Notice of prohibition: Dogs in caribou habitat

Issued: January 01, 2019

Effective date:

January 1 to December 31

Activity prohibited: 

Pursuant to section 7(1) of the National Parks General Regulations, dogs are prohibited on the following specified trails and areas of Jasper National Park by order of the Superintendent. Trails include the tread normally identified by a disturbed surface and 500 meters from the centre line to either side of the disturbed area.

Where:

  • Skyline Trail and surrounding area: This includes the Skyline Trail (trail 100), from Signal Campsite to Maligne Lake, and also includes the Watchtower Trail (trail 102), Jeffrey Creek Trail, and the Wabasso Lakes Trail (trail 101) (upslope of Wabasso Lakes), and adjacent areas.
  • Bald Hills and Opal Hills Trails and surrounding area: This includes the Bald Hills Trail (trail 23) and Opal Hills Trail (trail 22), Surprise Valley, and the adjacent areas.
  • Maligne Pass Trail and surrounding area: This includes the Maligne Pass Trail from Maligne Lake to Sunwapta Warden Station, and the adjacent areas.
  • Jonas Creek and Poboktan Creek Trails and surrounding area: This includes the Poboktan Creek Trail (trail 132) from Sunwapta Warden Station up to but not including the Brazeau Lake Campsite, and the Jonas Creek Trail (trail 131), from the junction with the Poboktan Creek Trail, up to but not including the Four Point Campsite.
  • Tonquin Valley Trails and surrounding area: This includes the Tonquin Valley Trails (trails 105 and 106), Verdant Pass and Whistlers Creek. This includes the entire Tonquin Valley area, Meadow Creek, Astoria River and Portal Creek trails and the Whistler Creek drainage.
  • Cavell Meadows Trail and surrounding area: this includes the Cavell Meadows Trail (trail 42) and the alpine meadows complex in the adjacent area.

Reason:

Dogs are prohibited from trails and areas in important caribou habitat to reduce the stress that dogs have on this threatened species. Those who violate this order may be charged.

Avis d’interdiction : Chiens dans l`habitat du caribou

Émis le : 01 janvier 2019

Date d'application :

Du 1er janvier au 31 décembre

Activités interdites :

En vertu du paragraphe 7(1) du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, le directeur du parc national Jasper interdit les chiens sur les sentiers et dans les secteurs suivants du parc. L’interdiction vise la chaussée de marche normalement indiquée par une surface perturbée et une portion de terrain de 500 m située de part et d’autre de la ligne médiane de cette surface perturbée.

Endroit :

  • Le réseau de sentiers Skyline et le secteur avoisinant : Ceci comprend le sentier Skyline (sentier 100), depuis le camping Signal jusqu’au lac Maligne, de même que les sentiers Watchtower (sentier 102), du Ruisseau-Jeffrey et des Lacs-Wabasso (sentier 101 - à partir de la pente ascendante des lacs Wabasso) et les secteurs avoisinants.
  • Les sentiers des Collines-Bald et des Colline-Opal et les secteurs avoisinants : Ceci comprend le sentier des Collines-Bald (sentier 23) et le sentier des Collines-Opal (sentier 22), la vallée Surprise et les secteurs avoisinants.
  • Le sentier du Col-Maligne et le secteur avoisinant : Ceci comprend l’ensemble du sentier, depuis le lac Maligne jusqu’au poste de gardes Sunwapta, et les secteurs avoisinants.
  • Les sentiers du Ruisseau-Jonas et du Ruisseau-Poboktan et les secteurs avoisinants : Ceci comprend le sentier du Ruisseau-Poboktan (sentier 132), depuis le poste de gardes Sunwapta jusques mais sans comprendre le camping du Lac-Brazeau, et le sentier du Ruisseau-Jonas (sentier 131), depuis l’intersection avec le sentier du Ruisseau-Poboktan jusques mais sans comprendre le camping Four Point.
  • Les sentiers de la vallée Tonquin et le secteur avoisinant : Ceci comprend les sentiers de la vallée Tonquin (sentiers 105 et 106), le col Verdant et le ruisseau Whistlers. Le secteur comprend toute la vallée Tonquin, les sentiers du Ruisseau-Meadow, de la Rivière-Astoria et du Ruisseau-Portal, de même que le bassin hydrographique du ruisseau Whistlers.
  • Les sentiers des prés Cavell et le secteur avoisinant : Ceci comprend le sentier des Prés-Cavell (sentier 42) et les complexes écologiques de la prairie alpine situés dans le secteur avoisinant.

Raison :

Les chiens sont interdits sur les sentiers qui traversent les habitats importants du caribou. Cette mesure a pour but de diminuer les stress auquel est exposée cette espèce en voie de disparition en présence des chiens.