Jacques Lake

Semi-primitive

This unique trail travels through a narrow mountain valley, skirts four lakes and crosses a watershed—all in less than 13 km and with little change in elevation.


The details

  • 24.4 km return on the same trail, 1-2 days
  • Elevation gain: 240 m, elevation loss: 185 m
  • Maximum elevation: 1540 m
  • Fires are permitted at Jacques Lake Campground

This is a great one-night backpacking trip. The trail has very little elevation (240 m) and starts out on an old fire road for the first 4.8 km. At 1.6 km you will arrive at Beaver Lake, a beautiful small lake with nice views. Continue on the trail for 3.2 km and you will arrive at the Summit Lakes. Some people will choose to ride their bikes to these lakes, then lock them up and continue the final 7.6 km on foot. The trail from Summit to Jacques Lake is an easy hike through a dense forest with many small creeks. Once you arrive at the campground, which sits right next to Jacques Lake, you are rewarded with beautiful views of the Queen Elizabeth Range.

What you need to know

The Jacques Lake Trail is a great early or late season hike; it can be quite muddy throughout the season but is generally in good condition. Watch for moose at the campground at dusk and dawn, they are quite commonly seen here.

Special considerations

The trail east of Jacques Lake Campground is impassable due to trail damage and fallen trees due to a large forest fire. The campground is a wildlife travel corridor. Always hang your food from the bear pole and keep the eating area clean.

Suggested itineraries

Two-day option
Hike to the campground (12.2 km) and return the following day.

Campground information
Campground information
Campground Description # of sites Fire pit UTM
Jacques Lake
Elevation: 1495 m
This campground is located next to Jacques Lake. It offers wonderful views of the Queen Elizabeth Range. 8 Yes 11U 449874-5865109

Trail distances (in km)
Trail distances (in km)
- Trailhead Beaver Lake Summit Lakes Jacques Lake
Trailhead - 1.6 4.7 12.2
Beaver Lake 1.6 - 3.2 10.6
Summit Lakes 4.7 3.2 - 9
Jacques Lake 12.2 10.6 9 -

Elevation profile

Elevation Profile

Maps, GPS data and elevations are provided for reference purposes only. Maps are not meant for navigation. Parks Canada Agency (PCA) makes no guarantees, representations or warranties respecting these data, either expressed or implied. PCA assumes no responsibility for damages or other liabilities due to the accuracy, availability, use or misuse of the information herein provided.

Alpine Club of Canada (ACC) cabin

The Jacques Lake Cabin is open to the public from November 1 to April 15 only. The cabin is located 300 m past the Jacques Lake campground, on the east side of the bridge across the lake’s outlet stream. Use of the cabin requires a reservation from the ACC and a Parks Canada backcountry permit. Reservations can be made at alpineclubofcanada.ca or by calling (403) 678-3200.

Cabin location: 52.933210° N 117.742918° W; UTM 450066 m E 5865099 m N.

Avalanche hazards

Avalanche Terrain Exposure Scale (ATES) for Jacques Lake trail: 1 (simple)

Custodial groups may travel with no specific leadership or custodial permitting requirements. Avoid backcountry travel entirely when the avalanche danger is rated HIGH or EXTREME. Visit the Parks Canada avalanche information.

Ice safety

Ensure the ice is safe before travelling on lakes.

  • The Red Cross recommends an ice thickness of at least 15 cm for lake travel.
  • Springs at remain open throughout the winter are common.
  • Earlier tracks on lakes do not guarantee ice safety.
  • More information on skating on ponds, lakes and rivers here.

Directions to trailhead

From Jasper
Take Highway 16 east towards Edmonton. Two km from Jasper, turn right across the bridge onto Maligne Road. Continue for 28 km south on the Maligne Road to the south end of Medicine Lake. Turn left into the Jacques Lake parking lot.

Safety in the backcountry

You are responsible for your own safety. Be prepared for extreme weather and mountainous terrain. There is no cell phone coverage in this area.

Trail report
Before leaving, check the Jasper National Park Trail Report for up-to-date conditions at www.pc.gc.ca/jaspertrails

Trail offices
Trail Information, 780-852-6177

General information
Jasper Information Centre, 780-852-6176
EMERGENCY: call 780-852-3100
877-852-3100

Carry a topo map
NTS 1:50,000: Medicine Lake 83C/13
National Geographic 1:100,000: Jasper South

Leave no Trace

Food storage
To reduce your campsite’s attractiveness to bears, all food, garbage, toiletries and cooking equipment must be stored in the lockers provided at designated campsites. Please keep lockers clean and do not leave any food or garbage behind; Parks staff do not clean them. In wildland camping areas, bear-resistant containers are strongly recommended to store food.

Human waste
Use the pit toilet provided. When there are no facilities nearby, select a spot away from trails, campsites and at least 70 m from water sources. Dig a hole 12 to 16 cm into the dark-coloured, biologically active soil layer. Loosely fill the hole with soil afterward. Use as little toilet paper as possible.

Lac Jacques

Milieu semi-aménagé 

Ce sentier unique en son genre traverse une étroite vallée de montagne, longe quatre lacs et franchit un bassin hydrographique, le tout en moins de 13 km et sans grande dénivellation.


Les feux sont permis au camping du Lac-Jacques.

