Brazeau

Semi-primitive

The "grand tour" of the southern ranges, this circuit includes one of the park's largest backcountry lakes, two passes and an extraordinary alpine traverse with glaciated peaks, lush wildflowers and a variety of wildlife.


Fires permitted except at Jonas Cutoff Campground


No bikes permitted


No horses permitted on Jonas Pass Trail


Dogs not permitted on the Jonas Creek and Poboktan Creek trails: this includes the Poboktan Creek trail, from Sunwapta Station up to but not including Brazeau Lake Campground, and the Jonas Creek Trail, from the junction with the Poboktan Creek Trail, up to but not including the Four Point Campground.


Click to view a larger map

The Brazeau Map

Option one: Brazeau Loop

  • 81 km loop, 4-5 day hike
  • Elevation gain/loss: 1878 m
  • Maximum elevation: 2470 m
The Brazeau © C. Roy
The details

Starting at the Nigel Pass trailhead in northern Banff National Park, the trail follows Nigel Creek, gradually climbing to Nigel Pass and the boundary with Jasper National Park (7 km). Along the way, the trail passes historic Camp Parker, marked by historic tree carvings. Please leave natural and cultural objects and sites as you find them. After the pass, ford the upper reaches of the Brazeau River, and turn left towards Boulder Creek campground. The unmaintained trail to the right leads to the White Goat Wilderness Area.

Past Boulder Creek you arrive at Four Point and the Jonas Shoulder junction. Turn left to head up to Jonas Shoulder or go straight to continue to Brazeau Lake. Both are very rewarding but make for quite long days. Heading to the lake first is more popular because there is less elevation gain. Both Jonas Cutoff and Brazeau Lake Campgrounds are good base camps for day trips. If you want to spend an extra day somewhere, either of these sites would be a good choice.

What you need to know

The Brazeau Loop is a demanding, high elevation trail that crosses three mountain passes. Sudden weather changes can occur.You can hike the entire Brazeau Loop in five days. If you choose to go clockwise you will gain more elevation up the Jonas Shoulder, so most people will hike counter-clockwise. The typical trip would be to spend the first night at Four Point (13.9 km), then to Brazeau Lake Camp (18.1 km), over Poboktan Pass to the Jonas Cutoff (16.2 km), and then over Jonas Shoulder back to Four Point (18.9 km). On the last day, return to the Nigel Pass trailhead (13.9 km).

Elevation profile

Elevation Profile 

Campground information
Campground              Description

# of sites

Fire pit

UTM

Boulder Creek   
Elevation: 2036 m

This campground has pretty views and is located close to the Brazeau River.

   4

yes

11U 492962-5790100

Four Point
Elevation: 1935 m

A forested campground close to the Brazeau River with nice views. The junction for Jonas Shoulder is just after this campground. From here you will either head up the steep approach to Jonas Shoulder or continue along the river to Brazeau Lake.

   8

  yes

494770-5792240

Jonas Cutoff
Elevation: 2094 m

This campground sits next to a creek and offers beautiful views. Note this high-elevation campground is somewhat exposed; it does not provide much shelter in inclement weather.

   8

 No campfires 

11U 485891-5805050

John-John Creek
Elevation: 2012 m

This campground is located right next to John-John Creek and has beautiful views of the surrounding mountains.

   4

  yes

11U 491965-5803508

Brazeau Lake
Elevation: 1816 m

A beautiful campground on the shore of Brazeau Lake, 900 m from the main trail.

   8

  yes

11U 497590- 5805604

Brazeau River
Elevation: 1737 m

A forested campground close to the Brazeau River.

   4

  yes

11U 499608-5804813

Maps, GPS data and elevations are provided for reference purposes only. Maps are not meant for navigation. Parks Canada Agency (PCA) makes no guarantees, representations or warranties respecting these data, either expressed or implied. PCA assumes no responsibility for damages or other liabilities due to the accuracy, availability, use or misuse of the information herein provided.

Trail distances (in km)

Nigel Trailhead

Boulder Creek        

10.7

Boulder Creek

Four Point

13.8

3.1

Four Point

Brazeau River

29.3

18.6

15.5

Brazeau River

 


Brazeau Lake

32.3

21.6

18.5

3.0

Brazeau Lake

John-John

39.4

28.7

25.6

10.1

8.9


John-John


Jonas Cutoff  

46.9

36.2

33.1

17.6

16.4

7.5

Jonas Cutoff

 


Nigel Trailhead

80.0

68.9

65.8

50.3

49.1

40.2

32.7

Nigel Trailhead


Special considerations

There is a new reroute between Four Point and Brazeau River campgrounds along the west side of the river. Permanent signage was installed in late summer 2014. Do not cross the bridge over the river to the east side. That trail and Wolverine campground are for horse use only. Cline Creek camp has been decommissioned.

