Group leader responsibilities

  • Do not leave food, garbage, cooler, stove and other bear attractants out of sight.

  • Store all food, garbage, stove, toothpaste and other bear attractants in the bear proof lockers overnight.

  • Attend fire at all times or extinguish it.

  • Ensure that all camp rules as outlined in the welcome orientation sign are followed by all members of your group.

  • Check camp area, shelter and bear lockers prior to leaving, ensure all gear, food and garbage (including diapers) is packed out, and that food lockers are clean.

Group leader legal requirements

If you organized or are leading a group, you have legal responsibilities under the Transport Canada, Small Vessels Regulation [paragraph 300. (1)]. You are considered a guide whether you are paid or a volunteer.

As a guide or leader of a canoe or kayak group, you are required to carry the following equipment:

  1.  Personal Lifesaving Appliances
    (a) one lifejacket or PFD for each person on board; and 
    (b) one buoyant heaving line at least 15 m (49’3") long.

  2. Vessel safety equipment
    (a) a bailer or a manual bilge pump; or
    (b) bilge-pumping arrangements.

  3. Navigation equipment
    (a) a pea-less whistle or other sound-signalling appliance that meets the requirements of the Collision Regulations;
    (b) if the canoe or kayak is operated after sunset or before sunrise or in periods of restricted visibility, a watertight flashlight or three pyrotechnic distress signals other than smoke signals (Note: Pyrotechnic distress signals are not a substitute for navigation lights); and
    (c) a magnetic compass if the canoe or kayak is navigating out of sight of navigation markers. There are no navigation markers on Maligne Lake.

First aid kit

A first aid kit is required and should be packed in a waterproof case capable of being tightly closed after use. There are several different options for first aid kits. You can purchase one that meets the standards of the Marine Occupational Safety and Health Regulations or one that meets your provincial Occupational Health and Safety Board. For example, St. John’s Ambulance makes a first aid kit starting at approximately $20.

If you purchase a commercial kit, a resuscitation face mask and two pairs of examination gloves must be included in the kit if they are not already.

You can also build your own first aid kit using a list of items provided in the Transport Canada regulations.

Helmets and PFD/Lifejacket wearing

You are required to ensure that "Every participant in the excursion wears the following safety equipment'':
(i) a personal flotation device or lifejacket of an appropriate size. In other words, you are ultimately responsible for ensuring that the clients are actually wearing the proper safety equipment instead of just carrying it.

Cold water

"If the water temperature is less than 15ºC (for most of the year the water temperature of Maligne is well below 15ºC), you are responsible for and will ensure that equipment is immediately available or that procedures are established to protect the participants from the effects of hypothermia or cold shock resulting from swamping, capsizing or falling overboard."

Safety briefing

“Before the beginning of the excursion, ensure that all participants are briefed in either or both official languages, according to their needs, on the safety and emergency procedures relevant to the guided excursion."

Float Plan

“Before the beginning of the excursion, report the number of participants in the excursion to a person on shore who has been designated by the leader to be responsible for communicating with search and rescue authorities in case of an emergency."

Paddle Canada recommends clubs/organizations develop trip schedules/plans (websites, online or offline, etc), if they haven’t already done so, with mechanisms for sanctioning these trips, and determining reporting (pre-trip and post trip) that mirrors a Float Plan. There should also be a risk management plan set up for club/organization trips.

Responsabilités du chef de groupe

  • Éviter que les provisions, les déchets, la glacière, le réchaud et les autres objets susceptibles d’attirer les ours ne soient laissés sans surveillance.

  • Veiller à ce que la nourriture, les déchets, le réchaud, le dentifrice et les autres objets susceptibles d’attirer les ours soient rangés dans le casier à provisions à l’épreuve des ours pendant la nuit.

  • Veiller à ce que le feu soit surveillé en tout temps ou éteint.

  • Voir à ce que tous les membres du groupe respectent les règles énoncées sur le panneau d’accueil et d’orientation du camping.

  • Inspecter les environs du campement, l’abri et les casiers à provisions avant de partir pour s’assurer que l’équipement, les provisions et les déchets (y compris les couches) en ont été retirés, et que les casiers sont propres.