Cliquez ici pour voir une version agrandie de cette carte.  

Carte du lac Jacques

Description détaillée

  • 24,4 km aller-retour sur le même sentier, randonnée de 1 à 2 jours
  • Gain d’altitude de 240 m, perte d’altitude de 185 m
  • Altitude maximale : 1 540 m

Lac Jacques © R. Gruys

Ce sentier offre une excellente possibilité de randonnée de deux jours. Il présente un très faible gain d’altitude (240 m), et les 4,8 premiers kilomètres se font sur un chemin coupe-feu. Après 1,6 km, vous arriverez au lac Beaver, un joli petit bassin d’eau entouré de beaux paysages. Poursuivez votre route sur 3,2 km pour gagner les lacs Summit. Certains randonneurs préfèrent s’y rendre à vélo; ils peuvent y verrouiller leur bicyclette avant de parcourir le trajet final de 7,6 km à pied. Ce dernier tronçon de 7,6 km vous propose une randonnée facile à travers une forêt dense sillonnée de petits ruisseaux. Une fois arrivé au camping, en bordure du lac Jacques, il ne vous restera plus qu’à savourer votre récompense : des vues splendides sur la chaîne Queen Elizabeth.

Ce que vous devez savoir

Cette randonnée est excellente au début ou à la fin de la saison. Le sentier peut être boueux tout au long de la saison, mais il demeure généralement en bon état. Ouvrez l’œil : il arrive assez souvent que des randonneurs puissent observer des orignaux dans le camping, à l’aube et au crépuscule.

Facteurs à considérer

À l’est du camping du Lac-Jacques, le sentier devient impraticable en raison du chablis et d’autres dommages causés par un important incendie de forêt. Le camping se trouve dans un corridor de déplacement faunique. N’oubliez pas de suspendre votre nourriture à l’aide de la perche à provisions et nettoyez bien l’endroit où vous mangez.

Itinéraires suggérés

Excursion de deux jours
Rendez-vous jusqu’au camping (12,2 km) et revenez sur vos pas le lendemain.

Information sur le camping

Campground information

Camping

Description

Nbre d’empl.

Foyer

Coordonnées
UTM

Lac Jacques
(Altitude : 1 495 m)

Camping situé sur la rive du lac Jacques. Vues spectaculaires sur la chaîne Queen Elizabeth.

8

 

oui

11U 449874-5865109

Tableau des distances (en km)

Tableau des distances (en km)
- Point de départ Lac Beaver Lacs Summit Lac Jacques
Point de départ - 1,6 4,7 12,2
Lac Beaver 1,6 - 3,2 10,6
Lacs Summit 4,7 3,2 - 9
Lac Jacques 12,2 10,6 9 -

Profil du sentier

Profil du sentier
Les cartes, les données GPS et les indications d’altitude sont fournies à titre indicatif seulement. Les cartes ne doivent pas servir à l’orientation. L’Agence Parcs Canada (APC) ne fait aucune représentation ou garantie, expresse ou tacite, en ce qui concerne ces données. L’Agence n’est aucunement responsable des dommages ou autres responsabilités découlant de l’inexactitude, de la disponibilité, de l’utilisation ou de la mauvaise utilisation des renseignements fournis dans ce document.

Pour vous rendre au point de départ du sentier

De Jasper
Prenez la route 16 Est en direction d’Edmonton. À 2 km de Jasper, tournez à droite sur la route Maligne et traversez le pont. Roulez sur 28 km jusqu’à l’extrémité sud du lac Medicine. Vous trouverez un terrain de stationnement à la gauche.

Sécurité en arrière-pays

Vous êtes responsable de votre propre sécurité. Préparez-vous à affronter des conditions météorologiques extrêmes et du terrain montagneux. Il n’y a aucune couverture de téléphonie cellulaire dans la plupart des secteurs.

Bulletin sur l’état des sentiers
Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour, consultez le bulletin avant de partir : www.pc.gc.ca/sentiers-jasper

Bureaux des sentiers
Renseignements sur les sentiers : 780-852-6177

Renseignements généraux
Centre d'information de Jasper
780-852-6176
www.pc.gc.ca/jasper
URGENCES : composez le 780-852-3100 ou le 877-852-3100

 

Cartes

Carte SNRC
« Columbia Icefield 83C/3 »
« Sunwapta Peak 83C/6 »

Carte National Geographic
« Jasper South » 

Camping écologique 

Rangement des provisions
Pour éviter d’attirer des ours à votre emplacement de camping, vous devez suspendre votre nourriture, vos déchets, vos articles de toilette et votre batterie de cuisine en vous servant des câbles à provisions fournis dans les campings désignés. Dans les aires de camping sauvage, nous vous recommandons fortement de garder vos provisions dans des contenants à l’épreuve des ours.

Déchets humains
Servez-vous de la toilette sèche fournie. En l’absence d’installations, choisissez un endroit situé à l’écart des sentiers et des emplacements de camping, à au moins 70 m de toute source d’eau. Creusez un trou de 12 à 16 cm, jusqu’à ce que vous atteigniez la couche biologique active du sol, là où la terre est de couleur foncée. Remplissez le trou avec de la terre sans la tasser. Utilisez le moins de papier hygiénique possible.