Option two: Nigel to Poboktan Creek

The Brazeau © N. Gaboury

This is an impressive hike with over 13 km of travel above treeline. Good views and prime habitat for park wildlife.

  • 54 km one way, 2-3 day hike
  • Elevation gain: 1346 m, elevation loss: 1691 m
  • Maximum elevation: 2470 m
    The details

    Hike from Nigel Pass to Four Point Campground (13.9 km). The next day is a strenuous day over Jonas Shoulder to Jonas Cutoff Camp (18.9 km). The third day, continue north along Poboktan Creek to Waterfalls Camp (9.3 km). This section of trail is also used by horses; you can expect some boggy terrain and a few muddy sections. Continue to hike out along Poboktan Creek to the Sunwapta Station on the Icefields Parkway (12 km).

    Elevation profile

    Elevation profile

    Campground information

     

    Campground              

     

     

    Description

     

     

    # of sites

     

     

    Fire pit

     

     

    UTM

     

     

    Waterfalls           
    (Elevation: 1916 m)  

     

     

    This campground is situated on a bench above a beautiful waterfall, with wonderful mountain views.

     

    4

     

    yes

     

     

    476187-5813156

     

     

    Poboktan
    (Elevation: 1773 m)

     

     

    A forested campsite next to Poboktan Creek.

     

    4
    yes

     

    479517-5810723

     

    Directions to trailhead for both options

    From Jasper
    116 km south on Highway 93 (the Icefields Parkway). Turn left at the Nigel Creek parking lot. The parking lot is 13 km south of the Icefields Centre.

    From Lake Louise
    Take Highway 93 (the Icefields Parkway) towards Jasper for 114 km. Turn right into the Nigel Creek parking lot. The parking lot is 2 km past the Big Bend, a large, steep climb out of the river valley.

    Side trips for both options

    More experienced hikers may use the Nigel Pass Trail as a starting point to explore the White Goat Wilderness Area. There is an unmarked, unmaintained route through Cataract Pass, which will take you into this wilderness area. Although permits are not required to camp in the White Goat Wilderness Area, some hikers will choose to camp at Boulder Creek (permit required) before heading into the White Goat. Since the White Goat is an unmaintained area, good topographical maps, good route finding skills, and the ability to navigate water crossings are a must when travelling here.

    Safety in the backcountry

    Safety in the backcountry

    You are responsible for your own safety. Be prepared for extreme weather and mountainous terrain. Cell phone coverage is unavailable in most areas.

    Trail report
    Before leaving, check the Jasper National Park trail report for up-to-date conditions at www.pc.gc.ca/jaspertrails

    Trail office
    Trail Information, 780-852-6177

    General information
    Jasper Information Centre, 780-852-6176
    EMERGENCY: call 780-852-3100
    877-852-3100

    Carry a topo map
    NTS Columbia Icefield 83C/3, Sunwapta Peak 83C/6 National Geographic Jasper South.

    Leave no Trace

    Food storage
    To reduce your campsite’s attractiveness to bears, all food, garbage, toiletries and cooking equipment must be hung from the food storage cables provided at designated campsites. In wildland camping areas, bear-resistant containers are strongly recommended to store food. All campgrounds are equipped with a bear pole for food storage. There are picnic tables present.

    Human waste
    There are barrel toilets at all campgrounds. When there are no facilities nearby, select a spot away from trails, campsites and at least 70 m from water sources. Dig a hole 12 to 16 cm into the dark-coloured, biologically active soil layer. Loosely fill the hole with soil afterward. Use as little toilet paper as possible.

Secteur Brazeau

Milieu semi-aménagé

« Grand circuit » des chaînons du sud, cette excursion vous permet d’explorer l’un des plus grands lacs de l’arrière-pays du parc, de franchir deux cols et de faire une traversée alpine extraordinaire jalonnée de pics couverts de glace et de tapis de fleurs, dans un secteur sauvage qui sert d’habitat à la faune.


Les feux sont permis, sauf au camping de l’Embranchement-Jonas.


Les vélos sont interdits.


Les chevaux sont interdits sur le sentier du Col-Jonas.


Les chiens sont interdits sur les sentiers du Ruisseau-Jonas et du Ruisseau-Poboktan : ceci comprend le sentier du Ruisseau-Poboktan, depuis le poste de Sunwapta jusques mais sans comprendre le camping du Lac-Brazeau, et le sentier du Ruisseau-Jonas, depuis l’intersection avec le sentier du Ruisseau-Poboktan jusques mais sans comprendre le camping Fort Point.



Cliquez ici pour voir une version agrandie de cette carte.

