We respectfully acknowledge that Jasper National Park is located in Treaty 6 and Treaty 8 as well as the traditional lands of the Beaver, Cree, Ojibway, Secwépemc, Stoney, and Métis.

 

Before Jasper National Park

Before 1907, the boundaries of what is now Jasper National Park did not exist. Since time immemorial, a diversity of Indigenous peoples lived on this land, and utilized and cared for the natural resources. Some groups spent almost all year in the Rocky Mountains, while others came to or through the area on a seasonal basis to access resources and ceremonial sites, to meet with other groups, or to use the mountain passes that permitted travel across the mountains. Indigenous peoples protected the land and resources according to the learned principles of conservation and their worldviews that see humans as part of, and something that must remain in balance with, the land and ecosystems on which they relied. This intimate knowledge of the land is expressed through the concept of respect – respect for the land, respect for living things, respect for Elders and respect for traditional ways.

 
An artist’s rendition of Jasper House trading post, circa 1846.
Paul Kane (1810-1871) Jasper House
1846, water colour and pencil on paper
5 3/8 x 9 inches (13.7 x 22.9 cm)
Bequest of H.J. Lutcher Stark, 1965
Stark Museum of Art, Orange, Texas.

When Europeans came to the area in the early 1800s, Indigenous peoples continued to care for the land and resources in the Jasper area while also beginning to work as trappers, traders, interpreters and guides. The knowledge and experience of Indigenous peoples allowed European explorers and fur traders to move through the Northern Rockies into the west through the Athabasca and Yellowhead passes (now national historic sites). Some Indigenous women married European fur traders and provided local knowledge and connections to surrounding Indigenous communities. In the late 1800s, several Indigenous and Métis families homesteaded and farmed near what is now the town of Jasper, while also working as outfitters and hunters for the fur trading companies.

 

Park creation and the removal of Indigenous peoples

"In the beginning, parks were established without much consultation with the public, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal. However, we have learned from the past. Today, we cannot imagine creating a new park, site or marine conservation area without the support and collaboration of the public, especially Aboriginal peoples..."

 

When Jasper Park Forest Reserve was created in 1907, later officially designated as Jasper National Park with the passing of the National Park Act in 1930, the natural landscape was initially understood as a backdrop for European settler recreation. Indigenous peoples were seen as obstacles to the enjoyment of nature. According to wilderness conservation policies at the time, Indigenous peoples were considered incompatible with nature and so couldn’t live in, hunt, or harvest within park boundaries.

Simpwc Nation members Charli F., Shelley L., Tina D., and Alison G. drumming during a pipe ceremony.
Photo: Submitted by Simpcw First Nation

After 1907, First Nations and Métis peoples (see list of Indigenous Partners) were forcibly removed and excluded from this part of their traditional territories. First Nation and Métis peoples were physically removed from the landscape, blocked from accessing it and banned from harvesting plants and animals, holding gatherings and accessing cultural sites. Furthermore, mountains, rivers and other parts of the landscape were renamed to reflect colonial names, and most visible evidence of the existence of Indigenous peoples present in the area since time immemorial, were burnt or otherwise destroyed – including Indigenous camps, cabins and homesteads.

Three years after the park was created, Indigenous people, including Métis, who lived within the park boundaries were forced to leave their homes. Some of the homesteads of Métis families who were relocated are still standing and can be visited as interpretive locations on the Snaring Road and Overlander Trail.

The creation of the first national parks disconnected Indigenous peoples from the land. This was not just a geographical disconnection but a total disconnection from an important part of their identity. Land is fundamental to practicing culture, spirituality, ways of life, and sense of self.

For many Indigenous peoples their relationship with the land is integral because everything comes from the land: food, clothes, shelter, water, and medicines, as well as stories, history, ceremonies, and law.

Lisa Shepherd, Métis artist and Métis Nation British Columbia representative of the Jasper Indigneous Forum practices beadwork along the shores of Maligne Lake.
Photo: Submitted by Métis Nation British Columbia
Aseniwuche Winewak Elders Philomene Moberly and Mabel Wanyandie processing moose meat.
Photo: Submitted by Aseniwuche Winewak Nation

Nous reconnaissons respectueusement que le parc national Jasper est situé à l’intérieur des territoires visés par les traités nos 6 et 8 et des territoires traditionnels des Beavers, des Cris, des Ojibways, des Secwépemc, des Stoneys et des Métis.

 

Avant le parc national Jasper

Avant 1907, les limites de ce qui est aujourd’hui le parc national Jasper n’existaient pas. Depuis des temps immémoriaux, une diversité de peuples autochtones ont vécu sur cette terre et ont utilisé et pris soin des ressources naturelles qui s’y trouvaient. Certains groupes passaient presque toute l’année dans les montagnes Rocheuses, tandis que d’autres venaient dans la région ou traversaient celle-ci de façon saisonnière pour accéder aux ressources et aux sites cérémoniels, pour rencontrer d’autres groupes ou pour utiliser les cols permettant de traverser les montagnes. Les peuples autochtones protégeaient la terre et les ressources selon les principes acquis de conservation et leur vision du monde qui considère que les humains font partie de la terre et des écosystèmes dont ils dépendent, et qu’ils doivent maintenir un équilibre avec ceux-ci. Cette connaissance approfondie du territoire s’exprime parfois par le concept de respect – le respect de la terre, le respect des êtres vivants, le respect des Anciens et le respect des traditions.

