurs de permis doivent verser à la Municipalité de Jasper pour les nouvelles constructions ou les travaux de rénovation de bâtiments afin de compenser la demande accrue de services municipaux, comme l’eau et les égouts. Si votre projet nécessite le versement de contributions de viabilisation, la Municipalité de Jasper vous enverra une facture directement. Pour consulter le règlement municipal sur les contributions de viabilisation, cliquez ici (en anglais seulement).
  • Si votre projet concerne la préparation commerciale d’aliments, des piscines, des cuves thermales ou des puits, vous devez soumettre vos plans à l’examen des Alberta Health Services (site-web en anglais seulement).
  • Si le projet est réalisé à l’extérieur de la ville de Jasper, vous devez remplir un formulaire d’analyse d’impact environnemental (PDF, 437 Ko) et le soumettre à l’agent d’aménagement. Parcs Canada procède alors à un examen interne des impacts environnementaux et culturels possibles. Cet examen doit être réalisé avant que le permis de construction ne puisse être délivré. Il pourrait déboucher sur l’imposition d’autres exigences ou de mesures d’atténuation propres au projet.

Il faut envoyer une copie électronique des renseignements susmentionnés à l’adresse pc.developpementjasper-jasperdevelopment.pc@canada.ca. Vous pouvez également soumettre des imprimés au Centre administratif de Parcs Canada, à la gare ferroviaire patrimoniale de Jasper, au 607 Connaught Drive. Les heures d’ouverture sont de 8 h à 16 h, du lundi au vendredi.

Pour que Parcs Canada puisse réaliser un examen complet de votre demande de permis, vous devez lui fournir tous les renseignements demandés. Les demandes incomplètes seront rejetées. L’agent d’aménagement se réserve le droit de demander des renseignements supplémentaires pour évaluer votre demande. Il vous incombe de soumettre une demande complète, facile à comprendre et conforme à l’ensemble des exigences.

L’information qui précède n’est fournie qu’à titre de ligne de conduite générale. Elle ne devrait pas être utilisée comme interprétation officielle des divers codes et règlements en vigueur. Prenez l’habitude de communiquer avec un agent d’aménagement de Parcs Canada pour obtenir des renseignements exacts.

Calendriers d’examen des demandes de permis

Le délai nécessaire à l’examen des demandes de permis dépend de la nature du projet. La demande de permis vous donne l’occasion de brosser le tableau le plus clair possible du projet proposé. Plus vous fournissez des renseignements détaillés et de bonne qualité, plus le Bureau d’aménagement sera à même d’évaluer votre demande sans avoir à vous poser de questions supplémentaires.

Le Bureau d’aménagement examine les projets dans l’ordre où il les reçoit. Si la demande de permis est incomplète, il prend contact par écrit avec le demandeur pour lui signaler les lacunes et l’inviter à soumettre une nouvelle demande. Les demandes soumises une seconde fois sont examinées dans l’ordre où elles sont reçues. Une fois que toute la documentation exigée a été soumise, il faut prévoir jusqu’à 40 jours ouvrables pour la délivrance d’un permis d’aménagement.

Quiconque souhaite entreprendre un projet d’aménagement dans le parc national Jasper est invité à consulter un agent d’aménagement le plus tôt possible pour se familiariser avec l’ensemble des politiques, des lignes directrices et des exigences avant de soumettre officiellement une demande.

Pour communiquer avec un agent d’aménagement, composez le 780-852-6123 ou écrivez à l’adresse pc.developpementjasper-jasperdevelopment.pc@canada.ca. Des réunions sont organisées sur rendez-vous seulement.