Carte du secteur Brazeau

Option 1 : Boucle Brazeau

  • Boucle de 81 km, randonnée de 4 à 5 jours
  • Gain/perte d’altitude : 1 878 m
  • Altitude maximale : 2 470 m
Secteur Brazeau © C. Roy
Description détaillée

Depuis son point de départ dans la partie nord du parc national Banff, le sentier suit le ruisseau Nigel en grimpant peu à peu jusqu’au col du même nom, à la limite du parc national Jasper
(7 km). En route, le sentier longe le camp Parker, un campement historique indiqué par des marques sculptées dans les arbres. Laissez les sites et les objets naturels et culturels tels que vous les trouvez. Après le col, vous devrez traverser à gué le tronçon supérieur de la rivière Brazeau avant de bifurquer à gauche en direction du camping du Ruisseau-Boulder. Le sentier de droite, qui n’est pas entretenu, mène à l’aire de nature sauvage White Goat.

Peu après le ruisseau Boulder, vous arrivez au camping Four Point et à l’intersection menant à l’épaulement Jonas. Prenez le sentier de gauche pour gagner l’épaulement Jonas ou continuez tout droit pour vous rendre au lac Brazeau. Les deux randonnées sont gratifiantes, quoique relativement longues. La plupart des randonneurs choisissent de se rendre au lac en premier pour réduire le gain d’altitude. Les campings de l’Embranchement-Jonas et du Lac- Brazeau sont de bons camps de base pour des randonnées d’une journée. Si vous voulez prolonger votre excursion d’une journée, optez pour l’un de ces campings.

Ce que vous devez savoir

La boucle Brazeau est un sentier de haute altitude exigeant qui traverse trois cols de montagne. Les conditions météorologiques peuvent changer soudainement. La boucle Brazeau se parcourt au complet en cinq jours. Si vous choisissez de faire la randonnée dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre, vous devrez grimper davantage pour accéder à l’épaulement Jonas. C’est pour cette raison que la plupart des excursionnistes choisissent de parcourir la boucle dans le sens contraire des aiguilles d’une montre. En général, ils passent la première nuit au camping Four Point (13,9 km), poursuivent leur route jusqu’au camping du Lac-Brazeau (18,1 km), franchissent le col Poboktan pour atteindre l’embranchement Jonas (16,2 km) et traversent l’épaulement Jonas pour regagner le camping Four Point (18,9 km). La dernière journée, il ne leur reste plus qu’à refaire le trajet jusqu’au point de départ du sentier du Col-Nigel (13,9 km).

Profil du sentier

Profil du sentier 

Information sur les campings
Camping Description

Nbre d'empl.

Foyer

UTM

Ruisseau-Boulder
Altitude : 2 036 m

Camping offrant de belles vues; situé près de la rivière Brazeau.

4

oui

11U 492962-5790100

Four Point
Altitude : 1 935 m

Camping boisé, situé près de la rivière Brazeau. Belles vues sur les paysages environnants. Le sentier de l’Épaulement-Jonas débute juste au-delà du camping. De là, vous pouvez faire une ascension raide jusqu’à l’épaulement Jonas ou poursuivre votre route le long de la rivière jusqu’au lac Brazeau.

 

8

 

oui

 

11U 494770-5792240

Embranchement-Jonas
Altitude : 2 094 m

Camping aménagé en altitude, près d’un joli ruisseau offrant des vues magnifiques. Emplacements quelque peu exposés aux éléments. Les endroits où trouver refuge sont rares en cas de mauvais temps.

 

8

 

No campfires

11U 485891-5805050

Ruisseau-John-John
Altitude : 2 012 m

Camping situé tout près du ruisseau John-John. Magnifiques vues sur les montagnes environnantes.

 

4

 

oui

11U 491965-5803508

Lac-Brazeau
Altitude : 1 816 m

Très beau camping aménagé en bordure du lac Brazeau, à 900 m du sentier principal.

8

oui

 

11U 497590- 5805604

Rivière-Brazeau
Altitude : 1 737 m

Camping boisé, situé non loin de la rivière Brazeau.

 

4

oui

11U 499608-5804813

Les cartes, les données GPS et les indications d’altitude sont fournies à titre indicatif seulement. Les cartes ne doivent pas servir à l’orientation. L’Agence Parcs Canada (APC) ne fait aucune représentation ou garantie, expresse ou tacite, en ce qui concerne ces données. L’Agence n’est aucunement responsable des dommages ou autres responsabilités découlant de l’inexactitude, de la disponibilité, de l’utilisation ou de la mauvaise utilisation des renseignements fournis dans ce document.