Équipement obligatoire pour le dirigeant d’une excursion de canotage ou de kayak

Si vous avez organisé un groupe ou si vous le dirigez, vous avez des responsabilités juridiques en vertu du Règlement sur les petits bâtiments [paragraphe 303.(1)] de Transports Canada. Vous êtes considéré comme un guide, que vous soyez rémunéré ou que vous agissiez à titre de bénévole.

En tant que guide ou dirigeant d’un groupe de canoteurs ou de kayakistes, vous devez transporter l’équipement suivant :

  1. Engins de sauvetage individuels
    (a) Un gilet de sauvetage ou un vêtement de flottaison individuel pour chaque personne à bord;  
    (b) Une ligne d’attrape flottante d’au moins 15 m de longueur. 

  2. Équipement de sécurité
    (a) Une écope ou une pompe de cale manuelle
    (b) Des installations d’épuisement de cale 

  3. Équipement de navigation
    (a) Un sifflet sans bille ou tout autre appareil de signalisation sonore conforme aux exigences du Règlement sur les abordages;  
    (b) Si le canot ou le kayak est utilisé après le coucher du soleil, avant son lever ou par visibilité réduite, une lampe de poche étanche à l’eau ou trois signaux de détresse pyrotechniques autres que des signaux fumigènes (Note : Les signaux de détresse pyrotechniques ne remplacent pas les feux de navigation.);
    (c) Un compas magnétique si le canot ou le kayak ne navigue pas en vue de marqueurs de navigation. Il n'y a pas de marqueurs de navigation sur le lac Maligne.

Trousse de premiers soins

La trousse de premiers soins est essentielle, et elle doit être placée dans un étui à l’épreuve de l’eau qui peut être refermé de façon hermétique après avoir été utilisé. Plusieurs types de trousses se prêtent à ce genre d’excursion. Vous pouvez en acheter une qui répond aux normes du Règlement sur la santé et la sécurité au travail en milieu maritime ou à celles de l’organe de réglementation de la santé et de la sécurité au travail de votre province. Par exemple, l’Ambulance Saint-Jean produit une trousse de premiers soins qui se vend à un prix de base d’environ 20 $.

Si vous achetez une trousse commerciale, vous devrez y ajouter un masque de réanimation et deux paires de gants d’examen s’ils n’y sont pas déjà.
Vous pouvez aussi constituer votre propre trousse de premiers soins à l’aide d’une liste d’articles énumérés dans la réglementation de Transports Canada.

Port du casque protecteur et d’un vêtement de flottaison individuel ou d’un gilet de sauvetage

Vous êtes tenu de veiller à ce que « chaque participant à l’excursion guidée porte l’équipement de sécurité suivant :
(i) Un vêtement de flottaison individuel ou un gilet de sauvetage de la bonne taille ».
Autrement dit, vous devez vous assurer que les clients portent bel et bien l’équipement de sécurité plutôt que de simplement le transporter.

Eau froide

« Si la température de l’eau est inférieure à 15 ºC, vous devez veiller à ce que de l’équipement soit à bord ou que des mesures soient établies pour protéger les personnes à bord contre les effets de l’hypothermie ou du choc dû au froid en cas d’envahissement par le haut, de chavirement ou de chutes par-dessus bord. »

Exposé sur les mesures de sécurité

Vous devez, « avant le début de l’excursion, veiller à ce que soit donné à tous les participants, dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles, ou les deux, compte tenu de leurs besoins, un exposé sur les mesures de sécurité et d’urgence appropriées à l’excursion ».

Plan de route

Vous devez, « avant le début de l’excursion, communiquer le nombre de participants à une personne à terre désignée à titre de responsable des communications avec les services de recherche et de sauvetage en cas d’urgence ».

Pagaie Canada recommande aux clubs et aux organisations d’élaborer des itinéraires ou des plans (sites Web, en ligne ou hors ligne, etc.) et de les enregistrer, s’ils ne l’ont pas déjà fait, auprès des mécanismes créés pour sanctionner ces excursions ainsi que de déterminer des modalités de reddition de comptes (rapport avant et après l’excursion) qui reflètent le plan de route. Il convient également de dresser un plan de gestion des risques pour chaque excursion.