Vue d’artiste du poste de traite Jasper House, vers 1846
Paul Kane (1810-1871) Jasper House
1846, aquarelle et crayon à mine sur papier
13,7 cm sur 22,9 cm
Oeuvre légué par H. J. Lutcher Stark, 1965
Stark Museum of Art, Orange, Texas.

Lorsque les Européens sont arrivés dans la région au début des années 1800, les peuples autochtones ont continué à prendre soin des terres et des ressources de la région de Jasper tout en commençant à travailler comme trappeurs, commerçants, interprètes et guides. Les connaissances et l’expérience des peuples autochtones ont permis aux explorateurs et aux commerçants de fourrures européens de se déplacer à travers les Rocheuses du nord vers l’ouest en passant par les cols Athabasca et Yellowhead (aujourd’hui lieux historiques nationaux). Certaines femmes autochtones ont épousé des commerçants de fourrures européens, qui ont profité de leur savoir local et de leurs relations avec les communautés autochtones environnantes. À la fin des années 1800, plusieurs familles autochtones et métisses exploitaient des terres et des fermes près de l’actuelle ville de Jasper, tout en travaillant comme pourvoyeurs et chasseurs pour les compagnies de traite des fourrures.

Création du parc et déplacement des populations autochtones

« Au tout début, les parcs nationaux étaient créés sans véritable consultation auprès de la population, autochtone et non autochtone. Cependant, nous en avons tiré les leçons nécessaires. De nos jours, il serait impensable d’envisager la création d’un nouveau parc national, d’un site historique ou d’une aire marine de conservation sans l’appui et la collaboration du public, et plus particulièrement des populations autochtones. »

Lorsque la réserve forestière Jasper Park a été créée en 1907, puis officiellement désignée comme parc national Jasper avec l’adoption de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux en 1930, les paysages naturels ont d’abord été considérés comme une toile de fond pour les loisirs des colons européens. Les populations autochtones étaient considérées comme des obstacles à la jouissance de la nature. Selon les politiques de conservation de la nature à l’époque, les peuples autochtones étaient considérés comme incompatibles avec la nature et ne pouvaient donc pas vivre, chasser ou récolter dans les limites du parc.

Charli F, Shelley L, Tina D, Alison G, membres de la Nation Simpwc, jouent du tambour lors d’une cérémonie du calumet.
Photo : gracieuseté de la Première Nation Simpcw

Après 1907, les Premières Nations et les Métis (voir la liste des partenaires autochtones) ont été déplacés de force et exclus de cette partie de leurs territoires traditionnels. Les Premières Nations et les Métis ont été physiquement retirés des lieux et interdits d’accès; ils se sont également vu interdire de récolter des plantes et d’élever des animaux, d’organiser des rassemblements et d’accéder aux sites culturels. En outre, les montagnes, les rivières et d’autres parties du territoire ont été renommées au profit de noms coloniaux, et les preuves les plus visibles de l’existence des peuples autochtones présents dans la région depuis des temps immémoriaux, ont été brûlées ou détruites d’une façon ou d’une autre – y compris les campements, les cabanes et les homesteads des Autochtones.

Trois ans après la création du parc, les Autochtones (y compris les Métis) qui vivaient dans les limites du parc ont été contraints de quitter leurs maisons. Certains homesteads ayant appartenu à des familles métisses ayant été relocalisées ont été préservés et peuvent être visités en tant que lieux d’interprétation sur la route Snaring et le sentier Overlander.

La création des premiers parcs nationaux a brisé le lien qu’entretenaient les peuples autochtones avec le territoire. Cette rupture n’était pas uniquement d’ordre géographique, elle représentait également une déconnexion totale d’une partie importante de leur identité. La terre représente un élément fondamental pour la culture, la spiritualité, les modes de vie et l’identité des peuples autochtones.

Pour de nombreux peuples autochtones, la relation avec la terre est totale, car cette dernière leur procure tout : nourriture, vêtements, abris, eau et médicaments, ainsi que récits, histoire, cérémonies et lois.

Lisa Shepherd, artiste métisse et représentante de la Nation Métis de la Colombie-Britannique, pratique le perlage sur la rive du lac Maligne à l’occasion du Forum des Autochtones du parc national Jasper.
Photo : gracieuseté de la Nation Métis de la Colombie-Britannique
Les aînées Philomene Moberly et Mabel Wanyandie, de la Nation Aseniwuche Winewak, transforment la viande d’orignal.
Photo : gracieuseté de la Nation Aseniwuche Winewak