Tableau des distances (en km) 

Début du
sentier
Nigel

Ruisseau-
Boulder

10,7

Ruisseau-
Boulder

Four Point

13,8

3,1

Four Point

Rivière-
Brazeau

29,3

18,6

15,5

Rivière-
Brazeau

 


Lac-Brazeau

32,3

21,6

18,5

3,0

Lac-Brazeau

John-John

39,4

28,7

25,6

10,1

8,9


John-John


Embran-
chement-
Jonas

46,9

36,2

33,1

17,6

16,4

7,5

Embran-
chement-
Jonas

 


Début du
sentier
Nigel

80,0

68,9

65,8

50,3

49,1

40,2

32,7

Début du
Sentier
Nigel


Facteurs à considérer 

Il y a une nouvelle déviation entre le terrain de camping Four Point et le terrain de camping de la Rivière-Brazeau, sur la rive ouest de la rivière. Des affiches permanentes ont été installées à la fin de l’été 2014. Ne traversez pas le pont de la rivière pour aller sur la rive est. Le sentier qui s’y trouve et le terrain de camping Wolverine sont réservés aux cavaliers. De plus, le camp du ruisseau Cline a été mis hors service.

Option 2 : Du Ruisseau Nigel au Ruisseau Poboktan

Secteur Brazeau © N. Gaboury

Cette randonnée impressionnante vous fait parcourir plus de 13 km au-dessus de la limite forestière. Les panoramas sont magnifiques, et le secteur constitue un habitat de choix pour la faune du parc.

  • 54 km aller seulement,
    randonnée de 2-3 jours
  • Gain d’altitude : 1 346 m,
    perte d’altitude : 1 691 m
  • Altitude maximale : 2 470 m
Description détaillée

Randonnez du col Nigel au camping Four Point (13,9 km). Le lendemain, c’est une journée difficile qui vous attend : vous devrez franchir l’épaulement Jonas pour gagner le camping de l’Embranchement-Jonas (18,9 km). La troisième journée, poursuivez votre route vers le nord le long du ruisseau Poboktan jusqu’au camping Waterfalls (9,3 km). Cette partie du sentier est également utilisée par les cavaliers; vous pouvez donc vous attendre à du terrain marécageux et à quelques tronçons boueux. Le quatrième jour, longez le ruisseau Poboktan jusqu’au poste
Sunwapta, au bord de la promenade des Glaciers (12 km).

Profile du sentier

Profil du secteur 

Information sur les campings

Camping

Description

Nbre
d'empl.

Foyer 

UTM

Waterfalls
(Altitude :
1 916 m)

Camping offrant de belles vues et situé sur une terrasse qui surplombe une jolie cascade.

4

oui

476187-5813156

Poboktan
(Altitude :
1 773 m)

Camping boisé situé au bord du ruisseau Poboktan.

4
oui

479517-5810723

Pour vous rendre au point de départ

De Jasper

Roulez sur une distance de 116 km en direction sud sur la route 93 (promenade des Glaciers). Tournez à gauche dans le terrain de stationnement du ruisseau Nigel. Le stationnement se trouve à 13 km au sud du Centre du Champs-de-Glace.

De Lake Louise
Empruntez la route 93 (promenade des Glaciers) en direction de Jasper et roulez sur 114 km. Tournez à droite dans le terrain de stationnement du ruisseau Nigel; il se trouve à 2 km au-delà du Big Bend, une côte longue et abrupte qui grimpe depuis le fond de la vallée.

Excursion complémentaire

Les randonneurs chevronnés peuvent se servir du sentier du Col-Nigel comme point de départ pour explorer l’aire de nature sauvage White Goat. Pour ce faire, ils peuvent suivre un sentier non balisé qui traverse le col Cataract. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’obtenir de permis pour camper dans l’aire de nature sauvage White Goat, mais certains excursionnistes passent la nuit au camping du Ruisseau-Boulder (permis obligatoire) avant d’y pénétrer. Comme l’aire de nature sauvage White Goat ne fait l’objet d’aucun entretien, il faut absolument posséder de bonnes cartes topographiques, avoir l’expérience des techniques d’orientation et pouvoir traverser des cours d’eau à gué pour explorer ce secteur.

Sécurité en arrière-pays

Safety in the backcountry

Vous êtes responsable de votre propre sécurité. Préparez-vous à affronter des conditions météorologiques extrêmes et du terrain montagneux. Il n’y a aucune couverture de téléphonie cellulaire dans la plupart des secteurs.

Bulletin sur l’état des sentiers
Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour, consultez le bulletin avant de partir : www.pc.gc.ca/sentiers-jasper

Bureaux des sentiers
Renseignements sur les sentiers : 780-852-6177

Renseignements généraux
Centre d'information de Jasper
780-852-6176
URGENCES : composez le 780-852-3100 ou le 877-852-3100

Camping écologique